• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Apr 19, 2019
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 77
  2. Negative: 1 out of 77
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2019
    8
    First time I listened all the way through to a CTE album, but one or two of their earlier singles had caught my ear a few times so they were on my radar. This is an exercise in making sadness not meloncholic, but melodic, and it works. Now on my 10th listen and getting better with each. One of the best and most consistent rock albums I have heard in a while. Amid the rock drought of theFirst time I listened all the way through to a CTE album, but one or two of their earlier singles had caught my ear a few times so they were on my radar. This is an exercise in making sadness not meloncholic, but melodic, and it works. Now on my 10th listen and getting better with each. One of the best and most consistent rock albums I have heard in a while. Amid the rock drought of the last few years, this is music to my ears. If you like melodic rock with plenty of hooks and with a variety of styles thrown in, this is for you. Not sure if this lives up to their earlier albums, but it has tempted me to give them a listen. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2019
    9
    Классный альбомчик, особенно зашла Black Madonna.
  3. Apr 19, 2019
    10
    Matt Shultz and Cage The Elephant brought us to an melancholic and groovy adventure into the deeper parts of a musician who knows what it is to have and lose important things in life.
    One of the best alternative rock albums in years. CTE wins our respect and love with their first masterpiece since Melophobia. 10/10
  4. Apr 24, 2019
    10
    Cage the Elephant are known for possessing a large variety of sound across multiple albums. From the raw debut self titled album and the more experimental follow up ‘Thank You, Happy Birthday’ to the softer, melodic and more refined ‘Melophobia’ and ‘Tell Me I’m Pretty’, they have proven time and again that bands can change their sound and still be fantastic. Social Cues, the KentuckyCage the Elephant are known for possessing a large variety of sound across multiple albums. From the raw debut self titled album and the more experimental follow up ‘Thank You, Happy Birthday’ to the softer, melodic and more refined ‘Melophobia’ and ‘Tell Me I’m Pretty’, they have proven time and again that bands can change their sound and still be fantastic. Social Cues, the Kentucky bands 5th album, is no exception. Here we have 13 tracks of varied sounds that all sound polished and really catchy with brilliant lyrics. Granted, they haven’t experimented too heavily from their 3rd and 4th albums but Social Cues has songs that are reminiscent of their past discography , ‘House of Glass’ reminds me of their ‘Thank You, Happy Birthday’ days whereas ‘Ready To Let Go’ reminds me of their more recent work.

    Melophobia is one of my favourite albums from any band but even that has a couple songs I would likely skip over. Social Cues however hasn’t had a single song skipped in the already many times I’ve played it. While the best of Melophobia is probably Cage’s best work, as a whole album I feel that Social Cues has a slight edge. It’s a great album filled with a variation of songs and I’m sure any music lover can find something they enjoy here.

    Stand-outs: So many cracking songs on the album it’s hard to choose but my favourites are probably ‘Black Madonna’, ‘Skin and Bones’ and ‘Tokyo Smoke’.

    Overall a fantastic effort from Cage the Elephant, they’ve produced something really great once again.
    Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2019
    9
    This album didn't shy from eloring darker themes and melancholic tones, and it doesn't get enough credit for doing so. Some of the tracks are impossible to not groove with, such as the album's title track.
  6. Apr 19, 2019
    8
    Cage the Elephant lost its juvenile sense of wonder and irresponsibility, the optimism has given place to the cruel reality of adult life, failed love experiments and traumatic personal events. Cage the Elephant has matured, in a sense that like a young person they have seen more of the world, and become damaged by it.
  7. Apr 19, 2019
    10
    Melancholy. Sick grooves. You'll want to dance with your sadness with this one.
  8. Apr 20, 2019
    10
    Another amazing album from this amazing group, Cage The Elephant brings a new masterpiece for the gender of alternative songs.
  9. May 30, 2019
    7
    Mantendo a típica sonoridade da música Independente Americana. Cage The Elephant cria de maneira sistêmica, faixas de um álbum interinamente consistente com a temática e o estilo abordado pela banda desde sua formação em 2006.
  10. Apr 28, 2019
    7
    Overall, I like the more cinematic approach to some of the tracks. Main weakness = lyrics
  11. Apr 30, 2019
    7
    Вероятно живьем бы зашел намного лучше, да и Night Running бы убрать подальше - была бы 8ка
  12. May 21, 2019
    10
    One of the best albums released this year so far. You can feel their unstoppable energy inside every track. My top 3 songs from the album are Night Running, Tokyo Smoke and Broken Boy.
  13. Jul 5, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Incredible album start to finish. Standout tracks are Broken Boy, Tokyo Smoke, Social Cues and Goodbye Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. May 10, 2019
    60
    Though Cues features some of their most accomplished songs yet, their eagerness to please both sides (not to mention a woeful Beck cameo on the dub-reggae fusion of Night Running) make for a sometimes coldly calculating listen.
  2. Classic Rock Magazine
    May 3, 2019
    60
    Social Cues feels like the sound of a great band in desperate need of some down time. [Jun 2019, p.88]
  3. Apr 30, 2019
    80
    Social Cues is Cage The Elephant’s darkest and most personal album yet.