User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 70
  2. Negative: 5 out of 70
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2017
    8
    Finally Nelly is back! The Ride is a very good album, completely different from everything Nelly did before. The sound is not more R&B or pop, it is indie rock, alternative, it explores and defines what Nelly is now, a new person and a new artist. Of the 12 tracks there are just 3 that I don't like at all, but the other 9 songs are amazing. Paris Sun, Sticks And Stones and Palaces are myFinally Nelly is back! The Ride is a very good album, completely different from everything Nelly did before. The sound is not more R&B or pop, it is indie rock, alternative, it explores and defines what Nelly is now, a new person and a new artist. Of the 12 tracks there are just 3 that I don't like at all, but the other 9 songs are amazing. Paris Sun, Sticks And Stones and Palaces are my favourite songs of the album. I'm a very big fan of her and she didn't disappoint me. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2017
    10
    Absolutely stunning, her best album with no doubt! It takes hints from Whoa, Nelly! and molds them into something new and nostalgic at the same time. If you were expecting anything like Loose you'll probably want to pass this one, if not you won't regret giving it a try, specially if you love 70s/80s synthpop music.
    My faves are: Pipe Dreams, Paris Sun, Magic, Phoenix, Sticks And Stones
    Absolutely stunning, her best album with no doubt! It takes hints from Whoa, Nelly! and molds them into something new and nostalgic at the same time. If you were expecting anything like Loose you'll probably want to pass this one, if not you won't regret giving it a try, specially if you love 70s/80s synthpop music.
    My faves are: Pipe Dreams, Paris Sun, Magic, Phoenix, Sticks And Stones and Right Road.
    Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2017
    10
    This album is incredible! What a masterpiece. Can`t stop listening to it since the day it was released. Thank you Nelly for being true to yourself and make real music!
  4. Apr 13, 2017
    10
    Good album, positive indie vibes!
    If you're after an album of top-40 pop bangers, you'd better go elsewhere =)
    Indie production, pretty vintage sound, vocals sound great.
    Best tracks IMHO: Cold Heart Truth, Live, Palaces.
  5. Apr 4, 2017
    6
    Above Average
    It's listenable to, very chill album, but nothing out of the ordinary, certainly can't compare with her times with Timbaland.
    She tried some new styles but also tried to keep some of her old self in this album, and it worked to an extent, but not the way i think she was planning.
    Top 3 songs: Cold Heart Truth, Palaces and Magic
  6. Mar 17, 2018
    10
    Gostei muito do álbum
    Nelly é maravilhosa
    ............................................................
  7. Mar 17, 2018
    10
    Álbum incrível! Ondas sonoras bem feitas e as letras extremamente bem escritas com conteúdo! Melhor álbum
    Nelly te amo muito
    :::::::::::::::::::::::::::
  8. Mar 17, 2018
    10
    I have to say nelly is an amazing woman with unique talent. Your incredible way of doing beautiful work is incredible.
    beautiful album and beautiful music

    I love you Nelly@^#*@^#*#&#*#^##*#^#*#*#*#*
    ..
  9. Mar 17, 2018
    10
    .........................................................
    I really like this album
    deserves all the awards i loved
  10. Mar 17, 2018
    10
    Incrível eu amo esse álbum.

    ***********nelly************ linda!!! Adorei melhor álbum 2017
  11. Mar 18, 2018
    10
    Álbum maravilhoso.... tenho certeza que esse foi o melhor álbum lançado.
  12. Mar 18, 2018
    10
    Parabéns Nelly você lançou um álbum lindo com belas canções
  13. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    Obsessed since its release,”Carnival games” is amazing.
    Deserves more recognition.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Apr 10, 2017
    50
    Longevity is often characterised by reinvention in music, yet The Ride stalls in its attempted inventiveness, instead finding success in its most pared down and familiar moments.
  2. 58
    The problem with The Ride is just that it’s a lot duller than it should be, and it feels even more disappointing given that her most successful work is also her most eccentric.
  3. Apr 3, 2017
    60
    This is unabashedly a pop album, full of big melodies and simple metaphors, that adds just a bit of analog fuzz to her usually pristine sound.