User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1301 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This album is just for real Eminem fans. If you compare to Marshall Mathers LP you wii say this is wack but is a very good album.
    Better album than Relapse and Recovery.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This is one of my best albums so far and you better RESPECT THAT! I'm back and here to stay, and hell on I'm not retiring after this. I'ma slapping anyone asking me that again.
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I have to admit I'd pretty much given up on Em after his last few albums, but this album really represents a return to form. Makes me realise how much I've missed 'good' music. When Eminem does it well he does it better than anybody in my opinion, and this is an incredibly strong record, with expert rhyming, brilliant production and lots of raw honesty and emotion, basically everythingI have to admit I'd pretty much given up on Em after his last few albums, but this album really represents a return to form. Makes me realise how much I've missed 'good' music. When Eminem does it well he does it better than anybody in my opinion, and this is an incredibly strong record, with expert rhyming, brilliant production and lots of raw honesty and emotion, basically everything that made Eminem big in the first place. Being such a huge fan of his so I'm delighted to say the least, This may be his strongest album so far and that's saying something. Christmas is here early! Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This is another level of awesome achieved by Eminem. He proves again why he is considered one of the best. Complex rhyme schemes, a bit more mature a bit more wiser. Listen to both concurrently and you'll see the difference but also the similar tones. He's still atop of his game here.
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Long time Eminem fan here. I was in the 10th grade when his 1st studio album dropped and I've been following him ever since. I have to admit that on my 1st playthrough of the album I was mildly disappointed because I wasn't expecting the album to sound so unique. Eminem is a "rappers rapper" on this album... he goes absolutely ballistic with his rhyme structures and use of syllables. ILong time Eminem fan here. I was in the 10th grade when his 1st studio album dropped and I've been following him ever since. I have to admit that on my 1st playthrough of the album I was mildly disappointed because I wasn't expecting the album to sound so unique. Eminem is a "rappers rapper" on this album... he goes absolutely ballistic with his rhyme structures and use of syllables. I know a lot of people won't like this album simply because of how different it is, but personally I love this album and feel like Eminem really did take it to the next level. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    great come back from Eminem,he's still on top of this rap game and this album is pure talent,happy to see him going back to the good old days..the album is a must buy..
  7. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Loved this album! Just superb! Bad Guy is amazing , Headlights is one of the best songs i've ever heard by Em. However , my favorite song from this album is Beautiful Pain. :D
  8. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Great album! I love how he can slow it down on some songs, and be intensely violent and ferocious on other. It is completely fair to give this one a 10/10. The real Slim Shady is back!
  9. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I can't believe he actually made an album as good as the original MMLP, but he sure did. From beginning to end Eminem once again takes you on an emotional journey from awe, laughter, sadness, excitement and elation. The true musical genius of our times.
  10. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    awesome album i've been listening to this track all day for last 2 days Eminem Rap God, i don't really follow the mainstream news so i was really surprised when i heard about his album, i don't think it will ever be as good as the 2000-2004 songs but for what we're getting this days in terms of music, this album is 20/10
  11. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP2 exceeded my expectations. It's a masterpiece that everyone should take the time to listen to. It's amazing how one album made me change emotions so quickly. Songs like "so much better" and "love game" made me laugh so hard, songs like "bad guy", "rap god" and survival" got me pumped up, and songs like "legacy" and "headlights" make me very emotional. No album (especially a rap album)MMLP2 exceeded my expectations. It's a masterpiece that everyone should take the time to listen to. It's amazing how one album made me change emotions so quickly. Songs like "so much better" and "love game" made me laugh so hard, songs like "bad guy", "rap god" and survival" got me pumped up, and songs like "legacy" and "headlights" make me very emotional. No album (especially a rap album) has been able to do that to me. Perfect 10/10 for me. Expand
  12. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Soo much nostalgia...this is a treat for those who grew up listening to eminem in the early 2000s when we were introduced to this white boys angry rhymes. There are a lot of references to his old hits heck some songs sound like the beats from his LP album...which were IMHO, eminems best. Great album!
  13. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem shows why he is regarded as one of the greatest rappers of all time in this absolutely jaw dropping album. It has a mix of classic hip hop and modern hip hop and rap. In this album the infamous slim shady makes a reappearance and tears down songs with Eminem in songs such as ''Evil Twin''. Eminem, also makes a lot of references to the prequel of this album MMLP1 in which he makes aEminem shows why he is regarded as one of the greatest rappers of all time in this absolutely jaw dropping album. It has a mix of classic hip hop and modern hip hop and rap. In this album the infamous slim shady makes a reappearance and tears down songs with Eminem in songs such as ''Evil Twin''. Eminem, also makes a lot of references to the prequel of this album MMLP1 in which he makes a sequel to the famous song ''Stan'', called Bad Guy in this album, where he raps as Mathew Mitchells who was Stan's little brother in the song Stan, the final verse is one of the greatest verses in modern day rapping. Eminem shows he's genius in this album and when the curtain truly calls the music industry will miss this legend. Expand
  14. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    absolutly highclass, awesome lyrics, very deep, top3 Eminem Records

