User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 247
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    O melhor album dele ate ao momento. Absolutamente master piece. A primeira musica , ouve com atençao e pode mudar a tua perspectiva da vida para sempre. Com 2 interpretaçoes do significado tem o final que tu queres que tenha. Ou tem hoje um e amanha escolhes o outro. Das 2 maneiras acaba sempre mal. Incrivel. Posthumous Forgiveness é uma musica incrivelmente pessoal, tao pessoal queO melhor album dele ate ao momento. Absolutamente master piece. A primeira musica , ouve com atençao e pode mudar a tua perspectiva da vida para sempre. Com 2 interpretaçoes do significado tem o final que tu queres que tenha. Ou tem hoje um e amanha escolhes o outro. Das 2 maneiras acaba sempre mal. Incrivel. Posthumous Forgiveness é uma musica incrivelmente pessoal, tao pessoal que pedimos desculpa ao Kevin Parker por estar a ouvi-la. O ritmo hipnotico transporta o ouvinte ate ao fim como se fosse uma desculpa para ouvirmos a letra da cançao tao intima da vida dele. A relaçao dele com o pai e nós a ouvir a musica e a fazer de conta que estamos a prestar mais atençao as noticias na TV ou ao jornal que ninguem lê porque aquela é uma "conversa" pai - filho e nós nao temos que estar a ouvir. Instant Destiny é uma cançao simples de amor , uma tatuagem para a vida daquela paixao que temos no momento apenas porque sim e depois logo se vê. Sem complicaçoes , uma afirmaçao de estar apaixonado .....porque sim. Depois desta montanha russa de emoçoes surge Breathe DeeperTime Warp como se fosse um intervalo comercial para o ouvinte recuperar da "tareia" emocional que já levou das apenas 4 primeiras musicas. Um voltar á realidade por meio minuto como que reconhecendo que manter-nos no mundo dele por um periodo elevado de tempo poderá induzir á loucura. Breathe Deeper é a musica que vem a seguir e faz de tudo para nós trazer de volta a este mundo psicadelico com obvias referencias a substancias nao muito legais e estados de espirito muito "pedrados". A batida descontraida parece dizer constantemente que esta tudo controlado e a letra avisa a amante que quando passar o efeito dos "cogumelos" tudo vai ser incrivel e inesquecivel. Mas antes da musica acabar ela tambem já esta mocada e os dois podem ser como um. Que senhor, que controlo da situaçao , o album esta a ser fabuloso e mal posso esperar para saber onde nos leva de seguida. Tomorrow’s Dust é mais relaxada, é a relaçao que se der certo: porreiro. Se der errado......porreiro tambem. E nao vale a pena chorar sobre o assunto porque amanha é outro dia. Finalmente, a nossa mente tem 4 minutos de paz e relaçoes despreocupadas. On track é uma faixa puramamente Tame Impala, é o mais Tame Impala que vao ter do album e se nao querem começar a audiçao do album pelo material pesado, comecem aqui e faz de conta que esta tudo bem. Mais uma vez é uma cançao pessoal mas desta vez com um tema mais leve , em como a vida do Kevin Parker corre bem e tudo é cor de rosa mesmo quando os problemos lhe veêm parar ao colo mas ele resolve (obvio, é genio o homem). Lost in yesterday é o single do album. É A Cançao!!! Fala das nossas memorias e de ser nostalgico e ficar preso no passado. Quem nunca??? A serio. Quem nunca?? As vezes a vida nao corre como planeamos mas é preciso seguir em frente e nao ficar refem do passado. Um tema simples e eficaz num loop pop "à la Tame Impala" que faz de um tema pesado algo mais leve pela batida despreocupada. Como diz a musica:"Does it help to get lost in yesterday?" Esta tudo dito. Is it True é a musica que se segue. Kevin avisa segundos antes: "escrevi esta batida num supermercado" ......hum....ok???!!!! Isto vai ser divertido.A batida é divertida realmente e acredito que tenha saido da mente dele enquanto comprava uma lata de feijao mas o tema e a letra mais uma vez é profundo, complicado e como sempre sem uma resposta final e firme. Tudo feito para nos destabilizar. Mais uma vez....consegue. Promessas de amor nao cumpridas, jura de "amo-te" que depois nao consegues repetir, estado de espirito de hoje que sao diferentes de amanha...porque somos apenas humanos. E aqui estamos nós , na audiçao deste album, de sentimentos esfrangalhados , de amores desencontrados e vidas perdidas. Mas queremos mais porque...... os genios quando fazem musica deixam-nos assim. It Might Be Time é o prego que se segue. Supertramp do sec. XXI. E mais uma vez a nossa existencia nao tem paz. Estas a envelhecer, é tempo de enfrentares essa realidade, os teus amigos seguiram a vida deles , tu ficas-te e continuas com o sonho dentro da cabeça...... Meu Deus , que murro no estomago. A bateria que bate forte e o loop psicadelico que embrulha este recado para a tua vida miseravel que podia ser melhor se fosses uma pessoa melhor. A ultimo tema que precisava de ouvir mas aqui estou eu a adorar cada segundo. Pareço flutuar no espaço. Este album é uma viagem.... para longe e ao mesmo tempo tao perto, dentro da nossa mente. Genial mais uma vez. Arrastamo-nos para Glimmer a proxima faixa. Esta musica parece um oasis. Um ritmo despreocupado, leve , sem intençao de nada. Como que se o autor soubesse que estamos de frangalhos e nos passa-se a mao pela cabeça a dizer que :"Deixa lá, é a vida, vai ficar melhor". Ou aceitamos ou é aqui que soltamos as lagrimas. One more hour fecha o album. Expand
  2. Feb 14, 2020
    9
    This album just feels so good. Every nook and cranny of sonic space has been diligently evaluated and perfected, but in a way that still feels loose and organic. The songwriting is more emphasized on groove here than on any other Tame Impala record, and Kevin Parker's production sees these songs to their full potential. This is a borderline dance record. Kevin's vision is focused and theThis album just feels so good. Every nook and cranny of sonic space has been diligently evaluated and perfected, but in a way that still feels loose and organic. The songwriting is more emphasized on groove here than on any other Tame Impala record, and Kevin Parker's production sees these songs to their full potential. This is a borderline dance record. Kevin's vision is focused and the outcome is on point. It feels so good, I forget it's February. Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2020
    9
    Kevin delivers again. I am sure it is going to be one of the best albums of the year. He has been able to re-imagine his sound while still keeping the distinctiveness that made him one of the best artists of the decade. My favorite songs: Borderline (album version is so much better), Posthumous Forgiveness, Tomorrow's Dust, On Track (best one overall), Is It True, and One More Hour.
  4. Feb 16, 2020
    8
    Doesn't have highs like Currents ( The Less I Know The Better) or Lonerism (Elephant), but it is relatively consistent in how good it is (until the end). Album is a bit clunky and doesn't flow as well as previous Tame Impala album. It might not be as ambitious as the two albums that came before, but it is a fun record. Good job

