• Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Jul 11, 2006
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 215 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 215

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PH
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    The album is amazing, the texture manages to be both lush and sparse at the same time, leading to a unique aural experience. A complete triumph.
  2. TheMan
    Aug 5, 2006
    0
    my bro likes him and radiohead but they suck so dont buy this cd it sucks like crap
  3. davea
    Jul 11, 2006
    3
    if you thought kid a and amnesiac were a bit too weird, don't bother. this is more of the same strange sounds and noises lacking actual songs. please thom, focus on radiohead, cause this is not really working for you...
  4. flameme
    Jul 11, 2006
    3
    nine tunes that sound like bastard children of "the gloaming" and "backdrifts" (contrary to opinions in several professional reviews i have read, nothing comes close to the manic energy of "idioteque"). the truth is that most rabid radiohead fans will adore it while berating the rest of us for not understanding thom's "beautiful artistic vision", blah blah blah... i've tried to nine tunes that sound like bastard children of "the gloaming" and "backdrifts" (contrary to opinions in several professional reviews i have read, nothing comes close to the manic energy of "idioteque"). the truth is that most rabid radiohead fans will adore it while berating the rest of us for not understanding thom's "beautiful artistic vision", blah blah blah... i've tried to absorb "the eraser" about six or seven times, but the record's really rather painful to sit through. Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2010
    5
    The album harkens back to some of the mediocre songs on Radiohead's "Hail to the Thief", like "The Gloaming". What this album does is take melodies and lyrics that are quite beautiful and buries them underneath layers of digital synthesizers, which don't serve the songs well. I heard songs like "The Eraser", "Black Swan", and especially "Atoms for Peace" live, and they were absolutelyThe album harkens back to some of the mediocre songs on Radiohead's "Hail to the Thief", like "The Gloaming". What this album does is take melodies and lyrics that are quite beautiful and buries them underneath layers of digital synthesizers, which don't serve the songs well. I heard songs like "The Eraser", "Black Swan", and especially "Atoms for Peace" live, and they were absolutely gorgeous. They also sounded nothing like the album versions (being driven more acoustically). Harrowdown Hill stands out as a song that mostly made it through the digital obfuscation, but this would have been a much better album if the songs had been left alone, without adding all the extra loops. I loved Kid A, but Yorke has distanced the music so far from its heart on this album that everything is too abstract for me to love. Expand
  6. jonl
    Sep 4, 2006
    9
    I came to this one not expecting too much, having heard the style was similiar to Radiohead songs like "The Gloaming" (i.e. rubbish). Was very pleasantly suprised - yes the music is fairly bare electronica - but the songs have hooks and choruses (suprise, suprise), the lyrics are some of the best Yorke's written and there's a great feel to it throughout. At 9 songs it's I came to this one not expecting too much, having heard the style was similiar to Radiohead songs like "The Gloaming" (i.e. rubbish). Was very pleasantly suprised - yes the music is fairly bare electronica - but the songs have hooks and choruses (suprise, suprise), the lyrics are some of the best Yorke's written and there's a great feel to it throughout. At 9 songs it's just the right length - he doesn't overdo it. The album probably won't get the kudos it deserves but its great stuff nonetheless. Expand
  7. KarelJ
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    it´s Thom Yorke, what else can I say... (maybe fantastic)
  8. mykles
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    thom had two choices: make a distilled radiohead album, complete with hundreds of "wow" moments, or make a solid, out-of-left field solo album. he chose the second option. the eraser stands alone brilliantly, i just wish he had put a bit more frenzied emotion into it. listen a few times before judging -- it's a creeper!
  9. KA
    Jul 11, 2006
    7
    Diehard Radiohead fans will love this CD but for casual fans, these tracks will sound even more cold and icy remote than radiohead's most recent full-length CD. To call it a masterpiece is really praising it too highly.
  10. DavidB
    Jul 10, 2006
    6
    Lets be realistic here. Its seems that metacritic users have a tendancy to rate things with either a "10" or a "1", however the numbers in between these are very important and seem to be quite neglected. This sometimes leads to mediocre albums being ranked at say "9.3". For all Radiohead fans here, if you were to give Kid A or OKC say, a "10" - does this mean that The Eraser is every bit Lets be realistic here. Its seems that metacritic users have a tendancy to rate things with either a "10" or a "1", however the numbers in between these are very important and seem to be quite neglected. This sometimes leads to mediocre albums being ranked at say "9.3". For all Radiohead fans here, if you were to give Kid A or OKC say, a "10" - does this mean that The Eraser is every bit as good as those albums? Some of you might even think so, but for those of you who would answer no to this question- please use common sense and use the 1-10 rating system like it was ment to be used. I realize I should probably be taking this time to write an actual review about this album, but I felt this needed to be said. Expand
  11. st-arno
    Aug 13, 2006
    8
    This album has the perfect title. Take radiohead, erase the apport of other members, keep the bleeps and the magnificient claustrophobic voice of one of the moste intelligent singer of the rock and roll scene! Defenitly one of the most original album of the year!
