• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Dec 2, 2014
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 51
  2. Negative: 3 out of 51
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    I can't say that I really had high hopes for an AC/DC album without Malcolm Young, but I was pleasantly surprised and this is easily one of the best albums I've heard this year. I was completely fine with Black Ice being the final AC/DC album because it was solid itself and it captured AC/DC's classic sound. I think they may have actually bettered that effort with Rock or Bust. Its hard toI can't say that I really had high hopes for an AC/DC album without Malcolm Young, but I was pleasantly surprised and this is easily one of the best albums I've heard this year. I was completely fine with Black Ice being the final AC/DC album because it was solid itself and it captured AC/DC's classic sound. I think they may have actually bettered that effort with Rock or Bust. Its hard to tell that Malcolm is not there. Stevie Young (Malcolm's nephew) did very well not to change the group's sound and he had very big shoes to fill. Rock or Bust is full of all the typical AC/DC sound, if your looking for something different from these old characters this album is not for you. Brian Johnson is the musician who stands out to me on this album this is one of his best performances on any of the bands albums and Angus Young is amazing on lead guitar as always. Any AC/DC fan should pick this up, because it may end up being the group's swan song. If it is, Rock or Bust is an appropriate end. Simply had rock at its finest. Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    Man, is this disc strong! At only 35 mins, it had well better not have any filler, and it doesn't. 11 trax, 11 singles! Lean and mean and stronger than an AC/DC album in 2014 has any right to be. A near perfect rock album.
  3. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    I thought this was a good effort from Angus and the boys. The album might be short but it is certainly sweet. No other band has been as consistent with their sound than AC/DC and I respect them for that. This album is filled with great blues licks and overall just a foot tapping good time. They will probably never have another album as good as Back in Black or Highway to Hell, and I amI thought this was a good effort from Angus and the boys. The album might be short but it is certainly sweet. No other band has been as consistent with their sound than AC/DC and I respect them for that. This album is filled with great blues licks and overall just a foot tapping good time. They will probably never have another album as good as Back in Black or Highway to Hell, and I am perfectly ok with that. It's good to see an AC/DC album at the top of the charts once again. I will end by saying that this is a good album for any rock fan and For Those About To Rock, We Salute You! Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    My first AC/DC album to purchase with my own money was Black Ice. I was 15 then. They say that as you age, AC/DC's music becomes less appealing, but hear I sit, at 21 years old, having now purchased every AC/DC album available,and I can't stop playing Rock Or Bust. At 11 songs at 35 minutes, Rock or Bust represents everything that AC/DC is about, the rock n' roll equivalent of eating aMy first AC/DC album to purchase with my own money was Black Ice. I was 15 then. They say that as you age, AC/DC's music becomes less appealing, but hear I sit, at 21 years old, having now purchased every AC/DC album available,and I can't stop playing Rock Or Bust. At 11 songs at 35 minutes, Rock or Bust represents everything that AC/DC is about, the rock n' roll equivalent of eating a home cooked meal after being away for weeks. AC/DC isn't about showing you how much you've grown up, but about showing you how much fun it is to block out everything and listen to some high voltage rock n' roll. Nobody is better at that than AC/DC, and nobody ever will be, and for that, AC/DC, I salute you.
    Highlights-Rock or Bust, Got Some Rock n' Roll Thunder, Rock the House, Sweet Candy, and Rock the Blues Away
    Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2014
    8
    This is a solid album. Short and sweet, the grooves are moving, the licks are inspiring, the production is gloriously dense where it should be dense and spacious where it should be spacious, and the performances all around are pro. I wasn't a fan of their last few albums, this one sits with the classics as far as I'm concerned. Dare I say their best release since Back In Black? Perhaps.
  6. Dec 4, 2014
    9
    Thank God the boys made exactly the same album again, for the 15th time. After a period in the 80's where the content and production weakened (although I still like "Flick of the Switch" a lot) things got better with "The Razor's Edge", and "Ballbreaker" really blew the doors open again.

    Can't help but think that "Ballbreaker" was the first album Phil Rudd had been on since "Flick". The
    Thank God the boys made exactly the same album again, for the 15th time. After a period in the 80's where the content and production weakened (although I still like "Flick of the Switch" a lot) things got better with "The Razor's Edge", and "Ballbreaker" really blew the doors open again.

    Can't help but think that "Ballbreaker" was the first album Phil Rudd had been on since "Flick". The albums have been pretty consistent since then. He's not "just" a drummer. I assume he's really on this one, and wasn't just credited.

    Regardless, this is a good one. The length isn't a problem. In fact, it should be a rule that AC/DC albums are 10 songs maximum. This one is 11, but the length is 35 minutes, so I'll give them a pass. In vinyl days, you had 18 minutes a side (if you wanted it loud) and this fits. Why make an album longer than it needs to be just because the media allows more? Nice job, boys.

