• Record Label: Fat Cat
  • Release Date: May 4, 2004
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 100
    Particularly striking is the group's ability to mix vast instrumental soundscapes with subtle electronic manipulations, creating a synthesis of analog and digital elements that is visionary in its sonic impact.
  2. 80
    Catching electronica in it’s embryonic state and somehow fusing it together with lush folk stylings, weathered ambience and the slightest - most beautiful - trace of vocals ‘Summer Makes Good’ is a truly breath-taking record.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    For fans of Sigur Ros and Mogwai, this is a godsend, but those who feel like those bands just incessantly mine one-chord riffs would do better to stay away. [May 2004, p.96]
  4. This is a strange, disturbing, unsettling, compelling album.
  5. A tender, smouldering album of drifting, rudderless beauty.
  6. The album is much more consistent, more cinematic than anything they have done before.
  7. An amazing accomplishment and a pleasure to listen to.
  8. This is not for all tastes. Slow, broody, experimental.
  9. Summer Make Good blurs the distinctions of digital and analog to the point of opening new categories.
  10. Mojo
    80
    Dreamily exploratory, but rooted in pop. [Apr 2004, p.102]
  11. Does Summer Make Good maintain the peak established by its predecessors? In a word: no. But that doesn’t mean it’s not good, because it is; it’s just not quite as magical as the others.
  12. Clips and clatters, glitchy mechanics and breathy cooing have displaced the beautiful melodies that are Múm's strong suit.
  13. Filter
    70
    Yes, there are the makings of an ambient symphony... but the more prominent strains of folk instrumentation--accordions, banjos and glockenspiels--suggest to us that maybe it's not all gloom and glum. [#10, p.91]
  14. Their production is still top-notch, and as mentioned above the album still has some great sounds and moments, but it's not quite up to the level that they've done in the past.
  15. Alternating between sounding like a gremlin and sounding like a baby, the vocals don't so much haunt as distract.
  16. Its quietness and moodiness make Summer Make Good Múm's most demanding album, but also, fortunately, a rewarding one too.
  17. Q Magazine
    60
    Much of it is lovely, but marred somewhat by the whispery sub-Kate Bush vocals of Kristin Valtysdottir. [Apr 2004, p.117]
  18. Entertainment Weekly
    50
    It doesn't help that it's dominated by Kristin Anna Valtysdottir's vocals, which sound like the coos of a Teletubby. [7 May 2004, p.86]
  19. While Múm's music has always posed a mysterious, melodic invitation to the listener, their latest offering feels flat at times, with very few signposts marking the way and even fewer landmarks inviting one back again.
  20. It's not that Múm have broken a barrier to make their first entirely unpleasant record-- the addition of drums and trumpet do make for some compelling instrumental moments-- but there simply aren't enough exciting or even vaguely interesting moments in each song, and between this scarcity and, Jesus, that voice, Summer Make Good seems an unfortunate addition to 2004's disappointments.
  21. It's no departure from any of the band's previous combinations of shuffling beats, spacey blips, dramatic strings and squeaking, soughed vocals; such a delivery of old comforts is precisely what makes the album so dull.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Mr.White
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    This is one of my all-time favorite albums, and my favorite album of mum.
  2. Damianh
    Oct 7, 2006
    6
    not as conventional as 'finally we are no one' however if being dis illusioned by some far away place you left behind in your not as conventional as 'finally we are no one' however if being dis illusioned by some far away place you left behind in your childhood is bearable then its worth the buy Full Review »
  3. carlos
    Dec 5, 2005
    9
    The first few times i listened to summer make good i didn't think it was as good as finally we are no one, but after a few more listens The first few times i listened to summer make good i didn't think it was as good as finally we are no one, but after a few more listens i've grown to like it just as much. Mum once again creates a record of beautiful soundscapes. I don't get how so many music critics love the new sigur ros but didn't like this. Full Review »