  12. StevenG
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    Already being a huge fan of Radiohead, and knowing that Thom Yorke had wanted to release a solo album for quite some time, I was concerned that these songs would feel like they had been sitting around for years collecting dust. However, I am very pleased to say that The Eraser finds Thom Yorke very much in the moment, creating a hypnotic, cohesive album that has made me fall in love with Already being a huge fan of Radiohead, and knowing that Thom Yorke had wanted to release a solo album for quite some time, I was concerned that these songs would feel like they had been sitting around for years collecting dust. However, I am very pleased to say that The Eraser finds Thom Yorke very much in the moment, creating a hypnotic, cohesive album that has made me fall in love with his songwriting style all over again. This is one of the very best albums of the year. Expand
  13. RoyR
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Thom's unique talent has always been to draw you into his head. He sings from the soul ..... to the soul. On first hearing this album, my anticipation turned to niggling disappointment. It sounded so thin and there was even a black Judas moment when I thought this should have been called Thom's Rambling Musings in his Room with a Mic and Sound-making Thing. Then, the penny Thom's unique talent has always been to draw you into his head. He sings from the soul ..... to the soul. On first hearing this album, my anticipation turned to niggling disappointment. It sounded so thin and there was even a black Judas moment when I thought this should have been called Thom's Rambling Musings in his Room with a Mic and Sound-making Thing. Then, the penny dropped - as it does with so many of those albums you love forever after the 4th listen. And with Thom and his ilk, it usually drops with a resounding clang. Minimalist, yet enigmatically complex, structure that makes you focus on the melody - and, to all you detractors, Thom is beautific as a songwriter. This is what Thom hears while he walks down the road, hangs out at home, alone or in a crowd, sitting on the bog, basking in the afterglow, agonising when it occasionally goes wrong. In the absence of adequate superlatives, I will simply restate what so many have said before me - the man is a genius. Expand
  14. jjp
    Sep 8, 2006
    4
    i loved kid a, etc... this album is boring. it did nothing to me.
  15. jenb
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    I love this album... in fact I think I'm addicted to it. Best album of the year for me so far.
  16. DartVayder
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Best in 2006
  17. StefanP.
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    I can't believe this masterpiece isn't rated higher. For me its so far one of the best albums of 2006. Dark, emotional songs, perfectly crafted. Just 40 minutes of goose-bumps. As a whole i like it more than every Radiohead album. Definetly needs listening to on headphones and a few times to really get into it. My favourites so far: "And it rained all night" and "Analyse"
  18. RH
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    This is the album that fanatics of Kid A, like myself, have been waiting for. Your nervous system will instantly connect with these "pitter patter" electronic tracks, and there's no nonsense like the last two Radiohead albums. Definitely a nice surprise, and one of my favorites of 2006.
  19. DanielH
    Jul 12, 2006
    8
    Good work here. The only problem I have with the album is that a lot of the stuff starts to get repetitive. But none the less, good work.
  20. mick
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    I must admit that I'm a bit of a Radiohead 'fanboy' and think that everything they do is top draw, but as a 'fanboy' I can recognise this album isn't for everyone. However, outstanding tunes include; The Eraser, Black Swan & Harrowdown Hill.
  21. SukjinH
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    Please, if you've been paying attention to what's been going on, it is painfully obvious that this record is not supposed to be cheery or full of energy. Thom is not trying to show off or prove that he can make music without his bandmates. This is something that he could have easily thrown away in the trash on his laptop, which would have been a huge disappointment. I'm Please, if you've been paying attention to what's been going on, it is painfully obvious that this record is not supposed to be cheery or full of energy. Thom is not trying to show off or prove that he can make music without his bandmates. This is something that he could have easily thrown away in the trash on his laptop, which would have been a huge disappointment. I'm glad to hear what he's been playing around with... Btw, the new songs Radiohead played in the recent tour were fantastic. Looking forward to next year's LP release.. Expand
  22. MMcK
    Jul 12, 2006
    7
    Strong, haunting record that grows on you. It feels like a something he needed to make before Radiohead could move on in an new direction.
  23. JeffW
    Jul 12, 2006
    4
    Why are people comparing this to Kid A? Radiohead has been my favorite band since OK, but this is self-indulgent audio Nyquil. If you are having problems sleeping, buy this album! The title track and Harrowdownhill seem cool on the first listen, but this CD is just boring. I can
  24. BenJ
    Jul 13, 2006
    7
    A good enough record. Perhaps the most encouraging thing about it though is that without the rest of the band, Thom Yorke fails to match much from the Radiohead cannon. Clearly Radiohead are a band, not just "Thom Yokre + Hired Hands".
  25. danm
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    I don't understand the lukewarm and negative reviews of this CD; are the critics comparing it to all other music that's out there now, or are they comparing it to OK Computer? Thom Yorke, in my opinion, has more talent than any other alt musician out there now...this is the man mainly responsible for The Bends, OK Computer, Kid A, Amnesiac, and Hail to the Thief. Who else has I don't understand the lukewarm and negative reviews of this CD; are the critics comparing it to all other music that's out there now, or are they comparing it to OK Computer? Thom Yorke, in my opinion, has more talent than any other alt musician out there now...this is the man mainly responsible for The Bends, OK Computer, Kid A, Amnesiac, and Hail to the Thief. Who else has such bona fides? This is a very personal CD, and not a "radio friendly unit shifter." His use of his voice as an instrument is amazing. Once critic said that this is just Thom Yorke clearing his throat...well Thom Yorke clearing his throat is better that 99% of the crap that's being produced right now... Expand
  26. JD
    Jul 14, 2006
    9
    Quite good. Only one really dissapointing song (Cymbal) Better that I had expected.
  27. MeirK
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    I just love this CD, Thom Is the Best
  28. aLck
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    Brilliant!!!