    HIGHLIGHTS: Breathe Deeper, Borderline (reworked), One More
    Doesn't have highs like Currents ( The Less I Know The Better) or Lonerism (Elephant), but it is relatively consistent in how good it is (until the end). Album is a bit clunky and doesn't flow as well as previous Tame Impala album. It might not be as ambitious as the two albums that came before, but it is a fun record. Good job

    HIGHLIGHTS: Breathe Deeper, Borderline (reworked), One More Hour, Is It True, Lost In Yesterday, It Might Be Time, Instant Destiny
    Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2020
    9
    Kevin Parker managers to produce an (arguably) better pop album than Currents while retaining his signature psychedelic sound.
  6. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    Die hard fans of their old rock stuff can’t seem to handle that the bands changed. It’s still an amazing record.
  7. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    This is such an experience. I still haven’t recovered from it. It’s a psychedelic trip you haven’t heard from Tame Impala yet and that’s saying something!
  8. Feb 14, 2020
    7
    Álbum com singles muito fortes. Têm faixas interessantes mas é no global bastante aborrecido e repetitivo. Algumas músicas demoram demasiado tempo e outras parecem um loop que nunca mais acaba.
  9. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    This album is smooth and infectious. Kevin takes the necessary steps after Currents to create a melodic and summer fun album and executes it perfectly. Songs like Instant Destiny and Tomorrow's Dust will have you wanting to listen again and again. 10/10.
  10. Feb 14, 2020
    8
    After two incredible records in Lonerism and Currents, it seemed almost inevitable that Tame Impala's LP4 would be a reality check for Kevin Parker. But while The Slow Rush may lack the percussive thrust of Currents or the immersive psychedelic textures of Lonerism, as an album it is Parker's most cohesive and complete effort yet.

    While there may not be any stand-out hits on this record
    After two incredible records in Lonerism and Currents, it seemed almost inevitable that Tame Impala's LP4 would be a reality check for Kevin Parker. But while The Slow Rush may lack the percussive thrust of Currents or the immersive psychedelic textures of Lonerism, as an album it is Parker's most cohesive and complete effort yet.

    While there may not be any stand-out hits on this record (like Apocalypse Dreams or Let It Happen), the mid-section is excellent, with the three strongest tracks (Breathe Deeper, Tomorrow's Dust and On Track) adjacent in the tracklist. This is also Kevin's best effort in terms of production -- it is wonderfully mixed and full of nuance, sounding even better than the silky smooth Currents.

    The record is influenced by a number of genres, perhaps most conspicuously 70s/80s disco and house, although hip-hop styles are apparent throughout. That Parker manages to create a coherent sound with all of these components is testament to his masterful production capabilities.

    If there is a low point in the album it is the final two tracks. Glimmer sounds like a throw-away track (and Parker admitted as much in a Spotify-exclusive soundbite), and One More Hour overextends itself in places, although the outro is admittedly blissful and cathartic.

