User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 137
  2. Negative: 35 out of 137
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2015
    7
    As a whole, this one is largely pretty successful with only a couple of tracks that really brought down the album as a whole. For the most part, every track has a banging beat, a good hook and then both Swae Lee and Slim Jimmy get their ignorant lyrics on with a good flow and top-notch delivery. While certainly not the most intelligent album ever and certainly is not breaking down anyAs a whole, this one is largely pretty successful with only a couple of tracks that really brought down the album as a whole. For the most part, every track has a banging beat, a good hook and then both Swae Lee and Slim Jimmy get their ignorant lyrics on with a good flow and top-notch delivery. While certainly not the most intelligent album ever and certainly is not breaking down any barriers in terms of subject matter, SremmLife is simply an enjoyable album. It is easy to get lost in and easy to just sit back, turn off your brain, and enjoy. Sure, tracks like “Lit Like Bic” and “Unlock the Swag” are really bad, but tracks like “No Type”, “No Flex Zone”, and “Yno”, really help to carry the album. For a debut album from this fun loving duo, I could not have expected much else. Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2015
    8
    Gone where the days where an album or project is production is entirely envisioned by one person. You had the Pharrell/Clipse, Eminem/Dre and Kanye and well...kanye. But thankfully this wonderfully underrated trend is making a comeback and no other team best presents this like Rae Sremmurd. Sounding like a meaner Mannie Fresh, Mike Will Made it provides an old school bounce with a grittyGone where the days where an album or project is production is entirely envisioned by one person. You had the Pharrell/Clipse, Eminem/Dre and Kanye and well...kanye. But thankfully this wonderfully underrated trend is making a comeback and no other team best presents this like Rae Sremmurd. Sounding like a meaner Mannie Fresh, Mike Will Made it provides an old school bounce with a gritty modern edge. Rae are perfectly suited to this style with their massive energy and often, oddly poetic lyrics. These brothers are best new duo in rap and I, for one, can't wait to watch them evolve. Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2015
    7
    An album I'm not so fond of, but also not one I don't like. This was an impressive debut, and I'm looking forward to hearing more from this duo in the future. They show a lot of originality here - I can't compare "No Flex Zone" to any song I heard last year. However, unlike most people, the production kind of disappointed me a bit. Mike Will is capable of making better beats than this,An album I'm not so fond of, but also not one I don't like. This was an impressive debut, and I'm looking forward to hearing more from this duo in the future. They show a lot of originality here - I can't compare "No Flex Zone" to any song I heard last year. However, unlike most people, the production kind of disappointed me a bit. Mike Will is capable of making better beats than this, this is one thing I know (as RapReviews.com said in their review for 2 Chainz' debut, we're getting B beats from [an] A-list producer[s]). I liked the bass-heavy "No Flex Zone", "Up like Trump", and "Throw Sum Mo" (which, by the way, were all singles), however the rest of the production is too mainstream and was obviously an attempt to get this album to sell more. They're not very lyrical, either. However, the fact that their lyrics sometimes don't make sense and are funny really makes this album a pleasant listening experience. Grade: B. Highlights: "Throw Sum Mo", "No Flex Zone", "Up like Trump". Worst songs: "Come Get Her", "Safe S*x Pay Checks" Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2015
    9
    Not the most lyrical album oat or anything, but as a turnt, hype, all around fun time, its the best i've heard in some years. every song has a catchy hook, quoteable lyrics, and a banging ass beat. this is my go to album to turn up to. People gotta stop looking at these albums for some lyrical masterpiece or the deepest album oat. Rae Sremm aint making that type of stuff. We have rappersNot the most lyrical album oat or anything, but as a turnt, hype, all around fun time, its the best i've heard in some years. every song has a catchy hook, quoteable lyrics, and a banging ass beat. this is my go to album to turn up to. People gotta stop looking at these albums for some lyrical masterpiece or the deepest album oat. Rae Sremm aint making that type of stuff. We have rappers like Lupe, Kendrick, and Joey Bada$$ for that. Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2016
    10
    Great Album all these other people be hating hard and their reviews are very inaccurate...............................................................................................................
  6. Jan 8, 2015
    8
    This is a really satisfying album, and Rae Sremmurd have succeeded in differentiating themselves from other hip-hop musicians by their pop-ish and wacky style.
  7. Jan 7, 2015
    2
    The only album I've listened to that has confused me so badly that I cried. Horrible rap, and how this album got over 70% meta is BEYOND me. Not only are the tracks awful, but the lyrics don't even rhyme together. Going off of the "Young Money style" where they don't rap, hardly work and call it a day.
  8. Jan 8, 2015
    9
    This album delivers for what it's supposed to be. If your looking for lyrical hip hop/rap this isn't for you. From beginning to end we are given banger after banger, production wise the album is really amazing. For a debut album this is top notch and i can't wait for how these guys expand their sound.
