User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 128
  2. Negative: 60 out of 128

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    6
    The band had some catchy tracks like "Someday" and "Figure You Out" enhanced the album's quality, although many of the other tracks were mediocre.
  2. DerekR
    Jan 10, 2007
    3
    From "If Everyone Cared": "If everyone cared and nobody cried If everyone loved and nobody lied If everyone shared and swallowed their pride We'd see the day when nobody died " Anyone who manges to rhyme "cried", "lied", "pride", and "died" right in a row in a crap chorus like that should be banned from ever making music again. Makes me want to vomit.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    This is great, old school Nickelback, before it became popular to hate them. The tracks are fast and ferocious, and the ballads are heartfelt and memorable and original compared to their earlier work. A start-to-finish enjoyable album.
  4. KerryH
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    This CD is just fantastic! I love every song on it, then again, I love every Nickelback song. Which album is peoples favourites? I want opinions...Have an ongoing disscussion with a mate about the best CD...Would love your opinions on it. K xx
  5. Kult
    Mar 26, 2007
    1
    It's just not good music. I hate it, actually. It's so bad. It says a lot when a band can sell millions of records with an album that says absolutely nothing.
  6. Mar 20, 2016
    10
    I not going to lie to you. The album is flawed, in fact there really is no reason to give this album a 10 out of 10. It is probably a 8 or 9 out of 10 at best. So you are probably wondering why I have broken the sacred rating system. It is the practice of fiends to lie about how you rate something for sensationalism or to entice interest in the subject. People who do this are the peopleI not going to lie to you. The album is flawed, in fact there really is no reason to give this album a 10 out of 10. It is probably a 8 or 9 out of 10 at best. So you are probably wondering why I have broken the sacred rating system. It is the practice of fiends to lie about how you rate something for sensationalism or to entice interest in the subject. People who do this are the people who are ruining rating systems and criticism. I promise you I won't Do This Anymore. Believe It Or Not I actually really dislike Nickelback and think there music has fell Flat On The Floor after this album. This is precisely why doing what I'm doing. My rating does not matter in this case because there are millions of people who hate Nickelback because they are Nickelback and will give this album a 0 out of 10 for this reason. I can't even really blame anyone who does this. Feelin' Way Too Damn Good and Someday give me headaches every time I hear them, but at the time of the album's release this was not the case. Expand
  7. LillyR
    Dec 10, 2005
    10
    Simply awesome! From the beautiful ballad of Someday to the rock anthem of See you at the Show, Nickback delivered another fantastic album! If you like Silver Side Up, then The long Road is a must have!
  8. JohnB
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    I don't know what all these "0"s are listening to. Maybe they just don't like Rock. This is just good old fashioned Rock & Roll. It's great to listen to and they certainly put on a fantastic show live. What can I say. Nickelback Rocks!!!!!
  9. dannyb
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    it is posibly there best album yet and i love it so much and it will be there best. they work very hard to do this
  10. JamesS
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    This is the best album I have bought this year. I have to disagree with most of the critics when they say that this is a refurbished copy of their last album. I liked the last album, but it doesn't even come close to this cd. I recommend this cd to anyone who likes good hard rock.
  11. Brian
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    I agree with James S! Great follow up much heavier and deeper than the last...Critics in music blow!
  12. cassandras
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    i loved this cd it was the best out of all my cd's
  13. AdamL
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    Nickelback is the best hard rock band today... i can understand not liking their music... but u have to respect them.
  14. EricS
    Aug 2, 2004
    10
    Great follow up to Nickelbacks first great CD. A must buy for all fans of post-grunge hard rock.
  15. EJArmbruster
    Oct 4, 2005
    4
    This album has a few decent songs but it has all been done by the band before and their music isn't growing at all.
  16. MatiasC
    May 20, 2005
    10
    The long road is one of the best rock albums, sound is perfect!!!
  17. SamuelT
    Aug 22, 2005
    10
    Simply the best rock album i've come across. Chad Kroeger continues to shine with his unique vocals. Combined with the neat guitar riffs and drum beats (not to mention the original lyrics), the band has upped a level.
  18. AshleyM
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    The best of the best.
  19. travist
    Apr 12, 2006
    8
    I think this is an all around good album i like all the songs on it so i think it derservs a 8
  20. GregA
    Apr 10, 2007
    0
    This is one of the worst albums of all time. Scratchy vocals that sound like they came from a robot, highly unoriginal guitar riffs and songwriting that stinks.
