• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Nov 10, 2014
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 141
  2. Negative: 14 out of 141
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2014
    6
    The Foo Fighters set the bar so high with Wasting Light, it was inevitable there would be a bit of a letdown I their follow up to that record. That being said, Sonic Highways is a solid effort. The first two songs are the strongest though, which makes the rest of the record a rocky listen with some very un-Foo Fighters-like moments. If this record was supposed to be a bridge to expandingThe Foo Fighters set the bar so high with Wasting Light, it was inevitable there would be a bit of a letdown I their follow up to that record. That being said, Sonic Highways is a solid effort. The first two songs are the strongest though, which makes the rest of the record a rocky listen with some very un-Foo Fighters-like moments. If this record was supposed to be a bridge to expanding their sound across the board, it will take a while and further recordings to assess as to wnether it worked. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2014
    6
    "Sonic Highways" plays like a perpetual song with almost all tracks indistinguishable from the other, yet sometimes the strongest riffs and most sentimental vocals lift this album past the tediousness that risks to overwhelm.
  3. Nov 19, 2014
    8
    Sonic Highways Review

    It's not the wildly experimental and varied record I expected it to be. Instead, it's just another really good Foo's album. And really, there's nothing to complain about there. More awesome Foo Fighters songs is never a bad thing. First half of the album is one great track after another, then it cools off and slows down a bit for the next 3 songs before finishing
    Sonic Highways Review

    It's not the wildly experimental and varied record I expected it to be. Instead, it's just another really good Foo's album. And really, there's nothing to complain about there. More awesome Foo Fighters songs is never a bad thing. First half of the album is one great track after another, then it cools off and slows down a bit for the next 3 songs before finishing with a solid power ballad.

    Overall, not as consistently great as Wasting Light, but still one of the Foo's best albums. If you're a fan of them you're almost definitely gonna love it.

