User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 426 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 426
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    Wow, just wow. They literally stepped every single aspect up from the first album. Hits harder, cuts deeper, and is just .... incredible.. in every way.
    The lyrics are so deep, but the beats are so bangin that it takes a lot of listens to really fully comprehend how lyrical Mike and EL are here. And speaking of them, them chemistry is absolutely flawless.
    Just.. go cop this record...
    Wow, just wow. They literally stepped every single aspect up from the first album. Hits harder, cuts deeper, and is just .... incredible.. in every way.
    The lyrics are so deep, but the beats are so bangin that it takes a lot of listens to really fully comprehend how lyrical Mike and EL are here. And speaking of them, them chemistry is absolutely flawless.
    Just.. go cop this record... right now. its a free download so get ready to run em.
    And once you've ran them, go buy the CD and support these epic artists.
    Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2014
    9
    More badass, brasher, and braggadocios than the first one. This album's beats are superior to the original RTJ and the themes reach darker, deeper depths. Mike and El, unsurprisingly come in with astonishing verses, and the guests they bring in make tremendous use of their time on the album. Top 5 album of the year in any genre, but as of now, it stands shoulders above any other rap albumMore badass, brasher, and braggadocios than the first one. This album's beats are superior to the original RTJ and the themes reach darker, deeper depths. Mike and El, unsurprisingly come in with astonishing verses, and the guests they bring in make tremendous use of their time on the album. Top 5 album of the year in any genre, but as of now, it stands shoulders above any other rap album released this year. All hail Run the Jewels.

    Score : 8.9 - 9.1 / 10
    Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    The best part of RTJ2 is how effortlessly it seems to flow from one track to the next. Once you play the first track "Jeopardy", you get sucked into the album and it's over before you know it. Killer Mike and El-P have made it clear that they are some of the best rappers out there today. Easily the best hip-hop album of the year.
  4. Oct 30, 2014
    9
    The most awesome rap duo since Andre 3k and Big Boi. This is a statement I am willing to admit, based on my opinion. There really is nothing else to say.
  5. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    Everything from the beats to the lyrics are insane. El-P and Killer Mike have so much chemistry and bring a lot of energy to this album. This album shows how the duo have matured since their last album. I definitely prefer this to the first RTJ album. Definite album of the year for me.
  6. Nov 2, 2014
    9
    Every line is spat out with the most brash, hostile verbosity it's a wonder my ears haven't shrivelled up and died. This album sets its sights high and exceeds them in every way; the duo's chemistry is one-of-a-kind, both bringing something different to the table. I have a feeling this album will be going round and round well into 2015. RUN THEM JEWELS FAST!
  7. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    I *almost* did not want to listen to this record because of my love for their first - my thought was, "how are they going to even come close?" I don't listen to as much hip-hop as I did about ten or fifteen years ago (yeesh, that aged me) but I could not stop listening to RTJ last summer, especially during some hot Texas distance runs. It gets you pumped to do $hit. So, when I gave RTJ2 aI *almost* did not want to listen to this record because of my love for their first - my thought was, "how are they going to even come close?" I don't listen to as much hip-hop as I did about ten or fifteen years ago (yeesh, that aged me) but I could not stop listening to RTJ last summer, especially during some hot Texas distance runs. It gets you pumped to do $hit. So, when I gave RTJ2 a first listen.... *insert head-exploding.gif* Woah. Do yourself a favor - Bow to the masters, Ladies & Gentlemen. (Personal favorite track - "Love Again". The grimiest beat to the most beautiful love song ever made.) Expand
  8. Aug 30, 2015
    9
    This is one of the best Hip-Hop albums I've ever heard. Every song has incredible layered production that gets crazier as time progresses. The chemistry is perfect.
  9. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    Everything has been improved. The beats are even better than before, the lyrics are much deeper. The production and raps flow together so well that the whole album sounds like one song. Truly incredible and nearly flawless.
  10. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Çfarë një album të mirë ! Ndoshta më të mirë gjatë gjithë vitit ! Release zgjuar nga këto dy . Unë nuk mund të besoj se unë jam duke thënë këtë , por kjo është më mirë se i pari .
    10/10
    rekomanduar krejtësisht !
