• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Mar 25, 2014
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 188
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 27, 2014
    6
    its not a bad album but i expected mooore specially after 4 yrs waiting , ballad songs as empire and broken record r the best , the country song wiz Blake Shelton is too bad and the song wiz Magic too
  2. Mar 26, 2014
    8
    Judging for the first single, surely your wouldn't expect such a mixed-powerful-acoustic-mature-enjoyable album like this... one that definitely show that there's few artist right now capable to create music and a very strong album and once again Shakira let us know that she's one of those.
  3. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    An amazing album from one of the most beautiful women on the planet. With good songs featuring other stars like Rihanna, the voice of an amazing latiana, this is definitely worth buying!!!!!!!!
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    This album has a lot of enjoyable songs , I am from Chile , and I am so proud that a girl from Colombia , Latin America can be so succesful around the world. Shakira is a worldwide artist , and this album expresses one more time the great artist who Shakira is.
    I am sure that a specific song of the album is going to be a HUGE hit worldwide ! Just wait and see.
  5. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    Um excelente album pop. Shakira prova mais uma vez que consegue unir elementos de varias culturas e enrriquecer suas músicas com as mais variaras referências. O "Shakira." possui mid-tempos, baladas, dance, reggae e faixas que flertam com sonoridades e estruturas experimentais.
  6. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    Awesome album. Worth the 4 year wait. Not as good as Sale El Sol but still amazing. Some really strong tracks on this.
  7. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    The album is awesome! Great songs and great lyrics! It has a lot of genders, with beautiful folk ballads. It might be her best English album. This is a personal album and it has songs that talk about her life and her family.
  8. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'Shakira.' is the album that her fans from 'Donde Estan Los Ladrones?' and 'Pies Descalzos' were waiting. This eclectic record is a significant proof of the artist she is planing to be the rest of her career. 'Shakira.' feels mature and powerful, in tracks like Empire and The One Thing. Determined, in You Don't Care About Me, Dare (La La La) and Spotlight. But more importantly, she sounds happy and in love, in tracks like 23, That Way and the beautiful cover Loca Por Ti. Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Perfect. Every single track it's a journey. Dare i's so catchy, Medicine i't's a great duo with coach of the voice, Blake Sheltom, Spotlight and The One Thing are so explosive tracks and 23, Broken Record and Loca por Ti touching my soul. Congrats
  10. Mar 27, 2014
    0
    I had low expectations after hearing the first single off this album, but this just blew it out of the park.
    It's really sad, because Shakira has a very unique and special voice, and she has so much potential.
    But it seems as if Shakira was coerced into Americanizing her sound, and it ends up sounding extremely cringe-worthy. The album's lyrics lack emotion and depth. The music within
    I had low expectations after hearing the first single off this album, but this just blew it out of the park.
    It's really sad, because Shakira has a very unique and special voice, and she has so much potential.
    But it seems as if Shakira was coerced into Americanizing her sound, and it ends up sounding extremely cringe-worthy.
    The album's lyrics lack emotion and depth.
    The music within itself is dry and predictable.
    The production was lazily executed.
    And the album seemed rushed and exhausted.
    Maybe next time.
    Expand
  11. Mar 29, 2014
    0
    To be fair, Shakira has had a rough go of it competing with her peers in the business. But the quality of the songs on this eponymous release is weak and therefore fleeting. They are very polished, air brushed songs - and they cannot even provide, at least, any sugary "ear candy." I hear she has a new husband who is forbidding her to dance with shirtless males. I'm sure that would be theTo be fair, Shakira has had a rough go of it competing with her peers in the business. But the quality of the songs on this eponymous release is weak and therefore fleeting. They are very polished, air brushed songs - and they cannot even provide, at least, any sugary "ear candy." I hear she has a new husband who is forbidding her to dance with shirtless males. I'm sure that would be the least of their problems considering she is now being controlled by a religious fanatic. And it also reflects on the music - I think her music on this one is also being compromised for the sake of religion which is something that any rock star - even one from a Latin country - would want to avoid. The spirit of the album feels like it has been dampened. Nobody will be listening to this album in a year from now and it will be in the bargain-bin at whatever record store or website you order it from within 6 months. Here's hoping she gets her groove back on next time around. Expand
  12. Mar 25, 2014
    1
    shakira is the best mexican singer i have ever heard your song are 80 % enjoyable 30 % unenjoyable ...................................................................