    All in all, this is another great record from Tame Impala that stands up to the rest of their impressive discography. While it may not be as groundbreaking stylistically as Lonerism or Currents, the immersive soundscapes and compelling themes make it an record worth experiencing and enjoying over and over again.
    Expand
  11. Feb 15, 2020
    9
    Comparing this album to his last album, Currents, which was a great album by Kevin, I think this record has a lot of new sounds that Kevin hasn't previously explored. The single 'Lost In Yesterday' feels a lot like 'The Moment' with how it goes. The R&B influence isn't nearly as strong here as it was in Currents, although some of it is still somewhat there. Instead we have a record that isComparing this album to his last album, Currents, which was a great album by Kevin, I think this record has a lot of new sounds that Kevin hasn't previously explored. The single 'Lost In Yesterday' feels a lot like 'The Moment' with how it goes. The R&B influence isn't nearly as strong here as it was in Currents, although some of it is still somewhat there. Instead we have a record that is influenced by disco, pop and acid house and it blends together very nicely. The final track, 'One More Hour' is quite possibly my only gripe with this album. It just doesn't have the same impact as 'Sun's Coming Up' or 'New Person, Same Old Mistakes' does. Overall this album is a triumph from start to finish. and fully deserves the praise it is getting from critics. Expand
  12. Feb 15, 2020
    9
    Fantastic album. Even better than Currents somehow. Not one weak track. It was awesome to see Kevin reinvent his sound once again. Going to be hard to beat this for AOTY. (My opinion of course)
  13. Feb 15, 2020
    10
    This album is so magical. Love the production. Lyrical content is very good. Kevin never disappoints, the album is so cohesive and smooth.
  14. Feb 16, 2020
    10
    Masterpiece, better than currents in my opinion, breath deeper os the most brilliant song in the album, the groovy is out of this world
  15. Feb 17, 2020
    10
    I am loss for words to describe how much I adore work of Parker! His music is extraordinary and one of a kind! Each song impressed me from its first seconds, there is a definite progress and some new sounds in this album! was worth all the wait and I hope to hear him live!
  16. Feb 17, 2020
    10
    Another great showing from Kevin Parker. He continues on from Currents, expanding his catalog of pop music, while still sprinkling his signature style and sonic diligence in each song. Lets Dance!
  17. Feb 17, 2020
    8
    It’s not revolutionary, but it’s a successfully pleasant listen with a gorgeously manicured landscape of poolside, disco-tinged, sun-drenched, summery rock. It starts off rather muddled and repetitive, but becomes a more varied and interesting record as it goes along (thus, some patience is required). There are delightful nods to Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, Steely Dan, and Radiohead, whichIt’s not revolutionary, but it’s a successfully pleasant listen with a gorgeously manicured landscape of poolside, disco-tinged, sun-drenched, summery rock. It starts off rather muddled and repetitive, but becomes a more varied and interesting record as it goes along (thus, some patience is required). There are delightful nods to Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, Steely Dan, and Radiohead, which make for an equally successful venture into nostalgia. Expand
  18. Feb 19, 2020
    8
    I've been listening to this album since its release. People should not compare it to the previous ones... it's an evolution based on K.P recent collaborations (M. Ronson for example) which proves how an influential musician he's becoming. The musicality and production are amazing. The only criticism (that I have from the beginning) is that his voice and lyrics don't match his musicalI've been listening to this album since its release. People should not compare it to the previous ones... it's an evolution based on K.P recent collaborations (M. Ronson for example) which proves how an influential musician he's becoming. The musicality and production are amazing. The only criticism (that I have from the beginning) is that his voice and lyrics don't match his musical skills. He doesn't have the same charisma as a front man and vocal performances than S. Herring from Future Islands for example. It's a must-buy for sure... in the days of "soup" music, we still have true artists headlining ! Expand
  19. Feb 19, 2020
    10
    Even though this album doesn’t have as much of the classic psychadelic sounds like the earlier albums, I still absolutely love it. The synth, drums, bass and everything creates such unique sound like nothing I’ve heard before. 10/10
  20. Feb 19, 2020
    10
    This a good follow up to the album Currents. Not as good as currents BUT that’s not saying much because of how good currents is. The slow rush is a great album
  21. Feb 20, 2020
    10
    Lonely perfectionism. This is what Kevin Parker endures when he is making a Tame Impala. And perfect it is. However, perfection isn't accomplished without it's imperfections. This album and Kevin Parker is 5 to 10 years ahead of everyone else. This kind of music, production and style will most definitely be emulated, copied and progressed on a lot by people in the future. This is anLonely perfectionism. This is what Kevin Parker endures when he is making a Tame Impala. And perfect it is. However, perfection isn't accomplished without it's imperfections. This album and Kevin Parker is 5 to 10 years ahead of everyone else. This kind of music, production and style will most definitely be emulated, copied and progressed on a lot by people in the future. This is an experience, a unique and special one. Straight from the heart and straight from the soul of one man. A true artist. And undoubtedly an inspiration for the next generation. Expand
