• Record Label: Volcano
  • Release Date: Dec 12, 2000
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TylerY
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Screw you all maynard & jones are gods.
  2. colondraw
    Jun 12, 2006
    0
    shit
  3. benr
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    Its the best tool album to date, bar Aenima
  4. EmmieG
    Apr 10, 2005
    10
    That was totally wicked!
  5. DougH
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    smoke a joint and listen to 'part of me' followed by 'no quarter' and tell me that you dont like this album. It's impossible.
  6. ShaneK
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    Absolutely awesome. The live versions of Third Eye and Pushit are simply amazing.
  7. EricL
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    There's definitely some worthless shit on here, but the videos are entertaining, the music is incredible (especially the reworked "Pushit" and the somehow even darker cover of Led Zep's "No Quarter") and anybody with even a passing interest in Tool would be pretty fuckin into it. Plus, I mean, "Took you out behind the toolshed, put it on your forehead, Maynard's dick!" is There's definitely some worthless shit on here, but the videos are entertaining, the music is incredible (especially the reworked "Pushit" and the somehow even darker cover of Led Zep's "No Quarter") and anybody with even a passing interest in Tool would be pretty fuckin into it. Plus, I mean, "Took you out behind the toolshed, put it on your forehead, Maynard's dick!" is quite a....unique lyric. Expand
  8. Carlos
    Feb 12, 2005
    10
    Fuck the media... this is one of the best albums ever...
  9. JustinS
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    This is the best tool CD. Very mellow, and this album expands on some of the best work of Tool from their previous releases. It gets better each time you listen to it.
  10. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    7
    They're a band you need to see in person. This is a nice collection if you're a fanatic, but for first timers check out Aenima than Lateralus. I like this record, I'd just rather see them in person.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Beginning with the juddering monstrosity that is the live version of 'Third Eye', there is no doubt that the band want to be judged as an epic attraction. It's unfortunate that they've chosen to lengthen some of the tracks to the point of monotony.
  2. Live versions of "Hush," "Part of Me," "Push It," and "Third Eye" reaffirm the band's standing as one of alternative metal's most compelling live acts; unreleased studio tracks such as "Message to Harry Manback II" and "L.A. Municipal Court" definitely sound like abandoned material, but offer a look at Tool's quirkier side.
  3. A grab-bag set of videos and live and unreleased recordings that are more of an enhancement for devotees' collections than an introduction for neophytes.