  13. Oct 25, 2014
    3
    For a hardcore Shakira fan like myself, this album was a major let-down. From the start to the end it's flat and unispired. Some songs remind me of other artists like Avril Lavigne and the ones which kind of stand out are the songs not written by Shakira. After a 3 year hiatus i was expecting this album to be interesting and fresh but all i got was a bland, boring, monotonous result whichFor a hardcore Shakira fan like myself, this album was a major let-down. From the start to the end it's flat and unispired. Some songs remind me of other artists like Avril Lavigne and the ones which kind of stand out are the songs not written by Shakira. After a 3 year hiatus i was expecting this album to be interesting and fresh but all i got was a bland, boring, monotonous result which fails to make you come back and listen again. It's funny she called this album Shakira because i cannot find a song that has her signature sound on this album. Half of the album tries to make a difference and the other half fades into oblivion because the songs are corny teenage ballads with mediocre lyrics. Even the highly anticipated Sia track turned out to be nothing exciting. This has got to be my least favorite Shakira album ever, and i usually find a couple of tracks to listen to if i don't like an album but this one is one big disappointment i want to forget.
    Waiting for her spanish album having a few hopes for something better.
    Expand
  14. Jul 18, 2014
    10
    bixa, a senhora é destruidora mesmo heim viado, rainha latina que veio na janela da topic da colômbia para o mundo, sambou arrasou, arrombou, lacrou, destruiu, nota 10, algum problema com meu voto?
  15. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Quienes conocemos a Shakira desde "Pies descalsos" y ¿Donde están los ladrones?, sabemos el verdadero valor de este nuevo album homonimo, que sin duda es una sintesis de su carrera musical, canciones como "Broken records", "Spotlights" y "23" nos recuerda a esa chica de melena negra, por otro lado canciones como "Cut me deep" y "Medicine" nos muestran la faceta de explorar nuevos ritmos, mientras que "Dare" nos recuerda la artista global en la que se convirtió desde "Laundry Service". Por eso que le quede claro a este medio que "Sale el Sol" no es su mejor album, ni "Shakira" merece cierta puntuaciones puesto se encuentra en el top 3 de sus mejores discos. Expand
  16. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    If not her best album yet, definetely her best English album, the honesty, maturity and diversity on it is great. She found a way to show her past stlyes but still keep them fresh. Very well done, the wait has been worth it.
  17. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Very good, i was wating for this record since Oral Fixation 2, i liked Shewolf and Sale el Sol, but they were very different from the Shakira records i loved years ago, im glad shes back in full form.
  18. Mar 27, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not what I was expecting, but it's a good album. Some of Shakira's songs are addicted but other ones are not too bad. I miss that shakira from the Laundry Service or Oral Fixation. Expand
  19. Dec 17, 2014
    6
    Shakira siempre se ha destacado por su enorme capacidad compositora y vocal, ademas por ser una maestra a la hora de fusionar estilos latinos con el pop y el rock contemporáneo, pero con el paso del tiempo hemos visto como una de las grandes del mundo ha caído en el mundo del pop comercial.
  20. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    Shakira's cd is excellent, and one of my favorites so far this year. The cd hooked me right from the start, with the initial dance track, and each track after that. Each track has so much passion and this cd will be one of my favorites this year and I will wear it out!
  21. Mar 29, 2014
    6
    Hmmm... it's not a bad album, neither a great album. Obviously, I couldn't understand the Spanish tracks. My favourite tracks were Can't Remember to Forget You, Empire and the amazing Broken Record. The problem with this album is that most of the tracks are not bad, but they all fail to stand out.
  22. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    Eu estou completamente apaixonado por esse álbum! Shakira conseguiu reunir todo seu talento em canções com estilos diferente entre si e, ao mesmo tempo, coeso.
  23. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    Shakira shows herself more personal and intimate in this album. I praise the collaborations and the musical diversity contained in the album, thus it has a bit of every rhythm. The ballad '23' has proven deep feelings and honesty; 'Empire' is so powerful that could cherish whoever listens to it; 'Cut Me Deep? is a novelty for a Shakira song, but sounds very good. Nonetheless, lacking moreShakira shows herself more personal and intimate in this album. I praise the collaborations and the musical diversity contained in the album, thus it has a bit of every rhythm. The ballad '23' has proven deep feelings and honesty; 'Empire' is so powerful that could cherish whoever listens to it; 'Cut Me Deep? is a novelty for a Shakira song, but sounds very good. Nonetheless, lacking more happy tunes like 'La La La' make the album much more quiet, which is not necessarily bad (for me, at least). Shakira shows herself as a whole. Expand
  24. Apr 14, 2018
    8
    Shakira is the most complete artist nowadays, and she proves it with "Shakira.", delivering exactly what she promised months ago:
    "Shakira.