  22. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    After listening to The Slow Rush three times , I can easily say I love it. I was hesitant at first when the singles came out because it sounded more pop-influenced but I was so wrong to doubt Kevin's mind. Production,lyrics,mixing are top notch,basically excellent. The album has songs to make you dance and make you cry. I seriously cant decide what are my fave songs. One More Hour ,After listening to The Slow Rush three times , I can easily say I love it. I was hesitant at first when the singles came out because it sounded more pop-influenced but I was so wrong to doubt Kevin's mind. Production,lyrics,mixing are top notch,basically excellent. The album has songs to make you dance and make you cry. I seriously cant decide what are my fave songs. One More Hour , Tommorow's Dust, Is It True and It Might Be Time are some i can pick now as favorites but I'm pretty sure that if i keep listening to the album, I'll have to rewrite this part. If this is the new Tame Impala, I'm here for it. Expand
  23. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    Strong and easy to listen as well as to fall in love with. One of the best album of 2020.
  24. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    Combines every emotion that a human being can possibly feel... Incredible melodies and truthful lyrics, Tame Impala’s masterpiece!!
  25. Feb 15, 2020
    10
    needed to listen twice in order to truly appreciate the album. Doesn't have a climax but what do you expect from an album called the show rush, it gives you a slow rush!!
  26. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    This album is an absolute masterpiece. Kevin Parker is a genius. He reimagined himself and his sound so perfectly.
  27. Feb 14, 2020
    9
    I, too, must echo that this isn't as good as Currents, but I'm not quite sure I ever expected it to be. Currents was my 3rd favorite album of the decade from 2010-2019, so that was quite an achievement to ask for. I must say, though, that this era of Kevin Parker (Currents and The Slow Rush) are vastly superior to Lonerism and Innerspeaker. I don't dislike those album by any means (I loveI, too, must echo that this isn't as good as Currents, but I'm not quite sure I ever expected it to be. Currents was my 3rd favorite album of the decade from 2010-2019, so that was quite an achievement to ask for. I must say, though, that this era of Kevin Parker (Currents and The Slow Rush) are vastly superior to Lonerism and Innerspeaker. I don't dislike those album by any means (I love them), but they were a bit derivative in some ways. Ever since Currents, Kevin Parker has made Tame Impala a sound of its own. So while this doesn't exactly run together like a concept album like he's done in the past, I will say that these are some of the strongest songs that Kevin has made. It starts off with a stunner and doesn't let up til the end. "One More Year," "Breathe Deeper," and "Tomorrow's Dust" are my favorites on here and are neck and neck with Kevin's best. I will say the deep cuts here are even better than the singles. Expand
  28. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love it. ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ Expand
  29. Feb 15, 2020
    10
    This album is a masterpiece, a must-listen, not their best but really good, the real art, smooth, cohesive, everything
  30. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    This album is awesome! It's well produced and goes down smooth with its melodic beats and bass. There isn't a bad song on the track list. It's summer fun, relax and chill music. Congrats Kevin Parker. Posthumous Forgiveness is a two for one song...make sure to listen until the end cause if you're not feeling the first part, the second part will have you bobbin' your head.
  31. Feb 14, 2020
    9
    This record is stunning! The production on TSR is brilliant (no surprise) as it finds its strengths in moderation. I’ve seen some posts from disgruntled psych rock dinosaurs that suggest that TSR is less cosmic and engaging than its predecessors, but this assertion couldn’t be farther from the truth! Kevin uses a much subtler hand than the blast-you-in-your-face epiphany pop of Lonerism orThis record is stunning! The production on TSR is brilliant (no surprise) as it finds its strengths in moderation. I’ve seen some posts from disgruntled psych rock dinosaurs that suggest that TSR is less cosmic and engaging than its predecessors, but this assertion couldn’t be farther from the truth! Kevin uses a much subtler hand than the blast-you-in-your-face epiphany pop of Lonerism or Currents. which ultimately leads this to be a more meaningful record. “Is it True” is a perfect example of this, as a seemingly simple baseline is syncopated to hell, and consistently changes timbre throughout the track. The overall effect leads to maybe the tightest and sleekest pop song that Kev has ever written. That being said, there is impactful and paralyzing psychedelia woven throughout this record. Whether it’s the bubbling vocoder intro on “One More Year” or the synth freak out of “Posthumous Forgiveness” TSR is undeniably a Tame Impala record. It just seems like Kevin had built up such a catalogue of crazy sounds that one specific motif or effect flourish doesn’t stay around long before evolving and morphing into something completely different.

