User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
Skellig Image

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

  • Summary: The 12th full-length release for the British singer-songwriter was recorded in Scotland with contributions from Caroline Dale, Niamh Farrell, and Mossy Nolan.
Buy Now
Buy on
  • Record Label: Laugh a Minute Records
  • Genre(s): Singer/Songwriter, Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. 90
    The album captures a shared sense of both isolation and optimism with melodies and harmonies that soar assuredly, building on an ornate orchestration that allows songs such as “Deep Water Swim,” “Laughing Gas,” “No False Gods” and the title track resonate with such haunting yet harrowing designs.
  2. May 24, 2021
    Skellig is a searching piece of work. Beautifully constructed, it is at times uncomfortably sparse and weather-beaten, but its resilient head remains unbowed at the end. As an image of humanity through and after the pandemic it comes into clear focus, providing solace for those who need it too.
  3. May 24, 2021
    Gray has always been reflective, but in removing some of his sonic crutches, he's unearthed a bit of Van Morrison's mystic soul-food shine and brought his acumen as a songwriter front and center.
  4. May 24, 2021
    Whatever philosophical conundrums are addressed, the gorgeously staggered harmonies on the chorus of Dares My Heart Be Free offer profound answers in the music itself, a tangible spirit of human connection that warms the cockles of Skellig’s querulous heart.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of