User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1302 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2020
    10
    Underrated, I'd even go as far too say that this is Marshalls best album. It's kind of like The original MMLP with a Recovery sound too it, making it sound amazing lyrically. My favourite songs on this project would probably have to be: Bad Guy, So Far... , and Headlights. This album does not get the love it deserves.
  2. Mar 24, 2020
    10
    It's slept on so much. But definitely not on the level of it's first chapter. And still he was being poppy too.
  3. Feb 3, 2020
    10
    This is great album and shows how Eminem has grown as person. He is not bashing his wife/mother doesn't mean it is not good hip-hop album. Lyrically this is one of the finest album. He also understands and addresses hate towards him in the songs like He shows his rap skills in "Rap god".
    Best storytelling in "Bad guy". other songs are also very great. He takes Slim Shady responsibility .
    This is great album and shows how Eminem has grown as person. He is not bashing his wife/mother doesn't mean it is not good hip-hop album. Lyrically this is one of the finest album. He also understands and addresses hate towards him in the songs like He shows his rap skills in "Rap god".
    Best storytelling in "Bad guy". other songs are also very great. He takes Slim Shady responsibility . Overall this is great album
    Expand
  4. Jan 29, 2020
    8
    em is back with new mmlp. still “bad guy” and “rap god”. he kills “brainless” **** listners!
  5. Jan 28, 2020
    10
    The album which established Eminem as the Rap God. Great lyricism, highest quality rap.
  6. Jan 28, 2020
    10
    This is great album and shows how Eminem has grown as person. He is not bashing his wife/mother doesn't mean it is not good hip-hop album. Lyrically this is one of the finest album
  7. Jan 27, 2020
    10
    greatttt albummmmm why be a king when you can be god? wooow one of the best album
  8. Jan 26, 2020
    10
    At first I didn't like, maybe because the name but after really listening to it I really enjoy it!
  9. Jan 23, 2020
    10
    One of the most slept on albums in Eminem's entire discography. Classic Eminem displaying his lyrical talent.
  10. Jan 23, 2020
    10
    absolutely amazing. Recommend to anyone, em is an amazing artist... new or old album it’s good.
  11. Jan 23, 2020
    10
    Insant classic. This is the best album of all time. Nothing can be better than this. This is the greatest piece of music.
  12. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    True masterpiece, not as good as MTBMB but it's a great sequel and had a lot of good story telling.
  13. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    One of Eminem’s best albums, it’s insane how good this is and how much replay value it has. It’s a classic album to me..
  14. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    Just like the 1st it's great personally I'd say it's even more great it's the best!
  15. Jan 22, 2020
    9
    Eminem's best album since The Eminem Show. I particularly loved the tracks Rap God, Berzerk, Bad Guy, The Monster and Legacy.
  16. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    This album shout every one facking mouth its was pure fire thanks agian em ❤️
  17. Jan 22, 2020
    10
    One of my faves from EMINEM. ..............................................................................
  18. PME
    Jan 21, 2020
    10
    Can’t understand how this hasn’t scored higher. Love this album.
  19. Jan 20, 2020
    9
    Best album in years. Lots of bangers and fun tunes. Fave tracks ; Bad Guy, Berzerk, So Far, Love Game
  20. Jan 19, 2020
    10
    Surpass the Marshall Mathers is a mission impossible. But Eminem make a good sequel this has the most awesome lyrics ever.
  21. Aug 31, 2019
    8
    Amazing rap album, I wish these new rapper could do something like this.....
  22. Jul 28, 2019
    6
    This album wasn't that bad compared to his other projects this decade. It had some nice tunes, cool melodies, throwback verses, and tracks that do hold some importance in his career (Rap God, The Monster, Bezerk, etc). It has some replay value and is just overall a surprisingly solid project.
  23. May 11, 2019
    10
    God, i can't believe people dislike this album. It's new, it's fresh, and every song kicks ass. Especially Brainless and Rhyme or Reason. My personal favorite.
  24. Mar 14, 2019
    10
    Eminem dropped another classic album from the Rap God himself called The Marshal Mathers LP 2, although I still love The Marshall Mather LP album, this sequal to his classic album is cool though. I highly recommend it.
  25. Jan 21, 2019
    9
    Lyrically this is best Eminem album and best Eminem album after The Eminem show. Bad guy & Headlights are masterpiece
  26. Nov 1, 2018
    10
    I hated the album when I first heard it, but then I listened to it a few more times and realised how great it was. The 'Parking Lot' skit was a good follow on from the first 'Marshall Mather LP' and 'Bad Guy' was a great story like 'Stan'. Easily the second best album from the latter half of his career (after Kamikaze).
  27. Oct 1, 2018
    9
    Bad Guy - Awesome album opener, such vivid storytelling from Em, 4th verse is one of Eminem’s greatest of all time.
  28. Feb 4, 2018
    10
    when i see the tracklist, i was kinda disappointed but in the first listen it really surprass my expectations, this album makes you feel the nostalgic of his past work, yet he's still here to hold the crown, best album from 2013
  29. Aug 7, 2017
    10
    years after i can undoubtley say its classic this album topped no wonders because em really has deep **** he goes now 13 years later with perspevtives of the monsters with his life after the whole scenarios of 05
  30. Jul 18, 2017
    7
    good album.....................................................................................................................................................................
  31. Mar 29, 2017
    10
    Amazing Album. Amazing Songs. Amazing Cover. Amazing Lyrics. Amazing Flows. Amazing--EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS ENTIRE ALBUM IS JUST ABSOLUTELY AMAZING....
  32. Mar 14, 2017
    10
    Sex for your **** Ears... SCUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
  33. Sep 4, 2016
    10
    Its about all the things he did in MMLP getting back at him. At first I was like please don't be like the The Blueprint 2 but Em surprised me cuz the title actually made sense, the album actually was a sequel,it was not just giving the album a name cuz he was out of ideas or something. The lyrics are clever, not as funny as MMLP but Em is 40 so I really don't even expect him to writeIts about all the things he did in MMLP getting back at him. At first I was like please don't be like the The Blueprint 2 but Em surprised me cuz the title actually made sense, the album actually was a sequel,it was not just giving the album a name cuz he was out of ideas or something. The lyrics are clever, not as funny as MMLP but Em is 40 so I really don't even expect him to write something like drug ballad anymore. Expand
  34. Jul 26, 2016
    7
    Я - большой фанат творчества Эминема, мне нравятся все альбомы - The Slim Shady LP, The Marshall Mathers LP, The Eminem Show - этот альбом больше всего люблю, он у меня даже на CD есть! Я даже Encore говном не стал поливать, неплохой альбом, но есть парочка плохих композиций. Relapse получился очень хорошим, особенно Refill, а также треки с Deluxe Edition (My Darling и Careful What YouЯ - большой фанат творчества Эминема, мне нравятся все альбомы - The Slim Shady LP, The Marshall Mathers LP, The Eminem Show - этот альбом больше всего люблю, он у меня даже на CD есть! Я даже Encore говном не стал поливать, неплохой альбом, но есть парочка плохих композиций. Relapse получился очень хорошим, особенно Refill, а также треки с Deluxe Edition (My Darling и Careful What You Wish For). Recovery получился так себе, с парочкой хороших треков. Hell: The Sequel получился годным EP. Иии, тут старина Маршалл выпускает Marshall Mathers LP 2. Альбом неплохой, но слабоват, едва семерку ему поставил. Есть реально годные треки, такие как Rap God, Survival и Legacy, а также Evil Twin, ну, ещё и Berzerk с Headlights, во остальном альбом слабоват и имеет плохие биты. Expand
  35. Apr 26, 2016
    4