    I loved this album immediately and I think it’s overall appreciation with the general public will grow over time as listeners get a chance to really digest what they’ve heard. Thank you Kevin!!!
    Expand
  32. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    Perfect, sjqkqskwswkswkswsjwjswsjsjwzjwzkwzkwjzw wzjwzjwzw wjzws wdjwzwjzws ws.e.zwkzwjzwjzwzjwzw.zw.z.w.....wxkwzjwsjwzjwswd
    Wxwkxwxkwxkwxkwxkexkexkwxkwxkwxkwxwkxwkw
    Wxkwxkwxwk IS Just perfect
  33. Feb 14, 2020
    9
    Eargasm all the way through. All of them are pretty much amazing except from maybe glimmer which didn’t really need to be on the album but still very, very good.
  34. Feb 14, 2020
    9
    Such an amazing album. So deep and cohesive. Love it. It's full of emotions.
  35. Feb 14, 2020
    9
    Un 9 de diez los distorcionadores la ambientación y la estetica del disco kevin lo volvio a hacer UwUr
  36. Feb 15, 2020
    10
    You'll start adoring this masterpiece on the 3rd listen so give this album a chance
  37. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    Kevin Parker is a master musician. From the psychedelic, droning introduction One More Year, with the title of the song being repeatedly sung by a robot, I could tell Parker was ready to experiment with his sonics. The highlights of the album include Tomorrow’s Dust, Posthumous Forgiveness, One More Day, and so much more. The lows on the album, for example, on track, still make me want toKevin Parker is a master musician. From the psychedelic, droning introduction One More Year, with the title of the song being repeatedly sung by a robot, I could tell Parker was ready to experiment with his sonics. The highlights of the album include Tomorrow’s Dust, Posthumous Forgiveness, One More Day, and so much more. The lows on the album, for example, on track, still make me want to dance. Kevin Parker is continuing to evolve and make wonderful music. Expand
  38. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    As genres continue to fuse, Kevin Parker shows us how it's done. Not Parker's best but might end up being his most influential.
  39. Feb 14, 2020
    7
    If you are interested in Tame Impala's earlier work, you might not like this album, but you need to listen to it for its production value.

