• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The 1966 Live Recordings [Box Set] Image

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The massive 36-disc box set contains with an exception of the Manchester concert (May 17, 1966) released on Bob Dylan Live 1966 The Bootleg Series Vol. 4 and few other songs, the most complete collection of live concert recordings from singer-songwriter's tour in 1966.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Genre(s): Folk, Singer/Songwriter, Folk-Rock, Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock, Rock & Roll, Psychedelic/Garage, Political Folk
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 100
    Dylan goes through an eight-song set of staggering quality (“Desolation Row,” “Just Like A Woman,” Visions Of Johanna,” and so on) with his interpretive skills at their peak and his hold over his audiences nothing short of mesmeric. Maybe only Dylan completists will shell out for a series of discs with repetitive set lists. Those completists will be getting a bargain.
  2. Mojo
    Dec 14, 2016
    All this may seem so exhaustive as to verge on the absurd, but fear not. It is the most fascinating document imaginable. [Dec 2016, p.100]
  3. Dec 15, 2016
    A classic tour from start to finish, the set’s only drawbacks owe more to the format than the music: Various incomplete or missing songs, a few over-saturated vocal tracks, five CDs worth of grotty audience tapes, and the fact that Dylan performs nearly the same set lists in nearly the same order at every stop of the tour, from Long Island to Stockholm. Thoroughly consistent, especially by Dylan’s later live standards, the repeated performances from the 22 represented shows might be seen as feature, not a bug.
  4. Dec 14, 2016
    The set list for most of these shows was identical, so you get as many as 20 versions of certain songs. For all that, listening through the whole of this box set is an exhilarating experience.
  5. Dec 14, 2016
    It hardly needs saying that this mammoth box is not intended for the casual Dylan listener. Even committed fans might think twice. Essentially, what you get is the same songs played in the same order over 23 nights. But, by God, how they are played.
  6. Dec 14, 2016
    The songs may remain the same but the performances are vibrant and alive. For the serious Dylanphile, that's reason enough to acquire this hefty box.
  7. Dec 14, 2016
    Dylan going electric now seems quaint, these concerts are a big part of the reason: He proved he was right.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Dec 22, 2016
    Dylan never sounded so tortured and sentimental, and the audience never sounded so bitterly distasteful.

    This box set provides immense
    Dylan never sounded so tortured and sentimental, and the audience never sounded so bitterly distasteful.

    This box set provides immense wonders for the listener as the audio is amazingly done. Although it might seem to be repetitive songs as you go through the shows, there is still something unique in each song. The acoustic set; sentimental, relaxing, otherworldly. The electric set; chaotic, epic, provocative. One the best box sets to be released. Simply beautiful.