• Record Label: BMG
  • Release Date: Jun 3, 2020
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 233 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 233
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 3, 2020
    10
    "And everyday on evening news they feed you fear for free
    And you so numb you watch the cops choke out a man like me
    And 'til my voice goes from a shriek to whisper, 'I can't breathe'"
  2. Jun 3, 2020
    9
    This album could not have come at a more necessary time. The boys are as energetic and on point as ever. El-p's production remains interesting and unique. The subject matter, grimy bangers, and amazing features (I mean Pharrell and Zach De La Rocha on the same track come on) make this amazing
  3. Jun 6, 2020
    10
    This is definitely RAP album of the year! The best album of 2020 after "Fetch the bolt cutters"...
  4. Jun 3, 2020
    10
    Easily the rawest, hardest, and most dense album these guys have ever put out. Gets better and better each listen 10/10
  5. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    What other rating can you give to an album this lyrically dense, this experimental in production and this relevant in message?

    No second is wasted, the features only add to the message and are perfectly placed, while the undeniable, effervescent chemistry between EL-P and Killer Mike is better than ever. A set of dystopian tracks that sound eerily familiar to what we're living through,
    What other rating can you give to an album this lyrically dense, this experimental in production and this relevant in message?

    No second is wasted, the features only add to the message and are perfectly placed, while the undeniable, effervescent chemistry between EL-P and Killer Mike is better than ever.

    A set of dystopian tracks that sound eerily familiar to what we're living through, and bangers to help us through it.
    Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2020
    9
    What a perfect time to release these sound, black-empowering, and institution call-out anthems. Stellar and next-level productions are synchronizing the profound and hard-hitting bars from El-P and Killer Mike; blasts off the entire corrupt barriers, leaving it bare. RTJ4 sets the new zenith for Run the Jewels.
  7. Jun 4, 2020
    9
    Returning from a break with this level of quality music is astounding. Run The Jewels reminds the world that their finger on the pulse of society is still unrivaled.
  8. Jun 3, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best rap album since TPAB. Production is from other planet, the beat switches, the flows everything (except for Pharell) is perfect here. Expand
  9. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    Astonishing album from start to finish.

    It hits hard because of the recent events and is more relevant than ever.

    The production is extremely precise and thought-through, adding to the incredible atmosphere of the record.

