Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Apr 28, 2020
    100
    Song For Our Daughter is, well, so uncannily, unreasonably and astutely beautiful that it meticulously sets aside every last one of your emotional checks and balances to wrap your core in a firm embrace.
  2. 100
    Her best work to date. ... Violins courtesy of Rob Moose (The National, Bon Iver) make this in part an elegy for her own experiences. What a marvel this album is.
  3. 100
    Her most measured and mature work, and perhaps the most accessible to those as yet
  4. 100
    Across 10 air-tight tracks, meticulously crafted and elegantly delivered, it’s an absolute triumph.
  5. Apr 27, 2020
    90
    While there are moments with more levity, Marling casts this world with a haunting backdrop of striking stories and superb instrumentation. It’s the rare album where a stripped-down approach entirely works, making these tales central and unmissable in their telling.
  6. Apr 17, 2020
    90
    ‘Song For Our Daughter’ presents a poignant snapshot of the complexities of femininity - both ones imposed by society and ones engrained in Laura’s past. Some moments are remarkably candid.
  7. 90
    On Song For Our Daughter Marling intimately portrays her subconscious, the one that’s paved the way for her to survive to this point years before these songs were recorded, in its brutal glory.
  8. Apr 10, 2020
    88
    At just 36 minutes, it’s her shortest record thus far, but it’s simultaneously Marling’s most straightforward, musically simplistic record to date and her most beautiful release yet.
  9. May 12, 2020
    80
    Song For Our Daughter is a mature and worthy work to serve as her latest statement. That its simply stated statements resonate all the more in a quieter time go to show that Marling’s instincts to deliver this gift to our doorsteps early were perfectly timed.
  10. Q Magazine
    May 5, 2020
    80
    Marling's seventh solo LP has the clarity, mastery and quiet strength of a folk-rock classic. [Jul 2020, p.110]
  11. Mojo
    Apr 21, 2020
    80
    The album appears as a warm, welcoming pool, soaking its balms, and its messages, deep into our bones. [Jun 2020, p.84]
  12. Uncut
    Apr 21, 2020
    80
    It's been a gradual recalibration and Songs For Our Daughter ruffles more of Marling's characteristic composure: she's feeling the breeze, focused, pressing keenly forward. [Jun 2020, p.24]
  13. Apr 20, 2020
    80
    Normally, you’d roll your eyes at such breathtaking derivations, but Marling’s record is so mellifluous and listenable, in part thanks to the unobtrusive string arrangements by Bob Moose.
  14. Apr 15, 2020
    80
    Song For Our Daughter is a return to what made her so widely admired. These are songs of undoubted depth and longevity that can provide moments of relief and solace to those in need.
  15. Apr 10, 2020
    80
    Song for Our Daughter is a touching recording, and it demonstrates that, no matter the sonic style she chooses to play with, Marling remains at the top of her game.
  16. Apr 9, 2020
    80
    It’s a highly polished piece of work, big on rich string arrangements and intricate harmony vocals.
  17. Apr 9, 2020
    80
    ‘Song For Our Daughter’ is a powerful and resounding success, and re-affirms Marling’s position as one of our most important feminist songwriters.
  18. Apr 10, 2020
    77
    Sonically Song For Our Daughter offers up a familiar feel, which is no doubt from the return of producer Ethan Johns (co-producing alongside Marling here). His touches feel light, but help add weight where necessary, be it with the greater presence of strings or the additional percussion (which never seeks to take the attention, regardless of how busy it is).
  19. Apr 13, 2020
    76
    Song for Our Daughter brims with peaceful reflections that, even though Marling herself is just grazing her 30s, could seem like the work of an artist in their twilight years.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 67
  2. Negative: 2 out of 67
  1. Apr 10, 2020
    8
    A must-listen album, very relevant this month. One of the most remarkable in her discography
  2. Apr 10, 2020
    9
    Will def give it a listen, but struggling with the math here a bit, how do two 100's and two 80's average out to a 95?
  3. Apr 12, 2020
    9
    Very stunning album. Intimate folk tunes with introspective lyrics delivered with Marling's uniquely beautiful vocal stylings. Relevant,Very stunning album. Intimate folk tunes with introspective lyrics delivered with Marling's uniquely beautiful vocal stylings. Relevant, passionate and stark. "Only the Strong" is breathtaking, and deserves to be heard by everyone struggling with loneliness in these trying times. Full Review »