• Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Nov 21, 2000
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 77
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 77
  3. Negative: 4 out of 77

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. j30
    Dec 7, 2011
    9
    This is a great introduction, however, individual albums such as Parklife, 13, and Think Tank are albums you must hear.
  2. Sep 5, 2014
    10
    The album title is great, because in fact, this is the best of Blur. Here you have everything you need to start with Blur, the best band of the 90's. So, if you don't want the individual albums just pick this one.
  3. PaulF
    Oct 6, 2004
    8
    Blur are one of the best bands around but I can't help feel they could have done a slightly better compilation. MOR & Stereotypes are much better singles than some that somehow made it onto the CD. Also, would have been nice if the tracks where in some kind of proper order; seems like they were just thrown on with no thought at all. But despite my gripes, its still a great Blur are one of the best bands around but I can't help feel they could have done a slightly better compilation. MOR & Stereotypes are much better singles than some that somehow made it onto the CD. Also, would have been nice if the tracks where in some kind of proper order; seems like they were just thrown on with no thought at all. But despite my gripes, its still a great compilation. But if you want a truely great Blur album - get '13'. Expand
  4. time
    Nov 6, 2006
    7
    No fair! This is a best of. That's cheating. In that case why not review the Ride, Lush or Supergrass best of? Those are far more superior records. This is OK. I think it gets a little bland towards the end. Music is My Radar picks up the pace and is a teriffic Blur gem.
  5. DavidG.
    May 22, 2001
    7
    A good CD of a group known but too few people.
  6. VidM
    Aug 13, 2007
    7
    There's some good stuff here.
  7. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    Blur is one of these bands where once you listen to them you'll fall in love immediately, and that is what happened to me. Blur is with no doubt the best band in the Britpop era. With Damon's creativity, Graham's amazing guitar skills, Alex's smooth bass tunes and Dave's drumming put Blur on the list with the greatest rock/pop bands ever, like The Kinks or The Beatles for example. 'TheBlur is one of these bands where once you listen to them you'll fall in love immediately, and that is what happened to me. Blur is with no doubt the best band in the Britpop era. With Damon's creativity, Graham's amazing guitar skills, Alex's smooth bass tunes and Dave's drumming put Blur on the list with the greatest rock/pop bands ever, like The Kinks or The Beatles for example. 'The Best Of Blur' contains the most wonderful songs ever made by Blur: "Song 2", "Parklife", "Chemical World", "The Universal", "End Of A Century" and many more. The only possible downside that I can find is that this compilation album does not include some of the songs from Blur's latest album, 'Think Tank', which is another masterpiece. Expand
  8. BonehoC
    Jan 20, 2004
    10
    Blur is the best band ever, and thankfully they came out with Best of Blur. I can't stop listening to this cd. I like every single one of their songs on this album. This disc includes tracks like Song 2, (my all-time favorite song), Beetlebum, There's no Other Way, The Universal, Coffee and TV, Parklife, Girls and Boys, and much more. This album is just everything you would want Blur is the best band ever, and thankfully they came out with Best of Blur. I can't stop listening to this cd. I like every single one of their songs on this album. This disc includes tracks like Song 2, (my all-time favorite song), Beetlebum, There's no Other Way, The Universal, Coffee and TV, Parklife, Girls and Boys, and much more. This album is just everything you would want on the greatest Blur album. Expand
  9. duddy
    Aug 22, 2003
    10
    WOW!!! These guys are so much more than an Oasis. They bring originality and fun back to music.
  10. ModernLifeIsMulroneycakes
    Nov 18, 2002
    10
    Everything you could want from a Best O' Blur (except the ones Meta themselves mentioned). Not fond of Radar - sometime soon they;ll have to forget that they're art students. Still. Never. Mind.
  11. JonG
    Sep 23, 2004
    10
    Absolutely phenominal compilation. The album might as well have been called "The Soundtrack of Life" and the album cover made a picture of music at its finest.
  12. CrystaldivaV.V
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Amazing album... from a really uniqute band.. very creative.. and Damon's voice is just so great!!..
  13. DanielC
    May 12, 2005
    10
    best band ever, with thier best of compillation
  14. WarrenC.
    Nov 19, 2001
    10
    Blur is the most diverse and brilliant band of the Britpop era and beyond. Pop is the domain of beautiful intellectuals.
  15. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    The best of blur compilation album covers most of Blur's hit singles from their first six albums. While it is a good compilation album i probably would have preferred less emphasis on their singles and more emphasis on their better album cuts.
