• Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: May 15, 2007
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 211

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrainK.
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    I love this album. The riffs and guitars are great. Tweedy has a terrific sense of word play. This is too artsy for the mainstream and corporate radio. Great job Wilco!
  2. WesM.
    Jul 12, 2008
    0
    Boring; major disappointment!
  3. booms.
    Oct 18, 2007
    6
    its pretty good, but not as good as i was hoping from a band like Wilco.
  4. StevenG
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Awesome album from Chicago's finest rock band. Impossible Germany and Walken are two of their best recordings....ever!
  5. CliffA
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    Second to YHF but should become a classic
  6. KyleN
    Apr 26, 2007
    9
    It took a while, but I thought this ended up being a great album.
  7. T.Speaker
    Apr 26, 2007
    8
    Many are going to be turned off by Sky Blue Sky's lack of experimentation, but the complexity and abundance of solid riffs makes it one of the best and most memorable records of 2006.
  8. Eh?
    May 14, 2007
    1
    Jeff Tweedy needs to get back on the drugs
  9. gordie
    May 14, 2007
    0
    Boring!!
  10. ThomasE
    May 14, 2007
    8
    Nothing wrong with a bunch of nice songs.
  11. ChrisDJ
    May 15, 2007
    10
    Amazing album. It is 70 rock at it's greatest.
  12. Ben
    May 15, 2007
    5
    Some good songs, but this album is ultimately disappointing, given the continued growth and greatness of previous albums. Wilco have always had great slow and melodic numbers, but they've always been a rock band above everything else. They already reinvented the wheel a couple of times, so I guess it was time to abandon all the experimentation and put out a straight-forward album of Some good songs, but this album is ultimately disappointing, given the continued growth and greatness of previous albums. Wilco have always had great slow and melodic numbers, but they've always been a rock band above everything else. They already reinvented the wheel a couple of times, so I guess it was time to abandon all the experimentation and put out a straight-forward album of mostly vanilla songs. Hopefully they got it out of their system. This definitely is not the album I waited 3 years to hear. Expand
  13. HarryH
    May 15, 2007
    9
    It isn't startling, but it is a grower. If you are a disappointed Wilco fan, don't give up on this.
  14. JohnJ.
    May 15, 2007
    7
    Some songs are just plain limp but there are some very nice moments.
  15. HonestPanda
    May 16, 2007
    10
    One has to review this album for what it isn't and what it isn't. Many are disappointed that it lacks the experimentalism of past records like YHF, But who cares. As this records stands, its a beautiful collection of songs with colorful intricate arrangements that is meticulously executed. Its pure love
  16. ErinK
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Tweedy proves that lots of textured sounds and esoteric movements in the music aren't the only mark of brilliance. This album is Wilco back to basics. it sounds more like AM or Being There than their more recent stuff, but it is, in no way, a step back. It takes beauty, focus and genius to say so much, so simply as this album does- and having Nels Cline on the guitar doesn't Tweedy proves that lots of textured sounds and esoteric movements in the music aren't the only mark of brilliance. This album is Wilco back to basics. it sounds more like AM or Being There than their more recent stuff, but it is, in no way, a step back. It takes beauty, focus and genius to say so much, so simply as this album does- and having Nels Cline on the guitar doesn't hurt either ;) Expand
  17. DaniG
    May 17, 2007
    10
    Three words: Nels f--king Cline. I've been a Wilco fan for years, and I think they finally found what they needed to take them to the next level. This is my new favorite Wilco release.
  18. Nick
    May 19, 2007
    5
    Pitchfork may have a blindspot for avant-guardism (almost as large as RollingStone's for everything a Babyboomer poops out), but they nailed the problem with this lump of coal: dad-rock indeed. Tweedy should make amends with that white-rasta looney-tune that got tossed out of the band six years ago; Jay Bennett....where are you now? "This may be the best Eagles album the Eagles never Pitchfork may have a blindspot for avant-guardism (almost as large as RollingStone's for everything a Babyboomer poops out), but they nailed the problem with this lump of coal: dad-rock indeed. Tweedy should make amends with that white-rasta looney-tune that got tossed out of the band six years ago; Jay Bennett....where are you now? "This may be the best Eagles album the Eagles never made": True. Maybe I will gift this album to my uncle Bob. Expand
  19. Rushmore
    May 21, 2007
    9
    The perfect springtime album.
  20. BrandonR
    May 24, 2007
    9
    Upon third or fourth listen, this album is tremendous. Tweedy really cares about subtlety in songwriting, and pretty much every thing here is tastefully executed. It's much too organic and not groundbreaking enough for the hipsters, but that's probably why it has so much soul.
  21. DoritP
    May 25, 2007
    9
    it's like coming home. quiet, mellow, relaxing. all you need is a calm night, a long drive, and this wilco album.
  22. ChrisP
    May 26, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year. I dare someone to top this.