    as a fan of Eminem this album was not as great as i hoped for. one of the flaws this albums suffers from is its lack of cohesion. Some of the tracks dont belong together on on the same album. the production and subject matter change quite frequently ranging from slow jams of apologizing, to old Eminem. to pop oriented tracks and rock sampled tracks. The fact also that Eminem is trying toas a fan of Eminem this album was not as great as i hoped for. one of the flaws this albums suffers from is its lack of cohesion. Some of the tracks dont belong together on on the same album. the production and subject matter change quite frequently ranging from slow jams of apologizing, to old Eminem. to pop oriented tracks and rock sampled tracks. The fact also that Eminem is trying to fit in the pop scene is excruciating when years prior he used to diss it numerous number of times. i understand that a few songs on here hes trying to show some maturity, but that concept is destroyed by some of the tracks that have him displaying the old Eminem. In conclusion the album seems to lack a direction of whom its trying to reach out towards. his lyrical wordplay is good as always but at times it seems he losing the ability to connect with people. his attempts to show a new Eminem, along with the old Eminem, rock sampled tracks, slow jams. and pop sound tracks dont really make this album a classic. Expand
  36. Apr 2, 2016
    7
    Eminem put together a surprisingly good record here. Considering the fact that I did not care for Recovery or Relapse at all this was a nice surprise. The album definitely starts off great with "Bad Guy". Returning to the story of one of his best songs "Stan" was a bold move, but one that paid off well with nice references and an epic conclusion. "Rhyme or Reason" is also pretty great withEminem put together a surprisingly good record here. Considering the fact that I did not care for Recovery or Relapse at all this was a nice surprise. The album definitely starts off great with "Bad Guy". Returning to the story of one of his best songs "Stan" was a bold move, but one that paid off well with nice references and an epic conclusion. "Rhyme or Reason" is also pretty great with the sample of The Zombies' "Time of the Season". "Bezerk" definitely grew on overtime, mostly due to the hard-hitting beat. The lyrics at times on this album are corny, but don't go too overboard. There are some terrible/forgettable songs like "Stronger Than I Was", "The Monster", and "So Much Better", but the album ends off great. "Evil Twin" is an incredible conclusion to this pretty good album. Expand
  37. Mar 27, 2016
    8
    Quite possibly Eminem's strongest work since The Eminem Show. Gone are the dodgy accents of Encore and Relapse, and the commercial sound isn't quite as prominent as it was on Recovery. Eminem's old charms and tricks are all here but he sounds fresh and revitalised. His rapping is especially powerful on the second half of "Bad Guy", "Survival", and "Rap God" to name just a few. Eminem'sQuite possibly Eminem's strongest work since The Eminem Show. Gone are the dodgy accents of Encore and Relapse, and the commercial sound isn't quite as prominent as it was on Recovery. Eminem's old charms and tricks are all here but he sounds fresh and revitalised. His rapping is especially powerful on the second half of "Bad Guy", "Survival", and "Rap God" to name just a few. Eminem's maturation shines through on tracks like "Stronger Than I Was" and "Headlights", for those who enjoy his more somber side. Definitely pick this one up if you were into Eminem in the early noughties. Expand
  38. Jan 24, 2016
    9
    When I finished listening to this for the first time I thought to myself what did I just listen to and my one word response to this album is wow simply wow a brilliant album this is Eminem at his best and a must listen without a doubt you won't regret it.
  39. Jan 6, 2016
    8
    Eminem's best work since The Eminem Show. Eminem is back to form on his sequel to his classic, "The Marshall Mathers LP". The Detroit emcee is as hilarious as ever, and can still spit with the best of them.
  40. Dec 11, 2015
    10
    The album is wonderful lyrically, the flow, the beats and everything else. The best single, Rap God, deserves more credit than any other tracks in this album, the flow is exceptional and 97 words in 15 seconds? What the hell was that from a 40 year old. The best since MMLP.
  41. Jul 2, 2015
    7
    Good album. Eminem's rap game is back strong and showcases how Eminem is, and always has been, the king of old-school rap. The appearances of artists such as Rihanna and Sia add a really nice touch.
  42. May 29, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. MMLP2 marca el verdadero "comeback" de Eminem, volviendo a tener la soltura de cuando MMLP incluso cuando The Eminem. Excelente producción. Excelente canciones con letras que van mas allá de la complejidad de las rimas estilo la época de los 00's. Ya Eminem no prueba quien es, Eminem ES ya una leyenda, es un punto de comparación muy alto y solo lo mejores están a su nivel. Expand
  43. May 19, 2015
    9
    This album contains some of Em's best songs for example "Bad Guy" which is basically Stan 2. It's not quite as good as Recovery but it's pretty close in my eyes.
    9/10
  44. May 5, 2015
    10
    amazing album. his best since marshall mathers lp. bad guy was the best song on the album. what a rapper. what a legend!!! in the game since 1999 and has been on top since that.
  45. Apr 23, 2015
    9
    With a fresh approach to his style, Eminem gives us another great album to listen to, many, many, many times. All the songs beneficiate from a sharp production and great hooks, but the most impressive part is still Em who raps like his life depends on it and elevate even more his status as a genius lyricist.
  46. Mar 21, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  47. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    Best rap album you could expect from Eminem in 2013. This album is absolutely amazing. Rap God is the best rap song i have heard in years. Evil Twin is amazing. Legacy is breathtaking. Berzerk is an unrepeatable throwback. and so on......
  48. Dec 27, 2014
    5
    At first listening, that's great noticing a complex diversity of genres. Different music and different way of singin also. But wtf with Eminem, i used to like him like anybody singer i like, but making talk bout him with clash for instance Lana del Rey. What does he got in mind, he doesnt need that i guess. Plus she did not do nothing. Too bad we got a pretty good singer with no brain
  49. Dec 21, 2014
    9
    Eminem back in tip top form, and so is Slim Shady. Very good production, though occasionally too poppy for its own good (and does Eminem have to insist on singing so much on choruses?), the album never ceases to be entertaining and filthy and also, dare I say, meaningful. He works rhyme schemes that are pretty extraordinary and even the weaker songs on the album shouldn't be skipped.Eminem back in tip top form, and so is Slim Shady. Very good production, though occasionally too poppy for its own good (and does Eminem have to insist on singing so much on choruses?), the album never ceases to be entertaining and filthy and also, dare I say, meaningful. He works rhyme schemes that are pretty extraordinary and even the weaker songs on the album shouldn't be skipped. Highlights are Bad Guy, Legacy, Rap God, Love Game and Evil Twin. And just about every song on the DX Edition Bonus Disc. Expand
  50. Dec 17, 2014
    8
    Si nos ponemos a analizar en retrospectiva los albumes de Eminem, nos daremos cuenta que lo tenemos a el en su máxima forma durante sus pistas más personales, así como lo ha sido durante TMM LP, TES y TSS LP.
  51. Nov 29, 2014
    5
    This album is better than the heaping piles of **** that Shady released between 2002-2010, but it still isn't that good. Every hook on here is terrible, and it just so happens that the best track, "Evil Twin" doesn't have a hook. Eminem has always been terrible at making hooks, so it's not like I was surprised. Some of the verses are alright. Four songs in a row, "So Much Better",This album is better than the heaping piles of **** that Shady released between 2002-2010, but it still isn't that good. Every hook on here is terrible, and it just so happens that the best track, "Evil Twin" doesn't have a hook. Eminem has always been terrible at making hooks, so it's not like I was surprised. Some of the verses are alright. Four songs in a row, "So Much Better", "Survival", **** and "Legacy" all sound like Recovery throwaways (see my review of Recovery and you'll know how I feel). "Stronger Than I Was" and "The Monster" are god awful. Just terrible. I will say that even though I wasn;t huge on part 1 of "Bad Guy", the second part was pretty epic. "Rhyme or Reason" is the runner-up to "Evil Twin" for the best track on the album. The last four tracks is the best part of the album, so I'm glad he at least gave a strong finish on the album.

