• Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Dec 5, 2000
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Aug 2, 2005
    7
    (On RATM as a whole) Rage has always been a bag of conflicts to me. I liked their stylish hip-hop approach to metal, but their politics and imagery kept me at a distance. I'm not right wing; i dunno where i really stand in the political sense, to be honest, because there's things i like and don't like about both sides of each spectrum. However, my relatives are endangered (On RATM as a whole) Rage has always been a bag of conflicts to me. I liked their stylish hip-hop approach to metal, but their politics and imagery kept me at a distance. I'm not right wing; i dunno where i really stand in the political sense, to be honest, because there's things i like and don't like about both sides of each spectrum. However, my relatives are endangered by the actions of leftists, and thus everytime i see/hear leftists symbols, i'm angered, annoyed or saddened. Images from George Orwell's1984 and acerbic words from leftist jerks in the news further anger me, sometimes even causing me to despise the band and everyone around me. Then there's what i like about them. Morello's FX are always surprising, sound you can't hear from any other band, and they certainly do know how to end a matrix movie. The music is also good for blowing off some steam, especially in a situation where you've been treated unfairly, particularly by superiors. Rage's style will always be somewhat appealing to me, but their viewpoints and imagery will forever prevent me from calling them one of my favorite bands. Wish there was a way to enjoy their musical style without supporting an Orwellian future. Expand
  2. GeorgeS.
    Jul 17, 2001
    10
    It's one of the best albums they have; it shows that this a very talented band with a more talented singer.
  3. thehillmo
    Sep 19, 2001
    8
    killer tracks
  4. CoryK
    Jan 2, 2003
    5
    As a Rage fan, I must say that this album dissapointed me. In terms of "career album rank" I'd say it ranks 4 of 4. 1. Self-Titled 2. Evil Empire 3. Battle of Los Angeles 4. Renegades.
  5. GregP
    Jun 23, 2003
    7
    Rage's last album is another stand out. Although not in the league with either their self-titled or the Battle of Los Angeles, it is very good showing off their musical talents. Rage is by far the greatest rap-metal outfit, and this album reassures that (sorry Linkin Park fans).
  6. C@lmlikeAB0MB
    Apr 1, 2004
    10
    YES YES YES Stop dissin Zack i cant thik of anyone else who would go better with the band LISTEN what he has to say
  7. Howard
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    As usual rage kick another phat one. I cant skip a single track! "Move sucka!"
  8. andrew
    Jan 13, 2002
    10
    awesome mother fuckin record. can't stop listenin to it. one of the best bands of all time.
  9. antonio
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    what can i say
  10. AdrianQ
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    Another great album from one of the greatest bands in recent history. Far beyond the tiresome 'Nu Metal' of other imposters this displays the perfect amalgamation of hip hop and heavy guitar driven rock. Oh and Cory are you trying to rate rage albums or just list them in chronological order?
  11. MikeP
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    I honestly think that RAGe dida fantastic job with this album. Hearing the originals just wont cut it for me anymore. Every song that Rage covers is excellent. At first i was upset that they didn't write any new songs but then after listening to the album over and over again i became more and more aware of the fact that turn classic songs into something differant (and in my opion I honestly think that RAGe dida fantastic job with this album. Hearing the originals just wont cut it for me anymore. Every song that Rage covers is excellent. At first i was upset that they didn't write any new songs but then after listening to the album over and over again i became more and more aware of the fact that turn classic songs into something differant (and in my opion better) is much cooler. The only sad thing about Rage is that they no longer exist but they will always be my favorite band to play at any occasion. Expand
  12. AdrianR
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    If there's one thing that comes out loud and clear in Rage's music, it's that they aren't politicaly driven by any clear ideology, and they aren't a capitalist device for brainwashing impessionable youth like I've heard some ppl say. Renegades proves they're just a massively talented group of core rockers who like to challenge the status quo. It's If there's one thing that comes out loud and clear in Rage's music, it's that they aren't politicaly driven by any clear ideology, and they aren't a capitalist device for brainwashing impessionable youth like I've heard some ppl say. Renegades proves they're just a massively talented group of core rockers who like to challenge the status quo. It's about not being satisfied with mediocrity and apathy. Somehow they don't quite come full circle or prove a definative statement, but they do provide some unreal headbangers to enjoy regardless of your social beliefs or situation. Expand
  13. RobJ
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    Awesome album, the songs are done better than the originals!