    im a fan since Marshall Mathers LP 1 and this record is on par with MMlp1 and The Eminem Show
  15. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece! Eminem at his best I just can't stop listening to it. Every song is awesome in its own way my favorite being headlights and berserk. Way better than recovery and encore imo. Fans of eminem would do well to pick up this album because Eminem is back and better than ever!
  16. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This album really shows how far his lyrical ability has come to. my favorite song on this album that will truly be remembered in my opinion is Bad Guy (In my opinion) Eminem does what no one expected from a title of a song called "Bad Guy" this is actually the sequel to Stan I won't spoil anymore) but the ending is where I was just amazed on how amazing this song truly is. I literallyThis album really shows how far his lyrical ability has come to. my favorite song on this album that will truly be remembered in my opinion is Bad Guy (In my opinion) Eminem does what no one expected from a title of a song called "Bad Guy" this is actually the sequel to Stan I won't spoil anymore) but the ending is where I was just amazed on how amazing this song truly is. I literally cried at the ending (you'll find out why) I have also hear the entire album and it's such an amazing work of art. PLEASE PLEASE don't go thinking is going to be exactly like TMMLP because it's not. It's more of a throw back to the album showing respect to what is arguably his greatest album in his library. This album gets a 10/10 from me just because of how well he just puts lyrics together and the unique production that went into this and also because of all the throwbacks on this album that brought me back to 2000's. Thank you Eminem Expand
  17. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Oh yeah! Guess who's back? Eminem: true Slim Shady for the first time since 2002. This album undoubtedly lives up to its name. The last verse of Bad Guy hooks you.
  18. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem is back! I was a massive fan of MMLP, SSLP and TES. I was disappointed with Encore, Relapse and Recovery but when this album came out, I was so relieved! There was so much nostalgia listening to this album! I would have liked to hear production by Dr Dre but the album is still amazing tracks like "so far" and "bad guy" are my favourites. I would recommend the deluxe edition as theEminem is back! I was a massive fan of MMLP, SSLP and TES. I was disappointed with Encore, Relapse and Recovery but when this album came out, I was so relieved! There was so much nostalgia listening to this album! I would have liked to hear production by Dr Dre but the album is still amazing tracks like "so far" and "bad guy" are my favourites. I would recommend the deluxe edition as the bonus tracks are amazing! Expand
  19. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I wasn't sure at first, but it's grown on me with every listen! Production is slightly disappointing but much better than Relapse and Recovery, lyrics are as always brilliant. This really is the perfect last album if it is to be his last.
  20. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    The production was on point throughout the whole of the album. Eminem's lyrical ability is absolutely amazing and his storytelling in Bad Guy is legendary. He was experimental with his use of rock but it does somehow work. The whole of the album is also cohesive! I recommend anyone to buy this album as this beats all the other contenders to album of the year.
  21. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Best album Eminem has done since TES. This album has it all, references to the first MMLP, serious songs, funny/sarcastic songs, more commercial and radio-friendly songs that the 5 deluxe edition songs MORE than make up for. 10/10
  22. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Quite Simply Stunning, His best work to date. Been following his story since the very beginning, Rap-God? Yes, Rap-God on the verge of creating a whole new Genre.
  23. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    My favorite Eminem album of all time...hes better then before.. seriously..
    his flow has grown tenfold it seriously blows my mind. If recovery got album of the year this deserves rap album of the decade. i would say favorite song so at the moment is Groundhogs Day but it changes every week :D please buy this album.. don't pirate it he really deserves it you can tell he put his soul into this one.
  24. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Finally, Eminem is back. This is the album that tells the rap industry to step the hell up. Em found his clarity somewhere along the line and is setting the bar as high as he set it in 2000 with the original MMLP. There hasn't been a rap album like this in years.
  25. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem is my favorite rapper. After hearing the album the real slim shady I was hooked on him. Then the first part of the Marshall mathers was so successful and everybody loved it so he of course made a second part! Now this is the best album since the Eminem show. It was a step up from recovery. Recovery was a little ok just because it was his emotional album were here shared his personalEminem is my favorite rapper. After hearing the album the real slim shady I was hooked on him. Then the first part of the Marshall mathers was so successful and everybody loved it so he of course made a second part! Now this is the best album since the Eminem show. It was a step up from recovery. Recovery was a little ok just because it was his emotional album were here shared his personal feelings more seriously. But yeah this album has a lot of good songs and a lot of funny but serious songs at the same time. Beserk is a song that I really liked its not the best but its a pretty good song. Survival was a little mainstream. And he is almost yelling. Rap god was amazing some clever lyrics, and around the 4 minute mark it shows his real potential. I loved bad guy and I loved headlights. Overall great album Expand
  26. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This is great album and shows how Eminem has grown as person. He is not bashing his wife/mother doesn't mean it is not good hip-hop album. Lyrically this is one of the finest album. He also understands and addresses hate towards him in the songs like He shows his rap skills in "Rap god".
    Best storytelling in "Bad guy". other songs are also very great. Overall this is great album
  27. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    There is at least a million complex rhyme schemes in mmlp2...not to mention, the subject matter..rap mostly seems to be about proving u a re the sickest..and with songs like brainless, rap god and eminem tells us why he is the illest.mmlp2 rekindles my love for hip hop....
  28. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This is great album and shows how Eminem has grown as person. He is not bashing his wife/mother doesn't mean it is not good hip-hop album. Lyrically this is one of the finest album. He also understands and addresses hate towards him in the songs like He shows his rap skills in "Rap god".
    Best storytelling in "Bad guy". other songs are also very great. Overall this is great album
  29. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem shreds on this album! Every time I listen through, I'm finding more genius analogies and metaphors. Some of the smartest, most creative lyrical work I've heard. Love the beats and style of the album.
  30. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Amazing! The best since 'The Eminem Show". The lyrics, the production, the white boy did a great job. I think that who likes recovery wil not gonna like this one. It's another level. The album it's a history that begins with marshall mathers and ends with slim shady. He brings every character of his career. Maaaan, this is a masterpiece!