  11. Nov 28, 2014
    10
    I created a metacritic account JUST to review this album. It's comfortably the best album I've heard this year and the best hip hop album I've heard in years. Guaranteed to go down as a classic, it's an astounding album. When it's over you feel like you've been abused, but in the best possible way. A 10/10 if ever there was one in almost every way. Innovative, amazingly produced,I created a metacritic account JUST to review this album. It's comfortably the best album I've heard this year and the best hip hop album I've heard in years. Guaranteed to go down as a classic, it's an astounding album. When it's over you feel like you've been abused, but in the best possible way. A 10/10 if ever there was one in almost every way. Innovative, amazingly produced, incredible rhymes and inventive subject matter. A classic. Expand
  12. Feb 11, 2015
    9
    Fantastic follow up to RTJ debut album. This album improved everything that RTJ was doing on their last record. The instrumentals are absolutely banging, and Killer Mike and El-P rap with an unbreakable chemistry
  13. Apr 27, 2015
    9
    You might want to have the lyrics next to you to fully experience the writing skills of the two alliterations addicts. There's nothing standing in their way. El-P has made his best beats for this 11 track piece of art and Killer Mike is simply the best lyricist in the game alongside Kendrick. But that's not it, Run the Jewels actually works because there's that chemistry we hardly everYou might want to have the lyrics next to you to fully experience the writing skills of the two alliterations addicts. There's nothing standing in their way. El-P has made his best beats for this 11 track piece of art and Killer Mike is simply the best lyricist in the game alongside Kendrick. But that's not it, Run the Jewels actually works because there's that chemistry we hardly ever find in any other duo. RTJ2 is insane and they know it. It goes from politics to police brutality to hardcore sex to intimate introspection... They're having fun on this album and they seek no validation. Their art answers to no one else and the sound is so unique and deep that you'll need a few replays with good headphones to really understand why this album was called the best thing of 2014 by numerous music critics.

    Best track: "Early"
    Exact score: 9.4
    Expand
  14. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    I don't use this word a lot, but these tracks are actually sick. The production is fabulous and not too overdone. The lyrics are hard hitting and understandable. Once you start listening, you really don't want to stop. It's that fabulous. My favorite since GKMC.
  15. Jan 8, 2016
    10
    This album is a mastery of hip-hop. I can not stop listening to this album. It's on repeat constantly. Most of the songs on the album are a strong 10 and even the weaker songs are a 9. It is top to bottom an awesome album. If you are a fan of rap or music it is a must listen.
  16. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    Along with Piñata (by Freddie Gibbs and Madlib), this is by far one of the best rap album of 2014. It's probably the greatest album of 2014 overall. It's a classic. It's raw. It's unique. It's addictive. It's Amazing. Even though the RJT1 is great, this album is better.
  17. Mar 3, 2015
    9
    On "RTJ2," the brash, aggressive style heard in the first collaborative album between Killer Mike and El-P is back and better than ever. The duo even manages to get a guest verse from former Rage Against The Machine frontman Zack de la Rocha, who hasn't released any new material in years. Overall, the album is impressive, just like the chemistry between the two MCs. Every beat is anOn "RTJ2," the brash, aggressive style heard in the first collaborative album between Killer Mike and El-P is back and better than ever. The duo even manages to get a guest verse from former Rage Against The Machine frontman Zack de la Rocha, who hasn't released any new material in years. Overall, the album is impressive, just like the chemistry between the two MCs. Every beat is an absolute banger with the bass turned up to 11, and Killer Mike and El-P flaunt their lyricism on song after song. This is visceral, high-octane rap at its very best. Expand
  18. Jul 31, 2016
    9
    If you were to listen to this record knowing nothing about El-P and Killer Mike, you'd they were bloodthirsty, subversive gang members riding around in a Pontiac Catalina popping caps in every **** that crossed their path. But this image fades away at the first glance of this rap pairing; two normal, candid-looking guys who don't match the raunchy motifs of their music at all. While theirIf you were to listen to this record knowing nothing about El-P and Killer Mike, you'd they were bloodthirsty, subversive gang members riding around in a Pontiac Catalina popping caps in every **** that crossed their path. But this image fades away at the first glance of this rap pairing; two normal, candid-looking guys who don't match the raunchy motifs of their music at all. While their image can be skewed, what isn't up to debate is this group's success and their incredibly potent statements about law enforcement, members of clergy, and their own-apparently precedented-eminence in the rap game, which you almost can't blame them for. They are, without a doubt, the most prophetic interracial rap group since Em and Dre, but with the same hardcore messages as Rage Against the Machine (which is pretty fitting since Zak de la Rocha is featured on one of the tracks). Expand
  19. Nov 4, 2014
    10
    Banger after banger.

