User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The fourth full-length release from Los Angeles-based indie pop artist Jilian Medford as Ian Sweet was produced with Alex Craig and Strange Ranger's Isaac Eiger.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Nov 8, 2023
    Medford’s willingness to reach into her most intimate moments and allow them to bloom within the context of gorgeous, memorable music and melodies make SUCKER a real experience.
  2. Nov 8, 2023
    With her viscerally pessimistic, love-hate view of relationships, IAN SWEET steps above the standard moving, moody indie pop. This album hurts in all of the best ways.
  3. Nov 8, 2023
    There’s palpable joy in the songs’ anthemic structures and Medford’s bright, confident delivery, even though there are reminders that this self-awareness was hard-won. Medford makes the crying and bleeding sound fortifying nonetheless.
  4. Nov 8, 2023
    The trend was fairly clear in coming, with each passing record Medford has shifted towards more mainstream sounds. Fully embracing the break-up/hook-up dance-ready pattern (with slight distortion around the edges) Medford’s efforts are ready to be sung out over large speaker stacks instead of smaller indie rock clubs.