  21. LukeM.
    May 28, 2007
    0
    Hard rock you say? If you want hard rock listen to something good like Bullet For My Valentine. Thiese are wannabe hard rockers from another corporate funnel trying to tell society "this is what rock is" when there is such a low level of talent with Nickelback. People who REALLY know rock don't listen to Nickelback because they're terrible. Honestly, make the lead guitarist play Hard rock you say? If you want hard rock listen to something good like Bullet For My Valentine. Thiese are wannabe hard rockers from another corporate funnel trying to tell society "this is what rock is" when there is such a low level of talent with Nickelback. People who REALLY know rock don't listen to Nickelback because they're terrible. Honestly, make the lead guitarist play a "kick-ass" guitar solo that's so mind blowing because of how much technique he uses. That's just it, it won't happen. It's not like Dragonforce or Avenged Sevenfold where the guitarist can play practically anything. I could find a high school guitar player with the talent level of these guys. If this is hard rock, then I guess Green Day is now considered heavy metal. Expand
  22. SueS
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    Chad Kroeger is a prolific songwriter as demonstrated in the lyrics on the Long Road. Its my opinion Nickleback gets better with each album they release. They are fabulous live. Nickleback is straight up rock and roll!
  23. Ryan
    Nov 2, 2003
    0
    If you have bought this cd or are thinking about, please jump off of a bridge.
  24. RobinS
    Oct 16, 2003
    0
    This is album sucks cock so bad! Damn male-machismo, just go back to canada and DIE!
  25. gregp
    Oct 16, 2003
    8
    If you don't like this cd well for crying out loud you just don't like hard rock.
  26. sdfsdf
    Oct 21, 2003
    0
    Nickleback is awful. If you listen to this, you are probably a loser with awful taste in music.
  27. DirkDiggler
    Dec 9, 2003
    0
    What a bunch of losers! The only thing worse are losers who blare this outta their car stereo!
  28. TrickC
    Jan 18, 2004
    2
    If Chad Kroeger is prolific, what does that make Robert Pollard? "now the story's played out like this / just like a paperback novel" How appropriate (or is it ironic?). The only saving grace of this CD is the knack for hooks, but nevertheless they're all throwaway post-(post)-grunge trash with no shelf life; their only strength is sounding monstrous and heavy while filling the If Chad Kroeger is prolific, what does that make Robert Pollard? "now the story's played out like this / just like a paperback novel" How appropriate (or is it ironic?). The only saving grace of this CD is the knack for hooks, but nevertheless they're all throwaway post-(post)-grunge trash with no shelf life; their only strength is sounding monstrous and heavy while filling the room (taking it hostage) through the speakers. And to subject the Earth to such horrors is the ultimate evil. I'm beginning to suspect Chad Kroeger is so deceptive that although he lures mainstream audiences into proclaiming him the Messiah, he is actually the ANTICHRIST. Expand
  29. thomasm
    Jan 22, 2004
    10
    an who said they couldn't rock-- their best one yet-- 4 one thing chad krooger has one heck of a voice
  30. JamesY
    Apr 30, 2004
    0
    If you don't like Nickelback, then you obviously don't like bad music.
  31. oprahwinfrey
    Jul 2, 2004
    0
    it gets so annoying, chad kroegers voice drives me crazy, and every song is the same. its the most annoying cd ever!
  32. MV
    Mar 21, 2007
    8
    I love how Derek R managed to pan this album without mentioning a single thing about it. Absolutely beautiful. I believe 'All The Right Reasons' is the one you were looking for? As for me, I think this album is good. Good tunes, heavy riffs, a consistent style (a little repetitive though), and not nearly as mainstream as the follow-up. For Kerry H, in my opinion, Curb is their I love how Derek R managed to pan this album without mentioning a single thing about it. Absolutely beautiful. I believe 'All The Right Reasons' is the one you were looking for? As for me, I think this album is good. Good tunes, heavy riffs, a consistent style (a little repetitive though), and not nearly as mainstream as the follow-up. For Kerry H, in my opinion, Curb is their best by a mile- heavier, rawer, and simply more fun. Expand
  33. Jerk-
    Sep 14, 2007
    8
    I think Nickelback is the perfect target for whiney "musical experts" who are pissed off because what they think defines rock no one wants to listen to/cares about, so they take out their frustration built from years of musical failure on a band that doesn
  34. SeanT.
    Jan 17, 2008
    1
    A friend of mine bought me this cd at Christmas thinking that as I like Pearl Jam I might like this. It is probably the worst collection of songs I have had the displeasure of listening to. Its pure commercial by the numbers rubbish. A sad fact...for every American that has bought the most recent cds by Pearl Jam and Radiohead, eight (!) have bought this Nickelback crap.
