• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 19, 2021

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. 100
    It all fits seamlessly together, a rich tapestry of weed-toked slow jams, woozy psychedelic infusions and pimped-out west coast joyrides. ... This record never takes a wrong turn.
  2. Nov 22, 2021
    The Algorithm’s concept is too boring to explain, but thankfully the music isn’t.
  3. 70
    A weighty 25 tracks of fresh faces and wrinkled battle-worn ones makes for a push and pull of swaggering persona and modern ideas, but it manages to exclude itself from being an indulgent mess.
  4. Nov 19, 2021
    It’s an eclectic mix, and the quality’s as variable as the sound. But by jumping from style to style, and showcasing artists who really ought to be better known, Snoop keeps the party as scrumptiously enjoyable as his recipe for Spaghetti de la Hood. And that’s all he’s really trying to do.
  5. 60
    ‘Algorithm’ will probably appeal more to the older hip-hop cynics, though anyone who grew up in a house where their parents played ‘California Love’ or ‘It Was A Good Day’ will also revel in the nostalgia offered by the record.
  6. Nov 22, 2021
    All in all, though, a sort of affectlessness emerges here as one songs blend all too smoothly since, not unlike an automated playlist, the whole becomes less than the sum of its parts.
  7. Nov 19, 2021
    It’s all modestly pleasant to listen to. But if he wants to resurrect Def Jam as a true cultural force and not just a legacy imprint in the UMG galaxy, he’ll have to bring stronger smoke than The Algorithm.

There are no user reviews yet.