  29. jeff
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    best album of the year so far.
  30. JaneP
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Haunting and beautiful - like finding a message in a bottle.
  31. MelissaW
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Haunting.
  32. Kyle
    Jul 19, 2006
    9
    First, a followup to dan's comment of "being interesting doesn't mean being emotionless." The chorus of the title track and yorke's delivery of "we think the same things at the same time" (harrowdown hill) are the epitome of sadness on record--- a feeling. sure, it's not the rock and roll sing a long hour, but there are certainly emotions on display, albeit ones a First, a followup to dan's comment of "being interesting doesn't mean being emotionless." The chorus of the title track and yorke's delivery of "we think the same things at the same time" (harrowdown hill) are the epitome of sadness on record--- a feeling. sure, it's not the rock and roll sing a long hour, but there are certainly emotions on display, albeit ones a majority of us don't want to blast with the top down on a sunny day. This album's a creeper, best heard as just a record. if this was not thom yorke, lead singer of radiohead, everyone would think this was the best shit of the year, no questions asked. addictive. Expand
  33. RobC
    Jul 24, 2006
    8
    Easy to listen to, beautiful melodies. Haunting rather than depressing. Loved it.
  34. NickH
    Jul 20, 2006
    9
    This is not a Radiohead album. If you go in expecting the bombast and instrumentation of the full band, you will be disappointed. If however, you are a fan of the stripped down Radiohead style (if you like the song "Worry Wort," for example), then what you will discover is a chill album with complex yet quiet arrangements that gets better on every play. Yorke creates a sonic universe that This is not a Radiohead album. If you go in expecting the bombast and instrumentation of the full band, you will be disappointed. If however, you are a fan of the stripped down Radiohead style (if you like the song "Worry Wort," for example), then what you will discover is a chill album with complex yet quiet arrangements that gets better on every play. Yorke creates a sonic universe that is unique to other Radiohead work, yet strongly evokes that legacy. A truly great tangent to the Radiohead oeuvre. Expand
  35. Jake
    Jul 29, 2006
    8
    Good listen. If you're waiting for the next Radiohead album, you're gonna have to wait a alittle longer though. Plays like a Kid A-lite. But still, Kid A-lite is better than almost everything else coming out at the moment. Download if you can, buy if you must.
  36. DavidG
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    Such a refreshing album to listen to, its not trying to prove anything to anybody, if you like this album it really does send you to a nice place...
  37. PaulO.
    Jul 6, 2006
    8
    This album reminds me of Backdrifts and The Gloaming off of Radiohead's Hail To The Theif. It's got that electronic-sounding beat mixed with great vocals by Thom. It's not all blips and bleeps, there is a little guitar and piano. but if you love Radiohead, you'll love this album. However, it's not a masterpiece. (My favorite tracks are Atoms for Peace and Skip Divided)
  38. DanL
    Aug 17, 2006
    8
    the first review i heard of this album was "i thought my headphones were fucked up when i listened to this." i believe i am a much more "in touch" listener and truly dig this album. it has obvious Radiohead tendencies, from odd meters to similar chord progressions, and i assume that Thom is the heavy contributor to Radiohead's songwriting. However, I find this dull compared to the first review i heard of this album was "i thought my headphones were fucked up when i listened to this." i believe i am a much more "in touch" listener and truly dig this album. it has obvious Radiohead tendencies, from odd meters to similar chord progressions, and i assume that Thom is the heavy contributor to Radiohead's songwriting. However, I find this dull compared to Radiohead albums and can't wait for their album to come out in 2007!!! Expand
  39. PoppyH
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    Even as a huge Radiohead fan I was surprised how good this is :D
  40. NicholasT
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    I'd go so far as to say that Mr. Yorke has bred a new genre: ... lounge electonica. This album sets the perfect mood, albeit an eerie, contempuous mood, but very few albums are able to do just that as effectively as this one. Every bleep and sonic undertone breathes life into this album which would have been perfect if it was solely Thom blaring his voice to begin with. I'm I'd go so far as to say that Mr. Yorke has bred a new genre: ... lounge electonica. This album sets the perfect mood, albeit an eerie, contempuous mood, but very few albums are able to do just that as effectively as this one. Every bleep and sonic undertone breathes life into this album which would have been perfect if it was solely Thom blaring his voice to begin with. I'm convinced that Mr. Yorke and crew will never release anything remotely subpar, and The Eraser, which takes the Radiohead foundation and strips it of everything but it's vocalist is a definite testament to that. Expand
  41. javierM
    Aug 30, 2006
    6
    Pretty similar to KID A, not bad but a guy like u should move forward...Experimentation is not the word in this case. Its ´just cut and paste from KID A. Next time be more original THOM!
  42. Jjt
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    'Skip Divided' sums up the creative possibilities Thom can tease out of and squeeze into the straits, skips and divisions of electronica.
  43. bimb
    Sep 10, 2006
    0
    worst album ever...
  44. RyanK
    Sep 4, 2006
    7
    This is pretty good and interesting - but that only takes you so far. One is left with the impression that he is capable of so much more.
  45. OsianL.
    Mar 6, 2009
    7
    Mesmerising, interesting, but sometimes weak, this album shows that Radiohead isn't all Thom Yorke's imput. An intruiging album, and one of the better solo projects I've listened to.
