• Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Dec 18, 2015
User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 216
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2015
    0
    There is literally no way to express how much I used to appreciate Kid Cudi's previous efforts. On this one, it seems that he doesn't even know what he is doing. The lyrics are shallow, the production is bad, but the music is totally unlistenable. Not even one song on this album is either good, mediocre or a classic. I can't believe it. Why, Cudi? Why? We waited so long for you to makeThere is literally no way to express how much I used to appreciate Kid Cudi's previous efforts. On this one, it seems that he doesn't even know what he is doing. The lyrics are shallow, the production is bad, but the music is totally unlistenable. Not even one song on this album is either good, mediocre or a classic. I can't believe it. Why, Cudi? Why? We waited so long for you to make such an awful album as this?

    I really didn't want to give this album a 0, but it seemed I have no choice. Hopefully Cudi wakes up and realizes that he is a rapper, not a rocker.
    Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2015
    0
    Motto of this album's concept by a sane human being, don't do drugs kids. I want the old cudi back, he was a great musician now he's just drowned into some insane bs. Help this man. Is he even relevant?
  3. Aug 15, 2016
    1
    I completely understand that Kid Cudi was trying to express himself differently and experiment with a different style of music that's completely out of his field, but it's safe to say that grunge just doesn't work with him. Cudi needs to scrap this idea and go straight back to the drawing board.
  4. Jan 7, 2016
    0
    Tragic album. Tragic instrumental. Tragic idea. I don't know. He can do really much better album and I hope so. Good luck mr. Kid Cudi :)........................
  5. Dec 18, 2015
    0
    Unfortunately, Kid Cudi really dropped the ball with this album. The entire album is bad. Confused is the only song I could stand listening to. Every other song is horrible. Cudi seems to be going through a lot at the time, and hopefully once he gets in a better state of mind, he'll start producing good stuff again.
  6. Dec 21, 2015
    1
    Well... how to sum this album up? The fifth album by American rapper Kid Cudi is... difficult, in almost every way. Cudi departs from his hip hop roots further and moves toward an punk rock/grunge style, which in short, is an absolute disastrous (and almost, borderline catastrophic) move. The sixty minute fist disc which makes up the actual album, sounds like awful demos that even NirvanaWell... how to sum this album up? The fifth album by American rapper Kid Cudi is... difficult, in almost every way. Cudi departs from his hip hop roots further and moves toward an punk rock/grunge style, which in short, is an absolute disastrous (and almost, borderline catastrophic) move. The sixty minute fist disc which makes up the actual album, sounds like awful demos that even Nirvana themselves wouldn't be able to salvage something from. The lyrics, which are meant to be depressive in nature, do come across as that, but seem as shallow as the man who wrote them, summed up by THAT line from the track "Adventures", "Your vagina is moist and warm.". It's as lyrically shallow as that car crash of a so-called "album" Miley Cyrus tortured the world with earlier this year - the lyrics have no merit or meaning at all. The instrumentation is noting special, while one or two of the main album tracks do manage to bring something that's at least worth a second listen, such as "Judgemental C*nt" and "Confused!", the former being the only song on the album with any power or even that rebellious "I Don't Care!" attitude that grunge and punk rock was formed from but being brutally honest, both songs lose any novelty value VERY quickly anyway. "Angered Kids" is just mindless noise. Above all, one of the biggest problems with this record is Cudi's vocals, which sound like his vocal chords have been processed through a blender, and the Beavis & Butt-Head skits... I can only describe them as being f*cking pointless and completely insufferable. However, I will (reluctantly) give credit to Cudi for using analog recording techniques on the album, although the production is barely passable, even for a punk rock/grunge record. The second disc, which is meant to be the so-called "unreleased demos" aren't even worth mentioning. I can only sum this up as being a tragic attempt to revive punk rock, and is not only the worst thing Cudi has released, but could even be the worst album this year (and that does include releases from Miley Cyrus and the POPE!). To sum it up by reworking several paraphrased lines from the album, "It is nothing short of a f*cking waste that will leave you confused and in a deep state of post mortem bordem!". Do yourselves a favour, and AVOID!