    I didn't include the 5 bonus tracks on the deluxe edition of the album, because that probably would have lowered my grade from a 6.5 to at least a 5.5.

    Overall, I wuld say 'ehhhh'.
    Expand
  52. Sep 29, 2014
    7
    Not as funny and offensive as some of his other albums but makes up for it by use of modern mixing and effects. Overall good lyrics and sound. This is good because Eminem has had many albums and this proves that he still has game.
  53. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    Eminem is Back ! Now None can beat him, On May 24, 2012, Eminem announced he was working on his next studio album., set to be released in 2013 Even without a title or release date, the album was included in multiple "Most Anticipated Albums of 2013" lists; including MTV, Complex Magazine where it was listed in sixth position; and XXL Magazine, where it was listed in fifth.

    On June 30,
    Eminem is Back ! Now None can beat him, On May 24, 2012, Eminem announced he was working on his next studio album., set to be released in 2013 Even without a title or release date, the album was included in multiple "Most Anticipated Albums of 2013" lists; including MTV, Complex Magazine where it was listed in sixth position; and XXL Magazine, where it was listed in fifth.

    On June 30, 2012, Eminem talked about the album with DJ Whoo Kid, on his own radio station, Shade 45. He stated that the material is taking shape, and that Dr. Dre will be involved in some way. On August 30, 2012, Slaughterhouse member Royce da 5'9" gave his thoughts on the album, stating "I'm not so sure how the world is going to respond from some of the things that I've heard from him." Close friend and fellow rapper 50 Cent is also confirmed to feature on the album. Eminem also was featured on Pink's album The Truth About Love on the track "Here Comes The Weekend".
    Expand
  54. Sep 18, 2014
    7
    This is one of Eminem's finest albums. I really enjoyed his work on Rap God, Headlights, and Bad Guy. There are some songs that sound familiar but Eminem provides enough humor that makes you forget that. It doesn't feel or sound anything like the first MMLP album but that is a good thing since you can't recreate a classic.
  55. Jul 14, 2014
    7
    For starters if you were disappointed with this album, you have no one to blame but yourself. Eminem's last 3 albums haven't been the best and are covered with flaws. People need to realize that he's not going to make the same quality music that he made from 99-03, it's just not going to happen. He's not the same person and he's a slightly different artist. With that being said, thatFor starters if you were disappointed with this album, you have no one to blame but yourself. Eminem's last 3 albums haven't been the best and are covered with flaws. People need to realize that he's not going to make the same quality music that he made from 99-03, it's just not going to happen. He's not the same person and he's a slightly different artist. With that being said, that doesn't mean Eminem can't continue to make good music. I don't want this to sound like a typical "Eminem has fallen off" review but people do need to recognize that and accept it. I thought Encore and Relapse were poor efforts, Recovery showed a glimmer of light but still had a lot of flaws which leads us to MMLP2. It surprised me that he decided to do the whole "going back to my roots" theme, I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out. For the most part though I feel like MMLP2 succeeds. Bad Guy was a great way to start off the album, I love how it's a continuation of Stan & the last verse where the beat changes is just fantastic! So much emotion in that last verse and Eminem does a great job at basically summing up his whole career in that one verse. Brainless is another stand out track for me where Eminem goes back to a kind of SSLP style rather than MMLP. Throughout the song he's being clever and witty while sort of lashing out at people in a way we haven't really heard him do in a very long time. The two bonus tracks on this LP Baby and Groundhog Day deserve a mention as well. Why these two tracks didn't make the albums final cut is beyond me because these tracks are great! Baby's first verse sounds like it was taken straight out of the The Eminem Show era, absolutely incredible and easily one of Eminem's best verses since his come back. Groundhog Day's beat and Eminem's delivery flow so smoothly together and Eminem just sounds so effortless. Now while I think this album succeeds in many aspects, it's not flawless. Survival is exactly the type of song I would expect to find on Recovery. Super bland, mediocre writing (along with some cringe worthy bars) & his annoying shouting delivery. The Monster is another song I would expect to find on Recovery. I have no problem with popish songs, in fact I thought Love the Way You Lie was a good song.....maybe a bit over played but nonetheless good. The Monster is Eminem trying super hard to recreate a Love the Way You Lie type song and it falls flat. Writing is down right bad for the most part and I just find the whole song extremely corny and unoriginal. It's a shame because the song has a really good music video. Than we get to Stronger Than I Was..... Now I'm not quiet sure what inspired him to make this disaster but nothing works. The singing is straight awful, the writing sounds like lines taken from a 14 year old girls diary. I mean... I don't know if he was trying something new or what but someone needs to tell him to never attempt to do a song like this again. Despite that though, overall I feel like this is a good album. He kept the flaws to a minimum for the most part and I think this is easily his best project since The Eminem Show. I give this project a 7/10, if I was being exact I think I rated it like a 7.3/10 which is about right for me. Expand
  56. May 17, 2014
    10
    truly the best album after The Eminem show. truly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly thetruly the best album after The Eminem show. truly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem show Expand