  46. Dan
    Nov 30, 2006
    7
    Quite nice album to listen, but not a great piece. How can there be so many people giving it a 10? Don't let yourself go blind for Radiohead's shadow. This is not Radiohead, this is Thom Yorke putting out some devils. There are 3 or 4 great tracks -I specially love Cymbal Rush- but they are not enough to hold the hold album too high. As I said: Very nice to listen, but it Quite nice album to listen, but not a great piece. How can there be so many people giving it a 10? Don't let yourself go blind for Radiohead's shadow. This is not Radiohead, this is Thom Yorke putting out some devils. There are 3 or 4 great tracks -I specially love Cymbal Rush- but they are not enough to hold the hold album too high. As I said: Very nice to listen, but it won't change your life and we won't be thinking of it in 10 (5?) years. Expand
  47. ColbyS
    Oct 23, 2006
    9
    Simply put, and thinkingly independently of Radiohead, this is an amazing album. Thom Yorke's haunting musical genius shines through the ever-present gloom of his manic mind. Of course this isn't Radiohead, and as such shouldn't be compared to it. Don't take the piss out of him for marching to his own beat for nine tracks, especially with them being the gems that they Simply put, and thinkingly independently of Radiohead, this is an amazing album. Thom Yorke's haunting musical genius shines through the ever-present gloom of his manic mind. Of course this isn't Radiohead, and as such shouldn't be compared to it. Don't take the piss out of him for marching to his own beat for nine tracks, especially with them being the gems that they are. Obvious standouts include "Black Swan", "Harrowdown Hill", "Atoms For Peace", "The Clock", and the underrated "Skip Divided." I couldn't find a song I didn't particularly like, and was especially impressed by those aforementioned, due mainly to his incredibly haunting, soaring vocals. Simply put: it sparkles with ingenuity. Go buy it. Now. Expand
  48. KG
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    This is a masterful album filled with uniqueness and creativity beyond almost anything else I've heard before. Beautifully constructed music with many layers that blend well together. But as with Radiohead's music, Thom's voice is that final bit of glue that pulls it all together. Definitely best heard with good headphones (not iPod ear buds!)
  49. Bryan
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Brilliant. Gets better with each listen.
  50. KellyW.
    Jul 11, 2006
    9
    In trying to remain objective rather then sensationalized, I think it is a very strong album. period. I'm a bit confused by the marginalizing reviews from the critical mass. If this singer was only someone who sounded like Thom Yorke critics would pining for the perfect adjective. This has style, substance and is slender by means---it has beauty but remains true to its' time. tic toc.
  51. mikes.
    Jul 11, 2006
    8
    At first listen it sounds as if the electronic production sounds somewhat dated, and that yorke has taken a step backwards into kid a territory once again. But with repeated listenings you realize the songwriting itself is solid, and the album is more focused and consistent than kid a. I'd have to say this is the best yorke has sounded since ok computer. Great album with tons of depth.
  52. KrisS
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    When has Yorke and Radiohead not come out with an Album that was panned by critics when it hit the stores and then months later the same album is considered "Genius Before it's time"? The Eraser, like the Radiohead CD's before, has breathed new life into the genre of alternative rock. Obviously, if you are not a fan of Radiohead, this album is not for you. Those who enjoyed When has Yorke and Radiohead not come out with an Album that was panned by critics when it hit the stores and then months later the same album is considered "Genius Before it's time"? The Eraser, like the Radiohead CD's before, has breathed new life into the genre of alternative rock. Obviously, if you are not a fan of Radiohead, this album is not for you. Those who enjoyed listen to the pained rifts on OK Computer, the soothing melodies of infiinte space in Amnesiac or the magical drawn out rythmic beats of Kid A, will no doubtly love to throw the head phones on and get swept away to Thom Yorke's vision of the future. When it comes to the direction of Alternative Rock, Radiohead are not followers, they are pioneers. Once again the professor/inventor, Thom Yorke, molds our musical inept minds and expands our horizons of what we think good music should sound like. Expand
  53. ryanp
    Jul 12, 2006
    7
    I really enjoy this cd. its something you can pick up and listen to the whole way through ONCE every month. thoms lyrics are good. the music is greta its just really really repetitive. the electronic beats just repeat over and over only to break away once or twice a song. the album packaging is pretty cool. i heard the cd a month before it came out and told myself i was going to buy it I really enjoy this cd. its something you can pick up and listen to the whole way through ONCE every month. thoms lyrics are good. the music is greta its just really really repetitive. the electronic beats just repeat over and over only to break away once or twice a song. the album packaging is pretty cool. i heard the cd a month before it came out and told myself i was going to buy it when it came out. $10 is what i paid and was totally worth the purchase.i think most radiohead fans will dig this album. 7/10 Expand
  54. DavidA
    Jul 12, 2006
    6
    It's no radiohead, but it's not bad.
  55. BrandonM
    Jul 12, 2006
    8
    Yeah, this sounds like a Radiohead album, but you can hardly fault him for that. Yes, we would have liked to have heard something a bit different here. Did we? No. Is it a good album? Yes. It has a very mellow sound. The lyrics really drive the album.
  56. MA
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Best of 2006 so far. Striking vocals especially.
  57. jonnyr
    Jul 12, 2006
    6
    Good...but a bit over-hyped. To me it lacks the depth and energy of a true Radiohead album. I don't think we will be talking much about this album in 10 years, yet this is a nice filler until the next Radiohead record comes.