    Album Highlights - If I HAD to pick one... "Judgemental C*nt.
    Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2015
    1
    This album is **** it's horrendous, it's horrible, it's so wack, it's one of the worst things i've ever heard, i **** hate kid cudi, he's the reason kurt cobain loaded that clip and then said BANG!.
    if you want a good kid cudi album listen to his first man on the moons, if you want a slightly better turd go listen to indicud, if you want a barely better turd go listen to satellite flight.
  8. Dec 30, 2015
    3
    i tried to like this album.. its kudi trying to do punk rock or some kind of grunge for the modern era and hes not there.. hes doing his best Kurt Cobain and achieving about 1% of what Cobain did if he was basically knocked out cold on heroin and still put together an album. I for one am getting concerned for Scotts well being.. hes not going to take criticism of this album well, thei tried to like this album.. its kudi trying to do punk rock or some kind of grunge for the modern era and hes not there.. hes doing his best Kurt Cobain and achieving about 1% of what Cobain did if he was basically knocked out cold on heroin and still put together an album. I for one am getting concerned for Scotts well being.. hes not going to take criticism of this album well, the lyrics in this album are reasonably depressing and the riffs are simply repetitive and nothing to be liked. I hope Kid Kudi can put together something better next time.. hes better off doing some kind of hip hop variant and staying away from puck rock / rock / grunge / experimental rock.. Expand
  9. Dec 22, 2015
    0
    **** this album. No hate intended, but this man needs to get all the yes men off his team. This "punk rock" **** it hard to swallow by itself, with each song having such bland and simple instrumentation, but then Scott put his already bad singing over this, and it makes it god awful. I probably wouldn't give this a ****ing zero but there were 26 ****ING TRACKS. Every track make the**** this album. No hate intended, but this man needs to get all the yes men off his team. This "punk rock" **** it hard to swallow by itself, with each song having such bland and simple instrumentation, but then Scott put his already bad singing over this, and it makes it god awful. I probably wouldn't give this a ****ing zero but there were 26 ****ING TRACKS. Every track make the headache this album gave me even worse, but when it hit the demo section, I wanted to run for the hills. I pray that his next album isn't worse. It can't be can it? Expand
  10. Dec 30, 2015
    1
    Speedin' Bullet 2 Heaven is a Alt Rock effort by former art hip hop artist Kid Cudi after a string of hit or miss albums. I was curious to hear what Cudi had to offer, and damn........ only regrets now....

    There is nothing but mundane, boring guitar riffs that Cudi repeats again, and again and again. Terrible tone-deaf or either cringeworthy singing. Amateurish songwriting that take
    Speedin' Bullet 2 Heaven is a Alt Rock effort by former art hip hop artist Kid Cudi after a string of hit or miss albums. I was curious to hear what Cudi had to offer, and damn........ only regrets now....

    There is nothing but mundane, boring guitar riffs that Cudi repeats again, and again and again. Terrible tone-deaf or either cringeworthy singing. Amateurish songwriting that take away any form of impact these songs could've had. "Her vagina is moist and warm" "No more chicken sandwiches." Extremely redundant Beavis and Butthead skits by Mike Judge himself.

    Even worse is the fact that this album has 26 tracks and a run time of over 90 minutes. If the initial 18 tracks weren't bad enough, Cudi had the guts to throw the other 8 demo tracks into the mix. These demo tracks are by far the worst songs you will hear this year. With "The Return of Chip Douglas" being the absolute climax of cringe and awfulness.

    Just four minutes of Cudi moaning about how a girl is not a nuisance and how she has to blow him while playing the same damn boring riff over and over again while having the guts to throw a tantrum in the last thirty seconds. (He literally goes like "NUURHHH HURRR HUR")

    The reason why I won't give this album a zero is because of one track (also few snippets of other tracks like the intro), and that is "Judgemental **** The only track that gave me a decent rock vibe where Cudi wasn't messing up.

    To conclude, Speedin' Bullet to Heaven is a bad album. I will defend the fact that Cudi has the right to go on weird artistic adventures, that's what gave us MOTM in the first place. But I will never defend this album.