    Rating: 8.6 / 10 (Great)
    Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a sign of real courage when a band that can count on millions of album sales and fill any stadium on the planet decides to take risks and experiment with new ideas - Sonic Highways is a powerful statement from an assured and accomplished band. You are unlikely to like everything right off the bat because they come at each song from different directions and sensibilities - but taken as a whole it's a triumph of the songwriters art. Just as Foo Fighters have ( IMHO) become this generation's Led Zeppelin, so Dave Grohl is growing into this generation's Niel Young - honest and uncompromised by commercial success - for that alone it's my album of the year. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2014
    6
    For me, the album is an experiment that failed. Foo Fighters made a change in their sound on this album, the songs are meant to give you the feeling of having already heard the songs (as in What Did I Do ?, reminiscent of Sweet Home Alabama by Lynyrd Skynyrd). The purpose of the album is very good but for me it was poorly executed. The album began with potent Something From Nothing, butFor me, the album is an experiment that failed. Foo Fighters made a change in their sound on this album, the songs are meant to give you the feeling of having already heard the songs (as in What Did I Do ?, reminiscent of Sweet Home Alabama by Lynyrd Skynyrd). The purpose of the album is very good but for me it was poorly executed. The album began with potent Something From Nothing, but after this track the album started to be boring for me, which is a shame because I'm a big fan of Foo Fighters and I was disappointed, I understand that they worked hard to make a great experience for her fans but did not please my ears, it was not like Pink Floyd, Swans, the Flaming Lips, or whatever, was generic ... Still, I think the album was saved from a "failure" when he arrived at Subterranean, the Foo Fighters got the experience they wanted in the last two tracks, making I Am a River was the perfect ending for the album and exciting, unfortunately I do not think the album has turned into a big deal and I dare say that this is the weakest album from Foo Fighters until then ... Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2014
    8
    What a freakin fun album. Not perfect, but what is? If you like Foo Fighters, if you dig albums produced by Butch Vig, or if you just want a decent rock album then give this a listen. if not then move along. 'nuff said.
  7. Nov 10, 2014
    8
    I thought the album holds its merit, not so much as a concept album, but with a maybe-slight change of freedom. While it might be easier to understand the songs having seen the documentary episodes, the songs still come through as Foo Fighters songs, songs that have had time taken with. After 20 years, you have to expect the sound won't be changing that much, but perhaps the intimacy ofI thought the album holds its merit, not so much as a concept album, but with a maybe-slight change of freedom. While it might be easier to understand the songs having seen the documentary episodes, the songs still come through as Foo Fighters songs, songs that have had time taken with. After 20 years, you have to expect the sound won't be changing that much, but perhaps the intimacy of which these eight new songs have had dedicated to them has been stepped up. Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2014
    10
    What a great album. Iv'e never been a huge Foo Fighters fan before, but I'm loving Sonic Highways. the first track, Something From Nothing, is just great. There is no particularly weak song, and unlike a lot of their older work which tends to blend together, every song stands out to me. Awesome guitar riffs, and really cool experimentation with new sounds. All together a solid album.
  9. Dec 19, 2014
    0
    Such a weak album. It's the Foo Fighters again. ...the band who people mostly only liked because Dave Grohl from Nirvana does frontman or "takes Kurt Cobain's job now, but can't scream as purposefully as Kurt." This music is all like their other albums except even worse. A bunch of forgettable tracks. ...but what can be said about a mediocre band after doing the same thing for almost 20Such a weak album. It's the Foo Fighters again. ...the band who people mostly only liked because Dave Grohl from Nirvana does frontman or "takes Kurt Cobain's job now, but can't scream as purposefully as Kurt." This music is all like their other albums except even worse. A bunch of forgettable tracks. ...but what can be said about a mediocre band after doing the same thing for almost 20 years. Ugh. Expand
  10. Nov 11, 2014
    7
    I don't think ill watch the show, directly focusing on the album, I can only assume the series is a marketing ploy to distract us from the lack of new ideas on the album trying to move forward from Wasting Light. They announced the hiatus after Wasting Light for a good reason, but the gravy train must keep rolling. They get what i give them because they reach far and wide with theirI don't think ill watch the show, directly focusing on the album, I can only assume the series is a marketing ploy to distract us from the lack of new ideas on the album trying to move forward from Wasting Light. They announced the hiatus after Wasting Light for a good reason, but the gravy train must keep rolling. They get what i give them because they reach far and wide with their resources for new influences and give due credit for them without sounding too off beat. The clean, original intro track builds nicely into the fury of the second tracks nice rhythm, the rest of the album then points different directions, still having some punch. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2014
    8
    As usual Foo mixes some melody and some heavy guitar riffs, then screaming over most of the chorus. A mix they have used well in their past albums. And despite the traveling to be an influence on each of their song (which is not a new idea), The songs come out the same as in the past. That being said, Foo gives their fans what they want- more of the same.
  12. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    Ambitious album from the best, most consistent band in rock today. It doesn't totally deliver to the high expectations leading up to from the hype and the fact this is a follow up to the exceptional Wasting Light. However, Sonic Highways certainly has some terrific songs, solos and vocals one would expect from Foo Fighters. Personally, I would say that Congregation (Nashville based), InAmbitious album from the best, most consistent band in rock today. It doesn't totally deliver to the high expectations leading up to from the hype and the fact this is a follow up to the exceptional Wasting Light. However, Sonic Highways certainly has some terrific songs, solos and vocals one would expect from Foo Fighters. Personally, I would say that Congregation (Nashville based), In the Clear (NOLA based), I am a River (New York based) are the best tracks. Expand
  13. Nov 21, 2014
    4
    When you have to be told it was an experiment you know it didn't quite have the desired effect.

    Something From Nothing opens with something really quite well built (even if borrowing from Dio, and even Biffy Clyro), only to be followed by generic cookie cutter rock that only sounds mildly more intelligent that the kind of trash Nickelback churns out nowadays. I think the most
    When you have to be told it was an experiment you know it didn't quite have the desired effect.

    Something From Nothing opens with something really quite well built (even if borrowing from Dio, and even Biffy Clyro), only to be followed by generic cookie cutter rock that only sounds mildly more intelligent that the kind of trash Nickelback churns out nowadays.