  57. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    Eminem is back with a great comeback, bringing back the lyricism, creativeness and wordplay we loved about him during his prime years 1999-2003. You will already notice the album starts off with a pure classic track "Bad Guy", it is a sequel to the critically acclaimed track "Stan" from the first MMLP. MMLP2 continues where the first MMLP left off, with Bad Guy then a "Parking Lot" skit, aEminem is back with a great comeback, bringing back the lyricism, creativeness and wordplay we loved about him during his prime years 1999-2003. You will already notice the album starts off with a pure classic track "Bad Guy", it is a sequel to the critically acclaimed track "Stan" from the first MMLP. MMLP2 continues where the first MMLP left off, with Bad Guy then a "Parking Lot" skit, a that is continues where Criminal, the last track on MMLP left off. Rhyme or Reason has great lyricism, it along with "Bad Guy" is one of the best tracks. "Legacy" is also a great track talking about his childhood. Rap God is an amazing track filled with insane lyricism, wordplay, speed and he also pays homage to other rappers. On "Love Game", Eminem collaborates with Kendrick Lamar. Another Highlight of the album is "Headlights", where Eminem apologizes to his mom. Overall this is Eminem's best project since The Eminem Show that he released back in 2002. Expand
  58. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    He's back and he's back with a bang. This is a great album and one of my favourite Eminem albums he's ever made. I enjoy every song on this album except for maybe Monster because it is over played on the radio and annoys me a bit now. This is my working out album to listen to.
  59. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    I understand as a critic you have to look at different elements/aspects brouht into the song, BUT...

    As a long time eminem and bigtime rap fan for about as long as I can remember, this is the most digusting album ever made. Em has changed, and not for the better (well, for the better for the financial aspect, I guess). Even tho I like the lyrics what the hell are these intrumentals????
    I understand as a critic you have to look at different elements/aspects brouht into the song, BUT...

    As a long time eminem and bigtime rap fan for about as long as I can remember, this is the most digusting album ever made. Em has changed, and not for the better (well, for the better for the financial aspect, I guess). Even tho I like the lyrics what the hell are these intrumentals???? Rapgod on traplike electro bass music, man it's like one of the most oldschool rappers just singed the death certificate for real rap. If there's one eminem verse that's applicable here: "And when your run is over just admit when it's at its end"

    For me this album made eminem a **** modern day I try to hard rapper instead of like the biggest legend in white rap.

    how does Dillon cooper - state of elevation, or prof - gampo or kool g rap and necro'l last album get under 500.000 views on youtube and such a mediocre score??? Rap god has like 60 million views, this makes me think I'm the only one who dislikes this album. He has certainly gone mainstream radio music, but I don't like it and I know the rap community doesn't either... So yeah it maybe deserves a 82 but not in the rap category

    Just my opinion though...
    Expand
  60. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    As crazy as this sounds, Eminem is my hero, his music has helped me through slumps and downfalls in my life. His music has helped me keep on task and push through. This album is no different for me, with funny songs and lyrics, to sad songs about betrayal. Being a fan since I was 7 (The Eminem Show was just released). He has hit it big with no "WTF" songs like "Kim" in MMLP, or "Drips" inAs crazy as this sounds, Eminem is my hero, his music has helped me through slumps and downfalls in my life. His music has helped me keep on task and push through. This album is no different for me, with funny songs and lyrics, to sad songs about betrayal. Being a fan since I was 7 (The Eminem Show was just released). He has hit it big with no "WTF" songs like "Kim" in MMLP, or "Drips" in The Eminem Show. If you like any kind of rhyming music, you will like this. (If you like country and don't listen to anything but, don't listen to this, your drunk asses won't be able to keep up with his fast rapping. Your big trucks won't be able to keep up either. :D) Expand
  61. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Eminem continues to prove he's the most creative, most talented, and just flat-out greatest lyricist of this generation. There's not a single rapper out there that could dream of keeping up with him on Rap God, and not one that would be brave and honest enough to put out something as heartfelt and open as Headlights. This album is just brilliant.
  62. Mar 3, 2014
    7
    Even though it seems more like 16 tracks thrown together rather than created with a particular theme connecting them together, it's still a great album and one of Eminem's more energetic pieces. It tries to be original and even though it doesn't always succeed, its works. Out of the standard 16 songs, 'Bad Guy', 'So Far...' and 'Headlights' stand out the most for me. The bonus 6 tracks forEven though it seems more like 16 tracks thrown together rather than created with a particular theme connecting them together, it's still a great album and one of Eminem's more energetic pieces. It tries to be original and even though it doesn't always succeed, its works. Out of the standard 16 songs, 'Bad Guy', 'So Far...' and 'Headlights' stand out the most for me. The bonus 6 tracks for the deluxe version and the Call of Duty bonus track 'Don't Front' are 6 of the best songs Eminem has created for a long time. 'Groundhog Day' being my favourite. Good album overall but not perfect, still missing a few things here and there. Expand
  63. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    I want to say Eminem is back, but this might be his final studio album. MMLP2 is a great album, Eminem's best work by far since The Eminem Show. The lyrics, the flow, and the Slim Shady-esque verses make this one of the best albums of 2013. I thought "Berzerk" was definitely one of the weak spots of the album; Rick Rubin's production was outstanding and I can appreciate the effort toI want to say Eminem is back, but this might be his final studio album. MMLP2 is a great album, Eminem's best work by far since The Eminem Show. The lyrics, the flow, and the Slim Shady-esque verses make this one of the best albums of 2013. I thought "Berzerk" was definitely one of the weak spots of the album; Rick Rubin's production was outstanding and I can appreciate the effort to channel old school hip-hop, but Em tries a little too hard on this track to achieve that old school sound. Most of his raps are altered and depend on Rubin's production. I liked the track, but it just didn't work in the context of the album. ~ 8.3/10

