User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Stupid Love Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The fourth album for the singer-songwriter was co-produced with Ian Fitchuk and Justin Loucks.

Top Track

Love Lost
It's been a long hot summer, And I'm still trying to leave you alone. But it's just getting hotter the more I try to let you go. I don't want to... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. The lack of woe-is-me melancholy on Mindy Smith's fourth release, Stupid Love, is what makes the heartrending album so intriguing.
  2. Smith's latest, Stupid Love, goes a long way toward correcting those earlier mistakes, and it easily stands as her most accomplished, most substantial record.
  3. The songs generally sound as tuneful and well-crafted as her earlier work, but Stupid Love sounds curiously chicken-hearted when it reaches for its pop gestures, a shame since the songs where she pushes hardest in that direction are the ones that succeed the most.
  4. The Long Island native is too unruly to fit into a mainstream country costume. Her pop sweet tooth is in full effect here on the single 'Highs and Lows' and 'What Love Can Do,' which nod to Rumours-era Fleetwood Mac.
  5. This is a scattered, sometimes awkward effort from a singer who has been, until now, tonally consistent and confident.
  6. Succinctly stated, Mindy Smith’s voice has a power and a complexity that her songs (or her perspectives) have not yet achieved. This leaves Stupid Love a pleasurable and poignant affair, but not as emotionally gripping as it could be, or wants to be.