• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Snare Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Looper's third album (and first for Mute Records) finds Stuart David & co. adopting a darker tone for these ten tracks, which are closely integrated with the band's new live show and promotional materials to tell the story of two characters named Evil Bob and Peacock Johnson.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. But shorn of the spoken word indulgences and look-what-I've-just-found electronica it's a leaner, hungrier beast, a more focussed, more alluring, more dangerous, but still tender trap.
  2. Mixer
    David has composed 10 songs that work together as a concept album. But for everyday listening? Well, that's a somewhat different story. [Jun 2002, p.87]
  3. Easy to dismiss, smirk at, or even hate on the fist listen, nine out of The Snare's ten tracks are grind-and-pause, semi-sultry pairings of exotic keyboard settings and mid-tech beats that exploit their refrains and come weirdly close to the patterns of 'risqué' after-dinner radio pop circa 1999-present.
  4. The Snare works well at moments and at other times feels like a rather tepid trip-hop release from a band still developing their sound.
  5. An album that lacks its own distinctive voice.
  6. Looper drops their bright playfulness for a sophisticated, darker counterpart which uses jazz, R&B, and trip-hop as its foundation.
  7. But wait - is that the ghost of a melody on 'Lover's Leap'? Alas, no: it's merely the desultory whoosh of a once-promising career as it plummets, irretrievably, down the art-pop pan.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of