  58. DrewK
    Jul 12, 2006
    5
    The worst thing Yorke has done since Pablo Honey. It really sounds like b-sides from the Backdrifts and The Gloaming recording sessions. While not terrible, it really doesn't have any memorable moments. It's background music for Sunday morning reading.
  59. Andy
    Jul 13, 2006
    7
    Its pretty good... More or less... I wouldn't call it groudbreaking because there isn't anything new here, but for once I can actually understand most of the lyrics without a sheet. It works, if you like the sounds. Check out a single or two before buying... Just don't expect Radiohead
  60. ThomYorke(jk)
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    At first, I didn't think this album was that great, but I can't get these songs out of my head. I just keep coming back to it. I like how Thom's voice is not distorted in any way, like Radiohead likes to do. What you hear is Thom's real voice and I love it!
  61. RyanM
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    It's so refreshing to hear Thoms voice on new tracks. more low key than most radiohead albums, but once again proves that radiohead or anyone asociated with is unable to make a bad song.
  62. DaveG
    Jul 14, 2006
    8
    It's exactly what I expected from Thom's solo release. I happen to think that it sounds distinctly different from Radiohead's own efforts... It's not an easy listen, nor is it a fun one, but it certainly is interesting and beautiful in its own haunting way. Could've been better.
  63. peacev
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    this is an incredible album full of emotions, creativity and breathing rooms.. it's like meditation.. and it's not like Kid A, Amnesiac or another Radiohead album.. Thom's voice is amazing. Thanks to Thom that there are still creative musicians in this music industry.
  64. willmill
    Jul 14, 2006
    8
    this album is quality and relatively easy to get through. its singular mood and pace, with moments of catchiness, make for relaxing and enjoyable listen. when i bought this album i knew it wasn't going to be classic radiohead and that he would most likely indulge himself with the things he couldn't do with the band. this album exceeds all my expectations. i highly reccomend it, this album is quality and relatively easy to get through. its singular mood and pace, with moments of catchiness, make for relaxing and enjoyable listen. when i bought this album i knew it wasn't going to be classic radiohead and that he would most likely indulge himself with the things he couldn't do with the band. this album exceeds all my expectations. i highly reccomend it, don't listen to the haters. Expand
  65. DaDefJam
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    Mr. Radiohead does it again. Please plugin your headphones and enjoy a rough but lovely ride. One of the best of this year, if not the best.
  66. dickman
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    dig it son
  67. db
    Jul 17, 2006
    9
    I disagree with Dave G, the material is kind of dark, but the songs are beautiful and catchy. It is both easy and fun to listen to. Obviously this is a highly subjective statement, so you can make up your own mind.
  68. dan
    Jul 17, 2006
    5
    "I'm sure Thom would make amazing music on his own," said Ed O'Brien once. "But we give him the soul." He's been proved right three times over now: just like Kid A and Amnesiac, Yorke's first two solo albums, The Eraser is frequently brilliant, but, for anyone who remembers the overwhelming singalong glory of The Bends and OK Computer, it looks like a waste of maybe "I'm sure Thom would make amazing music on his own," said Ed O'Brien once. "But we give him the soul." He's been proved right three times over now: just like Kid A and Amnesiac, Yorke's first two solo albums, The Eraser is frequently brilliant, but, for anyone who remembers the overwhelming singalong glory of The Bends and OK Computer, it looks like a waste of maybe the most talented individual rock music has ever produced. Remember: being interesting doesn't mean being emotionless. Expand
  69. KurtE
    Jul 19, 2006
    9
    Really fantastic. A grower.
  70. MikeM
    Jul 21, 2006
    7
    Thom Yorke's voice has never sounded so beautiful, his sense of melody has peaked, and the music is colder than anything Radiohead put out. I miss the band on this CD--they would make a good album amazing--but what Thom does here with his voice alone has me already anticipating the next Radiohead release.
  71. TimM.
    Jul 22, 2006
    7
    its good. its not great. it has its moments. it also has its non-moments. there's a couple tracks i just skip cuz they're not good. there's a couple tracks i don't skip cuz they're good. all of it sounds better the second time. i would give it a 6 but then half the cd's that come out would get a 0 on my system so i just adjust the curve. its like an upside its good. its not great. it has its moments. it also has its non-moments. there's a couple tracks i just skip cuz they're not good. there's a couple tracks i don't skip cuz they're good. all of it sounds better the second time. i would give it a 6 but then half the cd's that come out would get a 0 on my system so i just adjust the curve. its like an upside down curve so that 80% of current music doesn't fail, even though it does. yet still 10000 times better than most shit out, this and the raconteurs are the best cds this year so far. emo sucks. peace Expand
  72. toddw
    Jul 20, 2006
    8
    Great album! Perfect for those observer moods. It's the type of music I could listen to while watching people shopping at Target, selecting the perfect spatula, out of dozens of choices, to match their "kitchen colors". It's been on repeat for some time now. Lyrics are tasty little treats: "buy a ticket and get on the train" "no more talk about the old days, it's time for Great album! Perfect for those observer moods. It's the type of music I could listen to while watching people shopping at Target, selecting the perfect spatula, out of dozens of choices, to match their "kitchen colors". It's been on repeat for some time now. Lyrics are tasty little treats: "buy a ticket and get on the train" "no more talk about the old days, it's time for something great" "you will be disposed with, when you become inconvenient" "It's all boiling over" I often get the sense this is pre-World War 3 music at its best. My only problem with The Eraser is that I want it to go on and on. Just when Cymbal Rush gets going nicely, it ends. Oh well, it was sweet while it lasted. Expand
  73. BobbyH
    Jul 24, 2006
    6
    There are some good songs here, and Thom's voice is stronger than ever, but the initial feeling that this album is impenetrable never really goes away. There is a lack of substance behind a number of the songs, many of which just seem to repeat an electronic riff until it's time to fade. I also heard a number of moments throughout the album that sound a lot like songs There are some good songs here, and Thom's voice is stronger than ever, but the initial feeling that this album is impenetrable never really goes away. There is a lack of substance behind a number of the songs, many of which just seem to repeat an electronic riff until it's time to fade. I also heard a number of moments throughout the album that sound a lot like songs regurgitated from Kid A and Hail to the Thief. Another problem is the relentless negative tone of the album. This would really have been better balnaced with some songs offering a glimmer of hope or meaning. Overall this is well worth a listen. However, there is nothing new or startling on here. This album has already been made much better- Digital Ash... by Bright Eyes. I think anybody comparing these albums now would find the earlier effort a better balanced and more rewarding listen. Expand
  74. AkseliK
    Jul 24, 2006
    6
    kid b
  75. shane
    Jul 25, 2006
    2
    I never would have given this nearly as many listens as I did if it wasn't by Thom Yorke. Give this album to anyone else and it's considered junk.