    This is the musical equivalent to a 90 minute long waterboarding session.
    Period.
    Expand
  11. Jan 4, 2016
    1
    Favorite Song: Handle With Care

    Least Favorite Song: The Return Of Chip Douglas Other Good Songs: Fairytale Remains, Melting I am really disappointed with Kid Cudi right now. He had some really good songs back in the day like, “Day n Night”, “Dat New New” and “Embrace The Martian”. Wow, thinking about those songs makes me really sad, because it seemed like he wasn’t even trying to
    Favorite Song: Handle With Care

    Least Favorite Song: The Return Of Chip Douglas

    Other Good Songs: Fairytale Remains, Melting

    I am really disappointed with Kid Cudi right now. He had some really good songs back in the day like, “Day n Night”, “Dat New New” and “Embrace The Martian”. Wow, thinking about those songs makes me really sad, because it seemed like he wasn’t even trying to make an album on this. He seemed really lazy, making very simple repetitive guitar riffs and putting some bizarre lyrics to it that I can’t understand.

    Imagine this. We all know someone that is learning guitar, they’re usually pretty young, and they think that they are cooler person now that they got learning guitar checked off the bucket list. Now one of the only songs they know how to play are the same three chords over and over and over….. Kid Cudi is that beginner making a 26 track long album. I could basically have an “Other Bad Songs” section above and just write “The Rest Of The Songs”

    I wish the album was actually Hip Hop. Because it was a trashy punk rock one with a bunch of creepy songs like “The Nothing”. And don’t get me started on all the Beevis and Butthead skits that were on there. I have no clue what it was about. I like… need answers.

    If he were to make another album after this, it’s gonna have to be as good as “To Pimp A Butterfly” to make up for this garbage.
    Expand
  12. Mar 27, 2016
    0
    Oh dear gawd, where do I begin? This sounds like it was made by a bunch of wannabe punk kids who are spending their rich parents money to mass produce this garbage that can't even be called anything but trash. Like, I tried to give this a shot, but Kid Cudi has just lost his mind on this record and managed to record his entire mental breakdown in a studio. I should have known he was gonnaOh dear gawd, where do I begin? This sounds like it was made by a bunch of wannabe punk kids who are spending their rich parents money to mass produce this garbage that can't even be called anything but trash. Like, I tried to give this a shot, but Kid Cudi has just lost his mind on this record and managed to record his entire mental breakdown in a studio. I should have known he was gonna hit rock bottom eventually, but I was hoping it would be in a news format so that it just lasted a second, not 26 tracks of a man who has lost every shred of sanity and musical prowess he used to possess. What happened to you, Cudi? Expand
  13. Apr 23, 2016
    0
    What happened to Kid Cudi?

    Speedin' Bullet 2 Heaven is possibly one of the worst albums ever created, and definitely earned the title of the worst album, of any genre, during 2015. There are absolutely no redeeming qualities to this mess. If this album appeals to you, one of two things is happening: 1) You are a Kid Cudi stan. He could literally record himself taking an
    What happened to Kid Cudi?

    Speedin' Bullet 2 Heaven is possibly one of the worst albums ever created, and definitely earned the title of the worst album, of any genre, during 2015.

    There are absolutely no redeeming qualities to this mess. If this album appeals to you, one of two things is happening:

    1) You are a Kid Cudi stan. He could literally record himself taking an impressively large I've-eaten-nothing-but-TGI-Fridays-for-a-month dump, sing about suicide and release it as an album and you'd likely give it just as high a rating as you've given this.

    2) You have never listened to any punk rock, grunge, garage rock or alternative rock prior to listening to this. If you are defending his lyrics, his musicality or his vocal talents, you're simply wrong and it's a matter of miseducation.

    Don't listen to this. Save yourself the pain.
    Expand
  14. Dec 29, 2015
    0
    Terrible album, terrible vocals, terrible instrumentation, terrible hooks, terrible fanbase, terrible sound, terrible background, terrible artwork, terrible lyrics, terrible samples, terrible name, terrible co-signs, terrible protegé, terrible label, terrible score, terrible rapper-try harder to be a rock singer, terrible everything.
  15. Dec 16, 2016
    0
    MEMETHONY REVIEWTANO HERE

