User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 323 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 323
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    A spectacular album with a lot of amazing instrumentals that can blow you away at first listen! Definitely a good addition to Linkin Park's discography!
  2. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    This is a fantastic album, one of the best of the year. Very heavy, very genuine music! I think this is better than Minutes to midnight, a thousand suns and living things! Go LP!!!
  3. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    Even though I've consistently really enjoyed Linkin Park's various experimentation into more electronic stuff over the years, their choice to go for a more straightforward hard rock/metal sound is a very refreshing & rewarding one. The aggression & energy work wonders, and the lyrics take a much more mature & politically charged direction than on the first few albums. There are a coupleEven though I've consistently really enjoyed Linkin Park's various experimentation into more electronic stuff over the years, their choice to go for a more straightforward hard rock/metal sound is a very refreshing & rewarding one. The aggression & energy work wonders, and the lyrics take a much more mature & politically charged direction than on the first few albums. There are a couple weak points (namely "Until It's Gone" & the Tom Morello-featuring "Drawbar" which was a major letdown) but I wouldn't have a problem in calling it my favorite from them.

    (For a more in-depth review with a brief sketch making fun of people who hate any kind of change from LP, look up "Spin It! Reviews" on YouTube.)
    Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2015
    10
    A very good comeback from Living Things. Living Things were too pop, while the Hunting Party, comared to them, really remings me of the good old Hybrid Theory and Meteora.
  5. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    Linkin Park The Hunting Party is a great combination of sound's from diferent styles like Alternative rock,Metal,Trash,Punk and some soft stuff that make this album one of the complex intrumentation music they ever made! I hope Linkin Park will make another album like this with the next one in 2016!!!
  6. Aug 10, 2014
    9
    Back to the roots. If you liked Hybrid Theory and Meteora this is the Linkin Park album you have been waiting for. It is an Linkin Park album without a weak song.
  7. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    Thank god LP dropped that new style and came back to their roots. This album proves that LP is still alive to kick some ass!
    This is a must-buy for all LP fans.
  8. Mar 3, 2015
    9
    Once again, Linkin Park manages to produce another successful, different album. Some songs might be too long for their own good like Guilty All the Same and A Line in the Sand, but the other tracks are a great length. The mix of angry, heavy songs with lighter, melodic songs is great and I can't wait to see how they make their next album different.
  9. Jun 6, 2015
    10
    I know it took quite awhile for me to review the album, but that gave me enough time to like it even more. “Keys to the Kingdom” opens the album, letting the band’s intention to hit it heavy felt. Also, drummer Rob Bourdon and guitarist Brad Delson remain the unsung heroes of the album. “All for Nothing” , with Helmet’s Page Hamilton, is a tirade for all else normal and static. Lead singleI know it took quite awhile for me to review the album, but that gave me enough time to like it even more. “Keys to the Kingdom” opens the album, letting the band’s intention to hit it heavy felt. Also, drummer Rob Bourdon and guitarist Brad Delson remain the unsung heroes of the album. “All for Nothing” , with Helmet’s Page Hamilton, is a tirade for all else normal and static. Lead single “Guilty all the Same” succeeds in continuing the clear anti-establishment mood of “All for Nothing”, and is given a pause with the “The Summoning”. “War” is perhaps Chester Bennington’s crown and is quite the straightforward punk song of the album, while “Wastelands” brings the older flavor of rock and hip hop, Shinoda-style. “Until It’s Gone” is reminiscent of Meteora’s “Numb”, though on a more powerful state. “Rebellion”, with System of a Down’s Daron Malakian, traps you in an SOAD vibe, making you forget this is a Linkin Park song. “Mark the Graves” is chock-full of breakdowns, making it one of two songs in the album to remind you of the band’s style on Minutes to Midnight. “Drawbar” with Rage Against the Machine’s Tom Morello is another way to get you out of the controlled chaos of the album, which is a lead to the compelling “Final Masquerade”; which is the second track from the album that emulates Minute’s diversity. The album closes with the epic “A Line in the Sand” with Shinoda singing, A Thousand Suns style. Putting all the songs in retrospect, the album warrants you to listen and digest the band’s need for change, and to escape mediocrity. Hybrid Theory purists need not apply. Expand
  10. Jul 27, 2015
    10
    The Hunting Party is, in my opinion, Linkin Park's second best album (I prefer a thousand suns) it really have some fantastic songs, like Wastelands, and it also have a metal touch to many musics.
  11. YDG
    Aug 25, 2015
    9
    It was about time that Linkin Park really showed what experience they've gained over the years as their previous three albums have divided the fan base and lead them to become really hit and miss. The Hunting Party shows how the band have matured, returning to their classic heavy style but not sounding like angry teenagers. The lyrics are very well done in each of the songs and the guitarIt was about time that Linkin Park really showed what experience they've gained over the years as their previous three albums have divided the fan base and lead them to become really hit and miss. The Hunting Party shows how the band have matured, returning to their classic heavy style but not sounding like angry teenagers. The lyrics are very well done in each of the songs and the guitar and drums just form a tasty sound throughout the entire album. Mike's rapping is just top notch and Chester still delivers a powerful scream while also showing off his amazing vocal range and dynamic voice. You have your metal, hard rock, rap and pop all mixed into the bag here and it basically gives us the best of everything they've given us before and then some. Nothing in this album sounds like the band has done it before giving it a very fresh feel. A couple of the songs, I feel, could've had some more work done on them (namely Wastelands and Until It's Gone), but ultimately, the album was very satisfying and leaves the door open for a very bright future for Linkin Park. If this album hasn't brought back any fans that they've lost along the way, then I doubt any of their future work will, but I say good riddance to them, it's their loss.

    I'm really excited to hear what they've got in store for their next album and it seems like Linkin Park have finally found their place after all their previous, experimental sounds.