    Nothing more. A little bit of rock, a little bit of folk, a little reggae and naturally some dance--but as always, and above all, a lot of heart." The album is awesome, perfect melodies and the lyrics even more, and who didn't like anything, just
    Shakira is the most complete artist nowadays, and she proves it with "Shakira.", delivering exactly what she promised months ago:
    "Shakira.
    Nothing more. A little bit of rock, a little bit of folk, a little reggae and naturally some dance--but as always, and above all, a lot of heart."

    The album is awesome, perfect melodies and the lyrics even more, and who didn't like anything, just my condolences.
    Expand
  25. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    This girl did it again. I mean, she took a risk with this new album, a heterogenous album -in a good way-, cause You have since ska-punk to folk and country in one package; her smart but deep lyrics makes an intimate introspection of her life now and how she's loving her new life with her husband. I don't see anything wrong on it; at the end of the day, she has the right to express herThis girl did it again. I mean, she took a risk with this new album, a heterogenous album -in a good way-, cause You have since ska-punk to folk and country in one package; her smart but deep lyrics makes an intimate introspection of her life now and how she's loving her new life with her husband. I don't see anything wrong on it; at the end of the day, she has the right to express her feelings.

    About her new country adventure, it's a nice way to take a risk and making a masterpiece. She sings, she's a song-writer, a producer, she's perfectionist and You can see it in this new album where she put it her name cause You know, it's her after all. It's her feeelings, her new life, how she's feeling now and the way she feels in peace. But sometimes, You can notice she's exorcizing her past demons in songs like 'You Don't Care About Me' or even in 'Cut Me Deep'.

    I love when someone put several sounds and You can still find harmony there in any sense. In conclusion, I'm very glad with the results and I was expecting something similar but this was better than I could imagine. Personal, agressive sometimes, full of love but at same time, with a little satire to the same feeling of love, letting go the past ghosts. She's on her top of expectations and this is the proof.

    PS: I don't know how You could consider that 'LA Times' review cause that was disgusting and disrespectful to her; that was a bad joke, not even a professional or critical musical review.
    Expand
  26. Mar 28, 2014
    10
    Shakira mais uma vez inovando seu trabalho, dessa vez não foi diferente, misturou vários ritmos, e há canções muito pessoais que refletem sua vida, sua família e seus sentimentos, nota 10!
  27. Mar 30, 2014
    6
    Generally a great album, with some hits and some misses. I love her sound, as always, but in today's market where strong female vocals are raging, she stays low at the bottom of them all. The best songs off of this record have to be Empire, Medicine and Can't Remember To Forget You.
  28. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    I do believe in this album's potential, perhaps it's not her best album to date, but it sure is on her top 3 list, even though I could notice some American influences, it is very clear to me she is still the same Shakira we all love, the kind of experimental "you don't care about me" is the best track for me and the song "dare" brings some Brazilian flavor to the whole thing especiallyI do believe in this album's potential, perhaps it's not her best album to date, but it sure is on her top 3 list, even though I could notice some American influences, it is very clear to me she is still the same Shakira we all love, the kind of experimental "you don't care about me" is the best track for me and the song "dare" brings some Brazilian flavor to the whole thing especially when sung in Spanish, ballad "empire" is also a stand-out track Expand
  29. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    So far this is one of my favorite Shakira albums. It does have that Shakira flavor and scene but with a twist of what music has to offer nowadays. For the people saying that the albums is not good or so I think you should listen to her older material and copare it to this one.
  30. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    Wonderful album from an amazing and versatile artist. I love the ska-pop and reggae influences throughout the album. Standouts for me would be: Can't Remember to Forget You, Empire, Cut Me Deep, Dare (La La La), Medicine.
  31. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    Quem é fã da Shakira sabe que atrás desta estrela pop rebolativa há um coração roqueiro e uma alma folk. E é assim que a Shakira nos presenteia com um cd um tanto controverso para um mercado cada vez mais descartável. Quem hoje se lembra de "estrelas" como Carly Rae Jepsen ou Lady Gaga?
