User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 105
  2. Negative: 9 out of 105

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanC
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    This was my first MM album at the age of 11 and I thought it was amazing. Listening to it now brings back so many memories. My particular favourite songs are: (S)aint Spade Doll - Digga - Buzz - Buzz - Ziggety - Zag.
  2. CynthiaV
    Aug 27, 2008
    10
    Manson does not disappoint. My favorite songs are ''spade'', ''[s]aint'', ''Mobscene'' and...pretty much all of them.
  3. tobyl
    Jun 21, 2004
    3
    Very disappointing. Antichrist, Animals, Holywood were in a completely different league. This though is just one lame routine industrial boom boom. I honestly wouldn't have bought it if it wasn't for Manson's name on it. I've probably listened to it for only three or four times in one year. Please Marilyn. let's get it over with the singles and get to a new album!
  4. KendoJ
    May 27, 2009
    10
    Simply incredible album. Everything about it screams awesome. Second only to Mechanical Animals but still gets a 10 because MA deserves an 11.
  5. AdamT
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    Brilliant album! I was addicted to this for many months! I liked nearly all of the songs (as opposed to most other artists, which, typically I only enjoy 2 or 3 songs per album) The songs are just awsome, mad lyrics and its all great fun when you need some mad music for energy and drive! Manson rules!
  6. bryand
    May 29, 2003
    10
    the new album rules.I am listing to it right now.
  7. BL
    Aug 7, 2007
    6
    This album suffers from trying to recreate the "classic" Manson sound. The thing is a lot of the songs just aren't that good. mOBSCENE is one of the best and a obvious choice for the single. Golden Age of Grotesque (the song), (s)aint and Para-noir are the other stand-out tracks. The album isn't awful but other than a few tracks it's nothing special.
  8. RichardH
    May 21, 2003
    10
    This album proves Manson can throw out even more of his best music just when you think he's reached his peak. He's far from over, and we'll be hearing from Manson for a long time. GO MANSON!
  9. ||UND34D|
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    Perfection, bitterness and queer....
  10. Greg
    Jun 7, 2003
    10
    Marilyn manson.. what more is there to say. to be honest i thought after holywood he was gone. But i cant believe the new record its fucking great. I love it with the swing thing he has going and there is still a bit of darkness to it and has aot of humor but still meaningful points.. Marilyn manson is very inderrated for his image and how he acts. People believe he does it for attention Marilyn manson.. what more is there to say. to be honest i thought after holywood he was gone. But i cant believe the new record its fucking great. I love it with the swing thing he has going and there is still a bit of darkness to it and has aot of humor but still meaningful points.. Marilyn manson is very inderrated for his image and how he acts. People believe he does it for attention but to be honest if he did why even release mechanical animals which killed his career?... The guy has plenty to say and his music i hope will always change. The image is beautiful and manson rock on and fuck people cause you are the TRUE rock not that linkin park pussy shit...Rock on manson Expand
  11. MrSinister
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    This album KICKS ASS as only Marilyn Manson could! The way HolyWood was able to bring out the straight foreward, in your face, evil, this album in it's own way brought out the sinister feelings of the 40s type era.
  12. magdac
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    it's great
  13. KevinA
    Jan 3, 2004
    6
    It has tons of hooks and really rocks, but it all sounds kind of the same. Definitely not as sharp as Mechanical Animals, Holy Wood, or even Antichrist Superstar. And you're either going to love the lyrical stupidity ("doll-dagga buzz-buzz ziggety-zag"), and I don't love it.
  14. joshuah
    Apr 20, 2004
    9
    This is by far one of his greatest albums. There are numerous songs on this cd that are catchy. And it is good music to bang your head to.
  15. wandersonc
    May 3, 2004
    10
    I like very marilyn manson I love the music(The Golden Age Of Grotesque)ok!!! ok!!!I love you marilyn!!!
  16. LindsiH
    Jun 13, 2004
    10
    I love this CD! Manson is a genius and the CD shows it . He has somehow managed to make a cd the is completely different then anything he has done in the past yet still maintain all the qualities in the music that make Manson great.
  17. ColtinM
    Aug 10, 2004
    7
    The second Manson CD I owned and I thought it rocked because my first was "Smells Like Children". But now that i have AcS and MA my views have changed, i still think it is a pretty good CD but not near as good as his sound once was.