    Album Favourites: Keys To The Kingdom, Guilty All The Same, Mark The Graves.
    Album Low Points: Wastelands, Until It's Gone.
    Expand
  12. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    Initially I was skeptical that Linkin Park could return to their roots and they haven't. If you're looking for another Meteora then you will be disappointed. HOWEVER, this is something else. It's not an album that mashes together a couple of cool sounding tunes and some vocals; it's much more than that. It feels passionate in comparison to an orator who knows their stuff.

    Living Things
    Initially I was skeptical that Linkin Park could return to their roots and they haven't. If you're looking for another Meteora then you will be disappointed. HOWEVER, this is something else. It's not an album that mashes together a couple of cool sounding tunes and some vocals; it's much more than that. It feels passionate in comparison to an orator who knows their stuff.

    Living Things felt like LP was trying to go for a run after having their legs amputated. The Hunting Party sounds like they got a rocket propelled wheel chair.
    Expand
  13. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    another great album from a great band,this album is heavy compared to their last few albums,guilty all the same is an awesome song,a must have album for all those who loved their first two albums "hbd" and "meteora"..
  14. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    it's like Drowned in Sound is mad at Linkin Park. Dont look at their review, and just listen to the album for yourself...

    Album needs to be listened to from Keys to the Kingdom to A Line in the Sand. It is just solid and well put together. Only song i dont like listening to but fits is Until Its Gone. They needed a song to slow the pace from the hard hitting first half of the album.
  15. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    At the time when the first two singles were out, I was unsure of what to anticipate from this album. All the reviews kept on increasing the hype, all the people who had been fortunate enough to attend the listening parties got their jaws dropped. By the time the iTunes stream was online and as soon as I pressed the Play button, I realized where this was heading towards. Not only did LinkinAt the time when the first two singles were out, I was unsure of what to anticipate from this album. All the reviews kept on increasing the hype, all the people who had been fortunate enough to attend the listening parties got their jaws dropped. By the time the iTunes stream was online and as soon as I pressed the Play button, I realized where this was heading towards. Not only did Linkin Park back every single statement they had made regarding the album prior to it's release, they nailed it! We got to see a lot of variety on this album. Rob was insane at the drumming, Brad certainly let his inner beast out, we got tons of screams from Chester, and Mike both rapped and sang on the album. Not to mention the fact that the guests on this album played their roles perfectly. To me, nothing seems absent concerning everything that they had promised us. I loved all of the songs, so I wouldn't skip any in the future while listening to this album. To be honest, the only 1 thing that I found odd about this album was the frequent repetition of some words in a couple of songs...but nonetheless, it completely fits and I'd still give this album a 10/10. Expand
  16. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    The Hunting Party( THP ) is another win for Linkin Park ( LP ) discography. The record stands out as a well written and composed rock record. Here is my personal opinion about the tracks.

    Keys to the Kingdom: Serves as a perfect opener. Its loud. Its heavy. Its a reminder of why people fell for LP when they debuted. Chester is loud throughout the song and Mike's rap verse is very well
    The Hunting Party( THP ) is another win for Linkin Park ( LP ) discography. The record stands out as a well written and composed rock record. Here is my personal opinion about the tracks.

    Keys to the Kingdom: Serves as a perfect opener. Its loud. Its heavy. Its a reminder of why people fell for LP when they debuted. Chester is loud throughout the song and Mike's rap verse is very well written and fits perfectly into the song.

    All For Nothing( Feat. Paige Hamilton): with a punk vibe. This song is straight home run for LP. It has got an amazing hook which is hard to forget. One listen and you will humming the song. Paige does a great job on the vocals on this one and Mike has great rap part.

    Guilty all the same: In my opinion this should not have been the lead single for the album. The highlight here though is Rakim's part. He nails it!

    The summoning: Interlude

    War: Awesome. Highlight of this track is Chester screaming WAR and the crazy guitar work by Brad. Didn't expect something like this from LP ever. This one is a surprise which people will enjoy.

    Wastelands: Another great interplay between Mike and Chester. The song has a great hook.

    Until its gone: A radio friendly single. Softer compared to other songs on this record.

    Rebellion: featuring Daron from System of down this song has definitely has that vibe of SOD. Crazy guitar work and chester screaming "rebellion" is the highlight.

    Mark the graves: Very strong track lyrically. too many things happening in this one. LP have surely put in a lot of effort in making this song what it is. worth that effort. a deeply layered rock song.

    Drawbar: A lovely piece. But in my opinion they could have done a lot with a song which has Tom Morello in it.

    Final Masquerade: A softer track. Very well sung by Chester. Approaches the end of the album very smoothly.

    A line in the sand: First listen of this song and i thought the guitar was same as Guilty all the same. After listening to it quite a few times I realized that was done for a purpose of call back to the album and only it feels justified. The album ends on a high.

    LP have not only gone back to their rock roots but also have gone a step further. This is definitely the best rock record in this decade(2010-). And hopefully would bring back rock music back to mainstream.
    Expand
  17. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    I was pleasantly surprised that Linkin Park was able to return to their heavier rock roots. This album stands along with Hybrid Theory and just behind Meteora, easily surpassing A Thousand Suns, Living Things, and Minutes to Midnight.
  18. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    Clearly still the best band in the genre they created, LP tears it up with their sixth album. It's loud, it's complex, it's raw, and most of all it's LP.
  19. Jun 17, 2014
    8
    Linkin Park is back! After a fairly bland effort with Living Things LP have managed to return to their hard rock/alternative metal roots and come out with a great album. Although not perfect, Until It's Gone being a bit cliche and too radio friendly while Tom Morrello's contribution was a bit underwhelming, it is still a very enjoyable album and has gotten me excited about Linkin Park again.
  20. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, I've been following Linkin Park since Minutes to Midnight but I have all their albums and each one has had its unique style: Hybrid Theory was the wild rap and metal one that set the base; Meteora added some more electronic sounds to the previous sound and slowed paced versions around a similar beat in all songs; Minutes to Midnight was at the same time rawer and more mature than the previous two; A Thousand Suns deepened on the social messages of the previous album with very distinctive beats and theme; Living Things was a mix of electronic sounds and rockier ones in a nice way but not the most cohesive.
    I like them all but clearly for me the standouts have been Hybrid Theory and A Thousand Suns, followed by Minutes to Midnight, an album that didn't sound at the first listens but gets better once you hear it.