    I think the most concerning thing is the lack of immediacy each track after the first one has. There is no direction to the energy produced, and any sense of passion is hard to locate.
    Expand
  14. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    I want anyone who stills listens to Rock & Roll, that’s right Rock & Roll (remember it?) to give the new Foo Fighters album, Sonic Highway a listen. Once you have I want you to listen to it again and again and again! I can assure you the more you listen to it the more you’ll enjoy it. It’s that good. There are those who will say the Foo Fighters are guilty of producing nothing more thanI want anyone who stills listens to Rock & Roll, that’s right Rock & Roll (remember it?) to give the new Foo Fighters album, Sonic Highway a listen. Once you have I want you to listen to it again and again and again! I can assure you the more you listen to it the more you’ll enjoy it. It’s that good. There are those who will say the Foo Fighters are guilty of producing nothing more than arena rock, I say what the f*ck is wrong with that? What the hell are the options, having Mr. Grohl and the boys put out songs that sound like Janni? There’s a reason Foo Fighters sell out arenas! There are also those who’ll say the Foo Fighters continue to put out tracks that sound alike. Sorry but I just don’t hear that. I will agree that they do have a style about them that will give you a hint of “here’s comes the kick ass ending” but what’s wrong with that? Having Dave Grohl in your band puts you up a notch higher than the rest. He’s rock royalty, deal with it!

    The format of this new endeavor was having the band travel through the U.S. tracing the roots of music, Jazz from New Orleans, Punk from New York & Washington D.C, the blues from Chicago, Grunge from Seattle, etc. Once the information was gathered, they implemented these styles into the tracks although some may find it difficult to determine which sound influenced what songs? My favorite track, Congregation, just has that Foo Fighters kick with a simple but catchy chorus as most Fighter songs do. “Outside” has a strong chorus and nice Bridge but it may have been a good idea to let Joe Walsh’s fills come to the top as you can barely hear them. For that matter, if you don’t read the notes on the sleeve, you’d never know Zach Brown (Congregation), Rick Nielson (Something from Nothing) or Joe Walsh (Outside) ever partook in these recordings. I understand these recordings weren’t put out as a “Duets” album but if you’re going to use outside talent, at least give them a hear.

    I am a BIG Dave Grohl fan. He is the best thing Rock & Roll has going for it. His is a student of the field. He has studied it, cherished it, respected it & implemented it into his music. He has formed bonds with Rock & Roll’s elite. His taste has no boundaries using Lemmy from Motorhead on one of his tracks (Wasting Light Album) to being asked to become Tom Petty’s permanent drummer. Seeing him do interviews you can see he doesn't take himself seriously but he does take his craft seriously. If you don’t start rocking your head or start playing air drums when a Foo Fighter song hits the speakers you need to have your pulse checked cause you may have a leg out the door!

    Rock & Roll needs more people like Dave Grohl. When Nirvana ended he could have taken his millions and disappeared but instead he decided to take his knowledge of what people want to hear and his love for music and entertain the masses like no one since Led Zeppelin in their hay day. Let’s hope the fire never stops burning in Mr. Grohl’s belly, if it does it could be the day the music had died.