  18. Ryan
    Nov 21, 2005
    0
    Terrible music. Boring, old and rushed. DONT WASTE YOURTIME OR MONEY on this trash!!! Please, just stay away from this junk.
  19. CameronD
    Mar 20, 2007
    7
    Not my favorite manson album, but still worth listening too. There are few very good songs on here.
  20. JakeW
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    Good catchy hooks, awesome guitar riffs, some original drumming, some cool electronic, a well rounded album that you don't want to stop listening to.
  21. NineInchAndy
    May 13, 2003
    6
    Bleh... okay... here goes... Manson is one clever bastard. Well, lyrically anyways. Unfortunately, that's basically the sole reason why I am giving GAOG the score I am. With the exception of a few high points such as the opening track, it's basically the same stuff they've been doing since 1996 with more blips and bleeps and whatnot. Anyone familiar with Tim Skold's Bleh... okay... here goes... Manson is one clever bastard. Well, lyrically anyways. Unfortunately, that's basically the sole reason why I am giving GAOG the score I am. With the exception of a few high points such as the opening track, it's basically the same stuff they've been doing since 1996 with more blips and bleeps and whatnot. Anyone familiar with Tim Skold's work with KMFDM will notice his obvious influence. Really, the only reason I bought this album was because I highly respect Marilyn Manson as a person and as an archetype. He's very witty and intelligient and there is not enough of that in music today. Expand
  22. MantisX
    May 15, 2003
    9
    Great CD. I used to hate Manson with a passion but I started getting into his music through the wonders of Kazaa and became a big fan. This is the first cd I bought by him, and I absolutely love it. Ive been listening to in nonstop and i got it tuesday. It seems to lack a lot of the angst in earlier installments and is more casual, but that doesnt detract from the cd at all, because Great CD. I used to hate Manson with a passion but I started getting into his music through the wonders of Kazaa and became a big fan. This is the first cd I bought by him, and I absolutely love it. Ive been listening to in nonstop and i got it tuesday. It seems to lack a lot of the angst in earlier installments and is more casual, but that doesnt detract from the cd at all, because Mansons lyrics still seem to spew anger and some are quite funny in a twisted sort of way. A good example of this is in one of my favorite songs, (s)AINT, Manson sings "I got an F and a C, and I got a K, too/And the only thing that's missing is a bitch like U." The pace seems to die down towards the end of the cd but only enough to warrant a point deduction. If you like Manson this CD is candy for your ears. The best tracks in my opinion are "This is the New Shit", "Use Your Fist and Not Your Mouth", and "(s)AINT", but the whole cd is fantastic. Definitely worth the 9.99 I payed for it. Expand
  23. --
    May 19, 2003
    10
    go manson go go go!!!!
  24. kendalls
    May 20, 2003
    10
    this album is exceptional, im so proud to be a manson fan, and if people ever question why I am, im giving them this cd to listen to
  25. DavidW
    May 27, 2003
    3
    Marilyn Manson is a publicity whore. He hyped the hell out of this album, claiming it would change the face of music. Ahem. The band should be getting the props for this, some of the music is damn good. As soon as Manson opens his mouth, though, it's all over. These have to be some of the most trite lyrics i've heard from him, ever. He should have stuck with being anti-god with Marilyn Manson is a publicity whore. He hyped the hell out of this album, claiming it would change the face of music. Ahem. The band should be getting the props for this, some of the music is damn good. As soon as Manson opens his mouth, though, it's all over. These have to be some of the most trite lyrics i've heard from him, ever. He should have stuck with being anti-god with his lyrics. It worked better that way. I used to be a fan, but now I've lost lots of respect. He's definitely an artist, but I think he's run out of interesting things to say. He should release an instrumental version of this album. Expand
  26. LapiH
    Jun 14, 2003
    10
    Manson tells the truth: Golden Age of Shit. BTW brilliant abum.
  27. melissah
    Jul 5, 2003
    10
    refreshing i love manson's music and this one just made me love it even more. this one is just different than all his other;s.it's more upbeat snd has less gore and death in it.
  28. LuísB
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    It's perfect. Grotesque it's wonderful. It reach the perfection between the madness and reality.
  29. Schizoid
    May 31, 2004
    10
    Da best of Manson.
  30. MirandaR
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    Awesome!
