User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Dream of Delphi Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: Motherhood is the theme of the sixth full-length release from British singer-songwriter Bat For Lashes that features contributions by Brad Oberhofer, Mary Lattimore and Jack Falby.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jun 6, 2024
    If there was a sense that Natasha had perhaps lost her way slightly on the conceptual likes of ‘The Bride’ and ‘Lost Girls’, she finds her feet again magnificently here, with simplicity key; the lyrics, the melodies, the gorgeous intertwining of piano and synth.
  2. Mojo
    May 28, 2024
    This album is bravely beautiful, and one of her best. [Jul 2024, p.84]
  3. May 30, 2024
    The major success of ‘The Dream of Delphi’ lies in how Khan communicates with her daughter, which can resonate with many people.
  4. Uncut
    May 28, 2024
    If the meandering electronic maelstroms of “Letter To My Daughter” and “Waking Up” don’t have the melodic hooks to gain the same traction, there’s a bewitching feel to it all that endures nonetheless. [Jun 2024, p.29]
  5. May 31, 2024
    While it can be embarrassingly earnest at times, impressively, the music never comes across as self-conscious or unsure. As always, Khan is unapologetically herself, and we're welcome to come along for the ride if we'd like. I'm happy I did.
  6. Jun 6, 2024
    Despite being the shortest record in Natasha’s discography, it is also the most angular. Diversity is secondary to her vision and concept this time. It worked for the most part, yet as a whole, The Dream of Delphi could have easily been a more comprehensive affair.
  7. Record Collector
    Jun 12, 2024
    Her woozy baroque pop has always walked a delicate line between Kate Bush and Enya: here, it lapses into perfume-ad whimsy. [Jun 2024, p.101]

See all 16 Critic Reviews