Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Oct 21, 2021
    100
    Deconstructive, deliberate and exquisitely designed, The Myth Of The Happily Ever After is the sound of a world-class band making truly world-class music. The only thing more exciting than every bar of its 11 songs is the promise of where Biffy Clyro might go next.
  2. Oct 25, 2021
    90
    The Myth of the Happily Ever After serves as an excellent and shockingly ambitious outing from a band that seemed to be trending in all the wrong directions not long ago. With this album, they’ve reclaimed control of their story.
  3. 90
    Beautiful in style and intent, The Myth Of The Happily Ever After has magic written into every note. [Nov 2021, p.70]
  4. Oct 21, 2021
    90
    Life is too short to waste time. ‘The Myth…’ expands from this vital message, allowing the record to emerge as Biffy Clyro’s most emotionally powerful in years.
  5. Oct 22, 2021
    80
    It’s an exercise in catharsis, providing an accurate snapshot into the minds and mentality of the band certainly, but also the general public of the last year and a half.
  6. 80
    Yes, ‘The Myth Of The Happily Ever After’ outshine its predecessor, but it could also – ironically – be the most cohesive Biffy album to date.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 4 out of 41
  1. Oct 22, 2021
    8
    After onroading into Biffy Clyro from Infinity Land (what I consider to be the band's magnum opus) I've always felt let down by the ensuingAfter onroading into Biffy Clyro from Infinity Land (what I consider to be the band's magnum opus) I've always felt let down by the ensuing albums. Obviously the band branched out into less bleak and more widely accessible writing territory which did wonders for their commercial appeal and they are legitimately very talented writers of pop songs but that was never why I fell in love with them.

    Their ability on Infinity Land and also their earlier works to seamlessly combine supremely unsettling passages with bouncy pop hooks was incredibly unique and appealing to me but it feels like as their sound progressed, more and more of that eerie unsettling vibe was getting left on the cutting room floor. I'm happy to report that Myth leans surpisingly heavily back into that territory. Tracks like Holy Water feel like a great marriage between the two musical worlds Biffy have created over their long and storied career.

    This is the blend of their previous works and newer endeavours I've been hoping the band would produce for a long time now and I hope it's not just an anomaly because even though it's not as commercially viable, some of their best compositions are to be found on their first 3 albums (particularly album 3, Infinity Land).

    Whilst this album still doesn't go quite as far as I'd like back into that excellent territory, it does enough for a lapsed fan like myself to find enough to cling onto whilst also satiating the newer more commercial fanbase they've accrued in recent years.

    Fingers crossed they can carry this balance through into their future output because it's a big relief to have one of my previously favourite artists come back into my life in a way that I find engaging to listen to again.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 22, 2021
    5
    Is it just me or is there a really low bar in "rock" music. This is not bad music, it's really pretty good, but there is absolutely nothingIs it just me or is there a really low bar in "rock" music. This is not bad music, it's really pretty good, but there is absolutely nothing original about it. Every bit sounds like something else.
    Sadly, indie/alt rock has become middle-of-the-road and boring. The lack of creativity, EXPERIMENTATION is sad.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 28, 2021
    10
    A great listen from start to finish. Pushes the Biffy sound forward while keeping all the heartfelt softness and crushing riffs you expect.A great listen from start to finish. Pushes the Biffy sound forward while keeping all the heartfelt softness and crushing riffs you expect.

    For me it ends on a massive high with one of my favourite ever tracks, 'slurpy slurpy sleep sleep' is just devastatingly good.

    Nailed it.
    Full Review »