    Best track: "Legacy"

    Other notable tracks: "Bad Guy", "Rhyme Or Reason", "Rap God", "So Far…", "Headlights", "Evil Twin" & "Baby"
    Expand
  64. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    I have always been a big fan of Eminem, each of Eminem albums always have been distinctive. MMLP2 shows Eminem unique story telling, word play, humor, and lyrical ability. Tracks like bad guy, legacy, and head lights shows how Eminem story telling is top notch. Rap god and evil twin showcases Eminem's word play and lyrical ability, while tracks like so much better, so far, and love gameI have always been a big fan of Eminem, each of Eminem albums always have been distinctive. MMLP2 shows Eminem unique story telling, word play, humor, and lyrical ability. Tracks like bad guy, legacy, and head lights shows how Eminem story telling is top notch. Rap god and evil twin showcases Eminem's word play and lyrical ability, while tracks like so much better, so far, and love game illustrates how humorous and funny Eminem can be. Overall this album got a piece of Marshall, slim shady, and a few aspects of recovery . I recommend this album if you like lyrical, emo, horror core, cautious, and back pack rap. Expand
  65. Feb 1, 2014
    5
    Where do you start with Eminem career... It has its ups and downs. Sure he's one of the best diss rappers out there but lacks direction on most of his tracks other than his emotional ones. Unfortunately when Eminem releases a poor album his army of fans will defend it to the end of the earth. Here's the thing. This album is good. It is nowhere near the best album of 2013, no matter howWhere do you start with Eminem career... It has its ups and downs. Sure he's one of the best diss rappers out there but lacks direction on most of his tracks other than his emotional ones. Unfortunately when Eminem releases a poor album his army of fans will defend it to the end of the earth. Here's the thing. This album is good. It is nowhere near the best album of 2013, no matter how much his fans say it is. This feels like what should have been an EP, because Eminem doesn't have a consistent and solid track list. The singles and the intro are the best part of the album. The rest ranges from sub par (for Eminem) to the deafeningly awful "Stronger than I Was". I know this is a new Eminem and this isn't gonna be SSLP Eminem, but I feel like this album, similar to Relapse, was rushed to shelves. All that said, this album is dope, flow wise. The beats, lyrics, and production... I just was not feeling it. This is his best work since TES, but I just expect more Expand
  66. Jan 29, 2014
    8
    Eminem is back in full storm to remind everyone of his place among hip-hop as a "rap god." In fact, in the song Rap God, he takes a breathless six minutes to relentlessly shove the argument down the throats of his listeners. MMLP2 is a diverse album with some laid back numbers as well as some bass-bumpin' heavy swingers. Eminem's flow is refreshingly original, as he sets out to do inEminem is back in full storm to remind everyone of his place among hip-hop as a "rap god." In fact, in the song Rap God, he takes a breathless six minutes to relentlessly shove the argument down the throats of his listeners. MMLP2 is a diverse album with some laid back numbers as well as some bass-bumpin' heavy swingers. Eminem's flow is refreshingly original, as he sets out to do in Bezerk, saying, "Let's take it back to straight hip-hop, and start it from scratch." He is just as furious and bitter as ever, throwing in some overused (but excellently executed) references, including, but not limited to, Monica Lewinsky and Helen Keller ("Even Helen Keller knows life stinks..." brilliant). His pop culture references and out-of-the-park analogies are just as good as ever, if not better. The 21 track deluxe album plays through from start to finish without boring. Stand out tracks are **** Rap God, Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, and Love Game feat. Kendrick Lamar. Expand
  67. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    Eminem has made the comeback that everybody expected and more. With his re-entry into the world with old school hip-hop on Bezerk, people were unsure as to what to expect on his new record. But as soon as they got to the 4th verse on Bad Guy, they knew that he was back, bigger and better than ever before. He takes us through the album with minimal filler. Bouncing back from slower, moreEminem has made the comeback that everybody expected and more. With his re-entry into the world with old school hip-hop on Bezerk, people were unsure as to what to expect on his new record. But as soon as they got to the 4th verse on Bad Guy, they knew that he was back, bigger and better than ever before. He takes us through the album with minimal filler. Bouncing back from slower, more personal songs with upbeat tracks such as So Far... He concludes the album with Evil Twin, where he even explains his journey so far - I've Got no backstreet boys to make fun of. All in all, he has given us the record we wanted with his incredible mechanical rapping skill and unbeatable storytelling ability. Expand
  68. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Loved this album! Just superb! Bad Guy is amazing , Headlights is one of the best songs i've ever heard by Em. However , my favorite song from this album is Beautiful Pain. :D
  69. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    All I can say is WOW, not just because this album is so great, but because there are so many blind people that have no clue what Eminem really are rapping about and can't see the good in this album. Get some knowlegde and don't review Eminem's albums if you no nothing about rap, please. Enough said, this man will always be the God of rap. I'm glad I don't really give a about what theseAll I can say is WOW, not just because this album is so great, but because there are so many blind people that have no clue what Eminem really are rapping about and can't see the good in this album. Get some knowlegde and don't review Eminem's albums if you no nothing about rap, please. Enough said, this man will always be the God of rap. I'm glad I don't really give a about what these nonsense people say about the album, I just wanted to say this short; get some knowlegde. Expand
  70. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    I have to agree with what people are saying, that this is easily the most creative, energetic & inspired Eminem's been in a while. It has a lot of the same attitude & sense of humor as his first few albums, but you can tell that a lot of genuine effort was put into these tracks, rather than just being some desperate attempt to reclaim his “former glory” or whatever. He touches on a lot ofI have to agree with what people are saying, that this is easily the most creative, energetic & inspired Eminem's been in a while. It has a lot of the same attitude & sense of humor as his first few albums, but you can tell that a lot of genuine effort was put into these tracks, rather than just being some desperate attempt to reclaim his “former glory” or whatever. He touches on a lot of the same themes, but develops them & updates them to fit this point in his career. “Bad Guy” is a perfect example of this, a sequel to “Stan” that features fantastic storytelling & some of the most insightful meta-commentary Eminem has ever done. That's another thing that makes this album work: his self-awareness is as effective as ever. He spends so much time not only addressing his controversial reputation, but embracing & poking fun at it too as a vehicle for clever wordplay & a confidence-packed delivery. Speaking of, Eminem's delivery is another significantly improved area on this album. He's fully reclaimed what made him so appealing in the first place: personality. He knows exactly how goofy, intense, emotional, tongue-in-cheek or conversational to sound in any given moment, and the unique flows from track to track really help keep the admittedly very long album engaging all the way through. He also does a great job at revisiting themes from an album that, again, for the most part feel more like interesting updates than boring retreads, and there are comparisons in subject matter to be made between the albums. Probably the most notable example of this is “Headlights”, where he basically apologizes to his mom about all the songs he made against her, and it makes for easily one of the most mature songs he's ever written. But my favorite has got to be “So Far...”, which is just plain hilarious all the way through, complaining about fame & the current generation in a wonderfully tongue-in-cheek way.

