Settle

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Settle Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut release for the British electronic duo of Guy and Howard Lawrence features guest appearances from AlunaGeorge, Eliza Doolittle, Sasha Keable, London Grammar, Ed Macfarlane, Sam Smith, Jesse Ware, and Jamie Woon.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Jun 3, 2013
    100
    An album that perfectly epitomises the new wave of house music--and may even be its peak.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    Nothing on Settle is left wanting. Disclosure’s debut full-length, after a series of tight and well-curated EPs, has high points as high as any record this year.
  3. It’s one of the most gleeful and replayable debuts of 2013.
  4. May 31, 2013
    80
    There’s nothing very new about the sound, but there’s a freshness and intelligence in the Lawrence brothers’ discovery of it.
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    It's the fact that Disclosure make bookish, aurally factual electronica sound so carefree that makes Settle such an artistic success.
  6. 75
    It’s hard to imagine a more inviting dance record being released in 2013.
  7. 20
    Now, it appears to have been reduced to simply a checklist of familiar sounds and effects, harnessed to the dullest beats imaginable, and dependent on outside collaborators for interest.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Dear Brits: please don't stop what you're doing. Young British brother duo Disclosure knock the music world off its socks with theirDear Brits: please don't stop what you're doing. Young British brother duo Disclosure knock the music world off its socks with their groundbreaking garage debut album "Settle," proving to the world that it's the Brits, not the Swedes, who will elevate the electronic dance genre to the artistic potential it's meant to reach. "Settle" is sexy, slick, stylish, and impeccably produced – imagine the robot from the Svedka advertisements got a degree in music theory and teamed up with early 2000s Daft Punk to create the hottest album of 2013. The beats are never laid too thick. On the contrary, they act as pulsating beds for the powerful vocals that carry each track. Disclosure establish a remarkably minimalist yet complex sound that dominates the album but never overwhelms any individual track. You won't find any other album like it, and if "Settle" is any decent indication of the future of EDM, then I am all ears for 2014. As for the future of Disclosure – well let's face it, with a debut this commanding, they're set.

    FINAL SCORE: 100 (perfect)
    Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    I have only listened to this album and i have decided that it is a great album that has some fantastic sounds and riffs to it. Really freshI have only listened to this album and i have decided that it is a great album that has some fantastic sounds and riffs to it. Really fresh and different, with some of the collaborations are the best tracks Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    I totally hated this album when i first heard it. I didn't understand what the fuss is all about. Then it received many accolades fromI totally hated this album when i first heard it. I didn't understand what the fuss is all about. Then it received many accolades from numerous music critics, so i decided to give it a second chance.

    I started discovering a track here and a track there that were really amazing. "Latch" and "Defeated No More" made me really wanna get up and dance.

    Then i took notice of "Help Me Lose My Mind", and i fell in love with it. And finally i re listened to the entire album, and was totally captivated by it, particularly by "F For You", "Second Chance", "You & Me", and "Boiling".

    I love how the album was like a journey to me. I'm really excited for Disclosure and can't wait for their new work.
    Expand
  4. May 13, 2014
    9
    Deep House is usually up there with my least enjoyed Dance genres, so for this to get my attention was a big deal. Only liked a few tracks atDeep House is usually up there with my least enjoyed Dance genres, so for this to get my attention was a big deal. Only liked a few tracks at first but it really grew on me, with some of the tracks gaining next level status.
    Fave tracks: 'White Noise', 'Latch', 'F for You', 'When a Fire Starts to Burn', 'Help Me Lose My Mind'
    Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2014
    8
    Settle is probably the electronica/dance album that I have returned to most this year. I came into the album after hearing "When a Fire StartsSettle is probably the electronica/dance album that I have returned to most this year. I came into the album after hearing "When a Fire Starts to Burn," but "Latch" and "White Noise" kept me hooked in. The softer sound and R&B vocals give the record a nostalgic feel (not that I'm old enough to actually understand what that means). The album works great when played from start to finish, but its 18 tracks do start falling into each other. Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2016
    8
    8.08.0
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
    Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2013
    0
    Absolute garbage. There is nothing original here. Stay far far away. Overhyped junk, masquerading as, I don't even know. This sounds likeAbsolute garbage. There is nothing original here. Stay far far away. Overhyped junk, masquerading as, I don't even know. This sounds like something a high school kid put together on a mac in 1997, mixed with some sappy R&B vocals. If you dance to this you are a terrible dancer. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Freshman 15: 2013's Best Debut Albums

    The Freshman 15: 2013's Best Debut Albums Image
    Published: December 17, 2013
    We take a look at the year's 15 best-reviewed debut albums, including LPs from Run the Jewels, Savages, CHVRCHES, Disclosure, Ariana Grande, and more.
  2. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.