User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    Here they come again. They've put together the best of Junior and the best of Senior in one Double-Album. They even have collaborations with Robyn, Susanne Sundfor and other incredible people who add a great "touch" to their music. I couldn't be more satisfied with T.I.E.
  2. Jan 25, 2015
    10
    Royksopp have released their best album yet, it's almost fitting that this is their grand finale of the album format. The album itself has at least 7 instant favorites, with Sordid Affair being my personal spotlight.

    T.I.E is nowhere near perfect, but regardless, in my opinion this album does warrant a 10. At first, I really didn't enjoy the album but after about the 4th replay, I
    Royksopp have released their best album yet, it's almost fitting that this is their grand finale of the album format. The album itself has at least 7 instant favorites, with Sordid Affair being my personal spotlight.

    T.I.E is nowhere near perfect, but regardless, in my opinion this album does warrant a 10. At first, I really didn't enjoy the album but after about the 4th replay, I really started to embrace most of the songs for what they really are: a bittersweet lullaby.

    If you've listened to previous Royksopp albums in the past and liked them, I highly recommend listening to The Inevitable End.
    Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    Their last album might also be their best. "Skulls", "Monument", "Sordid Affair", "I Had This Thing" and "Thank You" are the standouts for me. Definitely recommended.

    Ps: The Japanese bonus track "I Just Don't Understand You" is also amazing. Try to get that too.
  4. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    Three or four good tracks, and the rest is mild ambient, bland pop and very repetitive. Just buy Skulls, Monument, Rong another of whatever preference you have, and leave the filler alone.
  5. Mar 18, 2015
    10
    The Inevitable End epitomizes the best of the electronic music genre and shows Röyksopp at their songwriting peak. As the title alludes, this is ostensibly their last studio album which would be a sad thing if true. It is a cohesive unit that begs to be heard end to end, not as a collection of individual tracks, which is a rare thing in today's single driven pop music scene.

    Röyksopp
    The Inevitable End epitomizes the best of the electronic music genre and shows Röyksopp at their songwriting peak. As the title alludes, this is ostensibly their last studio album which would be a sad thing if true. It is a cohesive unit that begs to be heard end to end, not as a collection of individual tracks, which is a rare thing in today's single driven pop music scene.

    Röyksopp has always been adept at seamlessly integrating guest vocalists into their music, all while maintaining their identity and cohesiveness as a group and this album shows that skill off well. The Robyn fronted tracks are great, especially the updated version of Monument, which has a much more hard driving edge than the original which appeared on Do It Again. Save Me featuring Susanne Sundfør is a tightly produced, emotionally charged piece that harkens back to Junior.

    Sordid Affair featuring Man Without Country has a great story to tell with a a richly textured backdrop of pads and a driving rhythm. I Had This Thing Here and She Comes Again featuring Jamie McDermott are further examples of guest artists showcasing a unique lyrical and vocal style while conforming to the overall theme of an album, for which Röyksopp is renowned.

    The Inevitable End is a well crafted long player - let's hope it isn't really their last!
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Q Magazine
    Dec 8, 2014
    80
    It tails off slightly with too much frosted minor chord melancholy and some monochrome male vocalists, but there's nothing to suggest creative exhaustion. [Jan 2015, p.129]
  2. Uncut
    Dec 4, 2014
    80
    The Inevitable End is a bittersweet triumph. [Jan 2015, p.76]
  3. Dec 1, 2014
    60
    Even though the songs are full of warm analog synths, a strong sense of cold melancholy and anxiety permeates even the most upbeat electro-pop moments.