• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Dec 9, 2022
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 372 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 372
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 9, 2022
    5
    With a lack of originality and direction, SZA’s project is a bore to any ear that values depth and personality. An obnoxiously long tracklist enhances the fact that every song has very similiar lyrics and sound. However, SZA’s level of talent is undeniably incredible, I just wish she could put it to better use by communicating her ideas without using the same repetitive themes andWith a lack of originality and direction, SZA’s project is a bore to any ear that values depth and personality. An obnoxiously long tracklist enhances the fact that every song has very similiar lyrics and sound. However, SZA’s level of talent is undeniably incredible, I just wish she could put it to better use by communicating her ideas without using the same repetitive themes and profanity. However, SZA does a lot right with standout tracks like “Open Arms” with Travis Scott, “Kill Bill,” “Open Arms,” and F2F. These tracks exemplify emotional outreach to the listener, without sounding overdone.

    Production is sub-par, with nothing to write home about.
    Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2022
    4
    Acho que tenho que ouvir de novo, por que não gostei tanto assim ...........
  3. Dec 10, 2022
    6
    As frustrating as it was to login to this disastrous website - I had to come in here to give my two cents. SZA is talented - but this album - it's just a stereotypical R&B album that Erykah Badu might have put out in the 90's. It's pleasant - but not really adventurous. SZA reaches her fans - so I'm not disparaging her - it just feels like I've heard it in a dozen MJB albums and JazmineAs frustrating as it was to login to this disastrous website - I had to come in here to give my two cents. SZA is talented - but this album - it's just a stereotypical R&B album that Erykah Badu might have put out in the 90's. It's pleasant - but not really adventurous. SZA reaches her fans - so I'm not disparaging her - it just feels like I've heard it in a dozen MJB albums and Jazmine Sullivan. They all sound the same now. Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2022
    5
    Nice production overall but the lyrics are sometimes very repetitive and unimaginative which makes it difficult to get through the whole album because there are a whopping 23 tracks. Take for instance F2F, a pop punk track in the middle that just crops up out of nowhere, with SZA doing a terrible Avril Lavigne impression and the refrain "I f*ck him 'cause I miss you' or the equallyNice production overall but the lyrics are sometimes very repetitive and unimaginative which makes it difficult to get through the whole album because there are a whopping 23 tracks. Take for instance F2F, a pop punk track in the middle that just crops up out of nowhere, with SZA doing a terrible Avril Lavigne impression and the refrain "I f*ck him 'cause I miss you' or the equally uninspired Notice Me where she repeats 'I don't want to be your girl I just want to be your person' over and over. She sounds her best on tracks like Far; a sparse beat with some pleasant guitar and synths that her airy voice floats atop beautifully or the epic Gone Girl. This probably could have been edited down to a great 10-12 track album, but as it is it's definitely bloated and very inconsistent. Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2022
    5
    This album passed my very high expectations. Every single track was amazing, truly her best work so far. It surpassed CTRL in my opinion. Some of my favorites were SOS, Kill Bill, Gone Girl and Ghost in a Machine.
  6. Dec 10, 2022
    5
    This is a good album, it has a very chill vibe as SZA has always had us used to. However, I think most of the tracks had basic production and cliché lyrics, so it's hard to impress the audience after the masterpiece of 'Ctrl'. At some points it feels like the album could have had a shorter tracklist in order to not make it too exhausting to listen to. I would like to see SZA exploringThis is a good album, it has a very chill vibe as SZA has always had us used to. However, I think most of the tracks had basic production and cliché lyrics, so it's hard to impress the audience after the masterpiece of 'Ctrl'. At some points it feels like the album could have had a shorter tracklist in order to not make it too exhausting to listen to. I would like to see SZA exploring different themes rather than love and sex, and singing to more rock-vibes beats, which in my opinion suit her very well. The songs I liked the most were Kill Bill, Nobody Gets Me and Blind. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2023
    5
    A good project, however I think it's very forgettable, plus you get to the point where you find it repetitive.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Dec 19, 2022
    80
    The peaks on SOS, (“Used,” “Smoking on my Ex Pack,” and “Forgiveless”) find SZA sounding refreshingly comfortable rapping over gritty, hazy, and grimy productions.
  2. Dec 16, 2022
    88
    It may take a few years for SOS to ascend to the heights, but if 808s & Heartbreak was the breakup record of the 2000s and Blonde was the 2010s examination of loss and trauma, then SZA might have produced that emotional breaking point for the 2020s.
  3. Dec 15, 2022
    90
    Hour-plus length and stylistic variety likewise signal that SOS could be the overreaching kind of highly anticipated follow-up. Still, it's an advancement from Ctrl in every respect apart from cohesion