    RTJ2 quality, 40min blessing.
  10. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    A seething, sanguinary one-two-punch from HipHop's most relevant and prophetic duo. Run the Jewels have laid the landscape of HipHop to ruin since their debut and each subsequent album has found a way to add to their untarnished legacy. Run the Jewels 4 features their most aggressive, sonically and lyrically dense album to date....which is saying something. Due to the impeccable lyricism,A seething, sanguinary one-two-punch from HipHop's most relevant and prophetic duo. Run the Jewels have laid the landscape of HipHop to ruin since their debut and each subsequent album has found a way to add to their untarnished legacy. Run the Jewels 4 features their most aggressive, sonically and lyrically dense album to date....which is saying something. Due to the impeccable lyricism, production, and timing of this album, I am giving it a 10/10 and would recommend it to anyone regardless of their musical taste or preference. Expand
  11. Jun 5, 2020
    10
    Holy Calamaf******. This is the rawest , most important and most progressive album you will hear this year and it is their best to date (followed so damn close by RTJ2). Not 1 miss on the track listing, amazing tracks top the bottom. They put genre and ideas in a blender and shake them up harder than their previous releases. They totally snapped on this one. The Production is their best,Holy Calamaf******. This is the rawest , most important and most progressive album you will hear this year and it is their best to date (followed so damn close by RTJ2). Not 1 miss on the track listing, amazing tracks top the bottom. They put genre and ideas in a blender and shake them up harder than their previous releases. They totally snapped on this one. The Production is their best, their message is their most specific and on point, and their bars are so insane that they run circles around you. Bless RTJ. 10/10. This album should be heard by anyone including non RTJ fans. AOTY? check Expand
  12. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    Powerful lyrics, intense beats, stellar collaborations. More relevant now than ever, and doesn't let the moment down one bit.
  13. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard. Easily one of the best things to happen in 2020!
  14. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    Instant classic. Mike and EL-P as insane as always, I'd even call this their best to date.
  15. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    Soundtrack of 2020. Relevant songs, banger after banger, manifesto after manifesto. Favs: Yankee and the Brave, Ju$t, Out of Sight, Walking in the Snow, A Few Words for Firing Squad.
  16. Jun 5, 2020
    10
    What can I say? This is a great album, from a production standpoint it is absolutely phenomenal, EL-P absolutely killed it with the production, with some help in some of the tracks, like the great HOLY CALAMAF*CK which has a contribution from BOOTS. Killer Mike gives some great delivery, the lyrics are pretty great they are the perfect blend of humor and social commentary. this is a veryWhat can I say? This is a great album, from a production standpoint it is absolutely phenomenal, EL-P absolutely killed it with the production, with some help in some of the tracks, like the great HOLY CALAMAF*CK which has a contribution from BOOTS. Killer Mike gives some great delivery, the lyrics are pretty great they are the perfect blend of humor and social commentary. this is a very fitting album for the times we are currently living. Expand
  17. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    This will be AOTY, an album’s words and music combined Has not been so overwhelmingly impactful on the head and the heart in recent years. Completely consistent , there are no misses on this album. THIS is what the top of the rap/hip hop/ lyrical and production game looks like.
  18. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    jesus ****ing christ. Run The Jewels has yet to miss, four albums in. RTJ4 hits hard. 10/10.
  19. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    El-ps production has gotten god level and the way he weaves aggression in his beats is something only a veteran can do. lyrically there isn’t a verse anywhere besides maybe 2 chains verse . Plus killer mike mentions jimmy savile and high level pedophiles in power just makes this feel like they’re holding no punches and going out on their ships
  20. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    RTJ4 is the greatest hip-hop album I have ever heard, and it may be my personal favorite album of all time. All the lyrics cover relevant topics that are deep and insightful. The word-play is on point and most of the features are very good. The music is beautiful, and layered with the fantastic lyrics, this is one of the greatest albums of all time.
  21. Jun 9, 2020
    10
    The worst part of COVID19 was missing an RTJ / RATM concert. The best part of COVID19 is this album. Killer Mike fan & RTJ since the beginning. This is a good one.
  22. Jun 6, 2020
    10
    The other day I was thinking I wish a rap album would come out that sounded like it came from the 90's. The next day this little gem dropped.
  23. Jun 4, 2020
    9
    Holy **** this album is good. Every track is great but the best in my opinion is a few words for the firing squad. Listen to it now.
  24. Jun 5, 2020
    10
    Album of the year for me. Sounds amazing on headphones. Drums on Goonies vs ET, excellent. Last track is mesmerising.
  25. Jun 7, 2020
    10
    I’ve listened to this album 25 times and I’m still struggling to find a bad song. Best Tun The Jewels album yet.
  26. Jun 8, 2020
    10
    This album is amazing. It came out at the perfect time as well, as everything discussed on this album you can see in effect in america right now. The beats, lyrics and flows on this album is just great. It's not poppy rap, it's not affected by big companies trying to make a more mainstream sound, this is just raw, political hip-hop in its best form. My album of the year 2020 for sure
  27. Jun 4, 2020
    9
    This is their best one yet, one of the best albums of the year and came at a perfect time too.
  28. Jun 7, 2020
    10
    This is a thoroughly captivating and hard hitting album from start to finish. Without a doubt going to be in my top 5 albums of this year. A pertinent and intellectual soundtrack to this scary time.
  29. Jun 6, 2020
    10
    Sonically, EL-P has switched back to the RTJ2 era in the terms of the overall composition for the songs, which in turn helps emphasise the overall feel and point of the album. With the socio-political basis for the album, its rare you find a song that has nothing to say based around what is going on right now in society, which is even more poignant as this album was made over 24 months andSonically, EL-P has switched back to the RTJ2 era in the terms of the overall composition for the songs, which in turn helps emphasise the overall feel and point of the album. With the socio-political basis for the album, its rare you find a song that has nothing to say based around what is going on right now in society, which is even more poignant as this album was made over 24 months and not that last 10 days. Personal highlights have to be Walking in the snow, Holy **** pulling the pin (with an absolutely spine tingling feature from Mavis Staples) and a few words for the firing squad, which has to be said I feel is one of the best closing songs on an album I've heard in a long while. Without a doubt their finest work. Expand
  30. Jun 6, 2020
    10
    Run the Jewels continue to kill it while spreading the message. RTJ' s best production to date, Mike's verses hit harder than Ngannou.
  31. 5am
    Jun 6, 2020
    10
    This is yet another great album by RTJ, containing great relevant lyrics, great production, great features, and it could not have come at a better time. There isn’t a single bad song on this album. AOTY for me so far.
  32. Jun 6, 2020
    10
    There was a convergence
    RATM - RATM
    Wu Tang Clan - Enter the 36 Chambers
    Public Enemy - Fear of Black Planet
    We are better for the fact this album exists
  33. Jun 5, 2020
    4
    As a long-time RTJ fan, there's something missing here that I just can't put my finger on. The social and political commentary is right on the nose as always from Mike and El, and the production is undeniably on-brand for the latter, but it's also... safe?