    Relieved that I can still Run the Jewels on shuffle. Sorry Kendrick, best sound in rap right now.

    Everything El-P touches kills. COLD VEIN. FANTASTIC DAMAGE. CANCER 4 CURE.
  20. Oct 27, 2014
    8
    The best duo in hip hop is back with yet another killer album. I really like the album, not really a fan of the song Love Again, lyrics wise it's really not my style although there are some good rhymes here and there. Definitely my favorite hip hop album this year.
  21. May 9, 2015
    10
    Absolutely an improvement from RTJ1 in every aspect - production, beat quality, flow...I mean, hell, even the f*cking COVER ART is better than RTJ1. The only complaint I have is about the "dick in her mouth" theme on Love Again (Akinyele Black), which feels tasteless, but better than any of Tyler, the Creator's rape-fantasy horsesh*t on Goblin. Beyond those two complaints, though, you haveAbsolutely an improvement from RTJ1 in every aspect - production, beat quality, flow...I mean, hell, even the f*cking COVER ART is better than RTJ1. The only complaint I have is about the "dick in her mouth" theme on Love Again (Akinyele Black), which feels tasteless, but better than any of Tyler, the Creator's rape-fantasy horsesh*t on Goblin. Beyond those two complaints, though, you have a rap collaboration that outmatches Jay-Z and Kanye's "The Throne" cash-grab in every aspect. Highlights: every single track. Seriously. So good. Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    9/10..................................................................................................................................................
  23. Nov 4, 2014
    7
    Run the Jewels may have diversified their sound for their second LP, but if their goal was to trump or compete with their debut, they failed. RTJ2 steps away from their successful throat slashing style of their first album several times through out this record with little success. Songs like Jeopardy and All My Life are able to survive among bangers like Oh My Darling Don't Cry, but theRun the Jewels may have diversified their sound for their second LP, but if their goal was to trump or compete with their debut, they failed. RTJ2 steps away from their successful throat slashing style of their first album several times through out this record with little success. Songs like Jeopardy and All My Life are able to survive among bangers like Oh My Darling Don't Cry, but the LP's last three tracks blow up what was building up to be a nearly flawless album. Although I appreciate their effort to expand their range, it is done unsuccessfully on RTJ2. Expand
  24. Jul 16, 2018
    8
    Bolder than first group play, RTJ 2 brings more variety of beats and textures, even being still full-of-electro. Beats sounds different one of another, album is even more aggressive too. RTJ although excellent, isn't so pleasureful listening than this one.
  25. Jan 15, 2015
    9
    Absolutely an improvement over the duo's first record. RTJ2 shares a lot with its predecessor lyrically, but El-P shines a bit more on this record than the first one, as does his production, which is outstanding.
    The record also features some amazing features from the likes of Zack De La Rocha, Boots, Travis Barker, and the late Ikey Owens, whose piano outro on Angel Duster closes the
    Absolutely an improvement over the duo's first record. RTJ2 shares a lot with its predecessor lyrically, but El-P shines a bit more on this record than the first one, as does his production, which is outstanding.
    The record also features some amazing features from the likes of Zack De La Rocha, Boots, Travis Barker, and the late Ikey Owens, whose piano outro on Angel Duster closes the album with one hell of a bang.
    In fact, Angel Duster is probably the best track of 2014.
    9.5 would be more appropriate, but Metacritic doesn't have half-points.
    Expand
  26. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    8.4/100...............................................................................................................................................
