User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 104
  2. Negative: 7 out of 104

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PrestonJ
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    I think Tom Dumont said it best when he stated, "Selling out is the notion of a preteen." This album is not about selling out or trying to become a pop icon rather to show where they had been getting their influence over the last few years and let everyone know how much fun it was. No Doubt has proven over the last 15 years that they are so much more than a Pop, ska, punk, or any other I think Tom Dumont said it best when he stated, "Selling out is the notion of a preteen." This album is not about selling out or trying to become a pop icon rather to show where they had been getting their influence over the last few years and let everyone know how much fun it was. No Doubt has proven over the last 15 years that they are so much more than a Pop, ska, punk, or any other kind of band there is, and come out as true musicians in the purest sense of the word. With that said Waiting room is by far the worst song i've heard in a while thus moving its overall score down to 9. Expand
  2. john
    Dec 30, 2001
    10
    this album is WAY better than i expected it to be... so thats why it gets the 10. 'dont let me down', 'in my head' and 'platinum blonde life' are great, if not brilliant, tracks. 'waiting room' seems overly out of place, and it also happens to be the worst track off the album. funny, cosidering the talent behind it, it should have been one of the best.
  3. Christy
    Jul 7, 2004
    2
    Funny how the same critics who trashed Return of Saturn liked Rock Steady more when really it's a piece of crap to most of their o.g. fans. I miss the No doubt of the Beacon Street, Tragic Kingdom, and Return of Saturn era.
  4. JamesF
    Aug 27, 2005
    7
    I rather liked it. I can't really compare it with the older stuff because it's just a different direction. I definitely enjoyed it more than the Saturn CD; it was just different good, rather than almost as good as the same. And I couldn't disagree more with the last journalist above, what is he talking about? It's Ocasek getting a bit Cars that makes the record worth I rather liked it. I can't really compare it with the older stuff because it's just a different direction. I definitely enjoyed it more than the Saturn CD; it was just different good, rather than almost as good as the same. And I couldn't disagree more with the last journalist above, what is he talking about? It's Ocasek getting a bit Cars that makes the record worth it. "Don't Let Me Down" is an unabashed blast! The best moment of the record. Sweet 80s sugar! Expand
  5. JeremyF
    May 8, 2007
    8
    I'm a little disappointed. While this is a fine album, and highly likable album for new fans, to old fans it seems like they're too "mainstream" for their own good. Tragic Kingdom, and Return of Saturn are a lot better. The words are better and the vocals are near-flawless. This album does have fantastic highlights, such as "Hella Good," "Running," and "In My Head." But all in I'm a little disappointed. While this is a fine album, and highly likable album for new fans, to old fans it seems like they're too "mainstream" for their own good. Tragic Kingdom, and Return of Saturn are a lot better. The words are better and the vocals are near-flawless. This album does have fantastic highlights, such as "Hella Good," "Running," and "In My Head." But all in all, I'd rather date back a few years for them. Expand
  6. Spooky
    Jun 29, 2002
    2
    There's a couple of radio-friendly hits on this latest effort but overall it is all over the place. Using multiple producers was a horrible idea, resulting in a mish-mash of stylings none of which particularly suits the group. How anyone (Entertainment Weekly, for one) can say this is their best effort is beyond me. It's such an uncomfortable album I almost feel embarrased for them.
  7. JossS.
    Dec 25, 2001
    2
    another pointless release. nothing new here. if you liked the no doubts other releases then you might want to give it a go. otherwise, run away as fast as you can.
  8. MeganA.
    Jan 3, 2002
    9
    This album is one that can really pick me up. It makes me smile. Track nine, Running, is one of those silly love songs that makes you so happy you can't help singing along.
  9. DoctorLazarus
    Feb 1, 2002
    10
    A complete redux of the No Doubt sound, Tony Kanal and Tom Dumont's thick keyboards are a welcome addition to a palette that suffered from overuse with their previous release. No Doubt's decision to collaborate has paid off with a treat I wasn't expecting when I first put the CD on.
  10. MarkW.
    Jul 27, 2002
    8
    An exciting and mature departure for No Doubt. Excellent and exciting. I love the Jamaican accent to the CD, which yet made excellent use of Gwen's vocal capabilities.
  11. wadev
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    this is NO DOUBT at their purist. Having stripped away unneccessary veneers,they truly shine in this pop-botox fun fest. Real but still just the right amount of make-up to be recognizable. A true masterpiece....NO DOUBT at their best
  12. JordanA
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Amazing record.
  13. MicheleM.
    Dec 26, 2001
    9
    this album is fresh, full of energy and diverse. I love it!
  14. JosefS.
    Aug 18, 2002
    10
    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT! I'm glad i got to listen to it for a while, beacsue when i first heard it, I would have given it a 6--only because it was NO DOUBT. but this album got better the more i listened to it! with genres flying off the walls, I love the fresh, intense vibe coming form it! what a hella good time!~
  15. zileto
    Sep 28, 2005
    1
    this album shows how much no doubt old out in mainstream pop culture
  16. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    Well, "Rocksteady" is a fairly good album. It's not my favorite. I don't see how critics praised this one and trashed "Return of Saturn." But I guess everyone has an opinion. Highlight tracks: "Don't Let Me Down", "Making Out", "Platinum Blonde Life", "Detective."
  17. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    What a feel good party record. Whenever I am feeling down, I turn this CD for a while and feel better about life in general. The album does what it set out to do, bring a backstage party vibe to your ears. Great stuff!
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Everything its predecessor wasn't: bouncy, joyful, carefree, and mostly engaging.
  2. Sure to convince doubters and win new fans, the set roars with the sort of fire rarely seen from a group with four albums under its belt.
  3. Rock Steady certainly isn't that good, and at times it's rather bad (usually when Ocasek gets a bit Cars). But it does have its moments, most of which come at the hands of [co-producer Nellee] Hooper...