User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 3, 2014
    8
    Pretty good. Carefully crafted, well played, and pushes a few boundaries, whilst still fitting comfortably into the JB mould. Dare I say it? A professionally made singer-songwriter album, from an acknowledged master of the genre. Obviously, I am a fan, so I was going to be pretty well disposed towards JB's work in any case - but to my ear at least, there is more artistry, discipline,Pretty good. Carefully crafted, well played, and pushes a few boundaries, whilst still fitting comfortably into the JB mould. Dare I say it? A professionally made singer-songwriter album, from an acknowledged master of the genre. Obviously, I am a fan, so I was going to be pretty well disposed towards JB's work in any case - but to my ear at least, there is more artistry, discipline, melody, soul and warmth here than in just about any new release I have heard this year. I wish there more senior artists retaining such a strong emphasis on quality control in the twilight of their careers. Fun overall - and thought provoking too, in that there is social reflection mixed in with the rock and roll heart. Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2014
    9
    Jackson Browne's most recent efforts have been good, but lacking the inspiration of such classics as "Late For The Sky" and "Running ON Empty." "Standing In The Breach" is a return to form, his strongest music since "I'm Alive".

    Browne's politics are well known in his music, but here he returns to more personal, emotional storytelling - and his voice is still as strong as ever. The
    Jackson Browne's most recent efforts have been good, but lacking the inspiration of such classics as "Late For The Sky" and "Running ON Empty." "Standing In The Breach" is a return to form, his strongest music since "I'm Alive".

    Browne's politics are well known in his music, but here he returns to more personal, emotional storytelling - and his voice is still as strong as ever. The range of the music isn't as wide as his earliest work, but there is a solid comfort in the sound of Jackson Browne's voice, and his ability to write haunting lyrics. This feels like an album he wrote and performed for himself, which is why it resonates so much...listen to "The Long Way Around" - if you like it, you'll like the album....kudos!
    Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2014
    9
    It is good for me to hear from an artist that has held onto the dream of a better world than we were born into, who continues to speak for that dream of peace and encourage his listeners to do likewise. Like David Crosby's album Croz, released earlier this year, this album reflects the meditations of a man who is a "long way gone" through life with wisdom to share. Standing in the BreachIt is good for me to hear from an artist that has held onto the dream of a better world than we were born into, who continues to speak for that dream of peace and encourage his listeners to do likewise. Like David Crosby's album Croz, released earlier this year, this album reflects the meditations of a man who is a "long way gone" through life with wisdom to share. Standing in the Breach feels like it had to be produced regardless of its reception in the marketplace. Still, I imagine it must seem as if Browne is singing to the wind. But rest assured a few of us out here hear you and are inspired to continue through music in hope for mankind. Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2014
    9
    “We’re a long way gone, down this wild road we’re on,” he sings, in a voice that has grown more deeply textured by the year. First things first – “Standing in the Breach” is a stunning testament to his band’s prodigious gifts. The music is drop dead gorgeous throughout – a sharp, shimmering, brilliantly crafted offering from truly great players, utterly at ease and stretching out behind“We’re a long way gone, down this wild road we’re on,” he sings, in a voice that has grown more deeply textured by the year. First things first – “Standing in the Breach” is a stunning testament to his band’s prodigious gifts. The music is drop dead gorgeous throughout – a sharp, shimmering, brilliantly crafted offering from truly great players, utterly at ease and stretching out behind one of the very finest singer/songwriters our country has produced. In keeping with that most hallowed American tradition, Jackson writes to bear witness to that which truly matters to him. He’s often pretty funny here, but what matters to him most hasn't changed much over the arc of his singular career. With wit and tremendous insight, as always, he wrestles with matters of the heart. The way romantic love changes over time. The way our actions is the world harbor the possibilities of a greater love – or banish them. The confessional wisdom he offers his partner in “Yeah Yeah” resonates effortlessly with the album’s songs of more global concern. It’s remarkable to watch these parallel streams that have long distinguished his artistry come together in the kind of seamless, soulful integration that defines this work. The man has been a beacon of courage for decades now, and it is obvious that the clock is running on him, as it is on all of us. That he has it in him to make such vibrant music at this stage of his journey defies all expectations – the master, with eternity now beginning to call, offering yet another trenchant, easygoing masterpiece. We do well to bear witness, while it’s still within our power to do. The highest recommendation. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 12, 2014
    80
    A classic and classy Browne album that draws on his full repertoire of styles.
  2. Mojo
    Nov 5, 2014
    40
    Jackson Browne's return after six years feels dutifully dragged out of some deep somnolence, maybe exhaustion. [Nov 2014, p.90]
  3. Oct 28, 2014
    92
    Browne has always led a double life: sensitive singer/songwriter and committed activist. During his 40-year career, there’s been a tug of war between the romantic poet and the surging outcry. On Standing In The Breach, his first album since 2008’s Time The Conqueror, the Southern California soft rock icon seamlessly reconciles the two.