• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Dec 2, 2014
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 3 out of 24
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 3, 2014
    10
    Tell me one reason not to love this album; among all these pop stupid records, there is still a star who can produce music of quality.
    This is her best since Breakthrough, congratulations to her.
    Really beautigul.
  2. Dec 2, 2014
    8
    This is a great album! Mary J. Blige did a great job with major producers and producers who are up in the UK. Really surprised me and got me hooked. Simply captivating and beautiful.

    Favorites tracks: "Not Loving You", "Whole Damn Year" & "Nothing But You".
  3. Dec 28, 2014
    0
    I apologise for those that like this album but it's just churned out trash. It's insta-pop like this that the record labels will keep heaping upon the masses who will only too eagerly buy them because they are considered "cool". Avoid!
  4. May 18, 2018
    10
    Just a beautiful album full of new sounds and emotions poured into it. She brought my soulful house music to R&B back.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mojo
    Dec 17, 2014
    80
    While The London Sessions takes her in fresh new directions, Blige's own identity remains the dominant flavour. [Jan 2015, p.98]
  2. 70
    Blige’s enthusiasm is most powerful on Follow.
  3. Dec 9, 2014
    70
    It’s a seamless and occasionally thrilling listen that establishes a fact many could have predicted: Blige’s throaty vocals, as passionate and emotional as ever, are an ideal fit for house music. Nonetheless the album doesn’t exactly play out how you might expect.