User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 197
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 27, 2016
    10
    Flume never disappoints, that's a fact! 'Never Been Like You' was just a sample of how he had evolved as an artist and producer, and now, with the whole album released, you can see that in each track. I really love it and and point to buy YES! Buy it on iTunes and on Amazon!!
  2. May 27, 2016
    10
    While many ones thought it would be just a basic EDM album, 'Skin' comes and surprises everyone with futuristic touches, distorted and extremely well placed noise. By far, this one of the best EDM albums of the year - along with 99, 9% by Kaytranada.
  3. Jun 4, 2016
    10
    I am starting to believe more and more that the so called critics are just people who don't enjoy Electronic Music.

    Most of those reviews do nothing but showcase their ignorance of an entire genre of music.I was prompted to create an account after reading reviews of both Kygo's Cloud Nine and Flume's Skin. Flume's Skin is simply put a masterpiece. I was surprised by how good Flume's
    I am starting to believe more and more that the so called critics are just people who don't enjoy Electronic Music.

    Most of those reviews do nothing but showcase their ignorance of an entire genre of music.I was prompted to create an account after reading reviews of both Kygo's Cloud Nine and Flume's Skin.

    Flume's Skin is simply put a masterpiece. I was surprised by how good Flume's debut album was, but I was never entranced by it the way I am with Skin.

    Skin is more than an album, it's a journey. You are a raft on a river and you never know what the next stretch of the river will bring, be it a faster current, pirates, or a mellow breeze as you bathe in the sun. The sum total of that journey is what Skin delivers.

    I am not a fanboy by any means, but Flume's sound has been polished so much that it literally shines through this album.

    His choice of vocalists is fantastic. Aluna is always divine, but the vocal star of this show is Kucka. On Numb & Getting Colder, her voice blends in perfectly with the jagged yet oh so smooth edges of Flume's beat.

    Flume's sound is so far ahead as to almost be it's own genre. I hate it when people categorize his music as EDM. In fact I hate that term. It's an umbrella term that means nothing at this point.

    Melding various elements of House, Trap, Dubstep, Electronica, Bass, Hip Hop and RnB, Flume manages to create something sonically unique, gripping and oh so authentic. You can never mistake Flume's sound for anyone else. Nobody else sounds like him.

    Every song in this album is a gem, even the so called "pop" songs, Say It and Never Be Like You.

    So far this is the best album to come out of 2016, and it's not even close.
    Expand
  4. May 28, 2016
    9
    Realmente es un álbum sorprendente para la escena de la música electrónica del momento, no es solo una producción electrónica mas y eso se puede sentir en cada tema con esos toques futuristas e innovadores, excelentes vocales, un trabajo con mas potencial que su álbum debut.

    sin lugar a duda Flume es uno de los mayores exponentes de música electrónica.
  5. May 28, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Album ratings (do not read if you haven't heard album)

    1. Helix 85
    2. Never Be Like You (feat. Kai) 95
    3. Lose It (feat. Vic Mensa) 90
    4. Numb & Getting Colder (feat. Kučka) 100
    5. Say It (feat. Tove Lo) 80
    6. Wall F**k 85
    7. Pika 80
    8. Smoke & Retribution (feat. Vince Staples & Kučka) 90
    9. 3 85
    10. When Everything Was New 90
    11. You Know (feat. Allan Kingdom & Raekwon) 80
    12. Take a Chance (feat. Little Dragon) 95
    13. Innocence (feat. AlunaGeorge) 90
    14. Like Water (feat. MNDR) 80
    15. Free 100
    16. Tiny Cities (feat. Beck) 95

    10/10 awesome album the best!!!
    Expand
  6. May 30, 2016
    9
    Flume is at the top of his game with his sophomore release. He doesn't strive to produce club-banging hits like all the rest of EDM/electronic artists are doing now and days. He's actually interested in making music that has depth. Great contributions by Vic Mensa, Tove Lo and Vince Staples.