  31. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP2 is one of the most intense and one of the best Eminem albums.It have everything I mean the intensity of old em,great flow,awesome tunes,pure rap material (rap god),catchy hooks.The album is reall great.Headlights is the best song on the album.MMLP2 in my opinion is better than any other rap album released in 2012 or 2013 it is better than yezzus,Magna cart....,The heist etc.For meMMLP2 is one of the most intense and one of the best Eminem albums.It have everything I mean the intensity of old em,great flow,awesome tunes,pure rap material (rap god),catchy hooks.The album is reall great.Headlights is the best song on the album.MMLP2 in my opinion is better than any other rap album released in 2012 or 2013 it is better than yezzus,Magna cart....,The heist etc.For me MMLP2 is the best album of the year it is a must buy believe me MMLP2 will blow you away.I give MMLP2 a perfect 10. Expand
  32. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this album! I've got every Eminem Album and for me personally this is the second best so far! His only album that can match this is The MM LP 1. All these songs have great lyrics! Especially my personal favorite 'Rap God'. It's just a masterpiece... Definitely buy this album!
  33. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP2 is best album of eminem since TES. It lives up to the standard of the original,even as intense,as dramatic as the original one.The storytelling and intensity in "Bad Guy",speed in "Rap God", emotions in "Headlights", the way to express himself in "Legacy" and "Evil Twin" and the fun in "Berzerk" and "Love Game" are just crazy as hell and mind-blowing.Even the rest of songs i didn'tMMLP2 is best album of eminem since TES. It lives up to the standard of the original,even as intense,as dramatic as the original one.The storytelling and intensity in "Bad Guy",speed in "Rap God", emotions in "Headlights", the way to express himself in "Legacy" and "Evil Twin" and the fun in "Berzerk" and "Love Game" are just crazy as hell and mind-blowing.Even the rest of songs i didn't mention,plus bonus tracks of Deluxe edition are also about average.Only tracks I didn't feel yet are "Survival" and "The Monster". Expand
  34. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP 2 is a classic. MMLP 1 was the first album I ever bought, so the second one in my opinion had to live up to those expectations I had from listening to "kill you" "remember me" "criminal" which are all classics. MMLP 2 is amazing from both a lyrical and a production point of view. while some of the songs ex "love game" "the monster" has a Pop beat to it. I still love it as it showsMMLP 2 is a classic. MMLP 1 was the first album I ever bought, so the second one in my opinion had to live up to those expectations I had from listening to "kill you" "remember me" "criminal" which are all classics. MMLP 2 is amazing from both a lyrical and a production point of view. while some of the songs ex "love game" "the monster" has a Pop beat to it. I still love it as it shows Eminem's progression as an artist. this album has everything from dark beats "Brainless" sick lyrics "Rap God" throwbacks to the first album. I love it all. Thank you Eminem Expand
  35. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Every song adds to the general appeal. The highlights are bad guy,rhyme or reason, headlights, legacy,brainless,rap god,berzerk, love game, evil twin, stronger than i was, so much better and survival and monster are decent. We hear his usual genius rhymes combined with the feel of his classic albums.
    AWESOME!
  36. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    The album is a nice return to form, it's not so much a sequel as a return to the mindset used on MMLP1. With obvious nods to past albums, better beats than Recovery and Relapse, amazing rhyme structure, and a flow very reminiscent of The Eminem Show this is one of Eminem's best work. That's said, don't go in expecting it to be the first Marshall Mathers LP because it won't be.
  37. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This album is simply amazing! Just WOW! After listening to "Bad Guy", where he is talking about Stan's younger brother Mathew, it is just easy to say that this album reaches new heights that I haven't seen other albums do. No one can compare to this lyricism that Em shows on this album. Definitely not Lil Wayne. Not Drake, not J Cole, not Kanye, not Jay Z, not Kendrick (yet). Maybe onlyThis album is simply amazing! Just WOW! After listening to "Bad Guy", where he is talking about Stan's younger brother Mathew, it is just easy to say that this album reaches new heights that I haven't seen other albums do. No one can compare to this lyricism that Em shows on this album. Definitely not Lil Wayne. Not Drake, not J Cole, not Kanye, not Jay Z, not Kendrick (yet). Maybe only really Nas or Pac. Eminem's story telling ability is still at the top and for people to deny it simply means that they didn't truly understand the lyrics. People who don't like this album either don't get what Eminem is trying to say. I don't understand all the negative reviews here because this is an album, which is at such a high standpoint from a lyrical perspective that it's hard to argue whether any other rap album has this much genius summed up in one album. In my opinion, this is Eminem's greatest album that he's made. Just my opinion though. And he is definitely the greatest rapper of all time as he shows in "Rap God". Expand
  38. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I don't know why people are hating this album. I really do think this album a gem. There so much garbage hip hop out right now. This album was so much better than anything that been put out in the last couple years.
  39. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem returns to his roots for MMLP2, a sequel to his best rated album, MMLP. He delivers with great rhymes and a great flow. Songs that are great: Bad guy, Rap God, Headlights, So much better, The Monster, So Far...,Legacy. Songs that are good: Berzerk, Survival, Rhyme or Reason, Love Game, Brainless, Stronger than I was. Songs That are mediocre or bad: Evil twin,
  40. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Ironically the singles off this album are the worst ones (excluding Rap God of course...) However songs like Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, So Much Better, Legacy, A**hole, Rap God, Brainless, So Far..., Headlights, and Evil Twin are all incredible! Every bit as good as the original (sometimes better)... He's still got it!
  41. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I Loved Every Second of this sequel to MMLP, I grew up with Eminem from his drug junky days to till his sober life, he indefinelty change greatly but in a great way, plus this album still has that same rage he expressed in his older issues...it basically blew me away and if Eminem doesn't get Artist of the year then I don't who will.....
  42. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    LOVE this album! Em did not disappoint me in the least. I laughed, I cried, I reminisced. He has something for everyone on this album and that just shows you how much he appreciates ALL of his fans. Whether you liked SSLP, MMLP, The Eminem Show, Encore, Relapse, or Recovery or didn't you will find something to love about this album. Very impressed. Had to buy a clean version for when theLOVE this album! Em did not disappoint me in the least. I laughed, I cried, I reminisced. He has something for everyone on this album and that just shows you how much he appreciates ALL of his fans. Whether you liked SSLP, MMLP, The Eminem Show, Encore, Relapse, or Recovery or didn't you will find something to love about this album. Very impressed. Had to buy a clean version for when the kids are in the car and dirty for when it's just me and Shady. Well worth the money. I am so excited he is still making good music! Expand