  14. JayDee
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    Quality, i just cant get enough of the funky beats mixed with meaningful lyrics, Morello and Commerford is like a match made in heaven.
  15. David
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    Just a great album by a legendary band! What I love about this album is how Rage was able to cover songs that originally were not from the same genre which makes this album by far is the most experimental and unique record that they've ever released. Personally, I think this is their second best album next to their self-titled debut.
  16. RogerR.
    Nov 18, 2001
    10
    One of the best RATM albums!!!!
  17. LindseyV.
    May 29, 2002
    10
    This is not only Rage's latest album, but I must agree it's the best, with The Battle of Los Angeles running a close second.
  18. adaml
    Dec 24, 2003
    10
    The critics need to stop doggin zach de la rocha. They make it sound like his voice ruins the entire band. I dont know what everybody else thinks and frankly I dont care but I dont think his voice is that annoying. I think it goes good with the band.
  19. PunkyBrewster
    Jul 21, 2004
    10
    Every time Rage come's out with a new album it's always more energy filled then the next. When I heard their rendition of Maggie's Farm I was floored by how well they did it. When I heard it was all covers I wasn't to sure about that, but they deffinetly pulled it off. Before this album the only band who I thought did covers better then the original was Red Hot Chili Every time Rage come's out with a new album it's always more energy filled then the next. When I heard their rendition of Maggie's Farm I was floored by how well they did it. When I heard it was all covers I wasn't to sure about that, but they deffinetly pulled it off. Before this album the only band who I thought did covers better then the original was Red Hot Chili Peppers. Rage is right up top there on my list of greatest bands. When the break down comes in Renegades of Funk it makes you want to dance. Much energy was put into the making of this album and much energy is what I got out of this. You must buy this album. Expand
  20. JimH
    Oct 14, 2006
    9
    There are missteps here (covering the Stones' Streetfightin' Man, for example) but there are many remakes here that are superior reimaginings ("Tom Joad," "How I Could Just Kill A Man," the title track, a handful of others). Morello is at his peak here; he never was better nor has he been better since.
  21. Walla
    Dec 18, 2005
    10
    The kick ass tribute album we have all been waiting for. The adapted music is amazing and Zack de La Rocha is better than ever.
  22. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    You need to hear Rage at all cost, forget about their controversial themes and stuff like that. Their last album went as a bullet in the head a mind blowing sensation.
  23. Jan 6, 2016
    8
    Renegades is extra funky, groovy and catchy, with a handful of fantastic songs. Zack de la Rocha’s vocal performance was his best for the most part in this record, and so was Tom Morello’s, Tim Commerford’s and Brad Wilk’s performance on their respective instruments; in a musically accomplished album. However, inconsistency is a glaring issue, with one handful of the songs exploringRenegades is extra funky, groovy and catchy, with a handful of fantastic songs. Zack de la Rocha’s vocal performance was his best for the most part in this record, and so was Tom Morello’s, Tim Commerford’s and Brad Wilk’s performance on their respective instruments; in a musically accomplished album. However, inconsistency is a glaring issue, with one handful of the songs exploring different genres and failing to produce memorable or particularly great songs out of it, and the other handful being fantastic – at least with Maggie’s Farm, Microphone Fiend and Renegades of Funk, which I list along with classics such as Bulls on Parade as some of their best ever.

    In some ways, the best way to end Rage Against the Machine, in some ways, not quite; overall, a great album.

    83/100.
    Expand
  24. May 16, 2013
    8
    Rage's worst album, but certainly still quality music no doubt. Some songs are just very odd and not usual for Rage and they are not that good. Others I found to be very good. So in general not the best of RATM but certainly still a album nonetheless.
  25. Apr 17, 2016
    10
    this is album is amazing. their unique musical approach with blending rap and metal together is astonishing. like their past works they have done it again by making another stellar piece of work. classic. 10/10
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. An outrageously accomplished and daring album-
  2. As could be expected, the set works best when the group focuses on material from its most recent forebears: rappers and hardcore bands.
  3. 70
    De la Rocha's rabid diatribes occasionally go overboard, particularly on the tracks (Eric B & Rakim's "Microphone Fiend" and Minor Threat's "In My Eyes," for example) that feed into the band's sometimes one-dimensional rap-metal groove. But when the band steps out of character -- as it does during its rudimentary take on MC5's "Kick Out the Jams" or its pacific reading of "Beautiful World" -- the results can seem truly transcendent.