    HIGHLIGHTS: Helix, Lose it and Say It.
  7. May 29, 2016
    9
    This album takes the broad, diverse, and vase Flume 'style' further down the rabbit hole. A more diverse, intimate, experimental rabbit hole. I personally didn't hat any tracks on this album, except for maybe the weird singing on "3", and "Say It" sounds quite commercial imo (still adhering to the OG Flume style), but other than that, it's incredible. Personally recommend Helix, Smoke andThis album takes the broad, diverse, and vase Flume 'style' further down the rabbit hole. A more diverse, intimate, experimental rabbit hole. I personally didn't hat any tracks on this album, except for maybe the weird singing on "3", and "Say It" sounds quite commercial imo (still adhering to the OG Flume style), but other than that, it's incredible. Personally recommend Helix, Smoke and Retribution, When Everything was New, Innocence, Like Water, and Tiny Cities Expand
  8. May 30, 2016
    10
    Always loved the way flume is doing his music.This LP is good if you wanna relax and listen to some beautiful music,if you wanna go on adventure this LP will give you that.Favourite songs as of now Helix,3,Like water,Numb & gettin colder
  9. May 28, 2016
    10
    amazing lp, cannot name i single song i didn't love. great work flume, it's great to see how much you've matured since the first album which was already amazing in the first place!!!
  10. Jun 21, 2016
    9
    Wow, what a listen. Filled to the brim with hits, Wall **** Lose It, Helix, Take A Chance stand out the most to me. All songs pretty solid, although some do seem to get lost amongst some of the more hard-hitting songs. Genre-flipping btwn hip-hop, trip-hop, and just good ol' glitchy electronic noise.
  11. May 28, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Flume continues to flourish with his very impressive production techniques, chord schemes and general musical understanding. Tracks like "Free" demonstrate Flume's experimental ability with the shrill synths automated all over the place to produce this imperfect, non-mechanical feel which is incredibly difficult to pull off in the world of electronic music where the vast majority of it is aided by DAW and software plugins rather than recording any live instruments. The oozing synths on "Take A Chance" really gripped me with how happy and charming Flume can be, where as tracks like "Wall F*ck" showcase the depth of his sound palette. The jabbing, heavy use of distortion is very prominent in this piece. Other tracks with more pop appeal, including the big "Never Be Like You", "Say It" and "Lose It" successfully amalgamate with the rest of the album.

    This is an outstanding album. The only reason this didn't quite get the 10 was the omission of two tracks which were presented in the preview compilation. These two songs would have put the icing on the cake. Congratulations Flume.
    Expand
  12. May 30, 2016
    9
    This album is a really great album considering that dance/electronic albums are payed much attention to or bought that much. But this album is very unique in sound and has a lot of great special guests such as Vic Mensa, AlunaGeorge and Tove Lo. Favorite songs of the album are Say It and Lose It! Stream on Spotify!
  13. Oct 16, 2016
    10
    Excellent overall experience. Great vocalists and rappers. Beautiful melodies and it's nice that this album is getting attention around the mainstream. It sure is a great one.
  14. Apr 13, 2017
    10
    Flume's second album delivered on the first albums promise to have "What You Need" and truly, this album has us "Lose(ing) it." The song starts out with the popular "Never Be Like You" which is an amazing starter to prepare you for Numb and Getting Colder, Say It, and Wall F*ck, which dominate my ears on every listen. I want to list every song on this album, but I'll stop short of tellingFlume's second album delivered on the first albums promise to have "What You Need" and truly, this album has us "Lose(ing) it." The song starts out with the popular "Never Be Like You" which is an amazing starter to prepare you for Numb and Getting Colder, Say It, and Wall F*ck, which dominate my ears on every listen. I want to list every song on this album, but I'll stop short of telling you how much Like Water and Tiny Cities slay! Expand
  15. Nov 3, 2017
    8
    Flume is simply thinking far beyond what mainstream minds could imagine. His music is complex, thoughtful, emotionally diverse from the dark depths of You Know, to the ice being broken as an intro, Helix serves the album justice. Leaning towards less left-field and taking a more mainstream approach to Never Be Like You, and Say It, they certainly have Flume's core still possessed in theFlume is simply thinking far beyond what mainstream minds could imagine. His music is complex, thoughtful, emotionally diverse from the dark depths of You Know, to the ice being broken as an intro, Helix serves the album justice. Leaning towards less left-field and taking a more mainstream approach to Never Be Like You, and Say It, they certainly have Flume's core still possessed in the album. Love the Aussie's work, the gap between Flume and Skin was certainly worth it.