    I really wanna say these huge positives are all I have to say about this album. But unfortunately it has its low points too, in a few different areas. The first thing I wanna talk about are the features. To briefly go over the ones I like, Kendrick Lamar's verse on “Love Game” matches up to Eminem's level of storytelling perfectly. Also I love Nate Ruess' emotive chorus on “Headlights” & Skylar Grey's on The one in “Bad Guy” fits well with the theme in the same way Dido's did on “Stan”. But sometimes, the lineup of cookie-cutter female vocalists singing the hooks just feels unnecessary & desperate for a radio-friendly chorus. “The Monster” is possible the worst victim of this, surrounding its strong personal themes of self-doubt in the face of fame with severe overproduction & an annoyingly radio-baiting chorus from Rihanna. To me the best choruses Eminem's done have usually been the ones he does himself. Another song definitely worth bringing up is “Rap God”, which I actually really like for the most part. It captures a lot of what I already complimented this album for & the rapid-fire flow about halfway in is undeniably phenomenal. But before that part there are a couple parts that just have me scratching my head, like when he spends a few bars detailing a beef between Fabolous & Ray J that I doubt most people even knew existed or care about, or the “lookin boy” bit that's just awkward to listen to. I'm also not really a fan of the whiny bad relationship song “So Much Better” that can get embarrassingly melodramatic. But the worst moment has to be “Stronger Than I Was”, a horribly corny all-sung R&B ballad that has no reason to be on this album whatsoever. He's always been just a passable enough singer to do a chorus, but that's it. I didn't see much of a point in the “Parking Lot” skit either.

    Bringing it back to positives though, the production & instrumentals are fantastic almost all the way through. I love the bombastic rap-rock on “Berserk” & “Survival” that call back to early Beastie Boys. “Bad Guy” perfectly captures the same subtly eerie tone that “Stan” did while not feeling like a direct copy. And the heavy sampling on some tracks like “So Far...” & “Rhyme Or Reason” is executed really well, finding very clever ways of integrating the original songs into them in multiple parts of the song. Overall, as you can see I had mixed feelings about The Marshall Mathers LP 2, but I still love it as a whole. Eminem really is back in top form. Let's just hope he keeps his momentum this time around. (insert your own bad “guess who's back” joke here).

    Top 5 tracks: So Far..., Bad Guy, Headlights, Rhyme or Reason
    Score: 81/100
    (Check out a longer review on my Facebook page That Non-Elitist Music Fan.)
    Expand
  71. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    After some well earned time off, the best returns to be the best. Rap God, Bezerk, Survival and The Monster clearly show all his older styles including the hard lines of Bezerk and the up&downs of Rap God, the easier style of Survival and the emotional collab "The Monster"
  72. Dec 18, 2013
    5
    oh man this iffy ok. well the lyrics are somewhat powerful but some are so boring and lame! the good ones are berserk hole and headlights and the monster, berserk is rad and old school, is a great take on the album and with Skylar grey, headlights is my favorite its about that he loves his mom but that she did up and its powerful as hell. but lets be honest there are some STUPIDoh man this iffy ok. well the lyrics are somewhat powerful but some are so boring and lame! the good ones are berserk hole and headlights and the monster, berserk is rad and old school, is a great take on the album and with Skylar grey, headlights is my favorite its about that he loves his mom but that she did up and its powerful as hell. but lets be honest there are some STUPID SONGS!!!!!! such as everything I did not just list. there are some mean lyrics im not offended by his music but he is calling people and retards for no ****ing reason. he used to have deep meaning full insults, but we just got screwy crappy bully lines. ok for example Im 13 I get called names like and retard but I don't expect a 40 year old ****ing man too say it its stupid with no rhyme or reason get it? I guess its well produced though but most of this is garbage and its a terrible buy. WTF IS THIS Expand
  73. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    Although new listeners of Eminem would feel isolated listening to this album, The Marshall Mathers LP 2 will sure enjoy long-time Eminem fans with its outstanding highlights.

    Highlights: Parking Lot (Skit), Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Berzerk, Rap God, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster, So Far... and Love Game Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Stronger Than I Was, So Far...
    Although new listeners of Eminem would feel isolated listening to this album, The Marshall Mathers LP 2 will sure enjoy long-time Eminem fans with its outstanding highlights.

    Highlights: Parking Lot (Skit), Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Berzerk, Rap God, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster, So Far... and Love Game
    Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Stronger Than I Was, So Far... and Love Game.
    Personal Favorites: Parking Lot (Skit), Survival, Berzerk, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster and Headlights.
    Expand
  74. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    The album is classic, it's way better then Recovery. This is Eminem in his entirety, the flow is sick and the lyrics are just great, sensitivity and psychopaths at the same time with the touch of the street language. The beats are great, the rap rock and the piano especially, but he was should features more rappers than pop singers. One of the best rap albums ever. My rank is 9.5/10.
  75. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine. He
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine.

    He lightens up on The Eminem Show, and Metacritic says it's too soft and they've heard it all before. 75.