  35. GeorgeC.
    Feb 7, 2008
    1
    Jerk... come on. Half a page of text to defend Nickelback? All you really have to do to judge this album, is to ask if anyone will remember it 10, 20, 30 years from now. I think it's safe to say... not a chance.
  36. Steveexploder
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    Awesome CD!!! i really like it and im looking foward to their next
  37. WhitdawggOwns
    Oct 12, 2003
    0
    Don't buy Nickelback
  38. gabbyl
    Apr 11, 2004
    10
    this cd is awesome and they perform so well on stage how can anyone not like it?!
  39. Beercan
    Sep 17, 2004
    2
    Moneyback.
  40. THISISAMAZING!
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    Wow Nickelback sure a geniuses! they're right up there on my list of best things ever along with diarrehea and strep throat! Nickelback delivers yet another stunning album!! or is this the same one as last time just with a different photoshop album cover and a few new track titles? Oh well who cares this Flipping rules. I love my life now!
  41. lucab
    Sep 19, 2005
    5
    BORING. After three (or at least two) good albums, they fall into a cliche, a soul-less repetition of themselves, even though they are always able to find 2-3 singles in their records.
  42. RobbinL
    Sep 29, 2005
    0
    So fellas you sold your souls to your record company. Here is how I think the conversation went down at Roadrunner headquarters..... Label- "Man, that 'How You Remind Me' Song sure helped us sell a lot of your records" Band- "Gee, we think you're right and it only took us a hour to write and record it." Label- "You know what you should do? Write an entire album of 'How So fellas you sold your souls to your record company. Here is how I think the conversation went down at Roadrunner headquarters..... Label- "Man, that 'How You Remind Me' Song sure helped us sell a lot of your records" Band- "Gee, we think you're right and it only took us a hour to write and record it." Label- "You know what you should do? Write an entire album of 'How You Remind Me's' and be as derivitive as possible, Okay." Band- "Done! Now get us our Viccadine and fur coats, Beeotches." Expand
  43. BryanG
    Jan 23, 2006
    0
    This is definetly Nickelback's best work yet - and it is pure shit. This album shows how untallented Chad Kroeger really is. He is lame, his songs are lame, and his band is lame. I really feel sorry for the people on here who like this kind of "music". Were you oxygen deprived in your formative years? Was your drinking water supply exposed to chemical waste? I can only assume brain This is definetly Nickelback's best work yet - and it is pure shit. This album shows how untallented Chad Kroeger really is. He is lame, his songs are lame, and his band is lame. I really feel sorry for the people on here who like this kind of "music". Were you oxygen deprived in your formative years? Was your drinking water supply exposed to chemical waste? I can only assume brain damage occured at some point. What other way can one explain liking Nickelback, My Chemical Romance, or Theory of a Deadman? Nickelback is sad and pathetic, and their fans are worse. Expand
  44. bethb
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    The Long Road is one of my favorite albums from Nickelback due to being fresh new ideas in the issues discussed, it focuses on teen issues. The album is easy to sing to in the car with catchy riffs. My two favorite songs are,
  45. shannonb
    Dec 16, 2003
    10
    awesome cd!!!!!!!!!!! best one yet.i listen to it every day.waiting for the next one.i love chad kroeger!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  46. JordanB
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    They aren't just bad, they're "funny bad." This is just as lame as their other lame albums. Nothing on this album is as funny as "Never Again" from their last crappy album, but everything is still as terrible. Just as bad as Creed, Staind, Chevelle and all of those other lame bands. Please don't buy this album, please don't promote terrible music. Save yourself the They aren't just bad, they're "funny bad." This is just as lame as their other lame albums. Nothing on this album is as funny as "Never Again" from their last crappy album, but everything is still as terrible. Just as bad as Creed, Staind, Chevelle and all of those other lame bands. Please don't buy this album, please don't promote terrible music. Save yourself the pain and shoot yourself in the foot instead. Expand
  47. SeanM
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Never Again, never, oh sorry I was singing some Nickelback. Well I have one thing to say about this incredible album, Freddy Kruger is the Dr. Suess of Rock and Roll.
  48. Nov 27, 2018
    10
    "Figured You Out" is one of my absolute favorite songs. Nickelback is such a great band, often imitated but never equalled. This album remains a classic to this day.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Q Magazine
    60
    None of their new album will be remembered in a few years' time. Yet, like most fast food, there's very little wrong with it right now. [Dec 2003, p.130]
  2. It offers a heaping helping of meat-and-potatoes rawk that never veers far from the sing-along template established by their hit ''How You Remind Me.''
  3. Nickelback can now afford a little more time in the studio and a little more time to indulge themselves, and they turn out the same record, only slicker, which only highlights just how oppressively and needlessly sullen this group is.