    metacritic's busiest ****

    this album sucks

    someone really needs to lower the character limit

    by like

    a lot

    gonna sleep now bye
  16. Dec 22, 2017
    2
    I found this album through Anthony Fantano's review. I thought there was no way it could be a 0. While that's true, it still sucks ass.
  17. Apr 16, 2017
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Cudi lost his mind. Terrible singing on top of even worse lyrics. Production isn't too bad, the guitars and drums are mediocre. I like the fact that Cudi is trying new things, however he should do things right- write some catchy instrumental and interesting lyrics. Expand
  18. Jan 24, 2017
    0
    hummnyaaaaaa humnyaweeeeeeee
    this as to be the worst thing that Cudi has ever created, and it's also the worst rock album of the decade. this album is unlistenable, and it goes on for too long. it's a horrendous album and you should not listen to it. ever. save your time for something better, much better.
  19. Jul 28, 2019
    1
    If you finish this album, you deserve a reward. It is legitimately insufferable and outright terrible.
  20. Jul 17, 2017
    1
    what............................................................................................................................................................
  21. Mar 9, 2018
    0
    This is easily THE worst album that I've EVER listened to!! None of the songs were enjoyable, and Cudi's voice is SO **** annoying! I did like what he had to talk about on this album, but musically, Cudi, what the **** are you doing????? I am never listening to this album ever again. If you are a fan of Kid Cudi, please listen to this at your own risk. I guarantee that you will not likeThis is easily THE worst album that I've EVER listened to!! None of the songs were enjoyable, and Cudi's voice is SO **** annoying! I did like what he had to talk about on this album, but musically, Cudi, what the **** are you doing????? I am never listening to this album ever again. If you are a fan of Kid Cudi, please listen to this at your own risk. I guarantee that you will not like this album. Expand
  22. Apr 29, 2016
    1
    The song "Judgemental C**t" is great, it has this nice driving bass line and those heavy guitars. Kid Cudi, while not being the best at singing, he makes up for it with emotion and rhythm and also kind of with his lyrics. Besides that, i enjoyed nothing on that album, it was really godamn horrendous.
  23. Mar 28, 2016
    2
    Kid Cudi completely drops the ball with this new release.

    One can definitely respect this guy as an artist. Man on The Moon is a pure classic, even if his later releases weren't exactly up to scratch. What Kid Cudi lacks in production, he makes up for with solid lyrical content - this album has neither. Knowing this was a rock album, I was curious to find out how these new elements
    Kid Cudi completely drops the ball with this new release.

    One can definitely respect this guy as an artist. Man on The Moon is a pure classic, even if his later releases weren't exactly up to scratch. What Kid Cudi lacks in production, he makes up for with solid lyrical content - this album has neither.

    Knowing this was a rock album, I was curious to find out how these new elements would compliment his vocal talent. It's always fascinating when an artist experiments, but unfortunately the content offered on this album is unlistenable, plain and simple.

    The album offers over 18 tracks and over the course of the LP Kid Cudi is either annoying you or boring you to tears. Some of the worst production imaginable plagues the entire record and the vocals just aren't up to par when compared to his previous efforts.

    However, there are a few moments where it sounds like the album is trying to redeem itself, but these moments are just too vague and don't happen often enough to make up for everything else presented here. Songs like 'Man In The Night' and 'Judgemental C**t' have some great sounding guitar riffs, but it's just not enough.

    There's nothing more to say here, other than the fact that this album just isn't great - both in terms of lyrical content and production. Kid Cudi is a fantastic artist and there's no denying that he has the ability to produce another solid body of work.

    This album, however, should be avoided at all costs.

    - Alex Heyns. Cape Town, South Africa.
    Expand
  24. Jun 3, 2017
    0
    This is what happens when you do drugs. Kid cudi went insane.

    To be honest, this has some good lyrics that I'm sure some people can connect with, but the delivery and the instrumentals are just... so boring. Good lyrics, bad executions.
    Edit: my bad the lyrics are awful, the more I read into them
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jan 6, 2016
    40
    Speedin’ Bullet 2 Heaven is interesting the same way a friend getting a dramatic bad haircut is interesting: Once the shock wears off, you still have to look them in the eye and level with them.
  2. Dec 15, 2015
    40
    On a sonic level, much of this album is strong but the identity and continuity are lackluster.
  3. Dec 15, 2015
    80
    Speedin' is an uncomfortably internal album that's a pleasurable listen. It's not as gleefully nihilistic as Future, but comes across just as revelatory.