    So we got this new one, "The Hunting Party" which was promised to be heavier and a rock comeback.
    My first listen left me positively surprised and pleased about this comeback at equal parts ^^.

    1. Keys To The Kingdom is a punch-in-the-face intro to what's to come in this album, Chester distorted voice slams you before a succession of epic drumming and guitar sounds comes. A more relaxed verse and fast badass rhymes from Mike, along with the said before, make this the be(a)st first song of a Linkin Park album. 10/10

    2. All For Nothing has amazing guitar work and Mike verses adapt so well to the beat. The great collab is shown in the anthemic chorus of this song. 9'5/10

    3. Guilty All The Same is a well-chosen first single that shows how hard Linkin Park is going in this album, with amazing guitar solos, drumming, and the nice slowdown but deep collaboration of a legend. 10/10

    4. The Summoning acts as the calm before the storm, the opening before the War.

    5. War is short but intense, a war-themed punk song that "unleashes" Chester. I don't usually listen to punk rock but this hits so hard, there is that sense of war in the song. 10/10

    6. Wastelands has a slow but smooth rapping over a postwar scenario and a very nice beat; this song is like a little rest from the previous one, and the post-2-hooks part gets so epic. 9'5/10

    7. Until It's Gone is a little softer and like some Linkin Park's previous singles it has the few of the electronic sounds in the album, but also Chester screaming in a more "emo-like love song". However it fits well at this point of the album. 9/10

    8. Rebellion has definitely the touch of SOAD guitar collaborator and again that heavy revolutionary sound that songs like War have. 10/10

    9. Mark The Graves has a special mix between slow and calm lyrics and amazing hard guitar and drum parts and by the end it gets specially anthemic and hard. 10/10

    10. Drawbar is an unexpected pause with an unexpected guest that still does really well as an amazing, beautiful piano interlude. 9'5/10

    11. Final Masquerade makes it feel that the end of the album is near with a very emotive sound and almost poetic lyrics that lead into a heavier, anthemic and full of feelings chorus. 10/10

    12. A Line In The Sand seems similar to Mark The Graves but is even more layered and perfect as the ending track. Relaxing verses lead to the most unexpected epic combinations of drums and guitars and a heavy chorus. As epic as unexpected. At the moment it ends it returns to the perfect slow ending of a great CD. 10/10 for me.

    So for me, this album is all in all: A great advance in Linkin Park and a cohesive but unexpected and thrilling mix of rock styles that show a big development in all sides of the band: Drums, Guitars, Rap and Choruses. It's not a Hybrid Theory (its songs were also epic but more of the same type/genre) and has little in common with Meteora, and although it shares some of the Minutes to Midnight rawness it isn't so similar.
    Linkin Park have gone on to a hard and fresh path which i really like. Another LP CD that is different to the others and that I love. 10/10 definitely.
    Expand
  21. Jun 18, 2014
    7
    This album is Linkin Park's heaviest. While most of the songs are good, none of them stand out. Despite that, the songs have powerful lyrics and vocals.
  22. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    I have been a LP fan for over a decade now, from the Hybrid Theory era and Im proud to say that this is their best album in terms of music and intensity since those early albums. LP seemed very eager to announce to the world that they are challenging rock music's decline of recent years, hoping to make the kind of Rock music that Is energetic and visceral. I was a bit skeptical on this andI have been a LP fan for over a decade now, from the Hybrid Theory era and Im proud to say that this is their best album in terms of music and intensity since those early albums. LP seemed very eager to announce to the world that they are challenging rock music's decline of recent years, hoping to make the kind of Rock music that Is energetic and visceral. I was a bit skeptical on this and was wondering to what extent they would be achieving this. But amazingly they have. Once I listened to the full album on iTunes I was awe struck by the musical power it presented. The riffs, the drumming, the solos, the vocals every little thing blends together to create a rock musical extravaganza.

    Its, heavy and wild at times, especially tracks like War and Rebellion. The guest appearances merge in to the band seamlessly creating a great sound. My fav tracks from the album are obviously not the radio friendly tunes that LP have envisaged but tracks which push their usual boundaries. Such as Mark the Graves and A line in the sand. The latter is a epic song which features a heavy metal vibe although it may seem its another genre of rock all together.
    Lyrically, LP have progressed immensely. Content wise, Final Masquerade, The line in the sand, Rebellion sand out. Although there are some weak elements to it such as Until its gone.
    On a negative note, Tom Morello's appearance on the album is half hearted which I was very disappointed in, specially cos he is one of the greatest guitarist of the modern age. The snippets in between songs could have been avoided.