  32. May 12, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not Shakira's best but still very much worth listening too. I am definitely going to say that I wish the song La La La (Spanish Version) was included on the American release. It would have been a great single for US Latin radio. I think, overall, I am a fan of the reggae-tinged production in this album. It's very different, and I like hearing a new side to Shakira. By far and away, the strongest track on this album is Empire. Proud of Shaki for getting back to the rock roots us Hispanohablantes know and love, but I wish she had written the song herself. It sounds off if she doesn't write the song. In fact, this whole album just sounds off. It all SOUNDS like it should be sung by Shakira, but unless Shakira actually wrote the song, I don't think it sounds nearly as convincing. That's just the way she is and always has been. Overall, however, there was not a bad song on the album. It just left a little to be desired. Expand
  33. May 14, 2014
    6
    Shakira's lyrics were always personal and this album is not an exception.It's full of sweet and honest lyrics about the bright side of love and life.Music follows a much more minimalistic,acoustic approach that fit lyrics perfectly.
    Unfortunately,what doesn't fits perfectly is Shakira's singing style.Don't get me wrong,I love her unique voice and singing but let's be honest:
    even her
    Shakira's lyrics were always personal and this album is not an exception.It's full of sweet and honest lyrics about the bright side of love and life.Music follows a much more minimalistic,acoustic approach that fit lyrics perfectly.
    Unfortunately,what doesn't fits perfectly is Shakira's singing style.Don't get me wrong,I love her unique voice and singing but let's be honest:
    even her most die hard fan would admit she is no adele or alicia keys to support this kind of songs. Simple,acoustic songwriting (23,broken record,,that way) ain't do her any favors.
    Songs like "You cut me deep","Dare" and "Can't remember to forget you" though compliment her vocal range perfectly and turn out to be album's most entertaining moments.
    She also stands her ground on "empire" and "loca por ti"-both a clever refer to her rockish past (si te vas,invevitable) and present (devocion).Maybe it is just me but I will love a total rock -or why not,hard rock- album from her in the future.
    On one hand it's brave to take some serious risks,including new music styles like country,on the other hand a country song by shakira is as useful as a death metal song by miranda lambert.
    She is absolutely talented,she can rock a lot of different music styles but she can't do anything.
    A man has to know his limitations.This album is borderline bipolar and not in a good way,like laundry service and sal el sol were.
    Expand
  34. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    I adore her hard work, experimentation with new genres because I listen to all genres. She has experimented with Country on this one. She brought up her Caribbean blood with reggae beats from 'cut me deep' and 'CRTFY'. Again she has maintained her rock self with 'Empire'. and the same goes to pop with 'YDCAM' and dance 'lalala' lol she has shown her love and respect to her partner singingI adore her hard work, experimentation with new genres because I listen to all genres. She has experimented with Country on this one. She brought up her Caribbean blood with reggae beats from 'cut me deep' and 'CRTFY'. Again she has maintained her rock self with 'Empire'. and the same goes to pop with 'YDCAM' and dance 'lalala' lol she has shown her love and respect to her partner singing in Catalan(Boig per tu)! Just that I wish that this album was bilingual. I always want to listen to more and more Spanish songs from my Spanish teacher! Expand
  35. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    Great album, great bands with great vocals, Shakira is an artist who has great talent in his compositions and productions, honest, full of excitement and great music album, proving once again that you can make pop music quality. Even at that time the music industry this time in decay, we have a cohesive album and enjoy a quality artist.

    # Diva
  36. Jun 20, 2014
    6
    Shakira es la diva latina por excelencia, "Shakira" es su ultimo Disco que en su edición normal contiene 3 canciones en español y 8 en ingles."Shakira" explora distintos géneros musicales como el reggae (cut me deep), electropop (La la la) y hasta country (Medicine).
    "Shakira" es un disco muy personal, y con buenas canciones, pero se podría haber hecho mas,El disco esta bien, pero tendría
    Shakira es la diva latina por excelencia, "Shakira" es su ultimo Disco que en su edición normal contiene 3 canciones en español y 8 en ingles."Shakira" explora distintos géneros musicales como el reggae (cut me deep), electropop (La la la) y hasta country (Medicine).
    "Shakira" es un disco muy personal, y con buenas canciones, pero se podría haber hecho mas,El disco esta bien, pero tendría que haber sido mejor.