    He mixes in other artists and dumbs down the "Slim Shady" persona on The Reup, and they absolutely trash it and say he's lost his voice. 50. A 50, supposedly a worse album than IANAHB 2.
    Do You Sense the Bullsh.it Yet.....

    He brings back Slim Shady as violent yet comedic as ever on Relapse, and they say he's forcing the issue. 59.

    He changes his content for the more mature, stays witty, address' his past demons and shows immense growth as an artist on Recovery, and they say he's boring. 63.

    THEN, on MMLP2, he combines Recovery, MMLP, and the Eminem Show in an experimental, mature, hard-as-nails, yet emotional reflection on his career, and they give it a 73. Thats 7 points worse than Teflon Don, by Rick Ross.

    METACRITIC: WHAT THE ACTUAL ARE YOU DOING.
    Expand
  76. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    On MMLP2, Eminem seems more aware than ever of his public image, his career, and the history that his name brings to the music industry. Lines such as '...see if I get away with it now that I ain't as big as I was' suggest Eminem is fully understanding of his place in hip-hop.

    The album plays very much with older listeners nostalgia, even sampling brief beats from old songs. The result
    On MMLP2, Eminem seems more aware than ever of his public image, his career, and the history that his name brings to the music industry. Lines such as '...see if I get away with it now that I ain't as big as I was' suggest Eminem is fully understanding of his place in hip-hop.

    The album plays very much with older listeners nostalgia, even sampling brief beats from old songs. The result is an album that is both refreshing and familiar.
    Expand
  77. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    Is it embarrassing when you're the one out of 100 who doesn't like this album? Does it make you wrong? Idk. Among Eminem's three perfect albums. Probably comes in second place after the first Marshall Mathers LP. Anyone who says otherwise is fully entitled to their own opinion, even when it's incorrect!
  78. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    Eminem goes back to his roots with an sequel worthy of the fantastic MMLP. While this album has much of the feel of its predecessor it is different in a lot of ways. Even after a lot of listens he still surprises me time and time again where the next rhyme will move to! A testament to how he has grown lyrically in a difficult period in his life. I think Rap God sums this up and there isEminem goes back to his roots with an sequel worthy of the fantastic MMLP. While this album has much of the feel of its predecessor it is different in a lot of ways. Even after a lot of listens he still surprises me time and time again where the next rhyme will move to! A testament to how he has grown lyrically in a difficult period in his life. I think Rap God sums this up and there is definitely a two fingers up for the many who may have written him off, Personally I get the feeling he had it in his locker the whole time and this album is a representation of this. It feels like a rightful instalment in an epic journey with this highly emotionally charged and prolific artist. I love it Expand
  79. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    I have been listening to Eminem since the Slim Shady LP and I must say it must be hard work to keep up the high standard and quality set by his previous works, however this album has succeeded in keeping up that standard. This album is an all round fantastic album with different songs to suit different types of Eminem fans. This truly is one of his best albums.
  80. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Always been a fan of Eminem, through his good and bad times. This is definitely one of the best times. Great style, lyrics and back to old school Eminem.
  81. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Great comeback from Eminem. He brought a lot more on the table with songs like "Rap God, "Don't Front" "Groundhog day" and tons more. Eminem has improved a lot since "Recovery" (which to me is an average album). Eminem has a great feature from Nate Ruess which makes his personal side of the album incredible. Overall this album is one of the best albums I've heard from Eminem. In my opinionGreat comeback from Eminem. He brought a lot more on the table with songs like "Rap God, "Don't Front" "Groundhog day" and tons more. Eminem has improved a lot since "Recovery" (which to me is an average album). Eminem has a great feature from Nate Ruess which makes his personal side of the album incredible. Overall this album is one of the best albums I've heard from Eminem. In my opinion I think MMLP2 is Eminem's 3rd best album with The Eminem Show being the second and The Marshall Mathers LP being the first. Expand
  82. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Oh yeah! Guess who's back? Eminem: true Slim Shady for the first time since 2002. This album undoubtedly lives up to its name. The last verse of Bad Guy hooks you.
  83. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This is an excellent album that shows Eminem still has it and will never lose it. Eminem continues to prove why he is a lyrical genius and shows that he is also a little bit more mature.
  84. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Amazing. Once again eminem proves no rapper can compete with him. His flow,lyrics, and metaphors are top notch like always. The deluxe CD puts the cherry on top of this masterpiece. Best album of 2013. He is the G..O.A.T.
  85. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    Ok so eminem hasn't done a solid album in a very long time. Encore-Recovery was a string of mediocre albums and disappointments. I consider his first 3 albums, not including Infinite, to be modern classics. But I have been a big Shady fan since I was little. This album is a big improvement over recovery. However it suffers from some of the same problems that recovery did. Corny hooks andOk so eminem hasn't done a solid album in a very long time. Encore-Recovery was a string of mediocre albums and disappointments. I consider his first 3 albums, not including Infinite, to be modern classics. But I have been a big Shady fan since I was little. This album is a big improvement over recovery. However it suffers from some of the same problems that recovery did. Corny hooks and pop-ish beats. In the Marshall Mathers LP 2, he sounds sharp as ever on lyrics and flows. On songs like Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, and Brainless, he shows that he is back and ready to go blow for blow with the best lyricists in the game today (Yes we're talking to you Kendrick) I definitely don't recommend buying it but I do recommend a listen. Hopefully he'll learn from his mistakes on this one and maybe he'll put out another classic next time. Expand
  86. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Soo much nostalgia...this is a treat for those who grew up listening to eminem in the early 2000s when we were introduced to this white boys angry rhymes. There are a lot of references to his old hits heck some songs sound like the beats from his LP album...which were IMHO, eminems best. Great album!
  87. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Best Slim Shady feel and comeback from Recovery. The productions from Rick Rubin and Dr Dre, with all those puns and punchlines, this is another classic by Eminem. Love it.
  88. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Very dope album! I loved MMLP2!

    Eminem is one of the best lyricists of all time and this is his best album lyrically. If you are a fan of lyricism, you should appreciate this album. Em's verses on MMLP2 are more dense and intricate than anything out now. Em’s flow on Rap God is classic! It will have to go down as one the most famous lyrical displays ever in hip hop. There are also a
    Very dope album! I loved MMLP2!

    Eminem is one of the best lyricists of all time and this is his best album lyrically. If you are a fan of lyricism, you should appreciate this album. Em's verses on MMLP2 are more dense and intricate than anything out now. Em’s flow on Rap God is classic! It will have to go down as one the most famous lyrical displays ever in hip hop. There are also a ton of other songs on the album that are just as lyrically impressive as Rap God. Really, every track on the album showcases Em’s masterful lyrical ability.