    -Vigo
    Expand
  15. Nov 12, 2014
    8
    I see Sonic Highways as a pretty consistent album. No track really stands out above the rest. This is not the best record that the Foo Fighters have released but its certainly still strong. I liked the idea of recording a new song in every city but I was expecting the record of the year. The album is still good, it just didn't meet my expectations. The Foos switch their sound up a littleI see Sonic Highways as a pretty consistent album. No track really stands out above the rest. This is not the best record that the Foo Fighters have released but its certainly still strong. I liked the idea of recording a new song in every city but I was expecting the record of the year. The album is still good, it just didn't meet my expectations. The Foos switch their sound up a little bit with this album. Its just sort of a classic rock album which makes sense considering Joe Walsh of the Eagles and Rick Nielson of Cheap Trick are both featured on the record. Sonic Highways is only eight songs long as well, which is a pretty short record considering there is a three year gap between Sonic Highways and Wasting Light. I highlight Something From Nothing, Congregation, Outside and I Am A River. I also enjoyed the second half of the medley What Did I Do?/God as My Witness, I didn't care for the first part. Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2014
    7
    With Wasting Light, the Foo Fighters had established itself as one of the biggest representants of the contemporary rock, so they had everything to do their new-best album. In theory, Sonic Highways is absolutely amazing and had a lot of hype however they lost themselves in the composition and the record, doing an another Foo Fighters' album, which is not so bad since their sound stillWith Wasting Light, the Foo Fighters had established itself as one of the biggest representants of the contemporary rock, so they had everything to do their new-best album. In theory, Sonic Highways is absolutely amazing and had a lot of hype however they lost themselves in the composition and the record, doing an another Foo Fighters' album, which is not so bad since their sound still good. But I say again, they had a lot of opportunities for doing their Magnum opus but at the end is just what they are doing for 20 years. Expand
  17. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    This album is definitely a step forward for the Foo Fighters. Is it their best album? That's relative. While the influence of the artists accompanying the individual songs is sometimes lost, the influence of the cities they recorded in is present in every song. Instead of jumping straight outside of the Foo Fighters box, they dipped their toes into unknown realms and this is fullyThis album is definitely a step forward for the Foo Fighters. Is it their best album? That's relative. While the influence of the artists accompanying the individual songs is sometimes lost, the influence of the cities they recorded in is present in every song. Instead of jumping straight outside of the Foo Fighters box, they dipped their toes into unknown realms and this is fully evident in songs like "Subterranean" and "I Am A River". Regardless, I can still blast this album in the car and sing or scream alongside Dave Grohl and to me that's Foo Fighters. Expand
  18. Sep 28, 2015
    2
    Children, how many times can you cheer for the same pop rock song put a thousand different ways? What is it about this band that keeps the teenagers dying for more?? Grohl is an honorable guy, but he hasn't written a non-generic lyric or riff in over ten years. Do you people still watch the Simpsons too? Bet everyone can't wait for the new Star Wars. It's going to be rad and totallyChildren, how many times can you cheer for the same pop rock song put a thousand different ways? What is it about this band that keeps the teenagers dying for more?? Grohl is an honorable guy, but he hasn't written a non-generic lyric or riff in over ten years. Do you people still watch the Simpsons too? Bet everyone can't wait for the new Star Wars. It's going to be rad and totally original! This generation has an unhealthy addiction to unoriginal content. Whoa, dude! He broke his leg and still played the show on a rock-throne! Dave, it would be a lot cooler if you just took a break. You've been riding the same wave for 6 or 7 albums now. You're tapped. You're still a great guy, but your songs are the worst rock-radio crap. Expand
  19. Dec 16, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is a point in a band’s career where they go back to their roots or decide to take a new direction with a record. But Sonic Highways, the new album from Foo Fighters stretches 20 years of their career by shaking up their music and record in eight cities across America from Nashville to Seattle and Chicago which left singer Dave Grohl to write songs based on the surroundings and experiences from those cities that are presented to us on the HBO documentary series of the same name and incorporate some new musical elements. In the end, this record is both admirable and disappointingly flawed in some ways by not leading into something new. ‘Something for Nothing’, first song off Sonic Highways is a disappointing opener that doesn’t provide anything new both lyrically and rhythmically, by having Cheap Trick’s Rick Nielsen, it creates a funky side with the guitar line which does some good for this song. But I have to mention