    The production value for Tame Impala's albums increases 10X every release. This is Kevin Parkers best production work to date, and I will not back from that statement. Although some songs sound experimental and suited for background listening, you
    If you are interested in Tame Impala's earlier work, you might not like this album, but you need to listen to it for its production value.

    The production value for Tame Impala's albums increases 10X every release. This is Kevin Parkers best production work to date, and I will not back from that statement.

    Although some songs sound experimental and suited for background listening, you need to go over every song twice to really appreciate the effort that has been put into each. When I first listened to this album, I was disappointed, but on my 4th listen, songs like 'Breathe Deeper', 'It Might Be Time' and 'One More Hour' become exceptional.

    All up, I really love this album, there are some shortfalls, but I find it a joy to listen too.
    Expand
  40. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fantastic lyrics and sounds. It's one of their best projects for sure. I love it. Expand
  41. Feb 14, 2020
    7
    It's fresh and summery. Ever since Kevin Parker has lifted and been in the same height as the likes of Kanye, Travis Scott, and Rihanna, he's more and more sharped his musical experience. The Slow Rush is the product. But if compared with his preceding albums, you'll definitely come back and forth wondering if there's something to fill, because this album felt incomplete.
  42. Feb 15, 2020
    10
    It's another incredible album from Tame Impala. It's clear the evolution in his sound. There are some tracks that wouldn't deserve to be there, but the main tracks are really beautiful.
  43. Feb 15, 2020
    9
    This album demonstrates just what makes Kevin Parker such great musician, and producer. It is obvious that he has a special talent. And master many genres. One of of the music worlds, finest around. A continuation of Currents. But more pop and less r&b influences from the last album.
    I seen this album getting some complaints about not having any "hits" or that the music isn´t as "catchy"
    This album demonstrates just what makes Kevin Parker such great musician, and producer. It is obvious that he has a special talent. And master many genres. One of of the music worlds, finest around. A continuation of Currents. But more pop and less r&b influences from the last album.
    I seen this album getting some complaints about not having any "hits" or that the music isn´t as "catchy" as on Currents. Maybe the reason why I like this album more, cause of it.