  27. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    Killer Mike and El-P have done it again, except this time, they're bigger, meaner, louder, and better on this collaboration "RTJ2." With the intensity dialed up into torturous proportions, El-P has taken his production to unprecedented levels, giving one of the top wordsmith's a dark, violent background to rap over, though El-P is able to hold his own just as well. Fierce and fast, thisKiller Mike and El-P have done it again, except this time, they're bigger, meaner, louder, and better on this collaboration "RTJ2." With the intensity dialed up into torturous proportions, El-P has taken his production to unprecedented levels, giving one of the top wordsmith's a dark, violent background to rap over, though El-P is able to hold his own just as well. Fierce and fast, this near 40-minute album is one of 2014's (if not the) greatest releases. Standout tracks for me would have to be the sinister, head-splitting, siren-filled "Blockbuster Night, Pt. 1" and the oh-so-fitting song for these two, "Close Your Eyes (And Count to F**k)." Expand
  28. Feb 11, 2015
    8
    This album shares a lot of ideas from the first Run the Jewels, but it's darker, slightly more conceptual, and lacks a little in the way of hooks. It's close, but I think for now I prefer the group's debut over this LP. I feel like Killer Mike and El-P wanted to have subject matter for their next album, instead of just straight braggin like they did on the debut, but they didn't push theThis album shares a lot of ideas from the first Run the Jewels, but it's darker, slightly more conceptual, and lacks a little in the way of hooks. It's close, but I think for now I prefer the group's debut over this LP. I feel like Killer Mike and El-P wanted to have subject matter for their next album, instead of just straight braggin like they did on the debut, but they didn't push the concept as hard as they should've. There are songs with topics like Early feat. Boots (who has an INCREDIBLE hook on the track, probably the best one on the album), but there are also songs with lyrics from the duo just bragging like they did before. If you want to go conceptual, you need to go all the way. Not to say this is a weak album, it's definitely the opposite. It's just enjoyable for different reasons that the first Run the Jewels. Bottom line, this duo was exactly what rap needed in the 2010s. To take a step back from the super-experimentalness of Death Grips and clipping., and to come back to the roots of hip-hop for a second. Expand
  29. Dec 10, 2014
    10
    I only recently discovered them, but good God they are phenomenal, from the relatively original beats to the amazing flow both of them posses, easily the best rap due I've ever seen, I dare say they are better than OutKast.
  30. Dec 12, 2014
    9
    It seems like there aren't any rappers as smart as Killer Mike who are making anything lately, and EL P is doing something cool and fresh with the production. RTJ2 is hard af, dark and angsty. Dis album iz 2 cool. (love again is however the most retarded song in the set.)
  31. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    Every track on RTJ2 is a masterpiece. The lyrical content flows melodiously and is rife with political & social commentary. The synergy between El-P and Killer Mike is well, killer. Improves on every aspect of their first album. Definitely my choice for best album of 2014.
  32. May 31, 2015
    9
    A seriously 'bullet-proof' album, about as close to a'10' as it gets. A fabulous pairing Of 'Mike' and El-P.
    Slick flow, 'bad' beats and wicked production. Even Zack De La Roca makes an appearance.
    A must have album!
  33. Jan 22, 2015
    9
    The best rap album of the last 10 years. Enough said. I'm just gonna copy/paste this statement now. The best rap album of the last 10 years. Enough said.
    The best rap album of the last 10 years. Enough said.
    The best rap album of the last 10 years. Enough said.
    The best rap album of the last 10 years. Enough said.
    The best rap album of the last 10 years. Enough said.
  34. Jun 9, 2015
    9
    Even better than the first one! El-P's production is great, like always, but I like this album's production even more than the last album; the beats have a wide range in tempo and flair and are more layered and complex. El-P and Killer Mike once again come with some intense, hard-hitting rhymes, but they also rap about some serious subject matter on songs like "Early" and "Angel Duster."Even better than the first one! El-P's production is great, like always, but I like this album's production even more than the last album; the beats have a wide range in tempo and flair and are more layered and complex. El-P and Killer Mike once again come with some intense, hard-hitting rhymes, but they also rap about some serious subject matter on songs like "Early" and "Angel Duster." The way their beats complement their flow and their lyrics so well makes this album so enjoyable to listen to. Every song on this album was a highlight to me, but the ones I loved the absolute most were "Blockbuster Night Part 1," "Close Your Eyes (And Count to **** "Early," "All Due Respect," and "Angel Duster." Fantastic album Expand
  35. Mar 19, 2015
    10
    Super poignant, spares no one. Great production, great flow, great on re-listens. I get something new out of this album after every listen. RTJ is up there with Kendrick and Kanye at the top of modern hip hop.