    Run the Jewels has always prided themselves on the raw energy and obnoxiously fun experimentation with their beats and wordplay.
    As a long-time RTJ fan, there's something missing here that I just can't put my finger on. The social and political commentary is right on the nose as always from Mike and El, and the production is undeniably on-brand for the latter, but it's also... safe?

    Run the Jewels has always prided themselves on the raw energy and obnoxiously fun experimentation with their beats and wordplay. Here, the duo seem more relaxed while also delivering some chilling takes on the current state of the world and our nation. There's less of that "My fist to your face is **** Folgers" type bravado and we never get a bar from El that's simultaneously gross, funny and instantly quotable.

    My opinion may be sullied somewhat by the 3 1/2 year wait, the messy sample-clearing debacle that delayed the release of RTJ 4 by a full month, or the promises from El-P that the album would be, cover to cover, un-apologetically in-your-face.

    That all to say: this feels like a project that takes several steps forward but twice as many back. Run the Jewels has always upped the ante with each release, but RTJ 4 feels like they folded halfway through the album.
    Expand
  34. Jun 8, 2020
    2
    RTJ has proven to be one of the most poignant lyrically charged rap groups in an era when lyricism is being dumb-downed in favour of repetitive and earcandy sounds. The lyrics reflect now but the only problem I have with the album being that, like a twitter hashtag tag it won’t live longer before devoted fans shelve the project and go back to listening to RTJ2 instead.Problem with criticsRTJ has proven to be one of the most poignant lyrically charged rap groups in an era when lyricism is being dumb-downed in favour of repetitive and earcandy sounds. The lyrics reflect now but the only problem I have with the album being that, like a twitter hashtag tag it won’t live longer before devoted fans shelve the project and go back to listening to RTJ2 instead.Problem with critics nowadays they are quick to call projects instant classics which reduces the weight of the word and its meaning. Expand
  35. Jun 5, 2020
    9
    No album this year has felt as relevant as rtj4 because of the current climate his calls for revolution and an end to police brutality feel more important than ever.
  36. Jun 5, 2020
    10
    Best RTJ album so far, they outdid theirselves, album of the year so far, excellent
  37. Jun 5, 2020
    9
    Over Industrious And Grimy Beats, Killer Mike And El-P Hone Their Politically Charged Verses, From Police Brutality To The Injustice Of The Amercian System, Thematically Presented By It's Raw And Unapologetic Delivery, Which Makes It Artistically Explicit.
  38. Jun 5, 2020
    9
    As always, El spits fire and Mike spits ether. The timing for this album to pop out couldn't be more precise, and only reaffirms the fact that this duo is indeed a gift for this era, a gift that should be not only appreciated, but to be taken as a lesson for awareness, anger management (which put in RTJ terms is actually ANGER REDIRECTING), and the power of such anger when we collectivelyAs always, El spits fire and Mike spits ether. The timing for this album to pop out couldn't be more precise, and only reaffirms the fact that this duo is indeed a gift for this era, a gift that should be not only appreciated, but to be taken as a lesson for awareness, anger management (which put in RTJ terms is actually ANGER REDIRECTING), and the power of such anger when we collectively use it to change things for the better, once and for all. ALL HANDS IN FIST AND GUN POSITION, RIGHT NOW! Expand
  39. Jun 17, 2020
    3
    Worthies (3/11):
    - Yankee And The Brave (Episode 4)
    - Holy ****
    - The Ground Below
  40. Jun 5, 2020
    9
    Fourth chapter for the duo, the work is absolutely good. Lyrics, instrumental and themes are fantastic. The full-album is cohesive and absolutely actual. I do not give 10/10 because there are 11 songs, they are consistent at maximum, but there is not a "different beat or song". All's are similar, but very pretty good. A masterpiece of hip-hop for year 2020.
    Best songs not in order for me:
    Fourth chapter for the duo, the work is absolutely good. Lyrics, instrumental and themes are fantastic. The full-album is cohesive and absolutely actual. I do not give 10/10 because there are 11 songs, they are consistent at maximum, but there is not a "different beat or song". All's are similar, but very pretty good. A masterpiece of hip-hop for year 2020.
    Best songs not in order for me:
    - walking in the snow
    - Just
    - pulling the pean