    I don´t agree on it not having catchy tunes however. It´s just not as "accessible" as Currents. And that doesen´t always have to be bad thing in my eyes. I would loved to give this one a 10, its beautiful produced and arranged, as you come to expect from Kevin Parker at this point. However, in some songs, it is clear. That the lyrics are lacking bit. Nothing that overall, ruins the mood or experience imo. Overall, I find that there is something for everyone on this album. Kevin Parker has also succeeded in doing what so many other artists fail. Continue to build his sound, without losing too much in the process, or making it change too fast. This is something that has followed and flown perfectly throughout all the albums so far.
    Expand
  44. Feb 15, 2020
    9
    Is interesting how Kevin uses acoustic guitars now, and how well he uses them, especially in "Tomorrow's Dust". Near the end of the song it gives a desorienting feeling, a very strong one. It reminds me of the sound Big Thief achieved on their album U.F.O.F. If I'm correct, the last time he introduced in an acoustic guitar an album was on Lonerism, in "Why Won't They Talk to Me?". But inIs interesting how Kevin uses acoustic guitars now, and how well he uses them, especially in "Tomorrow's Dust". Near the end of the song it gives a desorienting feeling, a very strong one. It reminds me of the sound Big Thief achieved on their album U.F.O.F. If I'm correct, the last time he introduced in an acoustic guitar an album was on Lonerism, in "Why Won't They Talk to Me?". But in many other songs you can hear that acoustic guitar... like in "Breathe Deeper", "On Track" and "One More Hour". And now Kevin is not alone. In Lonerism he was struggling with the feeling of loneliness, in Currents he was more alone than ever, but he was now okay with it. Finally he's on a different situation; now he's in new territory, in one he isn't used to be, yet, but enjoys being there. Now he's open to new ideas, you can see it in the variety of sounds and rhythms in his new songs. But the house influences are really clear. "Glimmer" has the same function as "Nangs", "Disciples" and "Gossip" in Currents, but only to introduce us to the last song of the album, "One More Hour" which in my opinion is one of his best, sounding like Supertramp as in the energetic and distorted "It Might Be Time". The album is pretty good, almost perfect. But I can say is a little bit dimmed but it's okay. It has the synths we loved from Currents but with the psychedelic atmospheres of Innerspeaker and Lonerism. A perfect mix, I believe. I give it a 9.1 out of 10, not as perfect as Currents but still an interesting and satisfying listening, really accessible but wihtout sacrifying his intense and perfectionist vision.

