• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 19, 2002
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. rianna
    Oct 4, 2003
    10
    i love ja-rule!!! he iz my baby boy. my whole room iz filled wit posterz of juss him. he is the best. 50 iz juss jealous. 50 needz to keep hiz mouth closed b4 he getz wut he deserves.
  2. jeanb
    Dec 22, 2002
    10
    it's a rough album with a sense of feminine touch
  3. JoeM
    Jun 5, 2004
    9
    Yo dis' album is incredibe, I can't understand how most of the songs on the album were not hits. I mean Emerica, Rockstar, The Warning, all good.
  4. RobF
    Dec 23, 2002
    9
    this is ja rule's best album so far, it may be short but every track is great.
  5. Kyndasha
    Feb 25, 2003
    10
    All I gotz to say iz that I love JA Rule and that this album is off da hook, I love it!!!
  6. CourtneyS
    Dec 25, 2002
    9
    this is the best cd ja rule has ever released. I love the feeling and truth in this cd. ja rule kicks ass. Its MURDA
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. The tough stuff works. But Temptation is really tempting when Rule drops all pretense of authenticity and lets the good vibes flow on the bouncy "Mesmerize," silky sex-jam "Murder Me" and the horn-infused title track.
  2. Uncut
    40
    What a treat to discover another album that samples Toto's "Africa." [Feb 2003, p.75]
  3. Q Magazine
    60
    Initially arresting, after a while it gets claustrophobic, leaving the listener punch-drunk and weary. [Jan 2003, p.111]