    All in all, a great album. One of the best Rock records of the year.
    Expand
  23. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    Awesome album, different, but very heavy! Every song brings in something different but I'd say my fav are - final masquerade, a line in the sand, guilty all the same, all for nothing & of course keys to the kingdom. No weak songs just two instrumentals that help slow the album down because of it's high energy. Overall a class come back especially when the last 3 albums were a bit low inAwesome album, different, but very heavy! Every song brings in something different but I'd say my fav are - final masquerade, a line in the sand, guilty all the same, all for nothing & of course keys to the kingdom. No weak songs just two instrumentals that help slow the album down because of it's high energy. Overall a class come back especially when the last 3 albums were a bit low in standard. This should have been linkin park's third album ! Welcome back LP Expand
  24. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    Linkin park always try to make the best music and this album symbolizes their hard word and effort. The hunting party totally deserves 10/10. This guitar-driven album will be one of the best rock album of 2014. Chester's voice sounds like his very first days of Hybrid theory
  25. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    Just when we thought we knew where Linkin Park's style was heading, they pulled the rug out from under us with this incredible, heavy, old style Linkin Park album. In fact, in terms of stylistic progression, not only does this album not sit behind Living Things, it actually seems to fit in front of Hybrid Theory; Mike Shinoda even referred to The Hunting Party as Hybrid Theory's "prequel."Just when we thought we knew where Linkin Park's style was heading, they pulled the rug out from under us with this incredible, heavy, old style Linkin Park album. In fact, in terms of stylistic progression, not only does this album not sit behind Living Things, it actually seems to fit in front of Hybrid Theory; Mike Shinoda even referred to The Hunting Party as Hybrid Theory's "prequel."
    When Mike first said Linkin Park's sixth album would be dropping the new style, I was a bit disappointed; Living Things had been (and still is) my favorite Linkin Park work. But this hard rock album is refreshing—exactly what the genre needed. The Hunting Party is truly a work of art, and will sit nicely with the rest of Linkin Park's outstanding albums on my shelf.
    Expand
  26. Jun 24, 2014
    2
    Unfinished and lo-fi, Linkin Park ditch long time collaborator to produce a jarring and unfocused record with few standout tracks. Guests like Tom Morello are wasted on pointless interludes as the tracks blend into a long, noisy jam session. A surprisingly lazy effort from musicians brimming with creativity and a willingness to innovate.
  27. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    I Loved The hunting Party, Its so good, A fresh music, Lot better than A thousand Suns. The are Back!!!!!!!! loved the album, i watched them in Rock in Rio and i just Love it.... mY favorite Band
  28. Jun 17, 2014
    9
    linkin park show that can make new-metal or alternative, again. music's like Keys To The Kingdom,Guilty all The Same,War,Wastelands and Rebelion travel you to a fast and metal music ,the music's until it's gone,and final masquerde its a good stop in the album,but ,drawbar it's the most deception of the album the bad utilization of Tom Morello is frustrating
    The Best Musics is:
    Keys To
    linkin park show that can make new-metal or alternative, again. music's like Keys To The Kingdom,Guilty all The Same,War,Wastelands and Rebelion travel you to a fast and metal music ,the music's until it's gone,and final masquerde its a good stop in the album,but ,drawbar it's the most deception of the album the bad utilization of Tom Morello is frustrating
    The Best Musics is:
    Keys To The Kingdom
    Rebellion
    Until it's Gone
    Wastelands
    Guilty All The Same
    Expand
  29. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    Awesome sound, awesome band, awesome outcome. Good job Linkin Park it is a pride to be a fan through thick and thin. This is a very inspiring album with a lot of great songs and you can truly hear the Linkin Park-genre.
  30. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    The critics are wrong, and they have always been about Linkin Park. Thankfully they give JACK about them. THP can sound needlessly heavy at times but its a refreshing blend nonetheless. The candy sweet choruses are there (who doesn't like them? Everyone except album reviewers!). This is the same group of pretentious bigots who let a GREAT album like A Thousand Suns slip by without givingThe critics are wrong, and they have always been about Linkin Park. Thankfully they give JACK about them. THP can sound needlessly heavy at times but its a refreshing blend nonetheless. The candy sweet choruses are there (who doesn't like them? Everyone except album reviewers!). This is the same group of pretentious bigots who let a GREAT album like A Thousand Suns slip by without giving it due respect. They changed gears again to make super-melodic Living Things and that was thrashed too. I am approaching 40 and I don't find anything shallow about LP. Their lyrics haven't been great (and aren't now) but Shinoda's rapping has always been, and their themes are certainly not about teenage angst for YEARS. The Hunting PArty is another feather in LP's cap and I urge all the fans to listen to the music rather than read the reviews. On a side note: see the disparity between critics' reviews of LP albums and the user scores. That is all the information any LP fan needs. Expand
  31. Jun 17, 2014
    8
    Even though I was never a Linkin Park fan I must admit this record is great. It's a delight from start to finish. The album also features 4 all-star musicians: Page Hamilton (Helmet) who sings and plays the guitar on "All for Nothing", Daron Malakian (System of a Down) who plays the guitar on "Rebellion" , Tom Morello (Rage Against the Machine) who plays the guitar on "Drawbar" andEven though I was never a Linkin Park fan I must admit this record is great. It's a delight from start to finish. The album also features 4 all-star musicians: Page Hamilton (Helmet) who sings and plays the guitar on "All for Nothing", Daron Malakian (System of a Down) who plays the guitar on "Rebellion" , Tom Morello (Rage Against the Machine) who plays the guitar on "Drawbar" and Rakim (Eric B. & Rakim) who sings on "Guilty All the Same".