  76. GuyH
    Jul 28, 2006
    7
    No alarms and (unfortunately) no surprises. There are some good songs (Analyse, Atoms, And it rained...) but this album is crying out for some shifts in mood and tempo. Idioteque (from Kid A) sounded fresh and unique - you don't get that feeling from anything here. A bit of a missed oppurtunity for Thom (but not a disaster)
  77. BernhardG
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    I've never been a fan of Radiohead, so I wouldn't be able to compare them with Yorke's solo effort. But this album has been a revelation, the dark, dancy mood - as if Malcolm Middleton should combine efforts with Morrissey - makes this a personal favorite this summer. The slight Sigur Ros-like touch to several of the songs just makes the melancholy even more intimate and I've never been a fan of Radiohead, so I wouldn't be able to compare them with Yorke's solo effort. But this album has been a revelation, the dark, dancy mood - as if Malcolm Middleton should combine efforts with Morrissey - makes this a personal favorite this summer. The slight Sigur Ros-like touch to several of the songs just makes the melancholy even more intimate and real. I usually agree a 100% with the Pitchfork reviewer, but this time they've either put the wrong guy on the case or given him a different album to review. This is a classic. Mark my words, people will still refer to this album a decade from now. Expand
  78. MickH
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    Eventually all have to accept we finally have a new Mozart here! Composer Yorke will last for centuries!
  79. AlexF
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    I've never been a particularly big Radiohead fan, which makes me a pariah amongst many of my music-loving friends. However, I developed more of a soft spot for them with the one-two punch of Kid A and Amnesiac. I liked the direction they appeared to be going in with those albums, and this solo effort seems to be the culmation of the foray into glitchy electronica. As a result, I find I've never been a particularly big Radiohead fan, which makes me a pariah amongst many of my music-loving friends. However, I developed more of a soft spot for them with the one-two punch of Kid A and Amnesiac. I liked the direction they appeared to be going in with those albums, and this solo effort seems to be the culmation of the foray into glitchy electronica. As a result, I find this to be superior to anything in Radiohead's catalogue. Great outing. I look forward to hearing more Thom Yorke solo material. Expand
  80. ToddW
    Sep 21, 2006
    8
    First, let's get one thing straight. Bim B. should change his or her name to Bimbo. A zero? He or she is obviously commenting on his or her musical acumen. Just because it's not "Kid A" or "O.K. Computer" people are unfairly denigrating Yorke. (Go for your dictionary Bimbo.) If anyone else put this album out it would be hailed as a masterpiece. Let's not forget that he First, let's get one thing straight. Bim B. should change his or her name to Bimbo. A zero? He or she is obviously commenting on his or her musical acumen. Just because it's not "Kid A" or "O.K. Computer" people are unfairly denigrating Yorke. (Go for your dictionary Bimbo.) If anyone else put this album out it would be hailed as a masterpiece. Let's not forget that he purposely avoided any hype by announcing this album's existence a month before its release and by signing to an independent label. I'd like to see anyone else in the so-called mainstream (sewerstream?) emerge from his house with something possessing even a fraction of the complexity of this album. Expand
  81. GasparL
    Sep 23, 2006
    8
    Thom's always been at the forefront of good music, but this record does two things for me. One, it makes me understand Thom's part of the Radiohead whole, and two, it really makes me appreciate Colin, Johnny, Ed, and Phil, and how they all complete one another. (You're going to hear almost no reviews without "Radiohead" in there somewhere, so get over it.) If you want to Thom's always been at the forefront of good music, but this record does two things for me. One, it makes me understand Thom's part of the Radiohead whole, and two, it really makes me appreciate Colin, Johnny, Ed, and Phil, and how they all complete one another. (You're going to hear almost no reviews without "Radiohead" in there somewhere, so get over it.) If you want to get inside Thom's taste and style, isolated from the rest The-R-Word's underpinnings, look no further. "And It Rained All Night", "Harrowdown Hill" and "Black Swan", and "The Clock" are all absolutely amazing, "Skip Divided" warrants a balk, and the rest are from passable to just regular good. And that's the album to me: good. Half amazing, half good, and one failed experiment. Honestly, I think this is well more of a 7.5, but I'd rather be more lavish in scoring than stingy. Worth the money? That's debatable, with only 9 songs at under 40 minutes; consider "Atoms for Peace" and your reaction as a litmus test. Worth a listen? Not a doubt in my mind. Expand
  82. jackiez
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    Inspiring...
