• Record Label: Arista
  • Release Date: Jan 20, 2023
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 77
  2. Negative: 16 out of 77
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 23, 2023
    10
    I just loved this album, it's so catchy and danceable. My favorite song is KOOL KIDS and BABY SAID. But I also loved THE LONELIEST and GOSSIP (featuring Tom Morello who is a guitarist I love). Anyway, looking forward to listening to these songs at a concert or festival
  2. May 6, 2023
    8
    As a newer fan, I haven't listen to the other albums so i'm not as biased as other people in the reviews. i think the album is fantastic, definitely one of my favorite albums all time. It kept me banging my head all through my listening session.
  3. Feb 14, 2023
    9
    Awesome Album. I love many tracks, Mammamia, Koolkids. Its a step back from the previous 2 albums but still very good
  4. Feb 11, 2023
    10
    I like it, very good album. My favourite tracks: own my mind, Mark Chapman, gasoline and the loneliest
  5. Feb 7, 2023
    9
    This band is a great worldwide revelation. Rush! it's aggressive, fun, loud, and melancholy at the same time. Too bad the grammy wasn't able to recognize this world greatness
  6. Feb 2, 2023
    8
    This is my rate, review, and ranking of Måneskin's album "Rush!" If you like this type of content, like and follow me everywhere @WhoAskedOpinions.

    KOOL KIDS It's a nice, classic angst rock anthem. The lyrics keep the vibe, but add very little interest. IF NOT FOR YOU It's a classic sing-songy heartache ballad. The strings are a highlight, but the lyrics lack ambition. BLA BLA BLA
    This is my rate, review, and ranking of Måneskin's album "Rush!" If you like this type of content, like and follow me everywhere @WhoAskedOpinions.

    KOOL KIDS It's a nice, classic angst rock anthem. The lyrics keep the vibe, but add very little interest.

    IF NOT FOR YOU It's a classic sing-songy heartache ballad. The strings are a highlight, but the lyrics lack ambition.

    BLA BLA BLA This song has tongue-in-cheek songwriting with a complementary production. It is angry and unserious.

    READ YOUR DIARY Another good catchy dark pop-rock track. Lyrics are good with a clear perspective.

    FEEL A catchy rock song. It is simple and effective. Lyrics are repetitive, sort of like a high.

    OWN MY MIND Nice, heavy, and catchy. It has sexy and dark lyrics, but not a unique story.

    BABY SAID Pop-rock done really well. The guitar is a standout. The lyrics are catchy and effective.

    LA FINE It's nice and steady. A bit soft, but still heavy and electric. The lyrics are good and fitting.

    MARK CHAPMAN Fast, intense, and almost scary like a chase. Lyrics are a twisted, horrific obsession.

    DON'T WANNA SLEEP A gothic pop-infused rock bop. Catchy with a nice guitar solo and drums. Lyrics perfectly match the chaos.

    GOSSIP (feat. Tom Morello) Intense, punchy, and rebellious. Incredible guitar moments. The lyrics are another familiar tale of the dark side of Hollywood.

    TIMEZONE It's an angst-filled love ballad, clean and perfected. The lyrics perfectly convey the despair.

    IL DONO DELLA VITA Another great rock ballad. It's gorgeous with a mysterious post-chorus into bridge and powerful, poetic lyrics.

    GASOLINE Dark and really heavy. Incredibly rebellious and provocative. Lyrics are a perfect match.

    MAMMAMIA A perfect punchy production where all components work harmoniously. The verses grow in fury and explode into the chorus. Great bridge and a chaotic outro. The lyrics are far from safe or predictable. They complement the listening experience and add pizzazz.

    SUPERMODEL This is pop-rock perfection. It's not groundbreaking, but it is the best of the best. The lyrics tell a nice, distinct story.

    THE LONLIEST An absolute God-tier song. Perfectly done. The lyrics are beautiful and powerful.

    Overall the album is a refreshing, pop-rock explosion. The influence of producer Max Martin is noticeable, bringing great hooks and clean production to the album. There are some sloppy lyrics that hold the album back from greatness, but it's certainly worth a listen. I give the album a final score of 8.0 out of 10.

    I think what Måneskin is doing is cool. I like their aesthetic. I think their songwriting when it's deep, and I like their sound when it's daring. Their Italian songwriting is a highlight.
    Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2023
    8
    Carino come album,molto carico e interessante,consiglio di ascoltarlo mentre si fa palestra o in lunghe tratte in macchina.
    Mi piace moltissimo e lo consiglio a tutti coloro che amano le canzoni cariche
  8. Jan 24, 2023
    9
    I liked their previous albums, but I like this the most. I don't know what's people problem with this project. It has less songs in Italian, but they done this because they're noticed that more people from UK and Europe started listening to them + they just wanted to try something new, even if you don't like it.
  9. Jan 24, 2023
    8
    The first word that comes to mind to describe Rush! is "Rollercoaster".

    The third album of the Roman rock band will take you on a frantic ride through several eras of rock'n'roll, with a more developed pop side compared to their previous album. Not as raw as Teatro d'Ira Vol.I but with a supercharged production and overwhelming energy, this album has all the qualities to climb to the
    The first word that comes to mind to describe Rush! is "Rollercoaster".

