The Electric Lady

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The  Electric Lady Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the Atlanta R&B singer continues the story of her alter-ego Cindi Mayweather with guest appearances from Erykah Badu, Big Boi, Cee Lo Green, Solange Knowles, Miguel, Prince, and Esperanza Spalding.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Sep 9, 2013
    100
    Existing in layers, The Electric Lady revels in its polarity. The overriding statement, however, is that Janelle Monae has arrived.
  2. 90
    All in all, it is one of the most exceptionally realised albums to enter the world since her last release, and confirms that both as an artist and a role-model Monáe really ought to be celebrated as Electric Lady number one.
  3. 90
    Stellar and superb, The Electric Lady is a fantastic journey filled with impeccable works of modern flair and skill, power up indeed.
  4. Expect more straightforward, big-vocal, soul-funk numbers, and fewer immediate hits. But compared with most R&B records, Monae is still lightyears ahead.
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    80
    This isn’t her masterpiece (that’s to come in the sixth and seventh suites), but it’s only a sliver away.
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    80
    There’s no glorifying of childish trends or negative influences, instead Monae favors creating music that could be embraced by varying demographics and is molded to withstand the test of time.
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    50
    Though long and featuring a bounty of ideas, The Electric Lady is surprisingly slight.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt the best album of the year. Janelle is one of the greats and time will continue to prove that. Consulting greats like Badu,Without a doubt the best album of the year. Janelle is one of the greats and time will continue to prove that. Consulting greats like Badu, Prince, and Stevie she is continually proving that she belongs in their company. She is a genius. Her maturity, fire and the cohesiveness of this record far exceeds that of her first full length LP 2010's The ArchAndroid, not to mention that impeccable quality. Janelle has truly arrived and she knows it. Just make sure you take notice. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    it was impossible to discredit Monáe as a moving force in the R&B revival movement given her debut album, but now that The Electric Lady hasit was impossible to discredit Monáe as a moving force in the R&B revival movement given her debut album, but now that The Electric Lady has been released, it's clear she's become a staple in the world of ambitious, artistic music. with many critics and music-goers alike calling this album a "classic" only a week after it's release, it's clear to me that Monáe is one of the most underrated artists of the 2010s. by successfully blending genres together on this double album, Monáe not only nods at past music legends, but sort of paves her way to becoming a legend herself by pushing herself further than the genres she often finds herself locked inside pun not intended. highlights of the album include the seamless transitions between certain songs, most fluidly being the transition between "can't live without your love" and "sally ride" which takes clever use of an ocean sample to link directly to the first line of the latter song (this has also been noted on her last album with the thunder sample between "neon gumbo" and "oh, maker"). the suite overtures are also quite innovative as they contain elements of the actual songs on the album, and vice-versa. even though "what an experience" is a delightfully befitting ending track, I must admit the deluxe version of the album (only available at Target) is most certainly a force to be reckoned with, adding Cee-Lo Green and Big Boi to the album's roster. "hytb" sounds to me like a nod to "sincerely, jane" a track off her the special edition of her debut EP Metropolis in that it directly addresses the state of America, more specifically it's urban areas, while "want you back" is a severely fresh cover of a Jackson 5 favorite. Monáe proves herself once again to be incredibly versatile and unapologetically creative. one could only wonder what suites VI and VII will sound like (I'm sure I'm not the only fan ecstatic about her extending her concept project from 4 to 7 suites). Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I know it seems like I give every cd ten out of ten, but I am a new reviewer starting with my favorite cd's. Janae this cd is so cool justI know it seems like I give every cd ten out of ten, but I am a new reviewer starting with my favorite cd's. Janae this cd is so cool just like taylor swift, I applaud her not caring what the country community may think, the same applies to you and not caring what the r&b community may think it is so funny, even though this cd has a retro 50's and sometimes alternative feel in places, it is still one of the closest r&b cd's to old school i have heard in MANY years and one of the reasons I love it sing along and sexy love you! Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    This album is amazing! It's almost as good as "The ArchAndroid"! This is rap, pop, soul, and some rock on the album, and that's how talentedThis album is amazing! It's almost as good as "The ArchAndroid"! This is rap, pop, soul, and some rock on the album, and that's how talented Janelle Monae is. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    This is definitely a downfall from her debut, The ArchAndroid, but she delivers yet another great album. She continues to prove why she is oneThis is definitely a downfall from her debut, The ArchAndroid, but she delivers yet another great album. She continues to prove why she is one of the great talents and influential people in R&B. Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    First off, I've never listened to Janelle Monae before, however many people praise her for her remarkable social commentary and storytelling.First off, I've never listened to Janelle Monae before, however many people praise her for her remarkable social commentary and storytelling. So with nothing else to do I decide to listen to her third studio album "The Electric Lady" and I'm glad I did, this is a remarkable album with terrific storytelling, great cameos from artists like Miguel, Solange Knowles, and even Prince, "The Electric Lady" is one of the best albums this year. Now the first half of this album is almost completely perfect, it tells a remarkable story where Monae plays an android in the future where it sounds like the 1950's mixed with the end of the world. Songs which include "Give Em What They Love", "Q.U.E.E.N.", and "Electric Lady" all blend with the story and are outstanding on their own, which also include the hip-moving sign along "Dance Apocalyptic" and is single handily one of the catchiest songs of the year. Another Plus is that the album also has an 80's rock feel to it that blends perfectly with the R&B to provide a music style that's very rarely used. The second half is also great though I ran into a few minor issues. Though the ballads are very good, I feel that they tend to drag on and I kinda wished they would've been cut (we get it Monae it's been three years since you released an album) and it adds to the 19 songs, and it may get some people a little impatient to finish the album. Still, "The Electric Lady" is an outstanding R&B album with Terrific vocals from everyone across the board, great musical style, and incredible songs, it may drag on around the end, but if you stick with it then you'll feel the full experience of Cindi Mayweather (aka Janelle Monae). Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2013
    4
    'Meh' is about all I could muster after a first listen. I suppose it could grow on me but with regards to first impressions it falls'Meh' is about all I could muster after a first listen. I suppose it could grow on me but with regards to first impressions it falls laughably, pathetically short of her previous work on The ArchAndroid. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews