• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Jul 8, 2014
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Jul 7, 2014
    90
    Judas Priest have exceeded all expectations and made one of the best albums of their storied career.
  2. Classic Rock Magazine
    Dec 18, 2014
    80
    Redeemer of Souls is irrefutable prof that Priest are still a force on the metal scene. [Aug 2014, p. 204]
  3. Kerrang!
    Aug 5, 2014
    80
    It's simply heavy metal: proud, fearless, loud. [19 Jul 2014, p.52]
  4. Jul 8, 2014
    80
    Unlike the conceptual rock opera project that was Nostradamus, Redeemer of Souls is pure metal joy, full of surging anthems, martial stomps, unbridled passion and huge, crunchy production values.
  5. Jul 7, 2014
    80
    Thus rejuvenated and recharged, the Metal God and his cohorts have delivered their strongest record in over a decade.
  6. Jul 9, 2014
    70
    Redeemer is proof that Priest can still call themselves metal's defenders of the faith.
  7. Jul 8, 2014
    70
    For the most part, it’s suitably overblown, cocksure and blunt, and still goes some way to capturing the genre's eternal, endearing refusal to grow up. For now, that's reason enough to celebrate their return.
  8. Jul 7, 2014
    70
    Redeemer of Souls is also the loosest (attitude-wise), leanest (arrangement-wise), and most confident-sounding collection of new material the band has released in ages, and while it will forever tread beneath high-water marks like British Steel and Sad Wings of Destiny, it most certainly deserves to be ranked alongside albums from that era.
  9. Jul 10, 2014
    60
    Redeemer of Souls is a return to thunderous and unrelenting anthems delivered with all the subtlety of an axe to the skull.
  10. Q Magazine
    Jul 7, 2014
    40
    Overall the glory years seem a long way off and metal fatigue sets in long before the end of its 63 minutes. [Aug 2014, p.108]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Jul 8, 2014
    8
    I didn't expect much from "Redeemer of Souls", but I must admit that I am pleasantly surprised. I think that it's their best album sinceI didn't expect much from "Redeemer of Souls", but I must admit that I am pleasantly surprised. I think that it's their best album since "Painkiller". Who would have thought that a nearly 63 year old Metal God and the rest of the band (albeit without K.K. Downing) would still be producing decent material after all these years? Full Review »
  2. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    I was told that "Redeemer of Souls" was as good as "Painkiller", so I was expecting a great album. However, I wasn't expecting this. The bandI was told that "Redeemer of Souls" was as good as "Painkiller", so I was expecting a great album. However, I wasn't expecting this. The band unleashes plenty of strong riffs. There are fast songs, slow songs, powerful vocals, and just all-around Judas Priest. Full Review »
  3. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    I'm blown away. I'm a huge Priest fan, have every album. Listened to the album several times through. Cold Blooded and Down in Flames are myI'm blown away. I'm a huge Priest fan, have every album. Listened to the album several times through. Cold Blooded and Down in Flames are my favs. Just listened to Never Forget and it brought a tear to my eye. If this is the last album, so be it, you'll always be the greatest. God bless the Priest! Full Review »