User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RonM
    Apr 29, 2003
    5
    It's Ok, Peacekeeper is worth having, but nothing compares to their earlier songs like Rhiannon and Go Your Own Way, Gypsy, Dreams and Future Games
  2. allanc
    Apr 19, 2003
    6
    could be better
  3. RR
    Jan 3, 2005
    9
    This album is a gem. Ok, so its a little long but, with a few exceptions, its an outstanding album. It beautifully combines the best of Fleetwood Mac's pop sensibilities and their more avant garde tendencies. Personal faves are "Thrown Down", "Steal Your Heart Away","Peacekeeper" and "Smile at You".
  4. SheriM
    May 21, 2003
    8
    I love it
  5. BruceH
    May 30, 2003
    9
    Time will tell, but I think this CD will eventually be regarded as a minor classic. The songs strike me as endlessly inventive and I keep returning to this music for another taste. Great production by Lindsey!
  6. bettej
    Jun 12, 2003
    10
    Brilliant, people will call it too long and pretentious but what do they know?! The Mac are legends in their own right and this is affirmation that their glory era was a period of greater recognition as opposed to greater music. Shame to see Christine McVie disappears. A solid effort that puts today's image-based drivel in perspective.
  7. Julie-AnnT
    Apr 5, 2004
    9
    Great album, it grew on me now I can't stop playing it. From the powerful vocals of stevie's "Running through the Garden" to the outstanding production and guitar prowess of Buckingham on tracks like "Come", a must for Mac fans.
  8. jyotirmayad
    May 9, 2006
    7
    The band really tried hard to do a good album without Christine and sometimes it works (Goodbye Baby, Steal Your Heart Away) and other times it doesn't (Red Rover). I like to listen to it though.
  9. BobS
    Nov 25, 2003
    10
    This cd is so good go buy it!, i
  10. YeeehahJowitness
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    I absolutely love this cd!! All of you people who say it's not the best are just a bunch of stupie-poopie heads. I especially love Illume, that song has so much meaning after 9/11!
  11. MarkF
    Apr 28, 2003
    9
    Classic Fleetwood Mac! This album gets better with each listen. Even the experimental and offbeat LB tracks get their hooks into you after a few listenings. Amazing stuff, but then we really shouldn't be amazed. And I do not miss CM. I always found her material and performances a bit bland, anyway.
  12. ChristopherE
    Apr 29, 2003
    8
    Through not all of the 18 songs hit the mark, the over-long provides amble evidence that Fleetwood Mac still has something to say. Buckingham's production has never made Nicks more relevent. Highlights: Red Rover, Mirands, Say You Will, Thrown Down
  13. CourtneyN
    May 20, 2003
    10
    I have always loved Fleetwood Mac and love all of their music so this album is worth a 10 because we have waited long enough for this latest album
  14. BrianC
    Jan 24, 2004
    9
    Considering how long they've been in the business, it's amazing to learn how contemporary and creative they still are. Thrown Down, Say You Will, Miranda, Steal Your Heart Away, Everybody Finds Out, What's the World Coming to and Peacekeeper are as great as tracks from "Fleetwood Mac" and "Rumours".
  15. BrandonS
    Dec 4, 2004
    9
    A double album in every way except that it fits on one long cd (as does Tusk, by the way), it's just so very very good. The worst songs are still pretty darn good, and the best songs absolutely soar. (Miranda, Destiny Rules, Thrown Down). It's a stunner.
  16. LindaH
    May 24, 2004
    9
    Awesome! I play it over and over and marvel at the genius of Stevie & Lindsay. (I'm just sad that they could never make their relationship work. It is so obvious they are in love!)
  17. PaulB
    Apr 17, 2003
    9
    I think that our expectations are too high. When compared with other groups and taking the best 10 songs on the album, this is a quality CD.
  18. Frank
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    this is there best album since Tusk. almost everysong on this is great, Murrow Turning Over in His Grave and Smile At You are amazeing.
  19. Sep 10, 2012
    9
    The only thing that bothers me about this album is the lack of radio play that it got. Besides hearing "Peacekeeper" and "Say You Will" a few times in retail stores over their intercom music system, I rarely heard anything being played over the radio. Three or four songs could have been cut out and included on the bonus disc for the special edition, but all the rest are up to theThe only thing that bothers me about this album is the lack of radio play that it got. Besides hearing "Peacekeeper" and "Say You Will" a few times in retail stores over their intercom music system, I rarely heard anything being played over the radio. Three or four songs could have been cut out and included on the bonus disc for the special edition, but all the rest are up to the standard that one would expect from one of the biggest bands in the history of rock music. They don't try to rehash the old sounds of the Big Mac Attack era of Rumours, but who in their right mind would expect Lindsey Buckinham to take part in anything like that. He was already over Rumours by the time Tusk was being produced. This is where Fleetwood Mac stood in 2003 with an album of great new material, take it or leave it as they were. Anyone who wants to compare it to their previous albums should stick to a best of collection and miss out on new brilliant guitar work, still great harmonies, and the expected catchy rock melodies. Say You Will could not have been produced by the Fleetwood Mac of the Rumour timeframe because Lindsey was not ready to play guitar like this yet and there is a modernity of tone that was not yet imagined back then. The soaring, blistering solos in "Murrow Turning Over in his Grave" and "Come" are almost on an Eddie Van Halen level and the stellar acoustic finger picking in songs like "Red Rover" and "Say Goodbye" are new guitar sounds that no one else can produce other than Buckingham in the post Tango in the Night era. Don't compare, just listen and enjoy what they have grown into. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. The record shows too many signs of superstar pretension, from the thick liner notes to the grueling 76-minute length.
  2. There are too many songs, simply too much to make Say You Will work, even if there is enough to admire to make you wish it did.
  3. Uncut
    80
    Tusk this isn't, but Tusk it doesn't need to be. In an age of off-the-shelf LInda Perry pop, the Mac keep the mainstream interesting. [May 2003, p.98]