one of the best track on the album, ‘The Feast and the Famine’; featuring RDGLDGRN, this track is an otherwise great example of dynamic rhythms and harmony combined with awesome guitar riffs that provides the right melody and great sense of song writing from their other albums which unremarkable fits with the lyrics on this one. Most of the other songs on Sonic Highways like ‘Congregation’ and ‘Outside’ are being forced down and hammered down and are not heard as creative perfection for the song writing; even though Grohl’s vocals capture a great essence to his voice, the rhythms and guitar lines don’t do anything to make both songs. Most of the new listeners would feel confused by ‘In the Clear’ because with a little help from The New Orleans Preservation Jazz Band, it takes a new melodic twist by adding horns. Some of the better songs on this one include ‘Subterranean’ with Death Cab for Cutie’s Ben Gibbard, this track provides a great melodic vibe and guitar lines that is memorable as well as beautiful and ‘Where Did I Go?/God As My Witness’ with Gary Clark Jr. which sorts of plays out like a rock opera. Overall, the new record is not their best work and will disappoint fans that were expecting something new out if it but provides some good songs that are sometimes enjoyable. Expand
  20. Aug 21, 2015
    8
    "Sonic Highways" is concise and focused and at 8 tracks long, it carries no passengers and takes no prisoners. Foo Fighters have never been singled out as innovative or cutting edge. Billy Corgan recently described them as derivative and I think this is accurate enough. The thing is, I don't thing the band have a particular problem with this. They make straight up American style rock music"Sonic Highways" is concise and focused and at 8 tracks long, it carries no passengers and takes no prisoners. Foo Fighters have never been singled out as innovative or cutting edge. Billy Corgan recently described them as derivative and I think this is accurate enough. The thing is, I don't thing the band have a particular problem with this. They make straight up American style rock music in the vein of many the American rock heroes of the 70's. They are what they are and they do their thing very well. This record is a prime example - even though the band took a completely new approach (different city for each song etc which I won't go into as its already well documented) to the creation of "Sonic Highways", the result is remarkably similar to what has gone before. To truly appreciate this approach you do have to see the accompanying TV series but its hard to get a sense of what the band set out to do by listening to the music alone. Opener "Something From Nothing" and closer "I Am a River" are my favourite tracks. In between you have a seriously meety rock sandwich. A must have album for fans of the Foos, well worth checking out in conjunction with the series for fans of rock. Expand
  21. Nov 17, 2014
    7
    As someone fairly unfamiliar with the Foo Fighters' discography or history, I was intrigued by the concept behind Sonic Highways. The album is enjoyable, and warrants repeated listens at least for me, but I was a bit disappointed at the execution of the idea. The music isn't bad, but if they recorded in one place, it would not be nearly as well received.
  22. Jul 16, 2016
    6
    "Sonic Highways" plays like a perpetual song with almost all tracks indistinguishable from the other, yet sometimes the strongest riffs and most sentimental vocals lift this album past the tediousness that risks to overwhelm.
  23. Dec 14, 2014
    7
    The Most classic, well known and respected rock bands have released they’re latest album. Everyone has been expecting great things to come from the creative minds of Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and the rest of the band and racking up the excitement to 11 was the release of the HBO produced documentary of Foo Fighters recording their latest album: Sonic Highways. The bands consistency ofThe Most classic, well known and respected rock bands have released they’re latest album. Everyone has been expecting great things to come from the creative minds of Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and the rest of the band and racking up the excitement to 11 was the release of the HBO produced documentary of Foo Fighters recording their latest album: Sonic Highways. The bands consistency of quality music has been astonishing over the last two decades, and so we expect a certain bar for them to reach with their albums now. The main question that now lies with the album Sonic Highways is: Have they met it?
    The album could be seen as a bit of an experiment, which is a great idea to do as a lot bands can stagnate in producing the same music over and over. But with Foo Fighters I probably would’ve preferred for them to stay the same. This album feels pretty refreshing to listen to, but you do not feel like you are experiencing the full frontal force of the now iconic sound of the Foo Fighters.