    The third album of the Roman rock band will take you on a frantic ride through several eras of rock'n'roll, with a more developed pop side compared to their previous album.
    Not as raw as Teatro d'Ira Vol.I but with a supercharged production and overwhelming energy, this album has all the qualities to climb to the top of the worldwide charts.

    A relevant point that can be felt throughout the 17 songs (3 of which are in Italian) is that you easily recognize the unique Måneskin signature from the very beginning of each track. The band delivers classic rock with enough modernity to appeal to the youngest generation. A powerful and often groovy bass, heavy drums, raging guitar solos and that unique voice of Damiano David.

    If Rush! might seem pretty conventional at first, it definitely reveals its intricacies and multiple facets over the course of listening.

    My favorite tracks: Il Dono della Vita, Mark Chapman, Gasoline, Read Your Diary, Timezone.

    Måneskin doesn't pretend to bring Rock'n'Roll back to life (it never died) but they are certainly contributing to make it mainstream again. Confirming their rising superstar status was no easy task, but with Rush! they prove with brilliance that they are more than a passing trend!
    Expand
  10. Jan 23, 2023
    9
    Album brought the repertoire that was missing for the band. It showed that they are capable of offering attitude together with a dancing musicality. Undoubtedly one of the best rock albums of the moment.
  11. Jan 23, 2023
    8
    Truly enjoyable album, energetic, fun (most of the time) and a lot less shallow than one may think. The majority of the songs will blast whole stadiums when played live.
    Is there room for improvement? Of course, the band is still very young, they are experimenting and this is their first true test in front of an international audience. I'm sure they'll keep on getting better and better.
  12. Jan 20, 2023
    9
    This album captures you from start to finish. You can see that they have experimented a lot with their sound, traveling between different genres, going from more serious and deep lyrics to more light and fun ones. Maybe I would have preferred that there were a couple more songs in Italian, but I would say that the album exceeded my expectations. Well done!
  13. Jan 21, 2023
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love The energy of RUSH! Sometimes feeling young, sometimes feeling in love and heartbroken. Listen this album was amazing! Expand
  14. Jan 20, 2023
    9
    No track seems redundant. While there are the less appealing to my taste, there are some absolute bangers, like Gasoline, If Not For You and Timezone. It’s so good to see them getting a bit experimental with their styles. The only thing I missed was more tracks in Italian.
  15. Jan 20, 2023
    9
    These hooks will be running through your brain, like it or not. A song that is seemingly about nothing like "Bla Bla Bla" reads like a novella, and you can't wait to see where it goes. Genius. Rolling Stone's review was wrong about "Baby Said"... Damiano is the one making all the boring conversation and his woman wants him to stop and take care of business, not the other way around. JustThese hooks will be running through your brain, like it or not. A song that is seemingly about nothing like "Bla Bla Bla" reads like a novella, and you can't wait to see where it goes. Genius. Rolling Stone's review was wrong about "Baby Said"... Damiano is the one making all the boring conversation and his woman wants him to stop and take care of business, not the other way around. Just another example of this band doing the opposite of what you would expect. Another review compared Rush! to rock bands of 20 years ago, but the big difference is that Måneskin, for whatever reason, don't sound like whiny poseurs, even though when you first see them you're convinced that's exactly what they are. Here in lies the genius of the band. They blindside you with an alternate reality that you weren't expecting. What should not be surprising is that an Italian band is creating such compelling art. Expand
  16. Jan 20, 2023
    7
    Not as strong as the other albums but over very catchy and enjoyable. Their Italian songs are definitely their strong suit. Mammamia, La Fine, Supermodel and Feel really stand out for me.
  17. Jan 20, 2023
    8
    Un álbum que nos recuerda los años de oro del rock de los años 80's con ligeras variaciones y adaptaciones a la actualidad, pero que no se iguala en calidad a su antecesor. Se nota mas el desespero por tener un hit mundial que por revivir el rock.
  18. Jan 20, 2023
    9
    This album is almost a masterpiece. The tracks are powerful and engaging, attracting all musical tastes (with the exception of the elderly who cannot accept that rock has changed in the last decades). The order of the tracks are controversial and it could have more tracks in italian too. Moreover, stop trying to go back to the 1980s. Music and rock have changed and you need to accept this.
  19. Jan 20, 2023
    7
    Un album muy bueno, se nota que aun estan en busqueda de su propio identidad. Es una banda joven que tiene un gran recorrido por delante. La produccion es buena. Tal vez hubiera cambiado el orden de algunas canciones. Los temas en su idioma nativo siempre son las mejores.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Classic Rock Magazine
    Mar 9, 2023
    80
    None of the 17 songs waste any time getting where they're ultimately going. ... Seriously, it's time to believe. [Apr 2023, p.74]
  2. Feb 7, 2023
    20
    Rush!, their first album recorded mainly in English, is absolutely terrible at every conceivable level: vocally grating, lyrically unimaginative, and musically one-dimensional. It is a rock album that sounds worse the louder you play it.
  3. 80
    With 17 mostly terrific songs (three sung in Italian), only one breaking the four-minute mark, the collection has the jittery intensity of a lion pacing before feeding time. ... Perhaps we could have done without the closing power ballad “The Loneliest,” but that’s the only misstep on an album that should thrust this band into worldwide superstar status.