    Favourites: Helix, Lose It, Numb & Getting Colder, 3, When Everything Was New, You Know, Innocence, Free.

    Eh: Say It, Never Be Like You, Pika

    Really not my slice of cake: Smoke & Retribution
    Expand
  16. May 27, 2016
    10
    An amazing electronic album. It is authentically truly well produced, with great compositions and, by far, much more futuristic than the last album. Flume is the best!
  17. May 27, 2016
    10
    glad to see the user score reflect the album far better than the critics that publish these reviews. sonically this album is gorgeous, i love every song. harley is no doubt very very talented
  18. May 27, 2016
    10
    This guy is the phenomenon of electronic music. Where he gets these ideas from is mind-blowing, and it really shows in the album. An absolute must buy, this is going to be a modern classic in electronic music, as Zane Lowe said when he premiered one of the songs. Spectacular album.
  19. May 27, 2016
    8
    It's sad to see the current state of EDM is growing more and more dull in the mainstream and indie world, as we're currently in the year of Tropical House growing and becoming less unique. It's not like 2012 or 2013 when EDM was really growing, with bombastic buildups and massive drops to get everyone ready to go wild. However, this was also a perfect time for producers to get moreIt's sad to see the current state of EDM is growing more and more dull in the mainstream and indie world, as we're currently in the year of Tropical House growing and becoming less unique. It's not like 2012 or 2013 when EDM was really growing, with bombastic buildups and massive drops to get everyone ready to go wild. However, this was also a perfect time for producers to get more experimental with their electronic music, and one of those acts that broke through was Flume. An Australian Electronic producer and DJ who started releasing music around 2011 before releasing his debut album in 2012, and he's kept his reputation in the indie world thanks to various remixes he's done. Four years later, Flume announces his second album Skin with fans and listeners becoming excited to hear new material from the guy. Even though I wasn't wild about that debut album mostly for going on too long and losing my interest too quickly, I have grown to become a huge fan of Flume and was hoping for something worthwhile with Skin, was I right?

    Well here's the thing, Skin ends up being an album that finds Flume bringing his most oddball and weird tracks yet, even still it's an improvement upon the debut and shows Flume growing as a musician. And while this album isn't for everyone, it's still a great album all the same.

    Let's start with the instrumentals, while Flume did some genre hopping on his debut, this album shows him try out other genres even more. From Synthpop to Acid House to moments of Hip Hop where Flume proves to be better at producing Hip Hop than most Hip Hop producers in music today. The chunky beats on Say It, the gleaming synths and trap hi-hats on Never Be Like You, the 80's inspired keys on Tiny Cities, and the acid house flavored Lose It all sound great with memorable melodies and catchy hooks to back them up. The best instrumental comes from the cinematic and trip hop touches of You Know, with Flume showing the most restraint and control ever for a song, creating both tension and attention to the guests. The instrumental tracks also stand out among the tracklist, from the carnival inspired When Everything Was New to the distorted and dark Wall F**k that perfectly describes the song as a whole. If there was an instrumental I wasn't a fan of it would come with Smoke and Retribution, mostly for it's choppy synths not complimenting Vince Staples and then a sudden changeup for Kucka's hook that feels out of place and doesn't match the more aggressive tone of the song.

    One thing that Flume got an upgrade on for sure on this album are the guests he brings on board, with the likes of Raekwon, Beck, AlunaGeorge, Tove Lo, Vic Mensa and various others. Thankfully most of guests work well with Flume, the best being on You Know, and while Allan Kingdom is fine on the opening verse and bridge, it's Raekwon who kills it here with a verse describing gang activity and a suspicious man dating his niece matching the intensity of the song. Kai gives a solid performance on Never Be Like You, Tove Lo matches Flume's production on Say It really well same case also for Beck's laid back delivery on Tiny Cities, and the low-key yet passionate performance given by Little Dragon on the off-kilter Take a Chance are all great and compliment the album as a whole. However, there are a few weak moments, while Vic Mensa has some decent verses on Lose It he shouldn't have been on the hook and is really the only weak part of an otherwise good song. The contributions from Kucka make her a non presence on her songs, and MNDR's performance has very little worth caring about, same thing also for AlunaGeorge on Innocence.