  9. Feb 11, 2015
    8
    Sremmlife deserves the favorable reviews it's received from critics. Rae Sremmurd (with a major assist from Mike Will Made It) has put together one of the best all-banger albums I've ever heard. They have produced unique, lasting, and sonically-sound music. The only song that was a clear miss was the bland "Safe Sex Pay Checks". "No Type" and "No Flex Zone", on the other hand, areSremmlife deserves the favorable reviews it's received from critics. Rae Sremmurd (with a major assist from Mike Will Made It) has put together one of the best all-banger albums I've ever heard. They have produced unique, lasting, and sonically-sound music. The only song that was a clear miss was the bland "Safe Sex Pay Checks". "No Type" and "No Flex Zone", on the other hand, are untouchable bangers. Unlike certain other artists (Bobby Shmurda? O.T. Genasis?) whose music exploded on the party scene in 2014, I don't see Sremmurd becoming known as one-hit wonders. ~ 7.6/10 Expand
  10. Jan 11, 2015
    10
    Sremm Life is the future **** I'm 32 from tha south and grew up on No Limit, Scarface, and Cash Money. Outkast, UGK, and 8ball and MJG. As I got older, I only listen to true club bangers or just true banger anthem type songs on a mixtape from various artists. I always wonder why artist's entire album wasn't as banging as the songs on the radio. I told myself, I wished the entire album wasSremm Life is the future **** I'm 32 from tha south and grew up on No Limit, Scarface, and Cash Money. Outkast, UGK, and 8ball and MJG. As I got older, I only listen to true club bangers or just true banger anthem type songs on a mixtape from various artists. I always wonder why artist's entire album wasn't as banging as the songs on the radio. I told myself, I wished the entire album was good. Not just 3 or 4 songs. Albums like 50 cent Get Rich or.... And Outkast All of 'em. We'll finally I get another complete banger album from Rae Sremmurd where every beat is tight on some Dre-ish type producing, one of the best Albums in the past 15 years! One of the top 5! And here you come with these lies!
    No Type is a really good song but No Flex Zone like No Type is also a great banger and both really just warm you up for some much better music on their album. If you don't feel YNO, Throw Some More, Come With Me and Safe Sex and Pay Checks, then you shouldn't be a DJ. Hip Hop is dead and Sremmurd Living is going to help feed the game for a little longer. Lit lit lit, lit like bic, and unlock the swag give you 2 intros for the price of one! My X and This Could Be Us made my wife listen to rap again! I would let my teen agers years from now listen to them. "See, you don't have to sell drugs and rap about stuff that would set all people back for some time frame or another kids."
    If you don't like it, call "Mime" Will Made It and make a better one. Because, could you shouldn't make a sound about anything or Sremm-LeeJimmy again. Silence...cuz music is now Up Like Trump (view 302 on YouTube and 25 more later).
    Oh yeah, it's not Shrieking in this album, it's call swag which is the same difference.
    Expand
  11. Jan 12, 2015
    4
    Inside of this very homogeneous rap subgenre SremmLife proves it's competence and even varies in tempo/style. The production is satisfying, the lyrics are entertaining at times, but I wouldn't consider this masterpiece or truly innovative. I personally did not like the main vocalist/rapper's voice. The aggressive nature sounds overdone with the particular vocalist- though he is talented atInside of this very homogeneous rap subgenre SremmLife proves it's competence and even varies in tempo/style. The production is satisfying, the lyrics are entertaining at times, but I wouldn't consider this masterpiece or truly innovative. I personally did not like the main vocalist/rapper's voice. The aggressive nature sounds overdone with the particular vocalist- though he is talented at delivering the lyrics within his control.

    If you like trap, this is a very solid album.
    Expand
  12. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    Rae sremmurd is awesome and this album has great production and some great songs such as safe sex and paychecks, throw some mo etc. Overall pretty solid album.
  13. May 8, 2015
    1
    The most "decent" songs have already been released on the radio. It's obvious why they haven't released any of the other songs on this "album". The songs are intolerable even with the knock in my trunk. I never write reviews, but I felt compelled to say something, that's how bad this album is. Go back to school boys.
  14. Jan 16, 2015
    10
    This is one of the most unique and creative albums I've heard in a long time. It's different from anything else out right now. The production, rapping, singing are all great and I love their voices. I'd recommend this to anyone that just wants to have fun, nothing to take too serious.