  43. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    One of the most complete albums Eminem has released. Definitely buy the deluxe version! Great mix of humour, emotion, sarcasm and subversion. Bad Guy is one of his best songs ever.
  44. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    In my words. mmlp2 is as good as the original mmlp. Still inferior to "the eminem show". coz eminem show was a real dope masterpiece. i know many of you will disagree, mmlp2 is so calssy. if we left the "monster" track and COD one,,, then mmlp 2 is easily one of eminem's all time greatest work. so energetic nd filled with pride.
    Faourite tracks Rap god, headlights, Bad guy.
  45. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This Album is perfect, Slim Shady Is back and better than ever.. His Lyricism is superb, his comedy is on point, His story telling is jaw droppingly amazing: Case and Point: "Bad Guy".. This Record I believe may be better than its predecessor.. Reason I say this is because of the Raw lyrics he brings forth in each song, as well as the versatility.. Each song is pure genius without aThis Album is perfect, Slim Shady Is back and better than ever.. His Lyricism is superb, his comedy is on point, His story telling is jaw droppingly amazing: Case and Point: "Bad Guy".. This Record I believe may be better than its predecessor.. Reason I say this is because of the Raw lyrics he brings forth in each song, as well as the versatility.. Each song is pure genius without a doubt.. I urge any fan of Hip Hop or just music in general to purchase this album (Preferably the Deluxe Edition) Expand
  46. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Wow, great album! every song is amazing and unique in its own way, I definitely would recommend the deluxe edition because there are some great tracks on that as well!
  47. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Brilliant album. Eminem is back after Relapse and Recovery or should I say, Slim Shady is back The old Eminem fans will be able to feel the nostalgia while listening to the mix between brilliance and perfection of his incredible "lyrical miracles".
  48. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    it's from eminem so its a 10 of course he eminem dude eminemmmm the god the king my life this album contain such excellent lyrics listen all the tracks are beautiful
  49. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Being a huge fan of Eminem i was extremely nervous for this release. His first three wide released Lps (SSLP, MMLP, TES) are not just amongst my favorite and most listened to Rap Albums, but Albums......period. incredible. but although i really liked recovery (a return to form in my opinion, although slightly inconsistent) ive felt his most 'recent' projects (encore, the re-up, relapse,Being a huge fan of Eminem i was extremely nervous for this release. His first three wide released Lps (SSLP, MMLP, TES) are not just amongst my favorite and most listened to Rap Albums, but Albums......period. incredible. but although i really liked recovery (a return to form in my opinion, although slightly inconsistent) ive felt his most 'recent' projects (encore, the re-up, relapse, Hell the Sequel) while having some good stuff on them missed the mark. So with this album being named the marshall mathers LP 2 I was really praying em hadnt bitten off more than he could chew and wasnt going to let himself down. I knew it would be good because nothing eminem has done in his back catalogue is trash. but how good? i was anxious to find out... and after 3 run throughs of the Deluxe CD thank its fantastic.
    Dont Hesitate, and dont listen to the minority of moaners, if ur an eminem fan or a fan of rap go and buy this album. He once again demonstrates that he is easily the the best lyrical wordsmith in the game, incredible power, flow, speed and the thing that separates him from the majority.... versatile. they are yet to find a rhythm or beat em cant smash! and not only versatile in his flow but the album has a perfect balance of tones. heavy flow and beat orientated tracks, to catchy and quite commercial (in a good way) tracks all the way down to deeply emotionally rooted songs in which even more of eminems soul is poured in with beautiful melodies. along with plenty of the wacky, funny, quirky, brash, rude, dirty, repulsive, insane, vulgure and violent, fire Marshall/slim shady we've grown to love in there too. and to top it all off plenty of re visitations, new perspectives and developments on old works and story lines. full of brilliant throwbacks :)
    I cant recommend this album enough. I wont say 'eminems back' because he never left (just sometimes wasn't all there), but in my opinion i would say this is his best release since The Eminem Show and back up there with the incredibly high quality material we all know his can produce 10/10
    Expand
  50. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    First of all people need to stop with the bogus 0 scores, that skews the actual rating, and thats clearly just personal hatred or pure ignorance. I'm not going to make a crazy detailed review. I grew up listening to Eminem my whole life, and this is certainly the most satisfying album he has put out since TES. You can't recreate the shock value or the buzz he had when he first came out itsFirst of all people need to stop with the bogus 0 scores, that skews the actual rating, and thats clearly just personal hatred or pure ignorance. I'm not going to make a crazy detailed review. I grew up listening to Eminem my whole life, and this is certainly the most satisfying album he has put out since TES. You can't recreate the shock value or the buzz he had when he first came out its impossible that's something that can only be done once in a career, he could put out the best album the world has ever heard and people would say MMLP was better. I'm not saying that this album is better than that one. I just feel like this is the Eminem that I grew up listening to that puts all of his competition in the gutter. Excellent album if I had to find some cons I would say that some of the beats could have been better, and I would have liked less samples and more original dre beats. His lyricism was top notch I think a lot of rap fans today don't even know how to listen to eminem. They are used to sub par lyrics that take a 2nd grade education to understand. also I understand people think eminem needs to find new things to rap about other than his mom and kim and the same old but what did you expect its MMLP2 its going to have lots of similar topics however I feel like he does a great job talking about some of his regrets and retouching on his prior fame and the bad karma it created. Expand
  51. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Eminem is the Rap God. He goes absolutely Bezerk. All of the beats are intense remix/mashups of classic rock songs, they're all extremely memorable. Highly recommended to all.
  52. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    The album is classic, it's way better then Recovery. This is Eminem in his entirety, the flow is sick and the lyrics are just great, sensitivity and psychopaths at the same time with the touch of the street language. The beats are great, the rap rock and the piano especially, but he was should features more rappers than pop singers. One of the best rap albums ever. My rank is 9.5/10.
  53. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Wow. Incredible album.

