• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Singles Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The compilation of some of the German art rock band's singles edited to just three-to-four minute-long tracks.
Buy Now
Buy on
  • Record Label: Mute
  • Genre(s): Avant-Garde, Pop/Rock, Psychedelic, Alternative/Indie Rock, Experimental Rock, Art Rock, Kraut Rock
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

She Brings the Rain
Yes I care if she brings me spring But don't care about nothing She brings the rain Oh yeah she brings the rain In the dawn of the silvery... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jun 23, 2017
    Can – The Singles is laid out logically and chronologically, and makes a convincing, consistent case for the accessibility of enigmatic, semi-abstract art rock when delivered in concise and chewable chunks.
  2. 85
    As an entry level to this magnificent band, this more than suffices.
  3. 80
    Taken as whole though, The Singles is a strangely satisfyingly testament to the belief that most great musical ideas--even those delivered with such wilfully uncommercial and unconventional intent--can still be boiled-down to fit on one side of a 7” slice of plastic.
  4. Magnet
    Jul 18, 2017
    The Singles is as good a starting point as any, as it highlights the diversity that spanned the band's entire career. All the classics are present and accounted for. [No. 144, p.54]
  5. Jun 22, 2017
    On seminal albums like Monster Movie and Tago Mago the songs flow and breathe in a very different way than the shortened pieces here. Those unfamiliar with Can would be wise to start with the albums, then come to this collection and enjoy the peculiar window it offers, which is full of fun surprises and brief snippets of Can’s genius. Fans, though, needn’t think about it before snapping up this necessary release.
  6. Jul 28, 2017
    The music is the story, and The Singles, whether it’s filling in the gaps or just presenting the band’s legacy in a slimmed-down package, is all about the story.
  7. Q Magazine
    Jun 22, 2017
    While The Singles offers a skewed perspective on their career, the real attraction lies in the rarity of some of the material, such as Turtles Have Short Legs. A must for diehards, then. [Aug 2017, p.113]

See all 16 Critic Reviews