• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Ruby Cord Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest full-length solo release for British singer-songwriter Richard Dawson is the final part of his time-travelling trilogy of albums that began with 2017's Peasant.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 18, 2022
    The Ruby Cord won't fail to impress. You leave it mind reeling, happily baffled, dazzled by the scope of its achievement. [Dec 2022, p.22]
  2. Nov 18, 2022
    One of the most inventive, exploratory albums of the year. [Jan 2023, p.90]
  3. The Wire
    Nov 22, 2022
    It’s hard to know exactly what he’s singing about much of the time, but Dawson’s ardour for the sound of language is irresistible. ... The Ruby Cord is Dawson’s most accessible album yet, but as elaborate as his futuristic visions may be, they remind us of the mess we’re all in the middle of right now. [Dec 2022, p.52]
  4. Nov 18, 2022
    At its best, The Ruby Cord is able to convey as much story via the timbre of Dawson’s voice as it does through his verbose lyricism. Dawson brings no shortage of compelling narratives to this record, continuing Peasant and 2020’s propensity for song-length vignettes that thematically snap together when put in sequence.
  5. Nov 18, 2022
    Like much of Richard Dawson’s material, it’s an album that has to be immersed in and savoured – and although it may be a struggle sometimes, there’s nobody else out there making music quite like this.
  6. Nov 18, 2022
    Its demanding hour-and-a-half runtime never pushes Dawson’s music to places it hasn’t gone before, even if it’s all executed with his typically handwoven sense of craft. The insights feel slightly stunted, as Dawson trades out the pained, everyday compassion that he’s conveyed so deeply in his more earthbound music for dystopian scenarios that can’t quite settle on a clear premise.
  7. Nov 21, 2022
    There’s enough good material here for this to have been an excellent 40-minute album; as it is, it’s a flawed 80-minute one.