    Knew it would be good but not this good. Em is really going back to his old ways but finds the balance between the old Slim Shady and the older Marshall Mathers. Still a cheeky a**hole though of course and that's what we want.

    Best tracks: Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, Rap God, So Far, Love Game and Headlights
  54. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    As an Eminem fan since the beginning I can without doubt say this is one of the best album Eminem has done. I've listened through this album over 20 times now and i'm not nearly bored. I'm liking it more and more, and its a delight.
    For those kids who says this album is bad, go back to listening to Lil-wayne and Drake.

    Eminem is indeed a Rap God.
  55. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Eminem CD!!
    Everything about it is Amazing!!
    I recommend you buy this you will not be disappointed!!
    He has the best rhymes in the game better than Kendrick Lamar!!
    Expand
  56. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    He choose the worst songs to put out as singles. This is not as good as his first three, but it blows recovery, relapse and encore out of the freaking water.
  57. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    I was a bit suspicious until the last track on the LP was over.I enjoyed album a lot.
    So,there's little summary.
    I give album 10 out of 10 cause it's the album I've been waiting for a long time.
    Such tracks as Bad Guy,Rap God,Stronger Than I Was and A**hole make me sure that the King is back
  58. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    As an huge Eminem fan, I absolutely loved this album. There was a mixture of Eminem's newer style, and older style in this album. This album featured a lot of continuations from the first MMLP, and longtime fans will appreciate that. Almost every song is good, but quite a few of the songs are amazing. My personal favorites are Bad Guy, Legacy, Rap God, and Headlights. Each song has aAs an huge Eminem fan, I absolutely loved this album. There was a mixture of Eminem's newer style, and older style in this album. This album featured a lot of continuations from the first MMLP, and longtime fans will appreciate that. Almost every song is good, but quite a few of the songs are amazing. My personal favorites are Bad Guy, Legacy, Rap God, and Headlights. Each song has a great beat followed Eminem's unmatchable lyrics. Eminem is the undisputed king of rap, and he shows it once again with an amazing comeback album. Expand
  59. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    eminem crafted a brilliant witty funny emotional album...songs like bad guy, brainless, rhyme or reason, love game, legacy, headlights are incredible. AMAIZING album
  60. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    I have been a die hard Eminem fan since 2002 and I can say that I am not disappointed by this album. MMLP2 is full of brilliance and nobody can deny that. The words-on-play, the flow and the production is great! I love the fact that we got a sequel to Stan as well, I do like the song Stan but Bad Guy brings it to a new level. Also making it the highest rated album on Metacritic since TheI have been a die hard Eminem fan since 2002 and I can say that I am not disappointed by this album. MMLP2 is full of brilliance and nobody can deny that. The words-on-play, the flow and the production is great! I love the fact that we got a sequel to Stan as well, I do like the song Stan but Bad Guy brings it to a new level. Also making it the highest rated album on Metacritic since The Eminem Show! Expand
  61. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    The MMLP2 is absolutely brilliant. It definitely lives up to the hype and the legacy of LP. Berzerk, Survival and Rap god are the new masterpieces and the rest of the songs do not disappoint and are perfectly showing the original Slim Shady's style. Cannot wait for the next album, it seems Eminem has still got it.
  62. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Eminem has certainly nailed with a mighty comeback with this album. Each of the songs is a masterpiece on its own especially Bad Guy, So much Better, Rap God and Headlights, of course for which Nate Ruess has lent his voice. Putting it more precisely, this album is just Awesomeness Personified. Period.
  63. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Without a doubt Eminem's best work since the Eminem Show. Slim Shady is back in full force to remind everyone that he is on a current lyrical plane far above the rest of the rap game. With must listens like "Bad Guy" (a continuation to the critically acclaimed Stan), "Rap God" (a six minute lyrical onslaught that sees him rapping 6.5 words PER second in one of the verses), and "Legacy" (aWithout a doubt Eminem's best work since the Eminem Show. Slim Shady is back in full force to remind everyone that he is on a current lyrical plane far above the rest of the rap game. With must listens like "Bad Guy" (a continuation to the critically acclaimed Stan), "Rap God" (a six minute lyrical onslaught that sees him rapping 6.5 words PER second in one of the verses), and "Legacy" (a song that consists entirely of one rhyme scheme), Eminem showcases his talent in a way we haven't heard in years. Anyone who thought he fell off after the shock value driven "Relapse" and emotionally downing "Recovery" is in for a pleasant surprise. Is it better than the original? No. But it is a more than worthy sequel. Expand
