User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 21, 2014
    5
    Hate to be the one to downgrade this album but it just didn't do nothing for me. The first single "I Don't Wanna Be Here Anymore" is average at best, there's a couple really neat instrumentation on this album but just like Endgame it didn't do much for me. Generic. Wish they'd rethink their strategy.
  2. Jul 28, 2014
    9
    For me Rise Against have had an unusual career trajectory. They started out with their ferocious yet melodic sound which could arguably be said to have peaked on the album Revolutions Per Minute. A very strong album in its own right after which a gradual shift in sound and tone became apparent. I never really got on board with a lot of what was present on Siren Song and Sufferer and AppealFor me Rise Against have had an unusual career trajectory. They started out with their ferocious yet melodic sound which could arguably be said to have peaked on the album Revolutions Per Minute. A very strong album in its own right after which a gradual shift in sound and tone became apparent. I never really got on board with a lot of what was present on Siren Song and Sufferer and Appeal to Reason both had massive miss steps occasionally with the likes of such cringy affairs as Roadside which always had me reaching for the skip button.

    How odd then it is that they seem to have managed after three albums worth of a career arch to really nail the exact balance between their earlier work and their more anthemic pop sensibilities. Endgame was a genuine relief to listen to because it made me realize that as a band they were really finding their feet as a more commercial act without compromising their musical output. The Black Market serves not only to re-enforce this but also seems to go one further in pushing back toward a more aggressive and uncompromising tone.

    That's not to say the album is a hard nosed hardcore record, far from it, but it just has the balance of aggression and catchy hooks down to a tee. There's also an extremely pleasing but surprising abundance of rapid fire drum beats. This really helps to fill the album with barrels of energy and Rise Against really excel when it comes to these types of songs. There's pleanty of variation to go at also however with the likes of Zero Visibility which swaggers along in complete arrogance to a killer rock riff or the poppy but totally impassioned Tragedy + Time.

    I really am thrilled that Endgame doesn't appear to have been something of a fluke to be followed up by another wobbly album like Sufferer or Appeal and is in fact followed up by this excellent album which carries what Endgame began and builds and refines upon it to delivery a really solid album. Sure it doesn't stray wildly from the formula but I listen to Rise Against because I want to hear a Rise Against album and that's what they've given me.

    Keep this up Rise Against and you'll have a life long fan in me.
    Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    I am a huge RA fan and have been almost as long as I've been a competent music consuming person, that being said, I love this album. I loved Appeal to Reason and Help is on the way was decent. While it doesn't retain the the sound of their earlier stuff that made me fall and love and it doesn't necessarily make huge strides in the progression of them as an artistic entity, it does conveyI am a huge RA fan and have been almost as long as I've been a competent music consuming person, that being said, I love this album. I loved Appeal to Reason and Help is on the way was decent. While it doesn't retain the the sound of their earlier stuff that made me fall and love and it doesn't necessarily make huge strides in the progression of them as an artistic entity, it does convey the incredible amount of passion of that Rise is known for. All said this album does have a couple of duds, it is devoid of radio bait. I love this album. Can't wait to see them in Chicago. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    I've been a huge fan of this band for many years now, and I absolutely loved this album. Now I will admit that this band has had a few missteps along the way, and I was one of the few that was somewhat disappointed with Endgame (Although I throughy enjoy it). Having said that, it is in my humble opinion that The Black Market is this band's greatest achievement since Siren Song of CounterI've been a huge fan of this band for many years now, and I absolutely loved this album. Now I will admit that this band has had a few missteps along the way, and I was one of the few that was somewhat disappointed with Endgame (Although I throughy enjoy it). Having said that, it is in my humble opinion that The Black Market is this band's greatest achievement since Siren Song of Counter Culture. That album is still my all time favorite RA album (as is with many fans) and I feel they will never top it. But with black market they've come damn close. I really suggest checking out tracks such as "People Live here" "The Echo-Terrorist in Me", "The Great Die-Off" and 'Don't wanna live here anymore." Some may feel mixed about the band's politically charged lyrics, but this is undeniably a great addition to already great Artist. Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2015
    3
    Rise Against used to be the kind of band that always strived to give off different important messages like the government is corrupted and we the people need to rise up and speak for what's right.

    Today, they instead strive to ignore their old fans and attempt to get a new mainstream fanbase by making their lyrics boring and uncreative, and sounding almost silly the way they try to make
    Rise Against used to be the kind of band that always strived to give off different important messages like the government is corrupted and we the people need to rise up and speak for what's right.