  23. hughg
    May 27, 2007
    9
    I look forward to each new Wilco album with great anticipation, wondering what will they come up with next. This disc is certainly softer and more straightforward than recent efforts. Great heartfelt songwriting and somehow each of the bandmembers musicianship is more clearly and simply on display. Like everything they do- sounds great with first listen, only gets better with age.
  24. stuartp
    May 29, 2007
    8
    a couple misses: "what light " and "shake it off." other than that, a fun album. i like the texture and color of the songs and the sound quality/mix is phenomenal. tweedy's voice is sounding better than ever on this record.
  25. EvertonP
    Jun 16, 2007
    9
    pretty songcraft, simple but direct and effective lyrics, tweedy's emotional storm apparently under control... what more can we ask for? a timeless album which makes us feel how good 70's soft rock can be if well conducted and composed
  26. WoohooW.
    Jun 28, 2007
    2
    Boring. Mind-numbingly dull and shockingly uncreative. And this is from a HUGE, long-time, devoted, tell-all-my-friends-about-this-out-of-this-world-awesome-creative-no-one-like-them fan. ,,,I'm so disappointed.
  27. SonnyW
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of the year. Also, maybe the top Wilco work to date. Love this band.
  28. RonA.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    Their second best effort ever behind only the near perfect Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. The critics need to listen closer and more than just one quick time through.
  29. Jun 30, 2011
    8
    A memorable album. Worth the purchase for "Impossible Germany" alone. Tweedy said the album is almost like a break from his usual lyrical wandering and he wrote it intended for his wife, which is apparent on "Please Be Patient With Me." I've heard numerous die-hard Wilco fans state their disdain for this album, but I think they're missing the point. There are some true gems on here. And ifA memorable album. Worth the purchase for "Impossible Germany" alone. Tweedy said the album is almost like a break from his usual lyrical wandering and he wrote it intended for his wife, which is apparent on "Please Be Patient With Me." I've heard numerous die-hard Wilco fans state their disdain for this album, but I think they're missing the point. There are some true gems on here. And if you've caught the band live, you know how much these songs come to life, regardless of what you thought of the record. Expand
  30. j30
    Sep 22, 2011
    7
    Far from their best work, but still a nice entry into their already great catalog of albums. A really good summer album that you could sing a-long to around a campfire.
  31. Jan 8, 2015
    7
    "Sky Blue Sky" is nothing if not a cohesive and consistent record. Made up of reasonably straight forward country rock, the record is easy to like but hard to really love. Opener "You Are My Face" is my personal favourite from the record, bring late era Beatles (mostly "Abbey Road") to mind. In fact all the best bits of this album remind me a little of "Abbey Road". There is nothing quite"Sky Blue Sky" is nothing if not a cohesive and consistent record. Made up of reasonably straight forward country rock, the record is easy to like but hard to really love. Opener "You Are My Face" is my personal favourite from the record, bring late era Beatles (mostly "Abbey Road") to mind. In fact all the best bits of this album remind me a little of "Abbey Road". There is nothing quite as ear catching to be found after "You Are My Face". The title track is a sleepy, slow paced country number, "Shake It Off" tries to be interesting but ultimately fails and again suffers from going at a snails pace - we really didn't need 5 plus minutes of this. "On and On and On" starts of very well and draws you in but Tweedy never goes anywhere interesting enough with it that is worth following. "Either Way" is a nice, decent quality tune while "Impossible Germany" again starts very well but just cruises along. Its kind of the story of the record for me - enjoyable enough with some great ideas where the execution just doesn't quite come off as well as it could have. The whole album could do with a shot in the arm, a bit more substance and a bit more courage on behalf of the band. This could have made it a really great record. The last third of the record picks things up a bit to be fair - "Leave Me Like You Found Me" and "What Light" being particular highlights. Expand
  32. Jul 26, 2019
    7
    If you listen to this expecting something like Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, you'll probably end up disappointed. But if you remove such expectations, you'll find a very solid album. Sure, it might not feel as grand or experimental as some of their previous work, and it does drag a little here and there, but by no means does that make this album bad or boring. It has a great deal of gorgeousIf you listen to this expecting something like Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, you'll probably end up disappointed. But if you remove such expectations, you'll find a very solid album. Sure, it might not feel as grand or experimental as some of their previous work, and it does drag a little here and there, but by no means does that make this album bad or boring. It has a great deal of gorgeous songwriting, with "Either Way," "On and On and On," and "Impossible Germany" being some of my favorites. Also, the guitar work is on point. If you're looking for a more mellow Wilco album, you'll definitely enjoy this one. Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. It's certainly the group's most cohesive album in ages.
  2. Under The Radar
    50
    A very professional but almost inconsequential set... flat and ultimately uninspired. [#17, p.88]
  3. The closer you listen to the jazzy guitars, Beatles touches and easy, shuffling rhythms ... the more it transpires that Tweedy is simply allowing the songs sufficient room to speak up for themselves.