• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Mar 11, 2014
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    9
    Easily can be debated as the best Young Money complication album yet. I think that Wayne did a great job of incorporating his new artists into most of the songs such as Lil Twist and Euro. Euro is going to have a big career and I can just say that now. The way Euro raps is just unbelievable, the way he comes at it every line shows great talent.This album is definitely the new rise of anEasily can be debated as the best Young Money complication album yet. I think that Wayne did a great job of incorporating his new artists into most of the songs such as Lil Twist and Euro. Euro is going to have a big career and I can just say that now. The way Euro raps is just unbelievable, the way he comes at it every line shows great talent.This album is definitely the new rise of an empire at Young Money and in the future I expect this group to have lots of success, as they have had in their past as well. Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    1
    Keep the Drake song, delete everything else. That all I have to say about Young money now a days. This album was suppose to be a coming out party for Euro. He came out, and he is trash!!!
  3. Mar 19, 2014
    4
    The line up is promising. I suppose thats why Lil Wayne is making all this $! But the album is WEEEEEAAAAKKKK! There is one song by Drake that was hot. The rest of the songs are lyrically weak and very predictable. I mean if you like the same thing that Lil Wayne gives you time and time again (i.e. drugs, pu**y, money) then you'll probably love it. The beats were hitting though. I'd likeThe line up is promising. I suppose thats why Lil Wayne is making all this $! But the album is WEEEEEAAAAKKKK! There is one song by Drake that was hot. The rest of the songs are lyrically weak and very predictable. I mean if you like the same thing that Lil Wayne gives you time and time again (i.e. drugs, pu**y, money) then you'll probably love it. The beats were hitting though. I'd like to hear KDot or Slaughterhouse go in on some of them. Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    5
    Euro has a future...Drake isn't really Young Money,Minaj has an identity crisis,Tyga...smh,Lil wayne I don't know what to say.Mediocre...Young Money is dead
  5. Apr 18, 2015
    6
    There really isn't that much special with this album. It's not a bad compilation, though. It continues Young Money's successful career, with an album full of good production from the likes of Sonny Digital, Lex Luger, Detail, among others, with some good lyrics as well. I like Euro, he seems like a good rapper and I'm looking forward to hearing his first studio album. But there isn't thatThere really isn't that much special with this album. It's not a bad compilation, though. It continues Young Money's successful career, with an album full of good production from the likes of Sonny Digital, Lex Luger, Detail, among others, with some good lyrics as well. I like Euro, he seems like a good rapper and I'm looking forward to hearing his first studio album. But there isn't that much originality here. You can imagine just about any mainstream rapper out there making this album. However, this is overall a decent effort from YMCMB. Grade: B-. Highlights: "Trophies", "Lookin A**", "Back It Up". Worst songs: "One Time", "Bang" Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    50
    Rise of an Empire is likely only a bit of a disappointment because it opens so strongly and refuses to become outright terrible.
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    40
    The album is bogged down in missteps like Tyga, Lil’ Twist and YG’s limp One Time and uninspired strip club anthem Back It Up.
  3. Mar 20, 2014
    50
    We're introduced to a charming talkrapper named Euro and not much else beyond some diverse but mundane urban contemporary music dominated by familiar players.