    Review:
    Themes: 10
    Instrumental: 8.5
    Lyrics: 9
    Total: 9,2
    Expand
  41. Jun 4, 2020
    10
    Levelled up again. Nothing they can’t do and hauntingly fits the current landscape while bopping at the same time
  42. Jun 5, 2020
    10
    Made an account to make sure more people know and hear of this album. An absolute masterpiece that managed to meet the incredibly high expectations set by previous albums. "Walking in the snow" is a track everyone should listen, as both the MC's of the duo delivered probably the best verses we'll have in 2020.
  43. Jun 12, 2020
    10
    RTJ has always delivered incredible beats, lyrics, and flows all charged by injustices. But RTJ4 is on a whole other level. This is an album that only they could have created. They kicked everything into high gear seemingly effortless. They are completely done mincing words. They don't give a **** if you are offended. And if you are, this album isn't for you. This is music for theRTJ has always delivered incredible beats, lyrics, and flows all charged by injustices. But RTJ4 is on a whole other level. This is an album that only they could have created. They kicked everything into high gear seemingly effortless. They are completely done mincing words. They don't give a **** if you are offended. And if you are, this album isn't for you. This is music for the revolution. And the revolution is now. Expand
  44. Jul 9, 2020
    9
    Adventurous, richly sounding hip hop. One of the strongest albums of 2020. Every song distinctly differs from other, I like that.
  45. Jun 14, 2020
    9
    Great album. El-P is great as always, but Killer Mike is on another level throughout, especially on walking in the snow
  46. Jun 11, 2020
    8
    Incredibly powerful and important album, especially now. Even though most of the lyrics were written in late 2019, the lyrics feel terrifyingly perfect for whats happening now. The album, to put it simply, is banger after banger and features the familiar cast of features on a RTJ album,, Zach de la Rocha for example, and new features such as 2 Chainz, Pharrell Williams, and Mavis Staples.Incredibly powerful and important album, especially now. Even though most of the lyrics were written in late 2019, the lyrics feel terrifyingly perfect for whats happening now. The album, to put it simply, is banger after banger and features the familiar cast of features on a RTJ album,, Zach de la Rocha for example, and new features such as 2 Chainz, Pharrell Williams, and Mavis Staples. Some high points: the sample/instrumental on ooh la la, Killer Mikes Verse on walking in the snow, Mavis Staples on pulling the pin, and everything about JU$T and tHE fantastic a few words for the firing squad. Killer Mike and El-P's chemistry is as good as ever as well. The only downside is that it is very similar to every other album they've put out. If you're a fan of RTJ, this isn't a problem, but their style may drive away new fans or long time haters. 4th best album of the year so far. Expand
  47. Jun 11, 2020
    10
    Front to back - no misses. So far it's this and Alfredo for rap album of the year. Impressive production even by El-P's standards. Strong lyrical performance from both of them and all of the features are perfectly selected. Couldn't ask for anymore from them, lived up to the hype!
  48. Jun 20, 2020
    10
    Easy 10. There may never have been album released at a more perfect and urgent time. El-P’s beats bang and he has reinvented himself yet again on this fantastic project. Reminds me of some Bomb Squad and Public Enemy, Ice Cube, NWA, Beastie Boys and “Ooh LaLa” gives me vibes of Nas “NY State of Mind”. This is the soundtrack to 2020. I recommend it to all my clients and friends because IEasy 10. There may never have been album released at a more perfect and urgent time. El-P’s beats bang and he has reinvented himself yet again on this fantastic project. Reminds me of some Bomb Squad and Public Enemy, Ice Cube, NWA, Beastie Boys and “Ooh LaLa” gives me vibes of Nas “NY State of Mind”. This is the soundtrack to 2020. I recommend it to all my clients and friends because I feel it’s such an important album and can teach people how to unite with eachother rather than divide, as well as open peoples eyes on what’s wrong with our country all while having fun Listening. It’s obvious how much these legends enjoy their craft and I respect that so much. They could easily follow the trends of so many new rappers out there and just put out 25 tracks of subpar material and get millions of streams but they choose to bless us all with concise albums of extremely well thought out music with no BS and no filler. The world needs groups like RTJ right now and I pray we’re lucky enough to get an RTJ10 someday. My five top tracks are Ooh LaLa, Out of Sight, The Ground Below, goonies VS E.T., and Pulling The Pin. And Yankee and the Brave. Lol. I love the whole thing so my top tracks are likely to change. Expand
  49. Jun 29, 2020
    10
    Legendary lyrics, from a legendary duo. Truly the sound of 2020. Hopefully 2021 won't need to go as hard, but alas, I feel like RTJ5 is already on its way.

