User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Photo Album Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

  • Summary: This is the third album for the Washington-based indie rockers.

Top Track

A Movie Script Ending
Whenever I come back The air on Railroad is making the same sounds And the shop fronts on Holly are dirty words Asterisks in for the vowels We peered... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. The band has revealed a seething, visceral, rocking side of their music.... a shimmering Album Of The Year contender.
  2. Alternative Press
    It's the skillful meshing of Benjamin Gibbard's part-stream-of-consciousness, part-confessional vocals with melancholy piano and achingly melodic guitars that reveal a fleshed-out Cutie are indeed a band of uncommon beauty. [Dec 2001, p.79]
  3. As intelligent, bittersweet, angular stuff, whether it’s alt.rock, guitar-pop, or even emo is immaterial. Labels be damned - just call it great music.
  4. The most noteworthy aspect of The Photo Album is the band’s upward trajectory. The music is cohesive and even, though still somewhat sluggish.
  5. The Photo Album is evidence of a band that's maturing, slowing down and trying new things.
  6. It's a rare talent that can express such emotions so concisely; even more rare is the ability to deliver them in a near-whisper rather than a scream.
  7. The admittedly catchy, three-chord pop structure isn't as effective as in previous DCFC releases--as a basic approach, it seems more thoughtless than deliberately anaesthetizing this time.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    "We Have the Facts" is their best work, but this is definitely a close second. It starts out simply, with "Steadier Footing", one of the best"We Have the Facts" is their best work, but this is definitely a close second. It starts out simply, with "Steadier Footing", one of the best opening tracks after "Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space" and "3rd Planet". Moving on to the middle, a lot of the songs sound the same, yet you can still tell them apart. The end gets a little flat, but "Blacking Out the Friction" is underrated. "Coney Island" would have made a better closing track than "Debate Exposes Doubt", however. Expand
  2. rachelm
    Mar 3, 2006
    very good music
  3. SteveS
    Apr 21, 2007
    amazing musiv
  4. JoshP
    Sep 29, 2005
    Quite possibly my favorite Death Cab album. Chock full of emotional hi's and low's, this is definitely one of their best.
  5. CarrieF
    Feb 6, 2006
    i never have to skip over songs or repeat them. this album is great to listen through from beginning to end
  6. AndersH.C.
    Apr 16, 2002
    DCFC really pulled it off on this one. A nice layered release from the masters of indie-pop. And for once the production is good.
  7. JoeM.
    Nov 6, 2001
    Good, but not up to the standards of the previous two. This is an good album with a few great songs instead of a great album.

See all 12 User Reviews