    So what about the lyrics? The themes throughout Skin include broken relationships, losing all control, sex, emotions and at one point a gang attack. Otherwise, most of this album is very loopy and not focused much on any real stories except for You Know. That being said, tracks like When Everything Was New seem to have undertones implying nostalgia of childhood memories and Wall F**k is just straight up about going insane with emotions and not being able to handle it all. However, my biggest complaint here with the album is the lack of direction, as I do wish Flume had more of an underlying theme throughout the album or if he shorten the album considering it runs for about an hour long.

    Still though, Skin is a huge improvement from the debut and is worth revisiting for the rest of 2016, with some of the best material Flume has ever produced and maybe some of his most mainstream work yet. Even though there are a few weak and forgettable tracks and it runs a little too long, I still enjoyed a lot from Skin. So I'm giving the album a light 8 and a recommendation to fans and newcomers, though like I said at the beginning this album isn't for everyone and I'm pretty much okay with that.

    Best Songs: You Know, Never Be Like You, Say It, When Everything Was New, Wall F**k, Lose It
    Worst Songs: Smoke and Retribution
    Expand
  20. May 31, 2016
    7
    This album suffers from the issues that plague most EDM albums nowadays. In short, it is a mostly great effort that is bogged down by being much too long, with too many sub-par filler tracks and uninspired vocal performances scattered in amongst some truly fantastic and surprisingly experimental music.
  21. May 28, 2016
    6
    I'm so sad. I was sooo hyped for this album. Turns out, it is just okay. Like how could you give this album a 10/10? There is so much filler, so much that sounds just unpurposeful and filler. The track with AlunaGeorge gives me nothing at all, it sounds so insanely boring and the vocals are so unnecessary. The same with When Everything Was New, that just leaves you with a feeling ofI'm so sad. I was sooo hyped for this album. Turns out, it is just okay. Like how could you give this album a 10/10? There is so much filler, so much that sounds just unpurposeful and filler. The track with AlunaGeorge gives me nothing at all, it sounds so insanely boring and the vocals are so unnecessary. The same with When Everything Was New, that just leaves you with a feeling of numbness from the nothingness that this song resembles. There is some really nice experimentation on this album, i really love Wall **** Take A Chance, Numb And Getting Colder and i enjoyed the singles from this album. But it just sounds so undistinct and boring. For the most part, the singles are radio worthy, so thats kind of a problem. Because i expect of Flume, that he releases music, that is not jus t generic but has a little more depth to it. He proved that in the past, no question, with songs like More Than You Thought, the Tennis Court remix as well as other remixes, Some Minds and Drop The Game. But i get very few of that on this album. It is just a unsuccinct mess with a little bit of spark to it. Sad, very sad. Expand
  22. May 27, 2016
    0
    I expected more to be honest, sound so cheap and annoying. I'm so disappointed. Don't buy it, it's not worthy. There's not even a decent song in the album, this is completely trash.
  23. Aug 6, 2016
    8
    Flume is a very good album with very good productions and very good artists, although there were moments on this album when it got kind of heavy. My favorite song may be Like Water. Recommended.
  24. Aug 11, 2017
    9
    A revisit from last year. This album's sound design, fluidity and utterly beautiful chord progressions are synonymous with Flume over the last few years. A phenomenal artist who continues to evolve and separate himself from the rest of popular electronic music being pumped out to the masses every day. There is some superb, meticulous production found here. Some are like velvet to the ears,A revisit from last year. This album's sound design, fluidity and utterly beautiful chord progressions are synonymous with Flume over the last few years. A phenomenal artist who continues to evolve and separate himself from the rest of popular electronic music being pumped out to the masses every day. There is some superb, meticulous production found here. Some are like velvet to the ears, such as When Everything Was New, while others are distorted, nutty and gritty like Wall F*ck. I've come back to pretty much every song on the album. But for me, Helix and Free are the absolute diamonds here - the latter being possibly the best original he's put out thus far.