    Favorite track: War
    Least favorite track: Drawbar
    Expand
  32. Jun 17, 2014
    8
    Every Linkin Park album can clearly be paired up with another one of their albums. Meteora is frequently said to be a continuation of Hybrid Theory, and Living Things and A Thousand Suns go well together. That just leaves Minutes to Midnight, and after seven years it finally has found its other half in The Hunting Party. Leaving behind the electronic ultra pop sound of their last twoEvery Linkin Park album can clearly be paired up with another one of their albums. Meteora is frequently said to be a continuation of Hybrid Theory, and Living Things and A Thousand Suns go well together. That just leaves Minutes to Midnight, and after seven years it finally has found its other half in The Hunting Party. Leaving behind the electronic ultra pop sound of their last two albums The Hunting Party brings back the instrumental heavy sound of Minutes to Midnight with a little extra angst sprinkled on top. The result is a loud and visceral, (if at times a little too much) return to form for the the band. Who have delivered there best effort in over ten years. Expand
  33. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    This is the album that Linkin Park make inspired in the bands who inspired form Linkin Park, its the Prequel of Hybrid Theory, If you play one song in a rock radio of an current rock band and then you play a song from this album the people will say "Wow!! This is real rock!!" is worse say that the current indie-pop is radio rock
  34. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    The album is mixed with energy and a attempt to give rock lovers a record that gives you a force whenever you play it.
    LP changed their direction, evolved and delivered a record that kicks the **** out of EDM turned alternative and rock band in this modern era.
    That's why they are the best and will be always. They love their fans and make records what they love.
  35. Jun 23, 2014
    7
    With the air still stinking from the lackluster teeny bopper production on Living Things, Linkin Park pull out a well above average rock album which takes cues from a host sub-genres the band haven't touched before.

    Although the band have replaced their sound palette with something anti-radio for the most part, the lyrics can pander a little too much to the masses at times "You don't
    With the air still stinking from the lackluster teeny bopper production on Living Things, Linkin Park pull out a well above average rock album which takes cues from a host sub-genres the band haven't touched before.

    Although the band have replaced their sound palette with something anti-radio for the most part, the lyrics can pander a little too much to the masses at times "You don't know what you've got! No you don't know what you've got! Until It's Gone.." but Mike Shinoda's rapping had improved significantly over their last release.

    Guilty All The Same, Rebellion and A Line In The Sand are all welcome additions to the band's discography, but it's a shame that the album couldn't be longer.
    Expand
  36. Jul 12, 2014
    7
    Linkin Parks new album is a return to the harder side of music that they did early on. personally i think the album is good and has alot of great heavy guitar and drum beats to it. the song writing is good as usual from LP. the only thing i found disappointing was i wish the vocals were just a little better and the choruses were better done but overall im pleased with the album that throwsLinkin Parks new album is a return to the harder side of music that they did early on. personally i think the album is good and has alot of great heavy guitar and drum beats to it. the song writing is good as usual from LP. the only thing i found disappointing was i wish the vocals were just a little better and the choruses were better done but overall im pleased with the album that throws down some sick beats. Expand
  37. Sep 3, 2014
    3
    I don't really see what is so great about this album. I was interested when I heard Linkin Park was aiming for a heavy sound with the Hunting Party but when I listened to the album there were very few songs that I liked. Not only did I hear many songs that weren't any good but there really isn't any song that stands out as a hit single either which is odd because Linkin Park is aI don't really see what is so great about this album. I was interested when I heard Linkin Park was aiming for a heavy sound with the Hunting Party but when I listened to the album there were very few songs that I liked. Not only did I hear many songs that weren't any good but there really isn't any song that stands out as a hit single either which is odd because Linkin Park is a mainstream band. I highlight Final Masquerade and A Line In The Sand. The rest is sub par to me. Expand
  38. Sep 10, 2014
    6
    A far superior record compared to the forgettable, made for radio Rick Rubin Trilogy of albums. Linkin Park's The Hunting Party is the best LP record since Meteora. The band certainly went in the right direction but poor execution and mediocre lyrics prevent this album from being a master piece. Mike Shinoda boasted about how "carnivorous", "heavy", "hard hitting", and "aggressive" thisA far superior record compared to the forgettable, made for radio Rick Rubin Trilogy of albums. Linkin Park's The Hunting Party is the best LP record since Meteora. The band certainly went in the right direction but poor execution and mediocre lyrics prevent this album from being a master piece. Mike Shinoda boasted about how "carnivorous", "heavy", "hard hitting", and "aggressive" this album would be. However The Hunting Party falls short of Mike's hype. It is a carnivorous album for a herbivorous audience. The Hunting Party lacks the heaviness and aggression of the first two albums. Mike's herbivorous pop style of singing ruined some of the best instrumentals Linkin Park has done to date. Mike can't sing. He should stick to what he is good at and just rap. LP already has a singer (Chester) and Mike's singing is unnecessary. This album sounds like the band was too afraid to go all the way with their new hardcore punk based sound and retained many of the pop elements of the Rubin trilogy. There are lots of boyband inspired poppy melodies and two soft radio rock songs (Until it's Gone & Final Masquerade). Chester's clean vocals are very boybandish like the Rubin trilogy. On HT & Meteora, Chester's sang in a slightly less laid back style and avoided sounding like a teen pop star. The instrumentals are great however the weak herbivorous vocals ruined this album. Expand
  39. Jun 18, 2014
    4
    Sorry for being blunt, but I think Linkin Park has just been phoning it in for the last two years. In this case, it seems like they weren't sure of what to do, because the style of the album is all over the place. The rhythm flow and Chester's vocals feel repetitive at this point, and the lyrics are either generic ("you don't know what you got until it's gone"), ironic (in "Guilty All TheSorry for being blunt, but I think Linkin Park has just been phoning it in for the last two years. In this case, it seems like they weren't sure of what to do, because the style of the album is all over the place. The rhythm flow and Chester's vocals feel repetitive at this point, and the lyrics are either generic ("you don't know what you got until it's gone"), ironic (in "Guilty All The Same" they criticize the system that made them millionaires in the first place), or just downright forgettable. The collaborations don't add anything special ("Drawbar" was a huge waste of Tom Morello), and feel more of an indulgence. Sure, it's better than most music these days, but The Hunting Party is disappointing for Linkin Park's standards. Expand
  40. Jun 17, 2014
    8
    Firstly for the guys who don't think its heavy remember that this band has a DJ and a Rapper.The Hunting Party is a album where it actually felt that "Linkin Park" was playing cause gone are the days where Mike and Chester overshadowed Rob,Dave and Brad(The Core of their Rock Sound),Rob was at his best since Meteora with his Rapid and Energetic Drumming Skills and as for Brad and Dave theyFirstly for the guys who don't think its heavy remember that this band has a DJ and a Rapper.The Hunting Party is a album where it actually felt that "Linkin Park" was playing cause gone are the days where Mike and Chester overshadowed Rob,Dave and Brad(The Core of their Rock Sound),Rob was at his best since Meteora with his Rapid and Energetic Drumming Skills and as for Brad and Dave they made sure that the Riffs were Sharp as Solid as this is their Best Performance of All Time.

