User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 48
  2. Negative: 1 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    Hard to say anything negative about this album. Is there anything? Nope. Not one thing. Every song is a classic. "Via Chicago", "How to Fight Loneliness", "She's a Jar", etc. One of their finest achievements.
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    This is one of the most fantastic records I have ever listened to in my entire life. It is also the first CD I bought (later I bought it on vinyl.) Maybe its just nostalgia, but this album is pure magic. It floats around in the air. I don't know what else to say, but just buy it (on vinyl too, The pressing is super duper.) I hope you won't be disappointed because people need this album toThis is one of the most fantastic records I have ever listened to in my entire life. It is also the first CD I bought (later I bought it on vinyl.) Maybe its just nostalgia, but this album is pure magic. It floats around in the air. I don't know what else to say, but just buy it (on vinyl too, The pressing is super duper.) I hope you won't be disappointed because people need this album to live on threw space and time. Expand
  3. jospehs
    Oct 26, 2005
    9
    this great album is for all those who prefer the more electronic Yankee Hotel Foxtrot Wilco than the alt-country Being There. Tweedy finds his voice in this album, he is one of the best modern lyricists IMO up there with Yorke. Beautifuly, subtly uplifting and crushingly depressing at the same time.
  4. KevinM
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    Lets get right to the point here, this is one of the greatest albums made in the last 25 years.
  5. AlexT
    May 10, 2007
    10
    Quite possibly their best.
  6. DanH.
    Oct 22, 2006
    9
    Well, I actually give this an 8.5. This album runs a bit long to listen to all at once, unlike other Wilco albums which could keep going for days without problems. Some songs on here sound more refined on Kicking Television, but this shows the band just before their "breakthrough". It also helps to understand the staggering jump in sound from Being There to YHF. A good effort: compare to Well, I actually give this an 8.5. This album runs a bit long to listen to all at once, unlike other Wilco albums which could keep going for days without problems. Some songs on here sound more refined on Kicking Television, but this shows the band just before their "breakthrough". It also helps to understand the staggering jump in sound from Being There to YHF. A good effort: compare to Radiohead's "The Bends" with less distinctive songs and played at 75% speed. Expand
  7. MichaelW
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    An underrated classic. This got lost in the hype machine due to a few factors, but mostly due to Wilco being hard to market. Though this album never got them on the front of Spin or RS, it's still one of the top albums of the past 20 years. Jack White wishes he could write songs as good as these ;-).
  8. SimonC
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Pop that can be consumed as a critic or as a fan, whatever your mood, and some of Tweedy's best word play. This is the transitional album that at moments hints on what is to come with Yankee Hotel Foxtrot but maintains the roots that were introducted on AM and Being There.
  9. MikeH
    Nov 29, 2005
    9
    Fantastic album full of beautiful melodies. This is a cd that has songs for everyone to enjoy. Great lyrics again from Jeff Tweedy.
  10. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    Wilco still puts out quality albums now, but in my opinion, Summerteeth is where the band peaked. Not as alternative country as Being There or as simple as (Wilco) The Album, 1999's Summerteeth is a nice mix of early and current Wilco, and its a stunning result.
  11. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    This is Wilco's "Revolver". An overlooked masterpiece that is overshadowed by the superior and universally praised "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot" (Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band).
  12. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    A great album and a pure experience. Summerteeth is both optimistic (I'm Always In Love) and depressing at times (How To Fight Loneliness). Both ends of the spectrum are pulled off beautifully. Not contrived at all, Wilco is a band of true musicians and Jeff Tweedy is certainly one of the best lyricists of our time. This CD reflects the top notch band before they really obtainedA great album and a pure experience. Summerteeth is both optimistic (I'm Always In Love) and depressing at times (How To Fight Loneliness). Both ends of the spectrum are pulled off beautifully. Not contrived at all, Wilco is a band of true musicians and Jeff Tweedy is certainly one of the best lyricists of our time. This CD reflects the top notch band before they really obtained breakthrough success. A staple for any Wilco fan and anyone who appreciates great melodies and clever lyrics. Two takes of In A Future Age wasn't an entirely necessary extension of this near flawless album. But still what are bonus tracks if not extra? Expand
  13. Jan 16, 2015
    8
    Summerteeth is a landmark album for Wilco - with a sound that is rejuvenated, the band renew the general music public's interest in them. It's as interesting as anything the band have ever done. With a mix of styles centred around the classic Wilco sound and consisting mostly of upbeat tempo numbers, the band keep the listener engaged from start to finish of the sprawling album. SongsSummerteeth is a landmark album for Wilco - with a sound that is rejuvenated, the band renew the general music public's interest in them. It's as interesting as anything the band have ever done. With a mix of styles centred around the classic Wilco sound and consisting mostly of upbeat tempo numbers, the band keep the listener engaged from start to finish of the sprawling album. Songs like "When You Wake Up" and "She's A Jar" are things of simple of beauty, masterclasses in songwriting and how to build upon a basic idea to make something wonderful. "I'm Always In Love" is Wilco doing their best Velvet Underground impression, giving us an edgy but upbeat number with some great synth layers ontop. "ELT" is another track that sees the band get out the synths to accompany an upbeat rocker with successful results. Overall "Summerteeth" sees Wilco explore new territories while retaining everything that first drew people to them. A great album that is well worth a listen. Expand

There are no critic reviews yet.