    This sophomore record is certainly an improvement on his first album. Just because he has some pop-friendly tracks doesn't necessarily compromise the overall quality of the album. It still is an excellent album that can hold its own, highlighting Flume's growth in his production abilities. At least beyond the pitch-bending, chopped up vocal production style from his previous record. Lyrics are never the focal point of these albums, so anyone really scrutinising the verses are simply shooting themselves in their foot. The good thing is there's nothing here that is really shallow enough to hold the instrumentation back, apart from the Nagasaki lyric by Vic Mensa in Lose It.

    Hats off to you Flume! Amazing album.
    Expand
  25. Dec 20, 2016
    8
    This year one thing I wanted to do was try to sit down and listen all the way through an electronica album of some kind (and yes, I know this is technically downtempo house, but it's close enough), something that I had never done before, and I settled on this album as the one I would do that for. While the genre hasn't necessarily won itself a convert, it's easy to appreciate theThis year one thing I wanted to do was try to sit down and listen all the way through an electronica album of some kind (and yes, I know this is technically downtempo house, but it's close enough), something that I had never done before, and I settled on this album as the one I would do that for. While the genre hasn't necessarily won itself a convert, it's easy to appreciate the individual talent displayed by Harley Streten, AKA Flume, and his various collaborators on "Skin".

    It's not exactly groundbreaking for the genre and is about exactly what you'd expect--thumping bass, glossy synths that buzz soothingly and rattle jarringly in equal measure, all accompanied by a beat comprised of more moving parts than one could possibly keep track of--but rather than getting wearing as time goes on (especially for someone like myself, who is not a huge fan of electronica in general) Flume keeps his train of sonic creativity going in surprising fashion, resisting the urge to turn the majority of his album into something resembling bees buzzing and increasingly playing around with rhythm, tempo, and tone from tune to tune. Whether it be a head-bobbing poptronica anthem like "Say It" or a more ponderous track like "When Everything Was New", fans of house music will find plenty of little sonic details to please them arranged with an infectious energy and enthusiastic expertise.

    Now you may be wondering, "If you've had nothing but positive things to say so far, then why is the score lower than it could be?" The answer is simple: the collaborators that Streten chose to appear on the album to donate their vocals. Some of them work well (the combination of Flume's boiling synths and Tove Lo's sultry voice on "Say It" is a match made in heaven, as is his work with Beck on "Tiny Cities"), but others--particularly the rappers brought on board to balance out the soulful crooning--are not the best match for the Australian musician, and it takes its toll on the quality of the music in some areas. It's not that these artists are bad (Vince Staples, the rapper on "Smoke and Retribution", released "Summertime '06" last year, one of the most critically acclaimed records of the year both in his genre and in general), but their talents don't mix well with Flume's. David Guetta (to whom Flume has no doubt had millions of comparisons drawn already) often experiences the same problem, and in this case I think it may be the fault of the record company rather than the artists themselves, who believe that collaborations between big stars equals big bucks. I would love to see another effort from Flume in concert with Chet Faker; I immensely enjoyed their 2013 "Lockjaw EP" which started me down the path to stop being so close-minded sonically and branch out from rock into house music.

    It should be noted that the good far outweighs the bad, though--Flume is in top form on this record, and anybody who buys the record to listen to him do what he does best will be pleased. Even if you're not a fan of house or electronica, I would strongly recommend at least one listen through. Flume is easily one of the most exciting new artists out there today, and even if you try to avoid him for as long as you can it will eventually be impossible. Ever since hearing "Drop the Game" off of his "Lockjaw EP", barely a year after the release of his self-titled debut album, Flume has been and remains one of the few electronica musicians I can stand to listen to.

    If this album is any indication of what's to come, expect big things from this young Aussie. If he is able to find a line-up of collaborators that fully compliments his sound next time around, the downtempo house/electronica scene won't know what hit it. 8/10

    Best songs: "Say It", "Wall F**k", "Take A Chance", "Tiny Cities"
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 30, 2016
    67
    Skin goes Technicolor and bigger, effectively standing on the shoulders of Disclosure and giant stars including Skrillex, Diplo, and album collaborator/reinventor Beck.
  2. Jun 17, 2016
    70
    Restless versatility is all over the LP, generating the emotional crests and sensory overload a festival crowd demands, but with a nuance that'll make it work even if you aren't shirtless in the desert.
  3. 100
    Skin is brilliant across the board.