  64. May 17, 2014
    10
    truly the best album after The Eminem show. truly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly thetruly the best album after The Eminem show. truly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem show Expand
  65. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This album does not show a sequel to The Marshall Mathers LP (2000) but instead a revisit to the album, kinda like a way to tie lose ends and his feeling compared to the ones we've heard on the first album. Eminem provies astounding beats to bring you back to day when commercial beats didn't love snares. Including this album brings a good variety of music to it everything from just oldThis album does not show a sequel to The Marshall Mathers LP (2000) but instead a revisit to the album, kinda like a way to tie lose ends and his feeling compared to the ones we've heard on the first album. Eminem provies astounding beats to bring you back to day when commercial beats didn't love snares. Including this album brings a good variety of music to it everything from just old school beats to mainstream beats with shows Eminem's diversity and flexibility and ability to adapt to the Game. I truly don't think I can't name a favorite because then the other songs wouldn't be done justice. Eminem truly shows his lyrical ability in all the shows and we see how much that once Slim Shady persona has changed to today. 10/10 maybe not a classic, but still God's work. Expand
  66. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This album reminds me a lot of the first MMLP. He ends his issues with his mom,includes a sort of sequel to Stan and shows that he can still rap as great as he could when the original LP was released.
  67. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    headlights was touching bad guy and survival are number ones a great album by a great artist each time someone has stepped up to challenge him hes put them down he is best there is ever was ever will be period.
  68. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Best album since The Eminem Show, almost 15 years in industry and still he can come up with something good rap about. Lyrically its a superb album. Bad Guy in my opinion is the best opening song i have ever heard on any album. His flow is DOPE, no one in the industry can come close to it. 6000+ words in 6 minutes and he wrote in 6 minutes too. You can see his skills there. Production wiseBest album since The Eminem Show, almost 15 years in industry and still he can come up with something good rap about. Lyrically its a superb album. Bad Guy in my opinion is the best opening song i have ever heard on any album. His flow is DOPE, no one in the industry can come close to it. 6000+ words in 6 minutes and he wrote in 6 minutes too. You can see his skills there. Production wise the album is good too. MMLP2 justifies its title as well as its predecessor's creativity which is regarded as all time classic. Though its too early to judge whether MMLP2 is as good as MMLP but still it is one of the best Rap Albums past 2010. Rhymes Rhymes and a lot of Rhymes. He manages more rhymes in a single then most rappers in their whole album. Do check this album out Expand
  69. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Eminem's new album the MMLP2 is much better than I had anticipated. His flow and lyrics are just as humorous and fast paced as they are in the first MMLP. Overall this is a great album which surpasses the entertainment value of the last 3 albums that Eminem has put out. His songs legacy and brain damage in particular as well as others really bring you back to how Eminem's music was in theEminem's new album the MMLP2 is much better than I had anticipated. His flow and lyrics are just as humorous and fast paced as they are in the first MMLP. Overall this is a great album which surpasses the entertainment value of the last 3 albums that Eminem has put out. His songs legacy and brain damage in particular as well as others really bring you back to how Eminem's music was in the early 2000's. Expand
  70. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Exceptional lyricism, wit and creativity. Terrific production. Weight of the content leaves a little to be desired. I'd put this at number 4 behind his first 3 releases
  71. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Eminem spits the verses all natural spontaneous and effortlesss. He is on fire with the fastest verses. He takes his previous style of rapping about other rappers to a whole new level which is new despite people complaining of stagnancy. And then there are songs wgere he manages to churn your stomach with emotions.
  72. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Very dope album! I loved MMLP2!