  16. Sep 9, 2011
    9
    Want to know what made Blur great? Then "The Best of Blur" is all you need to recap some of the best moments in music during the 90s'. There are of course many others songs that are cool but I suppose you can't get everything you want, can you? Anyway, You'll basically be getting most of the singles all the way back from Blur's 1990 hit 'She's So High' to the more recent '13' album. IfWant to know what made Blur great? Then "The Best of Blur" is all you need to recap some of the best moments in music during the 90s'. There are of course many others songs that are cool but I suppose you can't get everything you want, can you? Anyway, You'll basically be getting most of the singles all the way back from Blur's 1990 hit 'She's So High' to the more recent '13' album. If you grew up listening to Blur, then get this! If you're new, take a lesson, cause this is what great 90s' rock is all about!! Expand
  17. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Blur are my favourite band and their greatest hits is brilliant, they may have left out a couple of songs but I don't care, this album is excellent!!!
  18. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Has most of the hits you'd expect, showcases the more radio friendly side of the band. I found some of Blur's album tracks to be dubious at times and often experimentation was prioritised over quality. I always thought Blur to be overrated but this record shows how many top quality songs they've produced at their peak. For someone like me, someone who liked but never loved Blur fan thisHas most of the hits you'd expect, showcases the more radio friendly side of the band. I found some of Blur's album tracks to be dubious at times and often experimentation was prioritised over quality. I always thought Blur to be overrated but this record shows how many top quality songs they've produced at their peak. For someone like me, someone who liked but never loved Blur fan this collection is ideal. Expand
  19. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    [8.7] The most powerfully British of any britpop band, Blur is delightfully wacky and well-versed in alternative and British rock. This album displays appropriately what Blur has to offer. Their sound is fun, moderately eccentric, and quite melodic, Blur is one of few bands that can make a wacky, playful tune, and somehow pull it off in a subtle, graceful way.
  20. Apr 26, 2015
    9
    This album features some great hits and is an excellent introduction to the bands impressive legacy in the britpop scene. Concluding with a live concert bit at the end makes this well worth money.
  21. Dec 14, 2014
    8
    'So give me coffee and TV.'
    Absolute crackerjack album from the 90's rockers. Glued together by an incredible bass performance by Alex James and some startling lyrics by the frontman, Blur captured the imagination during their golden nineties era and this album highlights their best work.
    The song organisation is excellent while the underlying themes in their songs: country vs. city
    'So give me coffee and TV.'
    Absolute crackerjack album from the 90's rockers. Glued together by an incredible bass performance by Alex James and some startling lyrics by the frontman, Blur captured the imagination during their golden nineties era and this album highlights their best work.
    The song organisation is excellent while the underlying themes in their songs: country vs. city life, failed romance, the rat race as well as the dynamic interplay between rock music and social interactions ensure this band occupies a place in the pantheon of Brit Rock greats.
    While this best of album can't be faulted for the selection-it is unfortunate that Blur themselves perhaps did not fill their potential as a band in terms of longevity. I personally would've liked them to have been a little more experimental a la Radiohead, and thankfully the front man's efforts for the follow up band The Gorillaz has partially atoned for this. I was also devastated on missing out on seeing them at BDO 2014.
    Great band, fine album. Worth the money if you're not obsessed with them but would like a sample of Britrock at its finest.
    Expand
  22. Feb 19, 2019
    9
    A great collection of singles. It really shows how well the band covers the musical spectrum in terms of creativity.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. The only complaints involve omissions. Four of five singles between '92 and '94 (among them the minor American hit, "Bang") aren't here, which bypasses the band's crucial early development and leaves only one song from Modern Life, the punchy "For Tomorrow." On the other hand, the disc could easily have shed at least one of its five offerings from Parklife -- most noticeably the title track.
  2. And "dazzling" isn't really hyperbole -- based on these 18 songs, Blur isn't just the best pop band of the '90s, with greater range and depth than their peers, they rank among the best pop bands of all time. The Best of Blur illustrates that, even as it misses some of their best moments -- omissions that prevent it from being the flat-out classic it should be. Even so, it's pretty damn terrific, particularly for the unconverted.
  3. Musically, the group goes way beyond Britpop, a movement largely of its own invention, to survey Burt Bacharach-style suavity on "The Universal" and "To the End," hedonistic dance pop on "Girls and Boys," and Lennon-esque soul-baring on "Tender."