• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Amazons Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for the British indie rock band led by Matt Thomson was produced by Catherine Marks.
Buy On

Top Track

In My Mind
No you can't reach me on my phone No you can't see me, 'cause I'm better off alone Don't have the strength to carry on Don't have the guts to let you... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 80
    This album is a belter, a shout-it-to-the-rooftops, punch-the-sky, yell-along-at-the-top-of-your-voice storm. It is crammed top to bottom with monster riffs, anthemic choruses and the sheer exuberant thrill of being young, in love, and armed with a fuzzbox.
  2. May 25, 2017
    Presenting a portfolio of some of the best ‘rawk’ songs 2017 has to offer, The Amazons have remained consistent and have begun to embed themselves into the rich tapestry of rock ‘n’ roll with a bolshy stadium sound. If it ain’t broke...
  3. 80
    For a debut The Amazons have crafted an exceptional initial offering.
  4. Q Magazine
    May 25, 2017
    The Amazons are much better when they add a little intricacy to their snarling rock. [Jul 2017, p.110]
  5. May 25, 2017
    The Amazons have a playful rockiness that could see them rise above the surfeit of indie revivalists, but right now they’re still a little too close to landfill.
  6. Mojo
    May 25, 2017
    This young, Reading rock foursome offer hyperventilated hooks and heart-soaring breakdowns. [Jul 2017, p.96]
  7. May 30, 2017
    The songwriting is cookie-cutter, resorting too often to hammering, basic riffs and crashing cymbals; the lyrics are banal, frequently descending into woah-ohh-ohh.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jun 5, 2017
    “Again, again and again.”

    So I was scrolling through Amazon (no pun intended) for new vinyls and came across an advert of this English rock
    “Again, again and again.”

    So I was scrolling through Amazon (no pun intended) for new vinyls and came across an advert of this English rock band’s debut album, ignored it and went on Instagram and got the same advert, then another advert, THEN ANOTHER! So i decided to finally give this album a listen.

    Now the opener ‘Stay With Me’ is a great rock track to start off the album with, reminding me of 2000s rock like Kings of Leon and Kasabian and it’s the same with the next track ‘Burn My Eyes’ that presents a more heavy approach to the listeners which then starts to become repetitive with the third, fourth, fifth (and so on) tracks.

    The album starts to get predictable with it’s structure, sounds and lyrics which is a big shame because they are very good, just haven’t tried and do new things within their sounds or out of the generic English rock band route. Some tracks that stand out a little was the start of ‘Little Something’ (which later ended up generic again) and ‘Raindrops’ which isn’t anything outstanding but is worth giving a listen.

    Overall the band themselves are really good and there are some highlights on this album, but once you heard the first track don’t expect anything else to happen.

    Good: Stay With Me, Raindrops| Least: Little Something, Holy Roller