  36. Apr 23, 2015
    10
    this is easily the most addictive rap record of the year.
    El-P and Killer Mike really outdid themselves on this thing.
    album of the year for me. .
  37. Jun 16, 2015
    9
    2014 wasn't a great year for hip hop. Not very many projects went above good that year. Luckily, on October 27, 2014, Run the Jewels came to fix this problem. With their second full-length album, Run the Jewels 2, Killer Mike and El-P deliver impressive rapping from front to back, with both rappers showing clever lyricism and great flows, although El-P didn't have the most impressive2014 wasn't a great year for hip hop. Not very many projects went above good that year. Luckily, on October 27, 2014, Run the Jewels came to fix this problem. With their second full-length album, Run the Jewels 2, Killer Mike and El-P deliver impressive rapping from front to back, with both rappers showing clever lyricism and great flows, although El-P didn't have the most impressive delivery to me. They have an impressive chemistry too. And another important aspect of RTJ2 are the minimalist but impressive beats that El-P handles. A lot of Death Grips influence, but more hip hop-ified. They are all bangers. Also, nearly everything on this album is original. The beats are influenced by Death Grips with their repetitive patterns and samples, but everything else about the beats and nearly every other aspect of the album, including the two rappers' chemistry, lyricism and flows are original. In summary, the best hip hop album of 2014 and an essential listen to any hip hop fan. Grade: A. Highlights: "Oh My Darling Don't Cry", "Blockbuster Night, Pt. 1", "Close Your Eyes", "All Due Respect", "Love Again (Akinyele Back)". Worst song: "Crown" Expand
  38. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    Following its first EP, the RTJ rap group composed of Killer Mike and El-p returns stronger and better. The album is perfect on every aspect, Killer Mike still kills it lyrically and proves he can adapt to the changing times in hip-hop with his consistent lack of wackness and El-p's great bangin beats makes this album one of the best hip-hop albums in years.
  39. Jan 6, 2016
    8
    'Run the Jewels2' by RTJ is a really good album. Great, modern production. Great rapper - Killer Mike. They're keeping high level. Good job and probably the best album 2014.
  40. May 1, 2016
    10
    the best album of 2014 hands down. Such a compulsively listenable and enjoyable album, you get 2 rappers at the top of their game feeding off and complimenting each other in mesmerizing ways. These guys are the future of rap.
  41. Apr 29, 2016
    9
    This was the best Hip Hop album I heard of 2014, and one of the best albums of that year. The production on this album is full and heart pounding. The production matches the style of rap perfectly, blunt, loud and nothing holding it back. El-P's producing is easily on the same level as Kanye West's, and his and Killer Mike's rapping is something different. They don't have any constraints,This was the best Hip Hop album I heard of 2014, and one of the best albums of that year. The production on this album is full and heart pounding. The production matches the style of rap perfectly, blunt, loud and nothing holding it back. El-P's producing is easily on the same level as Kanye West's, and his and Killer Mike's rapping is something different. They don't have any constraints, they speak their minds and we are lucky for what came out of their minds, RTJ2. I find this album an improvement over their first album in every single way, and that album itself was really good. There are many highly anticipated albums coming out in 2016, but the one Hip Hop fans should keep on eye out is Run the Jewels 3. Expand
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. The Wire
    Dec 16, 2014
    80
    This is the sound of two mature rap gentlemen throwing it up for one of hiphop's most enduring, if not always endearing, charms: utter immaturity. [Dec 2014, p.54]
  2. Q Magazine
    Dec 8, 2014
    80
    On every possible level, this album is a total blast. [Jan 2015, p.128]
  3. Dec 3, 2014
    90
    Whether it's rage or just two guys trying to make each other laugh with dark humor, RTJ2 stands tall in a year of weak hip-hop.