    The album also has the powerful substance and emotion that people have come to associate with Eminem. “Bad Guy”, “Legacy”, “Headlights” and “Beautiful Pain” are probably the most substantive, emotional songs on the album. I loved them all!

    The production is great as well. This is one of Eminem’s best albums from a production standpoint. Teaming with Rick Rubin was a great idea. I loved what Rubin did with the “Berzerk”, “Love Game” and “So Far”. “Love Game” and “So Far” took a while to grow on me but they have become two of my favorite songs on the album. They are very unique and capture the essence of where Em is at right now in his life and career.

    MMLP2 is a great addition to the Eminem catalogue. We get to see one of the greatest lyricists/artists of his generation more mature and sober than ever. The result is a classic display of lyricism, emotion, and substance.

    MMLP2!
    Expand
  89. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    Being white is an advantage to Mathers. Reason why I say this is because he doesn't have to be like the other rappers who abuse the 'N-word'. Eminem is not scared to be open about his feelings because rappers talk about being real and most of them aren't... His homophobic and aggressive lyrics and skits are creative and funny... Lyrically this is the rap album of 2013...
  90. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Eminem spits the verses all natural spontaneous and effortlesss. He is on fire with the fastest verses. He takes his previous style of rapping about other rappers to a whole new level which is new despite people complaining of stagnancy. And then there are songs wgere he manages to churn your stomach with emotions.
  91. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Best Eminem Album Great lyrics and he's more mature than he was before recovery he isn't still obssed with his mother or wife and less obbsession with murdering women.
  92. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    The Marshall Mathers LP 2, thankfully, is somewhat of an improvement over Recovery, and most definitely Relapse. It certainly does not have the original features of its 2000 predecessor (which is a classic). However, it is competent in its scope and some of the songs are catchy and valuable when the time is right. It seems like there is a lot of filler, and not everything was notThe Marshall Mathers LP 2, thankfully, is somewhat of an improvement over Recovery, and most definitely Relapse. It certainly does not have the original features of its 2000 predecessor (which is a classic). However, it is competent in its scope and some of the songs are catchy and valuable when the time is right. It seems like there is a lot of filler, and not everything was not completely necessary, as the deluxe version runs for nearly 100 minutes. I generally appreciate that Eminem has maintained a solid state in the 15 years of his career, and has not entirely "fallen off" like some of his contemporaries have. Expand
  93. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    This is my favorite Eminem Album. A little more mature than the other albums but crazy again, not like Recovery. It's some good old Hip/Hop & Rap not like the crap that's around right now.
    "Plus I can just walk up to a mic and just bust"
  94. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Considering how disappointed I was with Relapse and Recovery, I'd say MMLP 2 meets the expectation one would have when Eminem is what we're speaking of.

    I listened to the MMLP first before setting MMLP 2 on play and somehow I really feel the connection between the two sets. I consider "Stronger Than I Was", "Baby", "The Monster (featuring Rihanna)", and "Evil Twin" the weaker tracks;
    Considering how disappointed I was with Relapse and Recovery, I'd say MMLP 2 meets the expectation one would have when Eminem is what we're speaking of.

    I listened to the MMLP first before setting MMLP 2 on play and somehow I really feel the connection between the two sets. I consider "Stronger Than I Was", "Baby", "The Monster (featuring Rihanna)", and "Evil Twin" the weaker tracks; while my choice for the strongest numbers are "Beautiful Pain (featuring Sia)", "Desperation (featuring Jamie N Commons)" and "Bad Guy". But above all, what I love the most about the album is that Em's finally taking some times to reflect and deal with his past instead of running and denying it all. Long Live the Rap God!!
    Expand
  95. Nov 16, 2013
    5
    As a huge Eminem fan over the past years, I can say that I truly miss older songs such as "Mockingbird." Some of the songs on this album make me cringe, while others are truly a message from god. It's ok though, I'm sure his next album will be even better than The first Marshall Mathers LP (aka his best album.)
  96. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    This album really does showcase Eminem's ability to evoke all kinds of emotions to the listener I often found myself smiling or laughing at certain phrases or rhymes that I thought was just awesome. Clearly this guy is a rhyming genius and a wordsmith. I am really in awe of the things he comes out with. The track "Evil Twin" stuck with me after listening to the album, I thought theThis album really does showcase Eminem's ability to evoke all kinds of emotions to the listener I often found myself smiling or laughing at certain phrases or rhymes that I thought was just awesome. Clearly this guy is a rhyming genius and a wordsmith. I am really in awe of the things he comes out with. The track "Evil Twin" stuck with me after listening to the album, I thought the structure was so smart and the interaction between the production and the lyrics is amazing and I definitely recommend listening to that one. My only problem is that I did not enjoy the more "commercial" songs such as "The Monster" featuring Rihanna and "Beautiful Pain" featuring Sia. They just felt predictable and obvious future singles. Expand
  97. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    A great success for Eminem. While I was never the greatest Eminem fan, I feel that MMLP2 really brings Eminem back up to par with today's rappers. His tracks sound more aggressive than ever, and that's all we could have ever asked for. Plus it is way better than Recovery.
  98. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    In my words. mmlp2 is as good as the original mmlp. Still inferior to "the eminem show". coz eminem show was a real dope masterpiece. i know many of you will disagree, mmlp2 is so calssy. if we left the "monster" track and COD one,,, then mmlp 2 is easily one of eminem's all time greatest work. so energetic nd filled with pride.
    Faourite tracks Rap god, headlights, Bad guy.
  99. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Exceptional lyricism, wit and creativity. Terrific production. Weight of the content leaves a little to be desired. I'd put this at number 4 behind his first 3 releases
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Q Magazine
    Jan 7, 2014
    60
    Even though his wit and word patterns still dazzle, they need a livelier canvas if the Eminem nostalgia experience is to be the thrilling one it should be. [Jan 2014, p.122]
  2. Mojo
    Dec 18, 2013
    60
    The music is almost secondary, his production' often leaden beats a mere sideshow to mind-bending internal rhyme pyrotechnics that jab hard at the surreal dial. [Jan 2014, p.92]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    Eminem might not be making “shock rap with Doc” like he used to be, but The Marshall Mathers LP 2 takes turns as equally bold and unpredictable as anything in his discography.