  31. BarryP
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    This album found a way to blend the Rage and hypnotic state of Anti Christ and Mechanical and take the artistry of Manso to a new level. It has incredible punch and sharp as a razor riffs. Lyrics, are very introspective, however it did take a few listens to truly appreciate what he was saying. This is a metamorphosis, truly the artist HAS become the art, and the blurry line that is left This album found a way to blend the Rage and hypnotic state of Anti Christ and Mechanical and take the artistry of Manso to a new level. It has incredible punch and sharp as a razor riffs. Lyrics, are very introspective, however it did take a few listens to truly appreciate what he was saying. This is a metamorphosis, truly the artist HAS become the art, and the blurry line that is left will keep you entertained for HRS. I also just saw his Concert for this album and it ties everything together, the GAOG is truly here and manson has brought it to us in horrific splendor. Expand
  32. mikee
    May 15, 2003
    10
    fuck you all who aren't down with manson manson isn'tr just a person he's a religion i love this cd and i love every other song of his GET DOWN WITH MANSON
  33. CharlesG
    May 16, 2003
    9
    You can hear the new sound of marilyn manson, its great!.
  34. HerebeorhtH-B
    May 21, 2003
    10
    fun fun
  35. cerealkiller
    May 31, 2003
    8
    as always tha man turns out another classic. tims influence was obvious, but i figured it would be as soon as i heard he joined the band. i think some of the songs are similar to king kil 33 but that wa the best song on the last albulm
  36. GreenGothikGoo
    Jul 21, 2003
    10
    I absolutely love this album along with all of Manson's other work. He's a genuis and people that don't like him are close-minded fools. That is all.
  37. AnnB
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    I love i get dressed to go to work to it
  38. mj
    Mar 26, 2005
    9
    Good, more "rock" than industrial or experimental or acoustic, less of a war on religion, more on perceptions of sex, pain, love, ect ect.. More like jaded-romantic goth than his last couple cds of appolypse-rock. Miss the antichrist absolutely shocking antics, but this is still very very good+high quality in a different sort of flavor, namely quality vs. experimental.
  39. RandyB
    Jun 14, 2005
    7
    I really would like to give this a 7.5, but that's unfortunately not an option.... Using trashy burlesque theatre as the inspiration for his fifth album, Marilyn Manson creates a decadent new addition to his body of work. The Golden Age of Grotesque finds twisted beauty in the overall dark-whorehouse theme that lies in its tracks. It opens with
  40. CarolW
    Nov 24, 2003
    10
    I love Marilyn Manson 2 Death and as much I want to get his newest cd , I just never got the chance to buy one cuz I've been working But I did hear some of it on the internet and And his music ROCKS the EARTH I'm tellin ya!!!! Marilyn Manson Rulz 4ever !!!
  41. Jun 9, 2012
    7
    Recently (about 20 minute ago) I listened to this album for the first time in years; I hadn't done soe consciously, as i remember the album being worse than Manson's previous records. The fact that his following albums are totally lost on me didn't help. So I put it in my player and... Its good! Its not as good as Antichrist or Holy wood, but its a tight album with some pretty good songs.
  42. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    Marilyn Manson wanted a change, and this is where it all began. The Golden Age of Grotesque is indeed an odd album--especially when in relation to Marilyn Manson. Change is a good thing in my opinion, and for three records straight, Manson had been doing the same thing over and over again. I have nothing against his "trilogy" and they are easily the better albums that Manson has made.Marilyn Manson wanted a change, and this is where it all began. The Golden Age of Grotesque is indeed an odd album--especially when in relation to Marilyn Manson. Change is a good thing in my opinion, and for three records straight, Manson had been doing the same thing over and over again. I have nothing against his "trilogy" and they are easily the better albums that Manson has made. Electronic boom-boom with heavy guitars and obscene lyrics make this album what it is. The album seems to have no real negative side, it's just lacking where Manson has always been so good. Expect his best vocals he has ever produced, the lyrics are a little...repetitive and the ideas are generally the same across the entire record. Enjoy? Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Mojo
    60
    Better than the conceptual barf of its predecessor Holy Wood, but not as sharp as his best record to date, '98's glammy Mechanical Animals. [Jun 2003, p.100]
  2. Inventive and powerful enough to merit intermittent attention, but ultimately crushed by the weight of its hoary pretensions.
  3. Q Magazine
    60
    The good news is that Grotesque rocks like a bastard.... Not so good news is that Manson's shock shtick still lacks real substance. [Jun 2003, p.103]