    Today, they instead strive to ignore their old fans and attempt to get a new mainstream fanbase by making their lyrics boring and uncreative, and sounding almost silly the way they try to make their lyrics sound important and such, but come off annoying, literally.

    They say this album is "Hardcore-Punk" and even "Punk-Revival", but this album sounds very weak in many of the tracks, here's our thoughts on each song:

    The Great Die-Off - Interesting chorus and beat sounds good. This is the song that got us interested in the album in the first place. It's not amazing but you can listen to it without any cringe.

    I Don't Want to Be Here Anymore - "EY DUN WANA BE HEEIR ENNYYMAAAAAAAAUUUrRrrrr"... wow, well we guess he doesn't want to be wherever the hell he's at anymore, the lyrics try to be badass, but just fall flat on it's face.

    Tragedy/Time - The REAL tragedy is how this song sounds extremely bland, but it had potential, just wasted on being very radio-friendly. Where's the passion? The emotion? The lyrics aren't even that bad, it's just not enough power in the song.

    The Black Market - Eh, all we can say is that it's boring, tries to be emotional, but feels almost blank.

    The Eco-Terrorist in Me - This song is just a joke... right? The Vocals are forced and there's nothing to get out of this song, also, at this point, we started to notice the drum pattern is getting really repetitive quick throughout the album. The feeling the song gives off is just a mystery as much as why did they mess up this bad?

    Sudden Life - The scratchy vocals completely ruin the instrumentals. That's all we can say.

    A Beautiful Indifference - This one's not bad; we like the chorus and there's parts that sound quite good. Good job Rise Against, your entire album isn't complete garbage after all.

    Methadone - "KURDEN BED ABEREAL, THAT U WANDED MAAAAAeerrrrrrrr" Hahaha! Oh god!! Oh damn that's hilarious haha! Wow, that... that was funny... the vocals in this song are just trash. If you can't take our word for it, well, then go listen to it! Yeah, it's that bad!

    Zero Visibility - Aw, soooo close man, they just barely missed the mark on this one. They had a really good feel and sound going, but it just feels too forced and even kind of awkward in some parts. 7/10 too much water.

    Awake Too Long - They were really trying to be mainstream-friendly with this one, no real passion, no definitive feel.

    People Live Here - We dearly pray nobody takes this song seriously: it's way too forced, the vocals are below par, and it actually feels more like a parody of "boo-hoo" songs instead of a real song. Sadly ironically, the instruments are pretty good on some parts, but they can't save the crappiness of the lyrics that we cannot take seriously half the song.

    Bridges - Boring, bland, no passion, no real feeling, blah blah blah it sucks.

    In conclusion, if you ever need help coming up with examples of the definition of "Mediocre", refer to this very album!
    Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2014
    3
    It´s such a shame that a band like Rise Against which once focused so strongly on compelling and heartfelt lyrics managed to create an album as generic and average as The Black Market. They once defined themselves through confident, fair criticism and the will to stand up for a better world at all cost, even though that once ment never leaving the underground-scene. Yet the only thing oneIt´s such a shame that a band like Rise Against which once focused so strongly on compelling and heartfelt lyrics managed to create an album as generic and average as The Black Market. They once defined themselves through confident, fair criticism and the will to stand up for a better world at all cost, even though that once ment never leaving the underground-scene. Yet the only thing one seems to find on TBM, now that Rise Against are at the top of popularity, is average lyricism and forced critizism. It feels like Rise Against are struggling to find new controversial themes, yet not to deliver some sort of massage, but just to quieten the old fans and attracting a new, mainstream audience.
    The fact that (even though their marketing campaign for TBM was their biggest to date ) only six (!) influential mainstream-magazines were willing to rate TBM (50% of which thought the album is average) shows that this strategy is deemed to fail . Rise Against seem to be treading water and as long as they continue to do so, there won´t be many followers around to support them in the times they really got something to say once more...
    Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Classic Rock Magazine
    Dec 17, 2014
    70
    The formula is nowhere near broke, so why fix it? Stirring stuff. [Oct 2014, p.91]
  2. Q Magazine
    Aug 28, 2014
    60
    While this more contemplative side rounds out their usual roaring punk, it does strip them of some edge, making The Black Market sound oddly anonymous. [Sep 2014, p.113]
  3. Kerrang!
    Jul 22, 2014
    100
    The Black Market is a magnificent wake-up call. [12 Jul 2014, p.52]