    The Album starts off with an interesting track named “Something from nothing”, which can be linked with taking influences from a funk rock type of background. It’s a nice preview to how the album is going to be different from a typical FF album. Conterminously this track is “The feast and the famine”, which has more of a typical rock sound and whilst having an interesting start falls short of being that great a track, it just feels like a lacks to real power that you really want from a solid rock song. It almost doesn’t feel complete. The next song – Congregation - is surely a tribute to bands like Thin Lizzy and carries itself along at a nice pace. The 4th track on the album “What did I do/God is my witness” has some similarities to Lynyrd Skynyrd, specifically I would say Sweet Home Alabama and even though that song as a gem in the history of music, I can’t help but find this song a bit boring. “Outside”, the fifth track on the album does not have any direct similarities to other bands I have heard yet but it is a possibly one of my favourite on the record. It has a brilliant riff and a good pace to its songs speed that makes it extremely easy to listen to compared to track 1,2 and 4 before (even though I do like track 1 a lot). It also comes with a haunting guitar towards the 4 minute of the song which chills the spine with its perfectly adjusted tone that adds phenomenally to the track. The 6th track “in the clear” is a little mundane too, and a bit under par to typical Foo Fighters quality, and has a similar fault to track 4: it’s just a little boring. The second to last track “Subterranean” is a step up to the previous track and is a decent song, although it doesn’t really seem like it goes anywhere. Its guitar is refreshing and chilled out, making it a nice change from the rest of the album as a genuinely slow paced song. However song of the lyrics seems a bit out of place at time. The final song “I am a river” carries on directly from the penultimate track and really works nicely as a whole and concludes the album brilliantly. It all fits together perfectly, every aspect of this song is complete and just sounds conclusive. It has at times a less delayed but similarly toned guitar riff to Angels and Airwaves, which just sounds great and I am certainly a fan if their music turns into songs like this one, and I’d say this song is my favourite on the album.
    So has Foo Fighters done it? No, they have not lived up to their previous behemoth of their last album “Wasting Light” which was easily their best work yet and dwarfed this album, but it does show Foo Fighters have evolved. They’re not afraid to experiment with their formula, and they have made an album that doesn’t stand out as being a great Foo Fighters album, but stands out as being an interesting separate piece of work that is still enjoyable to listen to and detaches itself from the typical Foo Fighters sound. To some this album may be a bit of a let-down, but it still shows Foo Fighters are as creative as ever and still can make quality music.
    Expand
  24. Feb 6, 2015
    8
    Não é o melhor disco deles, mas pedir pra superar os hinários do passado é uma tarefa quase impossível. O álbum conversa bem entre si e as músicas no geral são bem "catchy", o álbum me viciou por completo.
  25. Jan 4, 2015
    8
    While I would've liked to have seen more energy in the music and a few more songs, Sonic Highways is a great rock album with some truly great songs, including one of their best songs they've ever written, Something From Nothing.
  26. Aug 16, 2015
    4
    A thoroughly unoriginal set of songs to accompany a fascinating mini-documentary series. This is to be expected from Foo Fighters, though- it's not unlistenable by any means but the spit-shine production and big-budget trickery adds a certain level of perceived dishonesty to even the more emotional cuts from Sonic Highways.
  27. Sep 25, 2015
    8
    It lacks a hit song, but as a whole album this is great. Listened to it a few times, and I just can't find the worst song cause there isn't one. The problem is, I can't find the best song either
  28. Apr 25, 2016
    6
    This album was kinda a little disappointing, because some of the songs are a bit hard to listen because it's boring. The only 2 songs I probably like is "Something From Nothing and "Feast and the Famine. When I got this album for Christmas, I was hoping it will be great as their last awesome album, Wasting Light. But this album doesn't seem to keep up their good work from their lastThis album was kinda a little disappointing, because some of the songs are a bit hard to listen because it's boring. The only 2 songs I probably like is "Something From Nothing and "Feast and the Famine. When I got this album for Christmas, I was hoping it will be great as their last awesome album, Wasting Light. But this album doesn't seem to keep up their good work from their last albums. I'm sorry Foo Fighters, but you did a great effort on this album to be honest. But this is kinda a disappointment. Expand
  29. Jun 27, 2017
    6
    While listening to Sonic Highways is easy on the ears, because Dave Grohl's vocals are still as great as ever, the instrumentation is quite monotone and lacks imagination. The album as a whole is just too tame and bland to really be a stand out record in Foo Fighters' discography. Favourite tracks "Something from Nothing" and "The Feast and the Famine".
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Classic Rock Magazine
    Dec 16, 2014
    80
    Even dislocated from the TV show, Sonic Highways remains among the most concise and powerful Foo albums yet. [Dec 2014, p.102]
  2. Kerrang!
    Dec 16, 2014
    80
    It's a collection of eight good and great Foo Fighters songs. [15 Nov 2014, p.52]
  3. Dec 4, 2014
    40
    It's a cool premise, but despite the ambition and guest musicians on each song, Sonic Highways sounds like every other Foo Fighters record.