    "we don't mean no harm, but we truly mean all the disrespect" "Funny fact about a cage, they're never built for just one group So when that cage is done with them and you're still poor, it come for you The newest lowest on the
    Legendary lyrics, from a legendary duo. Truly the sound of 2020. Hopefully 2021 won't need to go as hard, but alas, I feel like RTJ5 is already on its way.

    "we don't mean no harm, but we truly mean all the disrespect"

    "Funny fact about a cage, they're never built for just one group
    So when that cage is done with them and you're still poor, it come for you
    The newest lowest on the totem, well golly gee, you have been used
    You helped to fuel the death machine that down the line will kill you too (oops)
    Pseudo-Christians, y'all indifferent
    Kids in prisons ain't a sin? ****
    If even one scrap a what Jesus taught connected, you'd feel different
    What a disingenuous way to piss away existence, I don't get it
    I'd say you lost your Goddamn minds if y'all possessed one to begin with"
    "And you so numb you watch the cops choke out a man like me
    And 'til my voice goes from a shriek to whisper, "I can't breathe"
    And you sit there in the house on couch and watch it on TV
    The most you give's a Twitter rant and call it a tragedy
    But truly the travesty, you've been robbed of your empathy
    Replaced it with apathy, I wish I could magically
    Fast forward the future so then you can face it
    And see how **** up it'll be
    I promise I'm honest, they coming for you
    The day after they comin' for me"
    Expand
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. The Wire
    Jul 10, 2020
    70
    It’s a strange brew, some distance from the monumental party music that has tended to characterise the duo’s three previous albums. [Jul 2020, p.50]
  2. Q Magazine
    Jun 30, 2020
    80
    This is the sound of RTJ staking their claim as one of the all-time great hip-hop duos. [Aug 2020, p.112]
  3. Uncut
    Jun 19, 2020
    80
    Crackles with a wisecracking energy. [Aug 2020, p.36]