    Eminem is one of the best lyricists of all time and this is his best album lyrically. If you are a fan of lyricism, you should appreciate this album. Em's verses on MMLP2 are more dense and intricate than anything out now. Em’s flow on Rap God is classic! It will have to go down as one the most famous lyrical displays ever in hip hop. There are also a
    Very dope album! I loved MMLP2!

    Eminem is one of the best lyricists of all time and this is his best album lyrically. If you are a fan of lyricism, you should appreciate this album. Em's verses on MMLP2 are more dense and intricate than anything out now. Em’s flow on Rap God is classic! It will have to go down as one the most famous lyrical displays ever in hip hop. There are also a ton of other songs on the album that are just as lyrically impressive as Rap God. Really, every track on the album showcases Em’s masterful lyrical ability.

    The album also has the powerful substance and emotion that people have come to associate with Eminem. “Bad Guy”, “Legacy”, “Headlights” and “Beautiful Pain” are probably the most substantive, emotional songs on the album. I loved them all!

    The production is great as well. This is one of Eminem’s best albums from a production standpoint. Teaming with Rick Rubin was a great idea. I loved what Rubin did with the “Berzerk”, “Love Game” and “So Far”. “Love Game” and “So Far” took a while to grow on me but they have become two of my favorite songs on the album. They are very unique and capture the essence of where Em is at right now in his life and career.

    MMLP2 is a great addition to the Eminem catalogue. We get to see one of the greatest lyricists/artists of his generation more mature and sober than ever. The result is a classic display of lyricism, emotion, and substance.

    MMLP2!
    Expand
  73. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Best Slim Shady feel and comeback from Recovery. The productions from Rick Rubin and Dr Dre, with all those puns and punchlines, this is another classic by Eminem. Love it.
  74. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Amazing. Once again eminem proves no rapper can compete with him. His flow,lyrics, and metaphors are top notch like always. The deluxe CD puts the cherry on top of this masterpiece. Best album of 2013. He is the G..O.A.T.
  75. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Always been a fan of Eminem, through his good and bad times. This is definitely one of the best times. Great style, lyrics and back to old school Eminem.
  76. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    I have been listening to Eminem since the Slim Shady LP and I must say it must be hard work to keep up the high standard and quality set by his previous works, however this album has succeeded in keeping up that standard. This album is an all round fantastic album with different songs to suit different types of Eminem fans. This truly is one of his best albums.
  77. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine. He
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine.

    He lightens up on The Eminem Show, and Metacritic says it's too soft and they've heard it all before. 75.

    He mixes in other artists and dumbs down the "Slim Shady" persona on The Reup, and they absolutely trash it and say he's lost his voice. 50. A 50, supposedly a worse album than IANAHB 2.
    Do You Sense the Bullsh.it Yet.....

    He brings back Slim Shady as violent yet comedic as ever on Relapse, and they say he's forcing the issue. 59.

    He changes his content for the more mature, stays witty, address' his past demons and shows immense growth as an artist on Recovery, and they say he's boring. 63.

    THEN, on MMLP2, he combines Recovery, MMLP, and the Eminem Show in an experimental, mature, hard-as-nails, yet emotional reflection on his career, and they give it a 73. Thats 7 points worse than Teflon Don, by Rick Ross.

    METACRITIC: WHAT THE ACTUAL ARE YOU DOING.
    Expand
  78. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    After some well earned time off, the best returns to be the best. Rap God, Bezerk, Survival and The Monster clearly show all his older styles including the hard lines of Bezerk and the up&downs of Rap God, the easier style of Survival and the emotional collab "The Monster"
  79. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    All I can say is WOW, not just because this album is so great, but because there are so many blind people that have no clue what Eminem really are rapping about and can't see the good in this album. Get some knowlegde and don't review Eminem's albums if you no nothing about rap, please. Enough said, this man will always be the God of rap. I'm glad I don't really give a about what theseAll I can say is WOW, not just because this album is so great, but because there are so many blind people that have no clue what Eminem really are rapping about and can't see the good in this album. Get some knowlegde and don't review Eminem's albums if you no nothing about rap, please. Enough said, this man will always be the God of rap. I'm glad I don't really give a about what these nonsense people say about the album, I just wanted to say this short; get some knowlegde. Expand
  80. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    I have always been a big fan of Eminem, each of Eminem albums always have been distinctive. MMLP2 shows Eminem unique story telling, word play, humor, and lyrical ability. Tracks like bad guy, legacy, and head lights shows how Eminem story telling is top notch. Rap god and evil twin showcases Eminem's word play and lyrical ability, while tracks like so much better, so far, and love gameI have always been a big fan of Eminem, each of Eminem albums always have been distinctive. MMLP2 shows Eminem unique story telling, word play, humor, and lyrical ability. Tracks like bad guy, legacy, and head lights shows how Eminem story telling is top notch. Rap god and evil twin showcases Eminem's word play and lyrical ability, while tracks like so much better, so far, and love game illustrates how humorous and funny Eminem can be. Overall this album got a piece of Marshall, slim shady, and a few aspects of recovery . I recommend this album if you like lyrical, emo, horror core, cautious, and back pack rap. Expand
  81. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Eminem continues to prove he's the most creative, most talented, and just flat-out greatest lyricist of this generation. There's not a single rapper out there that could dream of keeping up with him on Rap God, and not one that would be brave and honest enough to put out something as heartfelt and open as Headlights. This album is just brilliant.
  82. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    As crazy as this sounds, Eminem is my hero, his music has helped me through slumps and downfalls in my life. His music has helped me keep on task and push through. This album is no different for me, with funny songs and lyrics, to sad songs about betrayal. Being a fan since I was 7 (The Eminem Show was just released). He has hit it big with no "WTF" songs like "Kim" in MMLP, or "Drips" inAs crazy as this sounds, Eminem is my hero, his music has helped me through slumps and downfalls in my life. His music has helped me keep on task and push through. This album is no different for me, with funny songs and lyrics, to sad songs about betrayal. Being a fan since I was 7 (The Eminem Show was just released). He has hit it big with no "WTF" songs like "Kim" in MMLP, or "Drips" in The Eminem Show. If you like any kind of rhyming music, you will like this. (If you like country and don't listen to anything but, don't listen to this, your drunk asses won't be able to keep up with his fast rapping. Your big trucks won't be able to keep up either. :D) Expand
  83. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    Eminem is Back ! Now None can beat him, On May 24, 2012, Eminem announced he was working on his next studio album., set to be released in 2013 Even without a title or release date, the album was included in multiple "Most Anticipated Albums of 2013" lists; including MTV, Complex Magazine where it was listed in sixth position; and XXL Magazine, where it was listed in fifth.