    Expand
  37. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ¡Just an AMAZING album! One of the best album from Shakira. Her vocals, her lyrics, a great mix of genres, it's so enjoyable. Key songs? Cut Me Deep, Broken Record, Spotlight, Empire and Can't Remember To Forget You. BUY IT NOW! Expand
  38. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    Amei esse álbum ele prova que uma cantora pode sempre manter seu essencial mesmo fora de seu país não é que nem outras cantoras que se tornam desesperada depois do flop e saem correndo atrás da Iggy tentando criar hits (sou verdadeira sinto muito)
  39. Sep 13, 2015
    10
    Я из России ( да и думаю, вы это уже поняли), так что напишу на русском:
    Шакира - очень прекрасная певица, танцовщица, филантроп и мать, очень сильно ее люблю, она та певица, на которую очень приятно смотреть. Желаю ей всего наилучшего в карьере и семье!
    Я из России ( да и думаю, вы это уже поняли), так что напишу на русском:
    Шакира - очень прекрасная певица, танцовщица, филантроп и мать, очень сильно ее люблю, она та певица, на которую очень приятно смотреть. Желаю ей всего наилучшего в карьере и семье!
  40. Oct 13, 2015
    10
    Hinário, Shakira demonstrou nesse álbum que nunca decaiu e sempre mostrou algo maduro e de qualidade, este álbum não merece ser chamado de álbum e sim de obra prima não é apenas uma música que vc ouve e sim algo que vc sente dentro de sí mesmo
  41. Nov 2, 2015
    7
    Not bad at all, seems like a summing up of her previous career, taking the sound from each of her previous efforts. However, not a single song is memorable or has survived the trial of time in my personal playlists. Since She Wolf, Shakira is relying more onto easy tunes, big hits than real quality. Given the fact that she was probably really discernable for her style, both visually andNot bad at all, seems like a summing up of her previous career, taking the sound from each of her previous efforts. However, not a single song is memorable or has survived the trial of time in my personal playlists. Since She Wolf, Shakira is relying more onto easy tunes, big hits than real quality. Given the fact that she was probably really discernable for her style, both visually and musically, it is a real shame that she choose the way of mediocre mainstream pop. In this record she's trying to be more true to herself and can be appreciated indeed. Expand
  42. Feb 14, 2016
    10
    This album is amazing. It's a perfect pop album, eclectic and cool, all the songs are wonderful. Favorite songs are The One Thing, Medicine and Cut Me Deep.
  43. Mar 2, 2016
    10
    Amo este album tiene varias canciones que combinan pop, rock, regue, también sonidos brasileños, tiene baladas tiene canciones que te hacen bailar, recuerda a sus inicios tiene cosas nuevas como el country, es un album muy completo
  44. May 29, 2016
    9
    Es Un Gran Album, Tiene Hermosas Letras, Pero Es El Album De Shakira Que Menos Me Ha Gustado,Pero Le Doy Un 9 Porque Tiene Mucha Calidad, Me Ha Gustado, Pero Pudo Ser Mejor
  45. Nov 24, 2017
    10
    Arte, el álbum más personal de Shakira, me encanta, canciones como 23, The One Thing, Spotlight, That Way demustran que la Shakira de las baladas nunca se fue.
  46. Feb 4, 2018
    10
    Shakira's most easy-to-listen English album, every track has a story about her life but provides some moments of fun and dancing throughout the process
  47. Aug 18, 2018
    8
    Un muy buen álbum, con diversos sonidos y a pesar de ello las canciones no pierden sentido y cada una tiene algo que mostrar.
    Un error sería que hay una canción que personalmente la veo muy forzada: Chasing Shadows.
    Le doy: 8/10
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Apr 17, 2014
    70
    It’s a shame that she feels she has to bow to record company pressure, but that doesn’t mean that there isn’t plenty to enjoy on Shakira and the variation of styles means that the album is never boring.
  2. Apr 4, 2014
    70
    She pins huge choruses and a mercurial vocal tone to music that's so effortlessly eccentric and omnivorous you'll hardly notice when a banjo (and Blake Shelton) enter on "Medicine."
  3. Mar 31, 2014
    80
    She sounds like she truly cares and poured her heart into her songs (and most of them are indeed co-written by her), with the overall result feeling satisfyingly emotional and incredibly fulfilling... something that couldn't be said as strongly about an album like She Wolf.