  15. Jan 31, 2015
    2
    Utterly dreadful. They sound like children trying to imitative the worst of materialistic SWAG rap. While it's better than some of the other rap albums I've heard so far this year (Mike WiLL Made It and Mike Jones in particular), that isn't really saying much. It's just painful to listen to and I say that as someone who loves hip hop. I'm totally stunned that it's getting the amount ofUtterly dreadful. They sound like children trying to imitative the worst of materialistic SWAG rap. While it's better than some of the other rap albums I've heard so far this year (Mike WiLL Made It and Mike Jones in particular), that isn't really saying much. It's just painful to listen to and I say that as someone who loves hip hop. I'm totally stunned that it's getting the amount of praise that it is from critics. Expand
  16. Apr 20, 2015
    2
    Sremmlife is one of the worst things that have ever happened to hip hop in music history. This whole album is just one contradiction after the other, it's actually amazing to me how this album got such high critic reviews, considering how completely useless and horrible this whole album is. I really hope Rae Sremmurd just stops making music now and run away with all the money they'veSremmlife is one of the worst things that have ever happened to hip hop in music history. This whole album is just one contradiction after the other, it's actually amazing to me how this album got such high critic reviews, considering how completely useless and horrible this whole album is. I really hope Rae Sremmurd just stops making music now and run away with all the money they've gotten from nasty twerking white girls. Expand
  17. Mar 22, 2015
    0
    0/10 .................................................................................................................................................
  18. Apr 20, 2015
    0
    I do not know why critics praise the, they contradict themselves pretty much all the time. The songs gets stuck on your mind so i recommend this in small doses.
  19. Apr 20, 2015
    0
    In my time, we didn't have **** music that included contradiction. Our generation is lost! Lost, I say. Kendrick Lamar is busting his ass over great and meaningfull, but it isn't a headbanger. Y'all **** need Jesus and Tupac.
  20. Jul 22, 2015
    0
    No.........................................................................................................just no............................................................................................................
  21. Jan 8, 2016
    7
    'SremmmLife' by Rae Sremmurd is nice, fresh and really interesting. Maybe lyrics isn't too well, but it's not important in the albums like this one. I'm suprised that I like it. But I like it. 7/10 :D
  22. Apr 15, 2015
    6
    Some great party songs on this album for sure, but overall it is overrun with the same sort of songs/style. Great production overall but could do a better job diversifying the subject matter/vibe
  23. Sep 22, 2015
    10
    giving this album a 10 to balance the bias in the user score distribution. Rae Sremmurd are not lyrical masterminds and don't intend to. They make bangers and make their fans turn up to their sound and they have definitely executed in a high level. All music doesn't need to be political and individual's stand points on 'bad music ' don't need to be listened to, they are just haters becausegiving this album a 10 to balance the bias in the user score distribution. Rae Sremmurd are not lyrical masterminds and don't intend to. They make bangers and make their fans turn up to their sound and they have definitely executed in a high level. All music doesn't need to be political and individual's stand points on 'bad music ' don't need to be listened to, they are just haters because jimmy and swae be ballin. There no need to go on 'bad music' and start having a fit about how this is 'cancer', peace. Expand
  24. Jul 20, 2017
    3
    rae sremmurd - sremmlife
    mini review
    lit like bic: 5/10 sway lees flow is great unlock the swag: 2/10 slow crap no flex zone: 6/10 grew on me my x: 3/10 slow trash this could be us: 5/10 nothing come get her: 1/10 generic trash up like trump: 3/10 annoying trash throw some more: 2.5/10 generic trash yno: 3/10 good hook trash verses but big sean is ok no type: 0/10 boring trash
    rae sremmurd - sremmlife
    mini review

    lit like bic: 5/10 sway lees flow is great
    unlock the swag: 2/10 slow crap
    no flex zone: 6/10 grew on me
    my x: 3/10 slow trash
    this could be us: 5/10 nothing
    come get her: 1/10 generic trash
    up like trump: 3/10 annoying trash
    throw some more: 2.5/10 generic trash
    yno: 3/10 good hook trash verses but big sean is ok
    no type: 0/10 boring trash
    safe sex pay checks: 4/10 eh

    fav tracks: no flex zone, lit like bic, this could be us
    worst tracks: no type, come get her, unlock the swag, throw some more, up like trump, my x

    mid 3
    Expand
  25. May 21, 2018
    7
    SremmLife is a solid debut album from Rae Sremmurd. The overall production of the album is great and the songs are extremely fun and catchy without being repetitive. I love the rapping dynamic between Slim Jxmmi and Swae Lee. The songs aren't deep or all that meaningful but it's still a very great debut album.
    7.9/10
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Mar 18, 2015
    67
    It's one-note, sure, but we're rooting for Rae Sremmurd.
  2. Mar 10, 2015
    80
    SremmLife definitely lives up to the hype--yes, it's more focused towards the youth market, but it shouldn't preclude anyone reading this who enjoys the youthful energy of debut artists going nuts once they get a big chance.
  3. 75
    It’s an album that gives as much as it gains, both in trap-flow intensity and emotional catharsis.