    (The new version of Borderline could have been better.)
    Expand
  45. Feb 14, 2020
    8
    A very good album in general! I have to disagree though with anyone who said that The Slow Rush is better than Currents. The latter is still my favorite from Kevin Parker's project. However, the new album is already one of the best of 2020!
  46. Feb 14, 2020
    9
    Really liked this new album, most of the songs are very good, is a little different from the old albuns, but still amazing, less guitar, yes, but it didn´t change too much, Tame Impala always been focused on pop/rock. I just think some songs didn´t have to be so long.
  47. Feb 16, 2020
    9
    Esse é o álbum mais comercial já feito pela banda. Kevin consegue traçar uma linha tênue entre o rock, pop e o psicodélico, fazendo um trabalho que somente ele consegue fazer no mundo, extremamente talentoso como produtor e compositor. "The Slow Rush" vem com uma sonoridade já característica dos outros trabalhos, porem o destaque do pop e do piano marcando algumas musicas traz um aromaEsse é o álbum mais comercial já feito pela banda. Kevin consegue traçar uma linha tênue entre o rock, pop e o psicodélico, fazendo um trabalho que somente ele consegue fazer no mundo, extremamente talentoso como produtor e compositor. "The Slow Rush" vem com uma sonoridade já característica dos outros trabalhos, porem o destaque do pop e do piano marcando algumas musicas traz um aroma espetacular. O instrumental casa perfeitamente om os elementos digitais o que prova o incrível dom e esforço do Kevin Parker, com faixas muito bem escritas e pensadas esse disco é, sem nenhuma sombra de duvidas, um dos melhores trabalhos da banda e uma das melhores produções de 2020 até o momento. Expand
  48. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    A culmination of styles and lessons learned from past albums, this is an evolution of Parker's sound and structure.
  49. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    Great Job. I love this album and the band. Borderline ANTHEM!!!!! But, The Less i know the better is my favorite song the life
  50. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    Os singles foram maravilhosos o álbum não deixou a desejar, mais um trabalho incrível da banda.
  51. Feb 14, 2020
    10
    so beautifully written with flowing instrumentals i love this album already and am ready for it to become the soundtrack for 2020!
  52. Feb 16, 2020
    10
    This man never disappoints.
    The lyrics are beautifully written. It’s relatable and brings inner piece. Album of the Year along with Rare.
  53. Feb 16, 2020
    8
    EU GOSTO DISSO!
    De fato eles tentaram trazer uso de instrumentos diferentes pra esse álbum, mas ele não ultrapassa o Currents em qualidade, ele é um album bom e deu, essa vibe psicodélica da Banda me faz gostar muito dela, mas acho que por não ter de fato um "hit" no album ele não é melhor mas todas as faixas estão gostosas de ouvir sem nenhuma exceção.
  54. Feb 17, 2020
    9
    Fantastic album. My only problem is that it maybe doesn't have the hard hitting sound of past songs but then again this album can cater do a different audience and mood than their past albums. A must listen
  55. Feb 17, 2020
    9
    The Slow Rush is a half term between Lonerism's organic layers and Currents' electronic lapses, beyond bring great and refreshing moments
  56. Feb 17, 2020
    9
    Once I heard 'Lost in Yesterday' and 'Borderline', I knew I was in for some alt goodness, and did the album deliver! One, if not the only, of Tame Impala's only albums I can actually listen to from start to finish. Masterpiece 9.5/10
  57. Feb 17, 2020
    7
    The same dreamlike melodies from Current, but with lyrics that feel grounded and at times you can almost catch a glimpse of the monotonous L.A pop scene that beckons every alt musician.

    This is as close to a Hollywood sequel as any album will get. Still good, but not quite as fresh.
  58. Feb 20, 2020
    9
    The only song that doesn't land for me is instant destiny, the rest of this album is a psychedelic masterpiece. Make sure to listen with some good bassy speakers
  59. Feb 21, 2020
    8
    Love it. So hypnotic .
    Disco meets dance meet chill.
    Only
    Just twigged he’s a one man band. Proud
  60. Feb 21, 2020
    8
    "The Slow Rush" may not hit the addictive highs of "Currents" but its expansiveness makes it feel cohesive, immersive and more of an experience rather than a collection of songs.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Feb 21, 2020
    60
    Things pick up toward the end with the slightly more upbeat run of Lost In Yesterday, Is It True and It Might Be Time. For the most part, though, Parker is a better producer than he is a songwriter.
  2. 75
    Five years removed from Currents, The Slow Rush plays as though no time has passed at all.
  3. Feb 19, 2020
    80
    At 58 minutes, it does run a little long—and I probably would’ve cut songs like On Track or the two-minute flatliner Glimmer. But every time I’ve started this album since it clicked with me, I’ve finished it. Isn’t that the most you can ask of any record?