  83. RezaM.
    Oct 21, 2007
    9
    It's music from another planet. No one can sing or write songs like this in the earth.
  84. MikeR
    Feb 8, 2007
    8
    I think this album is a success. I think most of the songs are a creative accomplishment. I've been a radiohead fan for years and hearing The Eraser makes me feel like I'm getting a little more into the mind of Mr. Yorke. I think "Atoms for Peace" is absolutely gorgeous and Thom's voice has never sounded better. I do have a few problems. "Skip Divided" is a song that I I think this album is a success. I think most of the songs are a creative accomplishment. I've been a radiohead fan for years and hearing The Eraser makes me feel like I'm getting a little more into the mind of Mr. Yorke. I think "Atoms for Peace" is absolutely gorgeous and Thom's voice has never sounded better. I do have a few problems. "Skip Divided" is a song that I could do without completely. Also, it seems like a few of these songs want to crescendo into something amazing but then just fall flat and it can be disappointing at times. Despite this, I enjoy the tracks thoroughly. I wanted to comment on a previous post. "Dan" mentioned that Amnesiac and Kid A were Thom's "Solo" albums. This is incorrect. Those were both efforts by Radiohead collectively. Expand
  85. MaxM.
    Jun 21, 2007
    9
    Thom Yorke just keeps getting better and better. Some of the sound effects in songs like Harrowdown Hill and Black Swan sound really cheap like they came straight off of GarageBand or something, but otherwise, it is Thom Yorke at his best. I can't wait to see how demented the 2007 Radiohead album is gonna be.
  86. ErikH
    Sep 9, 2007
    6
    This album really isn't that good. Thom Yorke is not strong enough to carry an album without his bandmates. CMG nailed it when they wrote simply "The Eraser is not Radiohead good."
  87. MIke
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    Didnt like it the first time I played it. But the more i listened to it, the more I noticed how brilliant it is! and now its one of my favorite vinyls!! Excellent!
  88. MattD.
    Jul 11, 2006
    6
    To me, The Eraser has neither the wondrous experimentation of Kid A or as strong a song structures as found on OK Computer. That said, it would be hard for a Radiohead fan to dislike this CD. I just think he can do better with the band.
  89. HiramWalker
    Jul 11, 2006
    9
    One thing...this is not a perfect record, nor a masterpiece. The critics have a point when they say "this record came too late to be trully groundbreaking..." & "you miss the 'wow' moments Radiohead would've brought to the mix", BUT, all that aside, this record stands on it's own because of it's slightness...it sounds like two guys, who've worked together for One thing...this is not a perfect record, nor a masterpiece. The critics have a point when they say "this record came too late to be trully groundbreaking..." & "you miss the 'wow' moments Radiohead would've brought to the mix", BUT, all that aside, this record stands on it's own because of it's slightness...it sounds like two guys, who've worked together for years now, getting down to brass tacks and putting all the ideas they've had over coffee and pints the last few years onto tape. When those two guys are Thom Yorke and Nigel Godrich, ya'll better listen... Expand
  90. royr
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Pitchfork, you rs! You are as bent as Seria A. From the outside looking in by the way, it is clear you do not actually have what it takes to articulate the lackings of this great record (not to the score you have given it anyway). Granted, critique is based upon opinion, but if this is seriously what you monkeys get paid for, aside from advertising space, take your arrogant fingers out of Pitchfork, you rs! You are as bent as Seria A. From the outside looking in by the way, it is clear you do not actually have what it takes to articulate the lackings of this great record (not to the score you have given it anyway). Granted, critique is based upon opinion, but if this is seriously what you monkeys get paid for, aside from advertising space, take your arrogant fingers out of you ears. Expand
  91. GeoffB
    Jul 11, 2006
    8
    I, like everyone else, wish this was the new radiohead. As soon as you get past this and realize the record for what is is Thom Yorke. The electronics almost never annoyed (something I can't say for Hail to the Theif) and often hook you into the music.Tthe lyrics are wonderfully delivered and soulful, Thom's voice has a haunting quality that no other singing can duplicate. A I, like everyone else, wish this was the new radiohead. As soon as you get past this and realize the record for what is is Thom Yorke. The electronics almost never annoyed (something I can't say for Hail to the Theif) and often hook you into the music.Tthe lyrics are wonderfully delivered and soulful, Thom's voice has a haunting quality that no other singing can duplicate. A wonderful album, not worse than The Bends and Ok computer, but not better either, a wholely different experience. Expand
  92. JohnW
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    ya fuckers all are deaf or something...there is nothing wrong with this cd at all! it's genious..pitchfork reviews are shit mostly...Rolling Stone gave it 4 stars and that pretty much means more than any other reviewer. it may not be as good as "A RADIOHEAD" album but it fits in perfectly of what a solo album should be. Thom Yorke is the shit..no one can deny that!