    On June 30,
    Eminem is Back ! Now None can beat him, On May 24, 2012, Eminem announced he was working on his next studio album., set to be released in 2013 Even without a title or release date, the album was included in multiple "Most Anticipated Albums of 2013" lists; including MTV, Complex Magazine where it was listed in sixth position; and XXL Magazine, where it was listed in fifth.

    On June 30, 2012, Eminem talked about the album with DJ Whoo Kid, on his own radio station, Shade 45. He stated that the material is taking shape, and that Dr. Dre will be involved in some way. On August 30, 2012, Slaughterhouse member Royce da 5'9" gave his thoughts on the album, stating "I'm not so sure how the world is going to respond from some of the things that I've heard from him." Close friend and fellow rapper 50 Cent is also confirmed to feature on the album. Eminem also was featured on Pink's album The Truth About Love on the track "Here Comes The Weekend".
    Expand
  84. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    Best rap album you could expect from Eminem in 2013. This album is absolutely amazing. Rap God is the best rap song i have heard in years. Evil Twin is amazing. Legacy is breathtaking. Berzerk is an unrepeatable throwback. and so on......
  85. Mar 21, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  86. May 5, 2015
    10
    amazing album. his best since marshall mathers lp. bad guy was the best song on the album. what a rapper. what a legend!!! in the game since 1999 and has been on top since that.
  87. Feb 4, 2018
    10
    when i see the tracklist, i was kinda disappointed but in the first listen it really surprass my expectations, this album makes you feel the nostalgic of his past work, yet he's still here to hold the crown, best album from 2013
  88. Dec 11, 2015
    10
    The album is wonderful lyrically, the flow, the beats and everything else. The best single, Rap God, deserves more credit than any other tracks in this album, the flow is exceptional and 97 words in 15 seconds? What the hell was that from a 40 year old. The best since MMLP.
  89. Sep 4, 2016
    10
    Its about all the things he did in MMLP getting back at him. At first I was like please don't be like the The Blueprint 2 but Em surprised me cuz the title actually made sense, the album actually was a sequel,it was not just giving the album a name cuz he was out of ideas or something. The lyrics are clever, not as funny as MMLP but Em is 40 so I really don't even expect him to writeIts about all the things he did in MMLP getting back at him. At first I was like please don't be like the The Blueprint 2 but Em surprised me cuz the title actually made sense, the album actually was a sequel,it was not just giving the album a name cuz he was out of ideas or something. The lyrics are clever, not as funny as MMLP but Em is 40 so I really don't even expect him to write something like drug ballad anymore. Expand
  90. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    True masterpiece, not as good as MTBMB but it's a great sequel and had a lot of good story telling.
  91. Mar 14, 2017
    10
    Sex for your **** Ears... SCUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
  92. Mar 29, 2017
    10
    Amazing Album. Amazing Songs. Amazing Cover. Amazing Lyrics. Amazing Flows. Amazing--EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS ENTIRE ALBUM IS JUST ABSOLUTELY AMAZING....
  93. Aug 7, 2017
    10
    years after i can undoubtley say its classic this album topped no wonders because em really has deep **** he goes now 13 years later with perspevtives of the monsters with his life after the whole scenarios of 05
  94. Nov 1, 2018
    10
    I hated the album when I first heard it, but then I listened to it a few more times and realised how great it was. The 'Parking Lot' skit was a good follow on from the first 'Marshall Mather LP' and 'Bad Guy' was a great story like 'Stan'. Easily the second best album from the latter half of his career (after Kamikaze).
  95. Mar 14, 2019
    10
    Eminem dropped another classic album from the Rap God himself called The Marshal Mathers LP 2, although I still love The Marshall Mather LP album, this sequal to his classic album is cool though. I highly recommend it.
  96. May 11, 2019
    10
    God, i can't believe people dislike this album. It's new, it's fresh, and every song kicks ass. Especially Brainless and Rhyme or Reason. My personal favorite.
  97. Jan 23, 2020
    10
    Insant classic. This is the best album of all time. Nothing can be better than this. This is the greatest piece of music.
  98. Jan 19, 2020
    10
    Surpass the Marshall Mathers is a mission impossible. But Eminem make a good sequel this has the most awesome lyrics ever.
  99. PME
    Jan 21, 2020
    10
    Can’t understand how this hasn’t scored higher. Love this album.
  100. Jan 28, 2020
    10
    This is great album and shows how Eminem has grown as person. He is not bashing his wife/mother doesn't mean it is not good hip-hop album. Lyrically this is one of the finest album
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Q Magazine
    Jan 7, 2014
    60
    Even though his wit and word patterns still dazzle, they need a livelier canvas if the Eminem nostalgia experience is to be the thrilling one it should be. [Jan 2014, p.122]
  2. Mojo
    Dec 18, 2013
    60
    The music is almost secondary, his production' often leaden beats a mere sideshow to mind-bending internal rhyme pyrotechnics that jab hard at the surreal dial. [Jan 2014, p.92]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    Eminem might not be making “shock rap with Doc” like he used to be, but The Marshall Mathers LP 2 takes turns as equally bold and unpredictable as anything in his discography.