    Another thing is this album has a subtle story to tell..Keys To The Kingdom is where the chorus is about the King of the Kingdom.He knows that because his poor handling towards the Kingdom the people of Kingdom are getting angry and there's gonna be no control over them and its no surprise to him and the Key to the Kingdom is the post he is at "KING" and well his Soldiers.While the people are getting pissed off here(Mike's first verse) but they still suppress it cause they "they aren't allowed to say certain things".In GATS they people can't hold it anymore and start voicing their opinion check Rakim's verse and after that the people and the Kingdom know that a "War" is about to start.Summoning is where all are summoned for "The Hunting Party" which is gonna take place."War" is where it all the Hunting begins.In "Wastelands" the situation about "War" is spoken because the people have "nothing left to lose".Moving On in UIG the people have lost some men in it and they realize that "they didn't know what they got Until its gone" that is a New Generation(baby) who will be orphans.In Rebellion with new Spirit for revenge the people again go after them after seeing the "blood and the broken" but even there "one by one they fall apart".Mark The Graves is where the War has Ended and the left ones remember the sacrifice "Lyrics-If we can't let go whenever, say goodbye,No trace of what remains,No stones to mark the graves"."Final Masquerade" is Chester's personal song rather than a story related song like how "Wake me up...." in American Idiot was.A Line in the sand is an after war scenario where they have taken control and remember the past.
    This Album does not have a Obvious Story going on like American Idiot but A Subtle one.This Album has A Song for every kind of LP Fan that is for HT & Meteora-All for Nothing,Wastelands.For MTM fans Final Masquerade and GATS.For ATS and LT fans Until its Gone.
    The Flaws of this album are The obvious Tom Morello featured Drawbar which is a good instrumental but still fails to harness the talent of featuring artist. .Another is the length of the songs,some songs seem too short because they would have been even better if they lasted long for ex."War".The editing makes them seem Cut for the Radio.They also could have sung in the Guitar/Drums section of Rebellion(Best way to get Daron singing) and Wastelands(For a Short Rap by Mike) as both used almost similar riffs with different drumbeats.
    The reason for 8/10 score(8.5 if this had a decimal system) is that this is a Rap Rock Band which is trying to bring change in the Rock Genre in the Times where Green Day are going Power Pop/Punk and same goes for other bands.I think they succeeded in it if not excelled.This album is a good step in the right direction for Linkin Park and we'll see later what follows through it
    Recommended:Keys To The Kingdom,All For Nothing,War,Final Masquerade and A Line In The Sand. Collapse
    Expand
  41. Sep 5, 2014
    0
    Worst. Linkin Park Album. Ever.

    This album doesn't sound anything like Linkin Park. At all. It sounds like the B-Side of some punk band that didn't make big in the 90's. It's horrible. The band stated that this album was a "Prequel" to Hybrid Theory, but it's not. Sounds like an attempt to bring back 90's punk rock. If you want a "Prequel" to Linkin' Park's album Hybrid Theory then
    Worst. Linkin Park Album. Ever.

    This album doesn't sound anything like Linkin Park. At all. It sounds like the B-Side of some punk band that didn't make big in the 90's. It's horrible. The band stated that this album was a "Prequel" to Hybrid Theory, but it's not. Sounds like an attempt to bring back 90's punk rock. If you want a "Prequel" to Linkin' Park's album Hybrid Theory then listen to the bands early works when they called themselves Hybrid Theory. Otherwise, don't bother buying this album unless your a punk rock fanatic.
    Expand
  42. Jun 20, 2014
    2
    This album sounds like a bad Rise Against album. This album is filled with ripped melodys and **** lyrics. Listen to their song "War" and the melody is nearly Identical to "True North" by Bad Religion, a band who toured with them earlier this year when the album was being produced. It's a lawsuit waiting to happen.
  43. Jun 17, 2014
    3
    From reading that it was 'heavy' and recommended for fans of their earlier albums "hybrid theory" and "meteora", I approached this album with skeptical optism but told meself to keep an open mind....

    At track 9 now, Mark the Graves. Perhaps this one could be a hit for the pop rock anthem lovers. I like time to breathe in music, and this has it.. Might be, SHOULD BE the single to
    From reading that it was 'heavy' and recommended for fans of their earlier albums "hybrid theory" and "meteora", I approached this album with skeptical optism but told meself to keep an open mind....

    At track 9 now, Mark the Graves. Perhaps this one could be a hit for the pop rock anthem lovers. I like time to breathe in music, and this has it.. Might be, SHOULD BE the single to release.

    The previous tracks 1-8 if i could sum it off bluntly, was cheesy. hard rifts yes, but along poppy melodic vocals... lame. apart from a familiar scream towards the end of Mark The Graves, Chester's singing loud throughout the album, but he's found a range thats not screaming out.. but rather whiny.. like a poof version of M Shadows (sorry).

    Some parts actually remind me of A7X!. Story telling vocals, worked so well with classic rock hits.. but just seems predictable, anthemy, and 1.2.3 beating of heads. Being a fan of bands like Tool, Deftones, .. even A7X... LP is more related to imagine dragons than any of the aforementioned...