    This is maybe the 2nd best album Brian's on. Yes, it's better than "For Those About To Rock".

    Buy it. Now.
    Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2014
    4
    Another album done by auto-pilot, tailored and produced for american countless radio air waving. Friendly advice (if you still love my favorite rock band) - play any album until and including Back In Black, after BIB all following records are more or less the same.
  8. Feb 14, 2015
    7
    They have indeed returned, AC/DC, one of the original and one of the best hard rock bands in history. The best 20 years they've been experimenting with trying to follow in the poor directions of what other hard rock bands of their time had been doing. They were at their best when they were making their own fuel pumping, adrenaline wired rock 'n roll. It's about time they realized what madeThey have indeed returned, AC/DC, one of the original and one of the best hard rock bands in history. The best 20 years they've been experimenting with trying to follow in the poor directions of what other hard rock bands of their time had been doing. They were at their best when they were making their own fuel pumping, adrenaline wired rock 'n roll. It's about time they realized what made them AC/DC. With this new album, each song brings back the old AC/DC with earth shattering vocals and vicious instrumentals, with of course catchy guitar riffs that have made AC/DC so memorable. AC/DC has returned to the roots that made them such an amazing rock band and I hope they continue doing so. Expand
  9. Jun 26, 2015
    9
    AC/DC is probably one of the most versatile mainstream bands around today. Decade after Decade the music just keeps coming, Not Once have I ever been let down and I can always count on a great concert to follow. Sure there a bit older now, but age doesn't apply to these icons. This one delivers just like their past albums. ENJOY
  10. Dec 12, 2014
    9
    I've just started listening to this band and believe me i'm in love with their songs and stuff. Rock or Bust is a record you'd like to hear for its energetic sound and lyrics. A 9 out of 10.
  11. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    I don't think AC/DC will ever change sounds. That's not exactly a bad thing in this case. Listening to this album gave me nostalgia from other 1980's albums and for all the good reasons. The guitars are punchy to say the least, and the lead voice is just as coarse as ever, and believe it not, in AC/DC's case, it makes a great combination.
  12. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    The most hard hitting AC/DC album for sure. Its like they're never gone! What an album, it just blew me away! Dont ever change as this music is here to stay.
  13. Feb 5, 2015
    10
    To be honest, never before listened an AC/DC album, i only knew 4 songs of them, but when i saw the album holographic cover with the AC DC letters on a exploding stone, i knew that i had to give it a try.

    I was expecting for a classic hard rock sound, a genre that i haven't explored so much, and about to extinction. It was an instant favorite, it is short, but solid, with any
    To be honest, never before listened an AC/DC album, i only knew 4 songs of them, but when i saw the album holographic cover with the AC DC letters on a exploding stone, i knew that i had to give it a try.

    I was expecting for a classic hard rock sound, a genre that i haven't explored so much, and about to extinction.

    It was an instant favorite, it is short, but solid, with any experimental musical bridge or something like that, it is just the riff oriented-great chorus classic hard rock formula, and it's great that way.

    The booklet portraits and art are amazing, so clean, so "classic".
    Expand
  14. Mar 3, 2015
    8
    This is their best album in a long time. I love the drums on this album. Track #3 is my favorite. Track #6 is good too. I heard they were thinking about calling this album Man Down. This is an album that you want to blast. Long live AC/DC. They always find a way to keep kicking out the good stuff. You won't be disappointed. Sorry to hear about Malcolm. Like the one comedian said, they canThis is their best album in a long time. I love the drums on this album. Track #3 is my favorite. Track #6 is good too. I heard they were thinking about calling this album Man Down. This is an album that you want to blast. Long live AC/DC. They always find a way to keep kicking out the good stuff. You won't be disappointed. Sorry to hear about Malcolm. Like the one comedian said, they can take the Hokey Pokey and rock it. Brian's voice seems better too. Expand
  15. May 8, 2016
    7
    It's AC/DC by numbers; a solid album featuring the rock n roll characteristics and nuances fans have come to expect from the band. Nothing more, nothing less. In a way, however, it's rather refreshing they were still able to pull it off without the underrated Malcolm Young.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Mojo
    Dec 17, 2014
    60
    While Rock Or Bust doesn't come close to that benchmark [1980's Back In Black], nor does it disgrace Young's legacy. [Jan 2015, p.95]
  2. Classic Rock Magazine
    Dec 16, 2014
    80
    Rock Or Bust is actually a very lean piece of work. [Jan 2015, p.114]
  3. Kerrang!
    Dec 16, 2014
    80
    This is an AC/DC record as lusty as they come. [22 Nov 2014, p.50]