• Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: May 15, 2007
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 211

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jon
    May 14, 2007
    3
    easily wilco's worst album. Is it too late to bring Jay Bennett back?
  2. JohnE
    May 15, 2007
    1
    Really boring and generic sounding record. Son Volt's "The Search" is far superior.
  3. SteveS
    Jul 19, 2007
    1
    It's crap.
  4. thegarz
    May 14, 2007
    0
    the sound of a fat and happy band that has nothing more to say. bloated, boring, dull and lyrically pathetic. just a waste of time. 'sky blue sky' is a fitting title because the music is perfectly empty background fodder for the weather channel.
  5. JasonD
    May 19, 2007
    2
    I was pretty disappointed in this album. After "A Ghost is Born," I was ready for a more straight-forward Wilco disc, so I was braced for the simplicity of "Sky Blue Sky," but I wasn't prepared for Tweedy to write such a bland, uninspired set of songs. This album never takes off, never really presents any hooks or even many interesting melodic ideas to hang onto, it's just lazy I was pretty disappointed in this album. After "A Ghost is Born," I was ready for a more straight-forward Wilco disc, so I was braced for the simplicity of "Sky Blue Sky," but I wasn't prepared for Tweedy to write such a bland, uninspired set of songs. This album never takes off, never really presents any hooks or even many interesting melodic ideas to hang onto, it's just lazy classic rock. Expand
  6. JonnyG
    May 31, 2007
    1
    Quite possibly the blandest thing ever put to tape.
  7. WesM.
    Jul 12, 2008
    0
    Boring; major disappointment!
  8. Eh?
    May 14, 2007
    1
    Jeff Tweedy needs to get back on the drugs
  9. gordie
    May 14, 2007
    0
    Boring!!
  10. WoohooW.
    Jun 28, 2007
    2
    Boring. Mind-numbingly dull and shockingly uncreative. And this is from a HUGE, long-time, devoted, tell-all-my-friends-about-this-out-of-this-world-awesome-creative-no-one-like-them fan. ,,,I'm so disappointed.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. It's certainly the group's most cohesive album in ages.
  2. Under The Radar
    50
    A very professional but almost inconsequential set... flat and ultimately uninspired. [#17, p.88]
  3. The closer you listen to the jazzy guitars, Beatles touches and easy, shuffling rhythms ... the more it transpires that Tweedy is simply allowing the songs sufficient room to speak up for themselves.