    2:00 into track 12... Line in the Sand, one of the better tracks so far.

    conclusion? Track 9 & 12 not bad. Rest: Not my thing.
    Expand
  44. Oct 20, 2014
    5
    Not terrible, but as a long time Linkin Park fan, I find it to be pretty disappointing. I liked A Thousand Suns and Living Things, and I know I'm in a minority on that, but at least they felt honest. This album feels like the guys were so worried about people not liking the last two albums they decided to go create a generic punk album, but that's not really what they ever were. "UntilNot terrible, but as a long time Linkin Park fan, I find it to be pretty disappointing. I liked A Thousand Suns and Living Things, and I know I'm in a minority on that, but at least they felt honest. This album feels like the guys were so worried about people not liking the last two albums they decided to go create a generic punk album, but that's not really what they ever were. "Until It's Gone" is definitely the anthem for this album, but probably not in the way its meant to be seen. Expand
  45. Feb 25, 2016
    6
    I've noticed a new trend where bands adopt some sort of anti-government pseudo intellectualism in a desperate attempt to stay relevant. It seems to be the case "when in doubt, go anti-establishment." This might have actually worked had Linkin Park actually come up with a clear message that sounded less like a teenager complaining about having to pay bills.

    This album is so generic that
    I've noticed a new trend where bands adopt some sort of anti-government pseudo intellectualism in a desperate attempt to stay relevant. It seems to be the case "when in doubt, go anti-establishment." This might have actually worked had Linkin Park actually come up with a clear message that sounded less like a teenager complaining about having to pay bills.

    This album is so generic that it' can be pretty cringeworthy to listen to at times. For example, take the song "Until It's Gone" with the lyrics "You don't know what you've got, no you don't know what you've got until it's gone!" Ugh.

    The worst part is you know they are taking themselves 100% seriously as they record this.

    It's as if they lost all of their creative spark and threw something together that would get them repeated plays on radio stations.

    The one positive thing I can say is that it sounds like Mike Shinoda has stepped up his rap game considerably.

    They can do better than this. That's what makes this such a massive disappointment.
    Expand
  46. Nov 18, 2016
    0
    This record is just an utter mess. Lots of overlong horrible punk tunes with labored choruses by Chester, ripping-off one song from another (compare the choruses from GATS, Wastelands and ALITS) and even ripping-off a Rammstein tune (Final Masquerade) - all seasoned with "virtuoso" soloing by Brad. Worst Linlin Park's album by far. It proves enough that Linkin Park nowadays is much betterThis record is just an utter mess. Lots of overlong horrible punk tunes with labored choruses by Chester, ripping-off one song from another (compare the choruses from GATS, Wastelands and ALITS) and even ripping-off a Rammstein tune (Final Masquerade) - all seasoned with "virtuoso" soloing by Brad. Worst Linlin Park's album by far. It proves enough that Linkin Park nowadays is much better without guitars. Expand
  47. Jul 18, 2017
    6
    it was okay.....................................................................................................................................................
  48. Apr 23, 2015
    6
    The Hunting Party has Linkin Park searching for its inner punk. With a production approach that invokes the sound of underground punk/rock of the 90s, LP have certainly raised my interest level immensely to try out this newest album. "Keys to the Kingdom" and "All For Nothing" put a good foot forward for the album, which made me want to listen to it all. Unfortunately, cuts like "GuiltyThe Hunting Party has Linkin Park searching for its inner punk. With a production approach that invokes the sound of underground punk/rock of the 90s, LP have certainly raised my interest level immensely to try out this newest album. "Keys to the Kingdom" and "All For Nothing" put a good foot forward for the album, which made me want to listen to it all. Unfortunately, cuts like "Guilty All The Same", "War" and "Rebellion" fall more flat and seem too chaotic and under-thought to have meaning on the album. A lot of the hooks and clever use of electronic tools are in the backseat most of the time, a shame given how talented this band has become in their use of those tools over so many albums. It isn't until the back end of the album that I found the LP that I know and love. "Final Masquerade" and "A Line In The Sand" are more proper examples of how LP should have approached this album. All the blitzkrieg and rawness may have appeal to some, but the entire album doesn't flow with either approach, making it tough for fans of old LP or this punk-revival LP to embrace the entire album. Their previous collaboration with Steve Aoki and the fleeting touches of Mike Shinoda's hip-hop misled me as to what this album would be, and thus I'm a bit saddened and left wanting what could have been. With EDM being such a big sub-genre with material to pull from it would have been nice to see LP draw more from that than what ends up on THP. Expand
  49. Sep 24, 2015
    9
    Definitely not a return to their nu-metal roots, but a return to something even better. Simple hard rock that just destroys. Here we see Linkin Park in their natural habitat; but mind you - their experimentation in A Thousand Suns and Living Things are just as natural.
  50. Jan 25, 2016
    5
    A little disappointed I felt the album could have been much better like Living Things but it wasn't that it was a ok album but I wouldn't choose to listen to it over Living Things or Hybrid Theory.
  51. Nov 19, 2014
    7
    Often heavy handed but powerful nonetheless, Linkin Park's The Hunting Party oozes with energy and strong riffs despite some songs being inconsistent in quality.
  52. Dec 3, 2014
    6
    Although it's great to see Linkin Park return to the heavier rock but I honestly enjoyed Living Things more, none of the songs really stick out other than Until it's Gone. But Final Masquerade shows us why Linkin Park was one of the greatest bands of the 2000s. For those reasons I'm giving this album a positive review.
  53. Dec 15, 2016
    9
    This album is a major improvement over Linkin Park previous album, Living Things, which although i like it, it feels lousy sometimes. However, this album, is better than Meteora although Hybrid Theory is still better in my opinion. This album fix some Linkin Park song problems, add more catchy feel to their song, and more tension.
  54. May 30, 2016
    7
    The Hunting Party showcases Linkin Park at their heaviest since Minutes to Midnight, but it's by no means a return to their Hybrid Theory-era sound; the band are far from abandoning the electronics heard on the previous two releases and are still exploring their musical capabilities and trying to expand upon their palette as opposed to restricting themselves to a tried and tested formulaThe Hunting Party showcases Linkin Park at their heaviest since Minutes to Midnight, but it's by no means a return to their Hybrid Theory-era sound; the band are far from abandoning the electronics heard on the previous two releases and are still exploring their musical capabilities and trying to expand upon their palette as opposed to restricting themselves to a tried and tested formula just to appease fans, which is to be respected. Expand
  55. Apr 19, 2016
    9
    While some of the vocals SOUND a bit weak in some areas, overall the album is an explosion of force with heavy riffs, fast beats, and a frenetic energy that is guaranteed to rock the boat.
  56. May 19, 2016
    9
    the sound is raw. it's slightly reminiscent of the old sound of linkin park with a twist of a sort of rage. I LOVE IT. Mike's raps are on point. Chester brings his amazing voice as usual and the entire album in my eyes was a success. one of the only bands from the early 2000s able to hold themselves in the NU-metal genre.
  57. Jan 3, 2017
    5
    Some songs, like Until it's gone, Final Masquerade, Wasteland, Mark the graves, Keys to the Kingdom, or Drawbar are good or ok, but the other songs are pretty bad, some of them doesn't sound like everything great that they made in their early years, despite the band saying that they would return to the heavier sound of their debut.. At worst, two or three songs have almost the same chorus,Some songs, like Until it's gone, Final Masquerade, Wasteland, Mark the graves, Keys to the Kingdom, or Drawbar are good or ok, but the other songs are pretty bad, some of them doesn't sound like everything great that they made in their early years, despite the band saying that they would return to the heavier sound of their debut.. At worst, two or three songs have almost the same chorus, or aren't structured enough. Well, I think it's better than Living Things or Recharged, but doesn't measure at all to the quality of their first two albums. Expand
  58. Feb 22, 2018
    8
    This is a great album. It goes back to the band's roots to an extent by being rock/nu-metal while also still sounding like modern Linkin Park due to their evolution over time. It also includes multiple guest singers and artists that add a lot to the songs their in.
  59. Feb 27, 2018
    9
    Score = % of liked (+) songs = 11/12 = 91.67%