  93. RobD
    Jul 12, 2006
    7
    Probably being a bit generous with a 7 but this album is sorta average when compared to most of the other crap out there. I found this album to be the embodyment of the things that I don't like about Radiohead's more recent work. I am referring to tracks that are repetitive and dull. Seems like Thom needs the rest of the band to keep the music good. Maybe the so-so review will Probably being a bit generous with a 7 but this album is sorta average when compared to most of the other crap out there. I found this album to be the embodyment of the things that I don't like about Radiohead's more recent work. I am referring to tracks that are repetitive and dull. Seems like Thom needs the rest of the band to keep the music good. Maybe the so-so review will open his eyes a bitand push him in a new direction. Expand
  94. TJ
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    Please give it a chance, ok 'skip divided' might not be your cup of tea, but you have to get over your aversion to somthing different. If you didnt like KidA or Amnesiac then go away - youll find no surprises here. But if you were be ready for the buety of songs like The Eraser and Black Swan, the brillaince of Harrowdown Hill, yorke unlike many is prepared to ask questions and Please give it a chance, ok 'skip divided' might not be your cup of tea, but you have to get over your aversion to somthing different. If you didnt like KidA or Amnesiac then go away - youll find no surprises here. But if you were be ready for the buety of songs like The Eraser and Black Swan, the brillaince of Harrowdown Hill, yorke unlike many is prepared to ask questions and to try somthing different; personally id love to hear another ok comp but its not gonna happen they did that and it was great and now there (well thom at least) moving on, please try to do so as well. N.B everyone should check out Jonnys Bodysong - just as good. Expand
  95. GauravK
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    Ask me for my rating of this album a month ago and I'd say a 7. Maybe last week it was an 8. But when I got my hands on it yesterday and played it through three times tonight with the lights off I give this a 9. To me, the minimalist style can be as effective as a guitar 'n bass setup. When Sparklehorse covered Wish You Were Here (with Thom on vocals through a telephone) on a Ask me for my rating of this album a month ago and I'd say a 7. Maybe last week it was an 8. But when I got my hands on it yesterday and played it through three times tonight with the lights off I give this a 9. To me, the minimalist style can be as effective as a guitar 'n bass setup. When Sparklehorse covered Wish You Were Here (with Thom on vocals through a telephone) on a slow piano, it can still send chills down my spine. Though you may originally believe that electronica lacks warmth, even humanity, Thom's voice and his courage to be honest (particularly on Atoms for Peace and Harrowdown Hill) will go straight to your heart. Besides, the album in context makes perfect sense. This is a man who a decade earlier ran from his fake plastic love, who descended into paranoia, wanted to disappear completely. And now here he is exorcising the insecurity, depression, and cold. Expect guitars and warm goodness on Radiohead's LP7 but for now, try for a little intimacy with the patron saint of conscience, Thomas Edward Yorke. Expand
  96. TonyF
    Jul 13, 2006
    7
    Heard it at a buddies and was suprised. it's pretty good and enjoyable, and i'm not even a huge radiohead fan.
  97. BiggestDavid
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    If you didn't like Kid A you have no soul. If you don't like Kid A, you wouldn't like The Eraser. If you don't like the Eraser you have no soul? Why does everyone keep comparing them? I think its kinda like Ace of Base, they are electronic. I personally think that the album is kinda scary, in a lonely kind of way. Which album is scary? The ace of Base one. Wait, Kid A.
  98. RandyB
    Jul 14, 2006
    9
    Thom Yorke's solo debut THE ERASER doesn't have anything in the way of sound that you haven't already heard on a Bjork, Garbage, Nine Inch Nails, or (yes) Radiohead album. But in spite of that, or maybe even because of it, the album shines as a pretty soundtrack to feeling insane. Thom's vocals are haunting as ever, with a quivering intensity that sounds a bit on the Thom Yorke's solo debut THE ERASER doesn't have anything in the way of sound that you haven't already heard on a Bjork, Garbage, Nine Inch Nails, or (yes) Radiohead album. But in spite of that, or maybe even because of it, the album shines as a pretty soundtrack to feeling insane. Thom's vocals are haunting as ever, with a quivering intensity that sounds a bit on the off side, complimenting all the familiar blips and bleeps by playing the role of your crazed inner voice; it's as if the parts put together are the fragile, reigned-in chaos of the mind, and it works. His lyrics are stunning, but go almost unnoticed the first go around because you're too busy being enveloped by the atmospherics he's created. If you don't like electronica, then you should probably stay away from THE ERASER, but I just loved it. Expand
  99. PhilipL
    Jul 16, 2006
    6
    I don't understand why people are comparing this album to Kid A. They sound nothing alike, and Kid A is on a completely different level. As difficult as it is to do, The Eraser should be analyzed and appreciated separately from Radiohead albums. That being said, the album has it's moments, but ultimately sounds like it was made very hastily. Basically, it's alright.
  100. caro
    Jul 18, 2006
    8
    This is a very haunting album from the genius behind Radiohead. Don't forget that Thom isn't backed by the other guys (i.e. Johnny Greenwood & co.) so this is just from Thom's mind. I was very pleasantly surprised by this album. Just give it a few listens, it really isn't like anything else out there.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. What makes it breathe, what allows it to flourish above its glitchy techno, its processed wizardry... what untangles it from a mess of circuitry and power strips and anti-virus pop-up warnings, is Yorke's incredible, distinctive voice.
  2. The Eraser is a triumph.
  3. Nigel's production and arrangements leave very little room for the songs to breathe... However, the emphasis on Thom's lyrics illuminates The Eraser's strongest asset: its content.