    1 Keys To The Kingdom +
    2 All For Nothing +
    3 Guilty All The Same +
    4 The Summoning [instrumental] - (filler)
    5 War +
    6 Wastelands +
    7 Until It's Gone +
    8 Rebellion +
    9 Mark The Graves +
    10 Drawbar [instrumental] +
    11 Final Masquerade +
    12 A Line In The Sand +
  60. May 20, 2017
    9
    What a fantastic album, Linkin Park simply made one of the greatest "alternative metal" album of the last five years, a great comeback from their worst album ever, Living Things.
    Songs like Keys To The Kingdom, All For Nothing, War, Rebellion and A Line In The Sand made people understand the huge potential of this band, nice one guys!
  61. May 26, 2017
    10
    Awesome, and at the same time, a very underrated album. Maybe it was released in the wrong time, but we have some of the best Linkin Park songs, featuring all the styles the band are used to create. "A Line in the Sand" is a truly masterpiece
  62. Mar 10, 2018
    10
    Linkin Park's best album. Has so many fantastic tracks including All for Nothing, A Line in the Sand, Rebellion, War, Until It's Gone and pretty much the rest of the album. Do not skip this release, it is definitely worth checking out and giving a fair chance.
  63. Jun 4, 2018
    7
    .Mr. Chester proves he can even scream. This album will go quite well, but it seems to have slower start
  64. Jul 25, 2018
    8
    Linkin Park is back! It's not a 'full on' comeback, but it's definitely better than their 3 previous albums combined! We get a little rock, a little nu-metal here and there, this album is full of energy! Tracks like Rebellion, War, Keys To The Kingdom, Mark The Graves and A Line In The Sand are what LP should be always about! I'm not a fan of all the tracks here though... I think the albumLinkin Park is back! It's not a 'full on' comeback, but it's definitely better than their 3 previous albums combined! We get a little rock, a little nu-metal here and there, this album is full of energy! Tracks like Rebellion, War, Keys To The Kingdom, Mark The Graves and A Line In The Sand are what LP should be always about! I'm not a fan of all the tracks here though... I think the album would be better if they had removed Final Masquerade and the pointless The Summoning. The rest is great! Pick this up if you haven't heard it yet. Pickens approves! Expand
  65. Sep 16, 2018
    10
    Omg this album is amazing. What better way to start the album than keys to the kingdom. This album packs a punch with its raw guitars, vocals, drums and lyrics. The best LP album In my opinion.

    Favourite tracks: Keys to the kingdom, all for nothing, guilty all the same, Until it's gone, drawbar, a line in the sand

    Least: The summoning
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Classic Rock Magazine
    Dec 18, 2014
    60
    Straining a little too hard for intellectual depth and emotional intensity, The Hunting Party is ultimately let down by its lack of focus and poor quality control. [Summer 2014, p.93]
  2. Q Magazine
    Jul 2, 2014
    80
    Excitingly, War's chaotic punk and the frantic Guilty All The Same are as raw as they've ever been, but The Hunting Party is the sound of Linkin Park coming in from the cold. [Aug 2014, p.109]
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    50
    All in all, The Hunting Party is a solid record on its own, but it feels too repetitive, uninspired, and generic to equal its immediate predecessors.